Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses

Reviews for River Oaks Golf Club

Recent Reviews for All Courses

Review
  • 7/29/20 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    First time out to River Oaks in several years. Course was in fantastic shape. Probably in the top four or five places I've played so far this year as far as conditions go. Tees, fairways, and greens all were great. Bermuda rough was thick in some places, yet more playable in others. Maybe my only knock on the course was the inconsistency of sand in the bunkers. Some had soft, white sand, while others had harder brown sand. The elevation changes and doglegs require accuracy and correct decision making off the tee. Greens are large and receptive, but you have to put your ball in the proper section if you want a chance to score. Fringes and run up areas are mowed tight and require precise chips and pitches. Pace of play was good; there were only a few groups on the course early on a Wednesday morning.

    Read The Review
  • 7/3/20 - Review by sd84

    "Great course"

    I have not played this course in forever, back when there wasn't a clubhouse and they had a trailer. And the green on #1 was on the other side of the pond behind the present location of the green. It may have even been last century. I hadn't gone back because it wasn't in the best shape then but reading some reviews on here recently made me try again. And I'm glad I did. The course was in excellent shape, and it is much more open than I remember it. Lots of trees have been removed which I'm sure has helped improve the condition. This is still a course where you must position yourself well and was just as hilly as I remember. If you can't control your ball well, you will lose a bunch of balls even with all of the tree removal. But the tees, greens and fairways were in fantastic shape, except for the common area between 15 and 16 as all of the rain this winter and spring may have contributed to it. The only drawback was pace of play (nearly 5:10) on a very hot day.

    Read The Review
  • 7/3/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first time playing all 18 holes here and only my second visit. Man have I been missing out! Just a fantastic layout, front and back, with unique challenges and many memorable holes. This course fits the "Wow" factor of my Top 10 rankings very well and that's why it earned an Honorable Mention in my Charlotte Agenda Top 10. If I had played all 18 before I wrote it, River Oaks would likely be in the Top 10. It's a haul for me (1 hour plus from southeast Charlotte) or I'd play this course every week. And I need to, to get used to some of the more difficult holes. The front nine has 4 really tough ones -- the par 4 3rd hole and the par 4 8th hole require two of the most accurate tee shots you'll face on any course. You can sometimes get a break on #8 if the tee is down on the bottom, making the hole 10x easier as an iron/wedge par 4, but oh man, if the tee is on top! You are barely able to see the narrow fairway, protected on 3 sides by hazards with the view blocked by a steep hill on the left. The closing par 4 on the front 9 is a blind, layup tee shot with an approach to an elevated green perched in front of the clubhouse. The back 9 doesn't let up either, with a back and forth mix of risk/reward and birdie/bogey opportunities throughout. The closing par 5 is the best example -- you can play for birdie/eagle with an aggressive tee shot that better be in the fairway to try for the creek-protected green. Or you can play it as a 3-shotter but that again requires 3 accurate shots with hazards and bunkers challenging each shot. It really is an exhilarating course that you will score better on the more you play it. Conditions were very good - the greens rolled true and quick with no issues at all. The tees and fairways were lush. There are a few areas on the course you want to avoid -- especially the right side of the par 5 #2 hole, which is all dirt and dead trees and not cleared out yet. There is also quite a bit of thick high grass bordering the fairways on some of the back nine holes where errant shots go to die. I did not use the practice facilities but I did notice they have a uniquely elevated driving range. The clubhouse and restaurant are top notch and when the COVID restrictions ease, it's a great spot for your 19th hole gatherings as it overlooks the 9th and 18th greens. And check out their rates -- this course is value-priced with a 5 star layout and great conditions. I can't wait to get back and try this one again!

    Read The Review
  • 7/10/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Average"

    For the most part the fairways were in good shape. The greens had been top-dressed with a sand that had numerous small pebbles in it. Ball marks all over, not unlike Emerald Lake. The traps looked good. They had put a lot of money into clearing trees and maybe just don't have enough now to keep it in the shape I remembered (last play 11/17).

    Read The Review
  • 6/21/14 - Review by phatdba

    "Great course"

    This is a beautiful, fun course in terrific shape, and needs a current review, since the last one here is two years old. If you like elevation change, this is the course for you. My new favorite, and although it's an hour north of Charlotte, or I'd play it all the time. Nothing at all wrong with the course. Definitely need to play it a couple times to figure out where to hit on some of the holes.

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/12 - Review by sawlog

    "Below average"

    I went over and played today. The rest of the course was ok and the new club house was great. The biggest problem is the greens were heat stressed and they looked bad. They are trying to get this place up to standard but the greens are holding them back.

    Read The Review
  • 7/27/12 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    I Live in Huntersville. Normally play Verdict Ridge, Glen Oaks, Fox Den, Birkdale & Skybrook (although am not a fan of CT mgmt's lackadaisical attitude towards conditions),Rock Barn and Warrior, sometimes Red Bridge. River Oaks is now definitely added back into the rotation. Have played here often, back through when it was Buffalo Shoals National, but gave it up a couple of year ago when there was no grass anywhere but on the some tees and greens. Had read that new management was making great improvements and saw a recent good review here so gave it another chance today. Fairways were all in really good shape, greens the same for the most part. Certainly hardpan in a lot of the rough and some on some fairways, but if you'd seen this place a couple of years ago, you'd never believe it now. Traps were in great shape. Where it's thin you can see where they are planting to make it better. Definitely one of the best layouts within an hour of Charlotte (10 minutes from 77 off 40 at Statesville - JUST off I40 Exit 141)...I'd put the layout itself up against the Jones course at Rock Barn.

    Read The Review
  • 7/6/12 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Worth playing"

    Good course.It is a little tight in places.A lot of steep elevation changes.The green were in good shape except for a couple around the fringe, but to me seemed a little small.Sand traps appeared to have been fairly well maintained.The surrounding terrain is pretty wooded and if you are off the fairways in the woods you can forget the ball because of thick briars and undergrowth.Stay on the fairways or the short rough and you are ok.The fairways were in descent shape in spite of the dry weather.A little bit of a haul from my house-Concord-but ok.Good online deals at times.

    Read The Review
  • 6/24/12 - Review by sawlog

    "Worth playing"

    I don't remember the score for that day, it is the last time I have had the chance to play here. The new ownership group is working wonders with this course. I had some friends up to play with us it was their first time, so a good time was had by all. This course is tight, if you miss hit the ball by a small amount you will go OB. That is the part of this course that keeps me away, but if you are a player that hits fairways you will enjoy playing here. I will play here again because of two things the price is good and it gives you another choice in the Statesville, Hickory area to play. Not a lot of reasonable priced public access courses here, and especially one that has decent conditions.

    Read The Review
  • 6/12/07 - Forum Posting by Fisher titled "Re: River Oaks at lake norman"

    I played River Oaks on Sat., 6/9 and never played it as NC National. This assessment is based on the present layout of the course.

    River Oaks (ROGC) has the potential to be one of the finest courses on the I-40 corridor west of 77. At only 6400 yards from the back tees, itís a fair test of shotmaking & club selection. You really need to pick the right clubs on this course. That's why it can be one of the best in that area.

    Keep in mind, and I had to keep telling myself, that ROGC is a NEW course, from tee to green. A lot of the greens are new & the staff may still be in the process of marking yardages. You can tell that ROGC laid down a lot of sod to build those greens. They wanted the least amount of time for grow-in so they can begin to get revenue from play, so they laid down sod instead of seed to a lot of the greens on the front 9. Considering the immaturity of some greens, most rolled exceptionally well, and consistent. I was pleasantly surprised!

    The 1st Hole used to be a long par-4 back in the pre-ROGC era. Now, itís a short, but fair 320-yd par 4. The creek no longer is in play, but the new green is. It's shallow from front to back (I paced off 16 steps from the front until the hole drops off into the abyss). An accurate short iron approach on Hole #1 will reward you with an easy birdie opportunity. If you miss long or left...you'll scramble for bogey or worse, make a drop for double. I could be wrong, but #1 may be the only significant change on the front 9 until you finish the side.

    My favorite hole by far is #8. A 400-yd par-4 from an elevated tee, and a tee shot that forces you to hit a high-draw. The visual aspect of this tee shot is amazing!! You have to play it yourself to believe it. The fairway looks tiny, but a high tee shot opens it up. Go ahead a rip driver, you have plenty of room, just donít miss it right. A pushed tee ball on this hole is gone forever.

    The 9th is the epitome of penal golf! Before the change, it mustíve been a short, easy par-4. Now, itís a daunting, 220 yd par-3. You have to carry your shot all the way to the green. Any short shots are lost into the ravine the fronts the green & the sides. Higher handicappers will want to take advantage of the fairway and hit their tee shots & hope for a close approach to a one-putt par. Otherwise, youíll stare at double or worse if your tee shot is short. Stronger players may want to hit an extra club & play to miss long; thereís a natural ďbackstopĒ behind the green. Although this hole plays a full club less, you still need to catch it all to get it on the putting surface.

    From what I understand, the back-9 still remains as it once was. Again, itís a test of club selection and accuracy. Length off the tee is not a significant part of scoring on this course. For example, a short par-3 (127 yds) on the back-9 requires two- to three-clubs LESS on approach because of its severe elevation. I hit easy SW where it should have been smooth LW...heck, if my putter had one degree more loft, I would have hit it.

    The 200 yard par-3, 17th is another hole where you end up scratching your head to exactly how far you need to hit it. Itís a flat hole, with water on the left side. Looks can be deceiving! Play your shot to the right half of the green to eliminate the hazard and greenside bunkers.

    My only criticism is that you always question your yardages on many of the holes, especially the par-3ís. My recommendation to the course is to send its assistant pro or superintendent to laser each hole from at least 5-10 different spots and mark it down, get in on paper & hand it to every player that checks in. That would have helped me tremendously. If you have a range finder...bring it!!

    Otherwise, River Oaks can be the place to go if youíre looking to play a great mountain style course but also challenge your shotmaking & on course management. Although not as long as Skybrook or Verdict Ridge, River Oaks can belong to that class in several years, if not less.



Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Forum Post

The Divide closing for greens renovation this month

By The B-Man on 8/5/20

Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round). The work starts next week and the course...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer