Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Lessons
Posted by: IM4DHERD
on 8/17/18 1:40pm
Searched the Message Board for "Lessons" and "Instruction" and see nothing newer than 3 years old. I desperately need a tune up, maybe an overhaul. Curious to read reviews of area pros ......

phatdba's Course Reviews


View Recent Reviews by All Users

Username: phatdba View Profile
Location: Charlotte, NCAge Group: 50-64
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 16.0

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 10/12/14 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 89
Cost: $46
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Highland Creek deserves another look, for those who, like me, have avoided it past couple of years. It has moved from my Do Not Play list to Worth Playing. The challenging layout will both hook you and madden you. The greens are not great like Springfield or Ballantyne Resort, but good. Fairways are very good, refurbished bunkers have lovely fluffy sand (some are still under repair), rough is tough, tee boxes are average, staff is friendly, clubhouse is excellent. It's a bit high on the price/value curve for me to play there more often, but if you find a good discount, go for it, you won't be disappointed!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

River Oaks Golf Club Date: 6/21/14 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 95
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
This is a beautiful, fun course in terrific shape, and needs a current review, since the last one here is two years old. If you like elevation change, this is the course for you. My new favorite, and although it's an hour north of Charlotte, or I'd play it all the time. Nothing at all wrong with the course. Definitely need to play it a couple times to figure out where to hit on some of the holes.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 11/4/13 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $15
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Skybrook deserves a current review, and the news is good - the course has improved tremendously this year, and there are excellent deals available on GolfNow and EZLinks etc. The main thing - the greens get an A, most were perfect, 3-4 had small dead spots but they all rolled true. As per a recent complaint about the thick unmowed rough - today the rough is a decent height and you can find your ball, still better to hit the fairway of course. Love the layout, first class clubhouse. Kudos to the new management team! Take advantage now before the secret is out, while rates are good, fall weather is mild, and the crowds are staying away. I hope to see the rest of the Carolina Trail courses show similar improvement, although I understand Skybrook and Charlotte Golf Links are the only ones currently under new management.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 10/14/12 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 107
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Skybrook is in good condition. Greens were soft but fast and true, a bit misleading at first. The rough eats balls. There is a lot of variance in reviews for this and other Carolina Trail courses, but my experience and from what I've read, in general the condition is improving. I plan to play Highland Creek on Wed and Birkdale in a week or two to complete the full circuit this year. Only negative was the weak battery on the cart, and when we switched carts at halftime, same problem - so we got golf AND cardio, pushing the cart up the hills. Lotta hills, too. First time playing Skybrook, definitely will play it again, but only for a good discount.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Fort Mill Golf Club Date: 5/21/12 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 97
Cost: $24
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Fort Mill is in the best condition of the 8-10 local courses I've played this spring - lush green fairways, fast beautiful greens. This is one of the best walking courses around and they have good twilight rates. We walked, as many others did, and even though it was a very busy Sunday afternoon, we finished in 4 hours. A bit forgiving, esp on the front 9, I even skipped one on the water on #2 to the other side (not on purpose).
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course Date: 5/17/12 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 94
Cost: $23
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Renaissance has gotten mixed reviews, but no reviews recently, so they are due for an update. The greens are in very good shape, fast and true, the fairways are patchy. Got a great deal for a morning weekday round from golfnow.com and flew through the course in 3 hours. Love the challenge here, it is a long tough course, definitely would play again for a good bargain.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Larkhaven Golf Club Date: 1/6/12 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 107
Cost: $24
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
This winter Larkhaven has by far the best fairways, and some of the best greens. While most fairways are now brown and thin, theirs are somehow very green and lush. On a beautiful day with a morning frost delay and good rates, it was understandably crowded and backed up, our 12:58 group didn't tee off till 1:30 and we were on the 17th when it got too dark to see (turns out I play better when I can't see!). Great variety of holes on the layout. My only complaint is that overscheduling seems to be chronic - I hadn't played there for several years because of that. B-Man's Golf, IMO, is the best local guide to Charlotte golf, and I have enjoyed your reviews for several years, so thank you! Time to give back, so I finally registered and this is my first review.
View Comments (0) Post Comment