Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Tillery Tradition Status
Posted by: kuehbr
on 10/10/17 11:25am
Thanks for the update! One of my favorite area courses and happy to hear that they are putting in the time/money to make that place great again, looking forward to playing it in the upcoming months

Reviews for Edgewater Golf Club


View Recent Reviews for All Courses

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 9/24/17 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 79
Cost: $27
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: HittOD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 5.0
Greens 2.75/5 (some spottiness due to being bent grass coming out of hot time of the year, and aeration recently)., Fairways 4/5 (nice), Traps 2.5/5 ( many need more sand), Clubhouse/Staff 5/5 (always great). Course Layout 4/5 (nice mix of holes) From my experience playing bent greens, I expect the greens at Edgewater to be much nicer by the end of October after some cooler nights.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/4/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Greens, tees and fairways are still perfect. They just need to fix the bunkers and they would get 5/5 stars.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 6/17/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
The only thing stopping me from giving a perfect rating is that the bunkers need sand and the carts have no sand bottles to fill divots with. Good news is that staff told me they are working on both. Apart from that the tees, fairways and greens were all perfect. Great staff in the pro shop as well. This course is in beautiful shape, it is well worth the drive from charlotte.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 6/26/16 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 79
Cost: $23
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: jscum13 See All Reviews by this user
Second trip down to Lancaster for this hidden gem. Really fun track. Greens are bent grass and in really good condition. If you are from the North and used to bent grass, this is a course you'll love to roll the pearl on. Fairways, rough and tee boxes a bit dry from the drought, plus heat, the Carolinas have had last few weeks. Couple beautiful, scenic holes that stick with you after the round. Highly recommend. 50 minute drive from Charlotte.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 6/5/16 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 94
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: DMR plugger See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 20.0
Avoided the Rain until the 18th hole: The fairways and greens are in very good shape, some bare spots along the fringe and sand in the bunkers is lacking. It's a fun course to play and provides good opportunities for everyone to score well, the greens held the ball and rolled true. The Staff, beyond excellent! Highly recommend it's a favorite even if it is over an hour away.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 3/31/16 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $33
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
This course is such a pleasure to play! From the minute I arrived on the property I was attended to as if it were a private cc. The practice range was being sanded so it was not in the best shape. The range balls were really in bad shape. The course itself was as good as could be expected for this time of the year. Things are beginning to green up nicely. Putting was a challenge since the greens were recovering from being punched a couple of weeks ago. Not bad but still in recovery. The bunkers were in good condition, but could use some sand in some cases. Evidence of divots being repaired, so the sand is being used from the carts. So quiet and remote! A great golfing experience on a truly solid course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 2/21/16 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 79
Cost: $49
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Unfortunately, for now, Edgewater's best days seem to be behind it. Fuzzy Zoeller has pulled his name off the course, and they are under new ownership. There were tons of divots in the first fairway, and I took a massive one myself. I went to my cart to get sand to fill it, and guess what...no sand on the carts. Every fairway was filled with massive divots as a result, with no way to fix them. Bunkers were looking very orange, they are badly needing a top up of sand. The greens are ok, still roll well, but nowhere close to what they used to be. I fear that Edgwater will struggle to get enough play to support it, and as a result the decline has begun. But I hope I am proven wrong.
View Comments (3) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 2/18/16 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: nlynch13 See All Reviews by this user
Went to Edgewater last Thursday and I have to say that the new ownership group will do nothing but help this great lay out. Although it is off the beaten path and there really is not a great way of getting there it is one of my favorite lay outs in the area and never disappoints. The new ownership has put great people in charge of the golf shop and customer service is there priority. As soon as I got on the property I felt welcomed and greeted by the Outside Service employee that was there. Although the bunkers weren't in the greatest shape and there was no sand on the carts I still had a great round and great fellowship with my foursome. The greens were in terrific shape although there were a couple pin placements that were just unfair. I have to say that if you want a great layout for a great price just south of the state line. I would definitely recommend Edgewater Golf Club!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 1/31/16 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 74
Cost: $41
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
WOW! Made the trip down I77 to Edgewater this morning. Worth driving 3 hours for! Our trip only took us 40 minutes. Could not have asked for a more spectacular day for golf in January. From the moment we arrived and were met with a player rep with our carts to the final putt this was a truly special day. The course was in great condidtion given the recent snows. A few wet spots but none that had an impact on our play. The traps were wet but in good condition. The greens were a real surprise! They were mid-season perfect. They held incoming shots and they rolled as true as one could want. Speed only begins to describe the way they putted. Finally, a huge way to go to all of the employes! They all went out of their way to make sure we were having a good golf experience, no a GREAT golf experience actually. What Edgewater does in the way of customer service I know many private clubs could learn a few things. Well worth the effort to get there. You will love every minute of your time at Edgewater.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/7/15 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
A good day at Edgewater. At arrival an attendant pulled a cart up to help us load. Very friendly. Same with the check in and starter. Very friendly all around. Course in good shape. Tee boxes and fairways nice. Bunkers not raked after rain the previous evening. Cart path only due to rain. Rough is up and can be tough. Greens were ok. Small punches healing and not really issue. After round again very friendly with attendant putting clubs in car and taking cart. Someone from the pro shop came out and thanked us for coming out and playing. Again, never seen this high level of service at any of the public courses in Charlotte. Here is hoping this course does well.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/1/15 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time back at Edgewater in a couple of years. It is quite a haul from my neck of the woods, tucked away about an hour's drive down in Lancaster, SC. We got a $30 twilight rate (starts everyday after 2pm) and played in a crisp 3.5 hours as a twosome. Overall great conditions. Tee boxes, fairways and greens all in good shape. The bentgrass greens are doing very well in the summer heat. They rolled really true with good speed. No issues at all. The layout is still a great mix of holes - doglegs right and left, downhill and uphill holes, nearly driveable par 4's and a couple of reachable par 5's. This continues to be a favorite of mine (only a little bias since I shot my career best score there a few years ago). The only thing I could nitpick is the bunkers. The sand in most of them is very thick and there seems to be no bottom - I could almost dig my heels in a foot deep. So they were tough to get used to. Still, with the cheap rate, the sparse play, the nice staff and -- big kudos here -- ice coolers full of complimentary water bottles about every 4 holes, this course is worth the drive. I've got to make more trips to play here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/31/15 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 22.0
Fairways were rock hard and had trouble holding any shots that had a fade or draw. Rough was very short and dry as well. Greens were in excellent condition. Staff is always very courteous with free bottled water on the course and a free range token included in your greens fees. Still, well worth the drive.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 4/4/15 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 83
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: jscum13 See All Reviews by this user
I really enjoyed the layout of this course. The greens were mint and rolled great. The course is still dormant but will look great when grass comes in. We played in 4 hours and 10 minutes on a busy holiday. No Rangers out there to manage pace of play was my only negative. Lots of twosomes out roaming the course
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 9/3/14 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 73
Cost: $30
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
Made the trip down I77 and out to paradise! The course was perfect. Fairways fully grassed and the lies good. Traps were full of sand but in some cases were wet and heavy. Not consistent. The greens, really nice! The ball held on every shot that I hit into the green. On one occasion, the ball stopped in it's own ball mark. Soft. They rolled really smooth. Some greens were a bit slower than others but that had to do with hot weather management, watering. We moved along just fine after the threesome finished a 9 hole round. This is truly a gem of a course and worth the drive time from Charlotte. No houses, wild turkey's (not the guys I played with) and plenty of peace and quiet! That is how gold should be.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 6/1/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Making my rounds of my favorite courses before I leave. The only knock is that fairways are still thin and frequently iffy - they have improved over the years but remain less than ideal. Same for teeboxes and the range. Greens and traps perfect (except the one with the huge footprint that my ball found). Still have bottled water on ice on the course. The course is still in the middle of nowhere (they haven't moved it). Still no houses on the course, and they have cleared some trees so you can see the lake on a few more holes and from the range.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/10/14 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
Second time playing this course and I was not disappointed with the reviews. The greens are probably the best around Charlotte. The fairways could definitely use some help. There were weeds and barren patches on most fairways. Didn't affect play all that much. The bunker were very wet from the rain a couple of days ago. IF this course wasn't so far from Charlotte I would definitely play it more often.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 4/6/14 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
Played on a Sunday afternoon. I really like this course even though it is a haul from Charlotte. Nice friendly staff as usual. Laid back atmosphere. Pace of play was good at right at 4 hours. Fairways are starting to green up a bit, within a month they will be real nice. Some areas were fairly hard so big roll in the fairway, but it made approach shots a little more difficult. Greens were very good and the ball rolled well. You could barely see the punch marks, a few weeks and the greens will be perfect. I was in a couple of bunkers and they were in good shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 3/22/14 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 87
Cost: $45
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: carp24000 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Great course...but greens were just punched. Very bumpy, which is a bummer since I have heard nothing but great reviews about that greens. Wish I knew that the greens were punched when I called for a tee time. Give it a few weeks...it's not worth the price right now
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 3/8/14 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 83
Cost: $
Conditions: PerfectPace: > 5 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Hands down the best greens I have putted on in the last 5 years. Smoother than glass. The course was wet from all the rain, but the greens were absolutely, phenomenally, outstandingly perfect. It is definitely worth the drive from Charlotte in its current condition. (Ignore the pace of play as we were playing in a USGA rule tournament with 130+ players and it was cart path only)
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 11/15/13 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
Course in great shape. Greens near perfect. Good roll on the fairways. Not many on the course and no one in front of us or behind us until the final 2 holes. Bunkers in good shape and rough still pretty thick. Great course if you don't mind the drive from Clt.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 10/15/13 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 70
Cost: $13
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: YoMama111 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 0.0
Made the trek out to Edgewater. The greens were perfect. A little slower than normal, but super consistent. The rough was deep but fair. Everything was great! Picked up a $13 rate on golfnow, would not have been disappointed to pay much more than that. Best bent grass greens I've played in quite some time. Go play it you won't be disappointed
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 9/4/13 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 71
Cost: $30
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: oneputt See All Reviews by this user
Out in the middle of nowhere! Worth every mile and dollar! This is by far the best conditioned course I have had a chance to play since moving to the area. Greens were perfect! Putted true and rolled with speed. Fairways were as good as anyone would ever expect from a public access course. Traps and bunkers were in excellent shape. pace of play was a little slow but not bad. I strongly urge anyone looking for a pure golf experience with no, I repeat, no housing intruding on the course, you have to make it down to Edgewater!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/23/13 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: dongtrgolfer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 11.0
Course in very good shape. Tee boxes nice, fairways good, greens close to perfect. Only in one fairway bunker which was in good shape. Some wet spots but overall not bad given all the rain. Rough was fairly thick even just off fairway so bring your straight driver. 90 degree rule for carts. Pace was under 4 hours and we saw no one most of our round. One single played through our foursome. Nice folks in the pro shop and free bottle water on the course is a nice touch. If it was not so far I would play all the time.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 6/1/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: imazstar See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
The fairways have really started to pop out. I heard they put some fertilizer on them a week or so ago and I wanted to check them out for myself. Man i give it another week and they will have great fairways. The greens as usual were in excellent condition. As always i had an amazing time!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/26/13 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 80
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
I love Edgewater - the layout, the greens, free water on the course, free range balls, friendly staff. The big but...however...is the fairways are very thin and patchy. I thought they would grow in over the past few years, but they just haven't. It's nice to get roll-out on drives, but it would be nicer to be able to play the ball down and have consistent grass in the fairways. I don't know if they need to overseed, or what, but I do wish they would address the only issue that keeps this from being a truly great course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/25/13 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 89
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: bauman14 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.0
Great time, peaceful and relaxing. Best greens in the Carolina's, roll true and consistent. Plenty of tee boxes to choose from, especially fair tee box for my wife. My favorite hole is number 13 which is a reachable par 5 in 2 shots, with a spectacular view of the lake from the green (great photo op). Golf staff is great, they treat everyone with courtesy and respect. Shut your cell phone off and enjoy this track. You will not be disappointed.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/23/13 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $30
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: estanwick See All Reviews by this user
Greens: A+ Fairways: B Tee boxes: B Heavy rain the night before so most of course "soupy". Sand traps were raked after rain and in excellent shape. They really try hard here. Greens are probably better than some CC you might play. Only issue, the drive. Might get lost but well worth playing this course. MUST play for the greens.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/21/13 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Rather be driving a Titleist! See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 5.0
Played at 2:10 pm at the twilight rate of $30. Best deal around and the greens are absolutely PERFECT. The fairways and tees are green and coming in great. I play all over the area and for this price you cannot beat it. They even have bottled water on the golf course!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/8/13 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: imazstar See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Greens are amazing! With the late start to spring around here the fairways and tee boxes are coming in nicely. The staff was excellent! Will definantly be going back there soon!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 4/30/13 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Rather be driving a Titleist! See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 5.0
1st trip over to Edgewater in a month or so. Greens were absolutely wonderful. Fairways and tees are greening up nicely considering such a SLOW start to spring. Staff was very nice and super accommodating. Fuzzy should be very proud! Will be playing again next week.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 3/30/13 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score:
Cost: $49
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: > 5 Hours
Username: jooliver See All Reviews by this user
This is one of my favorite courses, but not right now. The greens were punched recently and are looking thin, yet they are still charging $49. The worst right now has to be the fairways which are washed out and dead. Plus, the round took over 5 hours to complete. Not worth the money right now.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 3/15/13 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 84
Cost: $20
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: atw4377 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 10.0
This was my first time playing Edgewater and I was very impressed. This is a very good tract, well designed and in great shape for this time of the year. The layout was really enjoyable, giving the golfer opportunities of risk and reward. The greens were in absolutely perfect condition, rolling true and quick. The tee boxes (though dormant) had plenty of grass so it wasn't like you were hitting out of sand. A few fairways did have some drainage areas but we had just had about a week of rain. We didn't see a single other group all day and was able to play in about 3 hours. Overall this place was fantastic.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 9/9/12 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Wow! $30 on a weekend, even for a 2:00 pm teetime! Greens near perfect, just the fairways occasionally have mixed grasses (most were fine, but some not). Traps still very wet. All in all, a great place to play.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/26/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 86
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: ILL-INI See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 9.0
This is literally one of the nicest places to play in the entire Charlotte area. The course doesn't get a ton of wear and tear because not a lot of guys play here. Fantastic conditions right now - greens are some of the best around. Do yourself a favor and just take a ride and go enjoy this place. Excellent!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/6/12 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: izzyf150 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 17.4
Played Edgewater for the first time. This is a good course in good condition. I get the feeling it was going to be a retirement village (like Carolina Lakes) but it never got going. You pass by a guard shack (unmanned) and drive a mile or two to get to the course and thatís all thatís there, a golf course, no houses or anything. This course has a little bit of everything on it. Flat straight fairways, uphill tee shot, downhill tee shots, slight doglegs, hard doglegs, some water hole, mostly just sand trap hazards though. Which reminds me, the name Edgewater is deceiving, this course doesnít have any more water hazards on it then any of course you would play on. I only recall being able to see the big lake from 2 holes on the whole course and the lake is not in play by any means. I guess it is called Edgewater because there is a lake close by. You can see where the greens have been punched not too long ago but the ball is rolling mostly smooth (a couple of bumps left) Greens have a nice medium speed. Sand traps are not too bad but could use a touch more sand. The par 3ís are long. Shortest one was 180 yards and the longest was 230 yards from the middle tees. Some of the holes on the course had forced carries off the box also. Iím a weekday golfer so I canít vouch for the weekends, but we had the whole course to ourselves it seemed. No houses, no traffic, hardly seen any other golfers. Just you and the golf course, nothing else. 50 minute drive from Indian Trail traveling down 200 to get there. Which was also nice, no traffic to drive through to get there.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/1/12 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $30
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Wulfpack See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 15.0
First time out to Edgewater. Have heard wonderful things about the course and was not disappointed. Really love this course and will be back. Loved the layout, some very reachable par 5s. Beautiful scenery with the lake (though I wish there were a little more lake views), pines, and rolling terrain. Incredibly lush/green and well kept. Excellent staff, free water and range balls. The greens are the star of the show, and they water them all day long. The best greens around - left many a ball mark (don't worry, I repaired them!). Had the course to myself for the most part, and it is incredibly peaceful and quiet out there. Only improvements I would suggest would be to keep the bunkers better maintained, keep some of the debris off the fairways (must have been a recent summer storm), and would like to see a better maintained driving range. It was damp and that red clay got all over my shoes - they were also low on range balls. Could easily put in some pavers leading to the range to keep your feet clean. If you come out here in the hot summer, bring a couple of extra towels and you can cool off every few holes using the coolers of ice keeping the water ice cold. Really makes a difference. Top notch golf experience. Well done, Edgewater. You make Fuzzy Zoeller proud.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/5/12 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $30
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: weedwhacker3 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Loved this course. Alot of people have told me to try it out and I finally did and I see why it gets great reviews. Nice greens, nice fairways and nice tee boxes. Some fairways were a little wet but no biggy. Free range balls and free water bottles in coolers every 3 holes is awesome. Quite a drive even for me, about 50 minutes, and my GPS cannot find it but it is worth the drive. As a matter of fact my group is playing there tomorrow.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/6/12 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
This is one of my favorites in the area. Unfortunately, it's quite a haul from my part of town (1 hour 15 min) so I don't get to play here much. The greens are in perfect shape and roll true. The amenities and staff are top-notch -- reasonable prices with water bottles and range balls *included* in your fee. The layout is a fun mix of reachable par 5's (even a reachable par 4 1st hole) and challenging par 4's and 3's. My only critiques are the thin fairways and few holes where good shots may not be rewarded. The course is now 3 years old, but the fairways -- esp. on the front 9 -- still have bare, hardpan lies in lots of places. The short par 4 #12 allows good tee shots in the fairway to roll into the woods out of play. Overall, though, I always enjoy playing here and will be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 4/7/12 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $49
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Hate to say it, but although the greens are near perfect, the fairways and tee boxes and traps are all in poor condition. I understand the traps, just weren't raked after the recent heavy rain. But the fairways are very marginal: I think they need seeding and/or punching, but I don't know if the course has the money for that. Still a great layout, and the staff are very friendly.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 11/6/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Orion See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 30.0
Fantastic course, probably one of my best rounds too. Yes, the fairways are thin and it can be trouble if you're wayward, but you are rewarded if you keep it fairly close to the fairway. Only a couple gripes...leaves everywhere, I lost one and nearly lost another just because of all the leaves...it's fall, so I can't fault the course...but all the same. It's a little costly too, 49$ seems a bit much for an afternoon tee time, but it is what it is. You get some good bang for your buck though, some very scenic shots and it is very very quiet. Definitely one of the courses you should play.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 10/24/11 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 82
Cost: $40
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: jooliver See All Reviews by this user
Perfect. If I want to be picky, SOME of the fairways are thin. Otherwise, perfect. Played the course 4 times this year from late March to now and the greens were awesome each time. They punched the greens 4 weeks ago and we played about 7 days after and they offered us a reduced rate of $25 for the trouble. No trouble, greens were still great. Great staff
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 10/22/11 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Fairways very thin, otherwise conditions great.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 9/17/11 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: ctwheels See All Reviews by this user
Course was in good shape, greens were a little slow, mainly due to all the rain. Otherwise one of favorites to play, very fair and good test. Allot of elevation changes and very scenic. For the money one of the best around.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 9/1/11 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $21
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: panthersfann55 See All Reviews by this user
Had to go back after the good experience we had last time. With clickit deal and $10 off coupon paid only $21. Golf course was still in great shape for being the end of summer only the greens are starting to show the wear of unfixed ball marks. It's sad that something so easily fixable by us golfers is so forgotten (laziness). Too bad it takes over an hour to get there, so looks like we will be back next year.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/4/11 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 81
Cost: $23
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: panthersfann55 See All Reviews by this user
I normally do not give 5 stars for any course, but going off previous reviews we had to check this course out. Greens in great shape especially when they hold long and short iron shots into them (had a ball suck back 29 ft), fairways had some run to them, rough an average height, driving range (free balls),practice green speed was the same as on the course (very rare at most golf courses), free bottled water available on course, clubhouse staff friendly. The rate drop as well as a clickit discount deal made it a no brainer. you will not find a better public course in this condition at this time of year anywhere.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/1/11 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 84
Cost: $40
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Fattyhoon See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 6.0
Been hearing great things about this course and wanted to play it for a while. Now that I have, all I can say is WOW. This course it a little bit of a hike from Charlotte, but well worth the drive. Best Course I have played in years...and I play them all. I usually agree with Mat on here that Springfield is one of the nicest in the area, until I played Edgewater. Course was in Pristine condition. Tee Boxes, Fairways and greens were PERFECT. Rough wasn't as high as other places, but was full and challenging. Greens were a tad slow, but were being watered around us, so this was to be expected. Very few marks of any kind, and they rolled consistent and true all day. Staff was all very friendly and helpful, with one even stopping and spotting a ball for me on a blind shot. Scenery was beautiful, and there was very little play. What a serene and relaxing round of golf. This course is worth double what they charge, and for $40 range balls and bottle water on the course were included. I am trying to think of a negative thing to say and I can't find a thing. I already have a time booked for later this week. What a fantastic Jewel in the rough this course is. A+++
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/31/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: CU_Tigerfan See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Occasional Golfer (handful of times per year)Handicap: 13.9
This was my first time down there, and first time playing anywhere in a while. As everyone else has already stated, conditions were fantastic. Greens were all smooth and everything rolled true. They are a little slow, but given the brutal heat lately, you can't really expect anything different. On top of that, they have excellent customer service with free range balls and bottled water. With all that being said, I didn't really like the layout. I know I am in the minority opinion on that, but I just didn't think it was very memorable. The other three friends I played with all loved it though, so I guess take my opinion for what it's worth.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/31/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Hackerama See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Decent track, was wet, but nice layout, course in good shape. Challenging and worth the drive. Make sure you bring your A game. This time of year it was at least Green, and ball was rolling true.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/17/11 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
First review. As an intro, my girl calls me a golf whore because I will do it anywhere, anytime, with anyone whether I am enjoying it or not. I play public courses because I'd rather play 50 different places before I return to play any one twice...Variety is the spice of life. Figure I've gotten enough info from this site, so I might as well contribute. First time at Edgewater and it is now in my top 3-5 in the area. People complain about how far away it is, but that depends on perception. Took me a little over an hour from Huntersville, so P'ville, Matthews, etc. can't be all that bad. Excellent layout with wide fairways and interesting holes, not just the same old 380-400 straight par 4s with a bit of sand. Greens were in excellent shape, a bit slow but that's ok. Ball bounces a LOT in the fairways, but that'll take care of itself after their aerated a few times. $30 after 2PM and a 2.5 hour round on a Sat afternoon means I will make this trip again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/10/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Just nothing to complain about, except distance from Charlotte. Complimentary range balls, complimentary water on the course. Conditions great.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/4/11 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 94
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: El Supremo See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 16.0
The course is nearly perfect. Only complaint is that the bunkers could use a little work. A little. Rest of the course is perfect. Price includes range balls and there's coolers of bottled water throughout the course. Course does not get much play (which is why its in great shape) and it wouldn't surprise me at all to one day hear it's closing. Go play it before it does. Worth the trip. Fix your ball marks.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/3/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $49
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: Opow See All Reviews by this user
What a wonderful layout! If this course was 30miles closer to charlotte it would be a top ten. The fairways were a little thin but the greens were perfect except for the pitch marks left by lazy people. They also had water coolers with bottles of water about every three holes. They only hole I didn't like was the 231 yard par three on the back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 5/28/11 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: jooliver See All Reviews by this user
Played Edgewater the day after it got a ton of rain. The fairways were a little wet and some wash, but overall playable. The greens were perfect. A few spots due to players not fixing pitch marks, but other than that, rolling true. Very enjoyable round. Winter rates still in effect. Paid 40 dollars from Golfnow.com. Well worth it right now considering what other courses are charging to "play" their course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 2/20/11 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 87
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Just a few greens with some bumpiness. Fairways and teeboxes quite thin, but probably as expected this time of year. A great layout and a lot of fun to play.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 10/17/10 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
A few issues on some of the greens, but overall the conditions were excellent.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 8/21/10 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 117
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: metallikviper See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
A bit of a haul from Charlotte, but definitely worth the drive. A bit of a challenge for a high handicapper (player the gold tees). Except for a couple of holes most green and fairways were in good shape. Tree-lined most of the way so have to play target golf. Greens were soft and had a good roll. Will recommend.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 6/20/10 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: DrSchteeve See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Only complaint is fairways are still a bit sparse in some areas. Nice course, nice mix of holes, not too tough. Worth the drive, but still not up there with Verdict Ridge.
View Comments (0) Post Comment