Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

Jonny's Course Reviews

Recent Reviews by All Users

  • Username: Jonny
    Location: Fort Mill, SC
    Age Group: 65+
    Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)
    Handicap: 25.0
Review
  • 10/13/20 - The Golf Club at Ballantyne

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    This course is on everyones tops list and is considered one of the top places to play in the Charlotte Metro area. I've heard so much about it over the years and my Son plays here regularly and says it's his favorite. Today, me, Ben, Jason B & James D played 18 holes on a Tuesday early afternoon. After two days of rain on Sat & Sun from Hurricane Delta it was still quite wet in areas which affected your fairway shots and pace of play since it was cart path only. It took us about 4 1/2 hours to play 18. This is a resort style course and is upscale though still public. The property has been sold to a developer and eventually it will be gone. The ProShop is attached to the hotel so they don't allow you to take the gas carts into the parking lot. You drop your bag, then park and go downstairs to the ProShop to check in. They have a starter so you'll need your receipt. At the ProShop they assign you a cart and give you a card which you hang on your cart with your Tee Time. Everyone I came in contact with was nice and professional. Once you leave the ProShop you follow the cart path to the practice area where they have a driving range as well as a chipping and putting area. There is a large open air pavilion which has a full bar and food as well as bathrooms. From here you check in with the Starter who will direct you to the 1st Tee and get you off on time. There is a huge clock next to the first tee in sight of the practice area so everyone can keep up with the time with a quick glance. The course is very nice, it's fairly wide open with the usual out of bound areas but for the most part the fairways are wide. There are 5 Par 3's. Thats right FIVE par 3's. Two on the front and three on the back. There are four Tee's and most play from the Whites and the Seniors play the Green tees. All the Par 3's are fun and accessible. My favorite hole is #18 which offers an elevated tee with a clear view of the green sitting right in front of the hotel. There are green side bunkers on the right alongside water & water fountain and the distance from the White tee's is 350 yards. Jason & Ben both hit beautiful drives and Jason barely edging Ben out with about a 340 yard drive. It's interesting that the 9th hole doesn't bring you back to the club house. There is another small bar/restaurant at the turn where you can get a beverage some food and take a bio break, I really like this course overall and the way it plays. The water is not going to create a lot of problems and the bunkers are designed to compliment the course and not make it too risky. The tees boxes are well maintained, the fairways are great and the greens are well kept and roll true. Not too many un-repaired ball marks as on so many courses. The downside of being in such a developed area is you have Interstate 485 right on you so you hear the traffic on the back 9 with the sirens and horns. There is also a lot of construction going on all around the course so don't be surprised to hear a saw start up as you get set for your putt. As in most things you get what you pay for. This course is a little pricer than most. I got on with the GolfNow app for $58 bucks. I would recommend this course no matter your skill level. Especially if you have out of town quests in to entertain or just want to enjoy a day outside with friends and family with easy access to cold beverages and food.

    Read The Review
  • 10/12/20 - Carolina Lakes Golf Club

    "Average"
    Course photo

    Wow, this is such a long course, just a shade over 7,000 yards from the white tees! Really surprised at the length of this course since this is in a Del Web 55+ community. They do have green tees which are closer but almost near the red ladies tees. I played on a Monday and it had rained on Sat & Sun so the course was still a bit soggy. Because of this I almost had the course to myself. There were just a few other golfers who started on the front and they started me on the back so I have no one in front or behind me. Overall the course is in great condition, the fairways, greens and tee boxes are in good shape. It seems there are always those few who refuse to repair their divot marks on the greens. It's such a shame since it ruins the putt line of all who follow. It was cart path only because of the rain and it's such a long course so it made my round almost a 4 1/2 hour extravaganza. The staff is great, the gas carts run well and are in great shape. They let you take the carts into the parking lot to get your clubs. They have several bathrooms scattered throughout the course. It winds through the large neighborhood and would be extremely difficult to walk. It's scenically beautiful and I saw several deer, rabbits, red tail hawks and squirrels as I motored along the cart path. There are a few holes that are severe doglegs which create a blind shot. There is some water and quite a few fairway bunkers and green side bunkers. There is a lot of elevation change so you get some great vistas but the challenge that goes with it.

    Read The Review
  • 10/8/20 - The Tradition Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I was feeling a little intimidated about playing this course after reading a lot of reviews on various web sites. Especially about the amount of water and the severe doglegs. I found none of that to be true. I guess it's all relative right? Water does come into play on #8 which is a 115 yard par 3 over water. The balance of the water they refer to are either ponds that run alongside the fairway or creeks you may encounter that cross the fairway. Overall this is a very nice course and plays very well. The Fairways and Greens are in great shape for the most part. On hole #16 there is a strip of new sod that runs all the way across the green. For the most par the tee boxes were all green and in good shape. There were a few that were bare with little grass. It's very scenic and quiet, lots of wildlife and the fairways are wide open with strategic bunkers on most holes. It was 10/8/20 and the high was 85 but it was sunny and a nice breeze and just a perfect day for golf in the Carolinas! They have 2 driving ranges and a practice putting green. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was $35 bucks to ride 18 for the Senior rate which is a great value for a course of this caliber. The carts are electric and all in good repair. They won't let you take the cart into the parking lot so it's best to drop your bag and then park. I would recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 10/6/20 - The Divide Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I've been reading some good reviews about the upgrades to this course, including the addition of the Diamond Zoysia greens so it's been on my list of courses to play. Today it got checked off. I had a 12n Tuesday tee time and the weather was perfect for golf. When I got there at 11am to hit some balls off the driving range, I learned it was closed for some repairs. The Pro Shop guy said I could go ahead and start if I was ready so I did. This course plays very well. The fairways are in great shape and the course is wide open for the most part. There are some narrow fairways but maybe just a couple. There are just a few holes that leave you with a blind shot on the doglegs. I've never played on Diamond Zoysia so I wasn't sure what to expect. Just about a month in to the install and they still have a ways to go. It's almost like playing on green and silver sand with a little grass thrown in. It was very difficult to get a read on your putts. I especially liked the Par 3's on both sides, very accessible and set up nicely. I especially liked #18 which they consider their 'signature' hole. Which is 524 yards from the White tees. You have to go over a little creek to a landing area and then over a little pond to the green. It's visually appealing and wide open with all the water. There were several tee boxes that were in pool repair and in some cases just no grass at all, just bare dirt. That was disappointing to see. They get $32 riding for a Sr during the week which isn't bad. Their carts are gas and they keep them all clean and are following COVID guidelines. All the Staff I came in contact with were friendly and professional. Shout out to Gary who gave me some guidelines on some of the holes. I would highly recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 10/2/20 - Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    The last time I played this course was 22 years ago in a Father & Son Tournament. It's changed quite a lot since then and fortunately for the better. The greens, tee boxes and fairways are all in great condition. I got paired up with Bob & Haydon who had played before so I got some good guidance on the blind shots. Overall this is an exceptional Municipal Golf Course that has easy access off I-77. Ona sunny October Friday, we were able to go 9 holes in right at 2 hours. Just a perfect day for golf. I especially like hole #8 which is a dog leg right that plays about 300 yards. I was able to get on in two and had an eagle putt. The fairways are open and there is very little water and most holes are straight forward with just a couple of holes that are blind shots. I will definitely be playing this course again, at $23 bucks riding @ Sr rate, it's hard to beat. The carts are in fair shape and I understand the clubhouse was been newly rebuilt. There is nice driving range, practice putt area and chipping area as well. This is the home of the First Tee in the Charlotte area.

    Read The Review
  • 9/21/20 - Highland Creek Golf Club

    "Average"
    Course photo

    I played this course on a Monday in September, it was sunny and about 70 degrees but a very strong & gusty wind, maybe 20 to 25 mph. I had never played this course before so that certainly impacted conditions of play and my experience overall. I would say, the front nine on this course is much better than the back nine. The back has many holes with blind shots, extreme dog legs, many berms with rolling hills and fairway and green side bunkers that are not easily visible and can make it difficult playing the first time. In general the course is OK. The tee boxes and fairways are good. There are some narrow fairways on many holes where you are heavily penalized and risk going into the high rough on fairway lined creeks. The greens were mixed, OK on some holes but on most of them pock marked with un-repaired ball marks. The pace of play was good on a Monday afternoon, I was playing solo and had a twosome in front of me and a solo in back of me. I was able to play 18 holes in about 3 hours. The toughest hole is the Par 5, 18th that plays 460 yards but you have water at about the 150 yard mark which is a challenge. The Staff is nice, the gas carts were clean and in good order. Visually, it's nice with ponds, creeks and branches running throughout. The cart paths wind through the housing area, I crossed under 3 tunnels where the road goes over. When you come off the 17th green and drive the cart path you come to a large lake and the road forks. There is no sign. There was a nice man walking his dog and he said "the 18th tee is that way'. Otherwise I would have had no idea I needed to go left. It's a decent value overall I would say. I got the GolfNow discount at $38 bucks. It's about 45 minutes from my house in Fort Mill, SC so it wasn't really an exceptional enough experience to make me feel as though I would want to play it again as there are too many better choices that are much closer to where I live.

    Read The Review
  • 9/15/20 - Springfield Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    I have been reading for about 2 weeks about how good of a condition this course is in so today, I had to find out for myself. A 1230p tee time on a Tuesday with a clear blue sky and about 75 degrees, it was just perfect. The course is playing incredibly! The tee boxes, the fairways and the greens are all in excellent condition. I really like this course and the way it plays, you know when a course suits your eye and this is it fo me. There are some acute doglegs that challenge you to place your tee shot just so. Many holes will challenge you to place your second shot just so to approach the green. I think my favorite holes are all the Par 3's. All with elevated greens, green side bunkers and visually beautiful. The Staff here is fantastic! Dan the starter is a great guy who knows the course well and is willing to give you the local knowledge. There is a driving range, practice putt and chipping area as well. The carts are all clean and in good repair. All in all just a fantastic experience for a public course which I would highly recommend.

    Read The Review
  • 9/11/20 - Fort Mill Golf Club

    "Great course"
    Course photo

    A beautiful Friday in Carolina today and all golfers should be out playing. I got a GolfNow discount of $58 bucks & got paired up with Nick & Mason from Indian Trail for a 12noon tee time. I've played this course three times in the last 2 years & today it played the best of all. The Greens are in fantastic condition, rolling true, well manicured and just pristine. The Tee boxes and Fairways all in excellent condition. This course plays beautifully. The Fairways are open, there is some water but not a lot. There are several holes with green side bunkers but not intrusive to the greens. Just a great all around experience today and I highly recommend this course, especially if you can get a GolfNow discount.

    Read The Review
  • 9/10/20 - Birkdale Golf Club

    "Average"
    Course photo

    Arnie would probably not be real happy with the condition of his course today. I was able to snag a $35 deal with the GolfNow app and got on for a 130p tee time. I got paired with a guy named Clint who had just retired and moved from California to Denver NC. He had played before & we're about the same age so it worked out good. He was able to offer some guidance on how the course plays. I'm sure when this course was first built in 1997 it was considered a premiere course. Not so much today as the years have not been kind. The tee boxes are good, the fairways are good but the greens were in very poor condition. There were bare spots, un-repaired divots and ragged patches. The front nine was much worse than the back. I really didn't care for the layout and design of this course. Way too many green side bunkers and the green design and pin placement made it very difficult at times. The are observing COVID guidelines. The Staff was nice, the Starter was great, the check-in was smooth and easy and the facilities seemed OK. There is a driving range and a small practice putting green area. The carts were clean and in good condition. On one of the holes on the front nine, balls that are hit from the driving range and are off-line come into the fairway which is very frustrating. I doubt I play this course again. I was disappointed since I had heard so many great things about the course when it first opened.

    Read The Review
  • 9/8/20 - Waterford Golf Club

    "Worth playing"
    Course photo

    I've been taking lessons from Brent who is the Pro here. This course was designed by Hale Irwin and was recently purchased by David Tepper, owner of the Carolina Panthers. Today, I was able to use my GolfNow discount app for a $35 afternoon tee time. It was so smooth and easy, I just gave my name and the tee time and he confirmed the time and that it was pre-paid. The course is better than average. The fairways are in excellent condition as are most of the greens. There were several tee boxes that were a little ragged. I really like the way the course played. The fairways are wide open and there is very little water that comes into play. There is a driving range on-site as well as a putting area. A little interesting that there are no holes on the practice putting surface, they use markers with weighted bottoms that you can move around on the putting surface. The carts were clean and worked well and there is plenty of parking. It will be interesting to see what Mr Tepper does if anything to change or update this course.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer