Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Skybrook closing for greens renovation
Posted by: Kyle Smith
on 6/11/19 7:11am
Know several members at Skybrook and this is pretty much my "home course." Change is going to be great for this course. Pinnacle has committed 1.5 million to the renovations over the next few...

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 6/19/19 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Weekday Senior rate $35, replay $15, Played 36, 80 and 83. Course is in great shape. They had dressed the greens not too long ago but they were putting great and the sandtraps showed issues from some recent heavy rain (ponds, etc. were bloated) but you could tell there is fresh sand in all of them and maintenance was out raking them back into shape. Tee boxes, save #10 that gets little sun, were for the most part great and the fairways, rough and fringes were very good. Well worth playing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/7/19 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Some might rate it average, but am giving them credit for the work being done. Issues - Most tee boxes have little if any grass. On one, we teed up just outside the designated teeing area, just to have some grass. They are, for the most part, well sanded so they are definitely working on them. The rough is fairly thin and had been aerated maybe not so recently. Again, they are aware of it, working on it and ask they you drive the carts in the fairways not the rough. Fairways and greens are in excellent shape, no complaints whatsoever. I guess they re-did the greens since the last time I played. They used to be so crazy fast that if your approach was above the hole you were screwed. Rolling very true now. Great practice area. One thing, and this is becoming a pet peeve of mine - Not a single red or yellow stake or line anywhere on the course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 6/4/19 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 101
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dad4204 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
As said earlier, the greens are severely pockmarked. I tried to repair several marks each hole, but it's a lesson in frustration as there are thousands. Fairways good, bunkers mostly good, but unraked, not sure why that was. I ran out of sand in 4 holes so the new carts will hopefully have 2 carriers. I didn't see a place on the course to acquire new sand, so played the last 14 holes without it. Obviously I'm obsessed with that. I love this course, but it kicked me this time. Tees were hard as a rock, maybe they could put a hammer in each cart. Should be good now with the rain.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Larkin Golf Club Date: 6/3/19 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
The good, the bad, and the ugly. The good - Course is in excellent shape, perhaps in part due to lack of play because for what seems like forever they have had #10 either totally closed or at least shortened due to neighborhood construction. #11 was shortened for some time too due to rebuilding of tee-boxes. I know I avoided it for more than a year. Sister course to Stonebridge and Edgewater and it shows in it's condition. Greens are fantastic. Hardly a blemish. The fairways near perfect except for some approach areas with multiple divots that haven't grown in, maybe due to the recent lack of rain? Bunkers look to have been recently re-done and are in great shape. Tee to green as nice as anywhere around, or better. Best $25 conditions out there, for sure. Holes 5-11 are like playing a mountain course with elevation changes seldom seen around here. The bad - Afore-mentioned construction. Not on the tees, fairways or greens but they are building a surrounding neighborhood. Just a bit distracting. Have to follow a maze to get to #1 and #10. Really only affects #s 11 and 12. Didn't see any marks/designations for penalty areas. No red or yellow stakes or lines anywhere. There are a number of holes with areas of very thick vegetation just off a short area of rough that could/should be designated a penalty area to allow for a drop rather than stroke and distance for a lost ball. Or just hit it in the fairway, I suppose. The ugly - 12 on a par five with 5 penalty strokes.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club Date: 6/1/19 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Verdict Ridge lived up to my own hype (I ranked it #1 for Charlotte's public courses in a recent article for Charlotte Agenda). Course was in immaculate shape tee to green. The greens in particular were quick and true, just about perfect. While the heat took a nice break on Saturday, they had a well stocked beverage tent set up on the crossing between 6 & 14, which was perfectly situated in the middle of both 9's. The only notable negative was the ground under repair on #7 at the end of the fairway -- my playing partner's ball rolled under the black plastic fence and he got a free drop. Not sure what the plan is for that area right in front of the hazard. The staff was super friendly and I should also mention the practice area has free range balls before your round -- not many public courses offer that. Needless to say, I'll be back many more times this year.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 5/30/19 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 45
Cost: $23
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Played Sifford/Revolution in the heat this afternoon. Conditions were fairly good from tee to green. Tee boxes were a touch on the long side, but nothing too bad. Fairways had plenty of grass on them. Green surrounds were in excellent shape. The greens themselves were in great shape but were on the shaggy side. Bunkers were good. Pace of play was fine on a weekday afternoon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 5/25/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 93
Cost: $52
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: brinstone02 See All Reviews by this user
I hadn't played here in over 10 years because of how far I heard it had fallen. Based off recent reviews we thought we would give it a shot. The fairways were in good shape, the greens were in good shape but fairly slow. You can tell the new management is trying to get this course back. However they need more water stations and they did not have a cart girl so your only opportunity for refreshment was at the turn. It is one of the harder courses in the area and can give you headaches.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 5/25/19 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
I just played the front 9 as the back 9 was closed due to a wedding and I only had 2 hours of daylight. I wanted to post this review though to say that Emerald Lake's bent grass greens are just okay. The course gets so much play from folks who you don't fix pitch marks that the greens are extremely pock marked. Most of the time, you can fix the marks in the line of your putt and it's okay, but this is going to take its toll. It's only the first of June. Emerald Lake is one of the last public courses remaining with bent grass greens (along with nearby Olde Sycamore which tends to suffer similarly in the summer). I'm not sure how much longer they'll go before converting to Bermuda. The rest of the course was fine as far as conditions. I've played a lot of golf here (I was member for two seasons several years ago) and so I really know and love the layout (especially the back 9). If you play here this summer, post a review and let me know how it holds up.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 5/22/19 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 90
Cost: $38
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
So since I use these review so much, I determined to start writing my own. Why I have the three worst scores in a row of all year as soon as I do is embarassing. Tradition is in great shape. The greens are in excellent condition, a bit slower than they look but receptive a roll true. Some of the old Tradition broccoli is still in the fringe but it looks like they figured out how to hold it back. Fairways are all in great shape and most all tee boxes are as well with the exeption of #15 which has almost none for some reason. Seems Pinnacle Properties is doing a pretty good job of turning around the likes of Birkdale, Skybrook, Tradition, etc.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 5/16/19 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $31
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Better than good, but not perfect. Very impressed that most any area not just about perfect was well marked as ground under repair. Looks like they've been doing some work on drainage areas. Otherwise the greens and fairways are about the best I have seen all year anywhere.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 5/14/19 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Really very good conditions, but not perfect. Some spots in the fairways that didn't make much, if any, difference. I think an earlier review mentioned a lack of sand? Traps were well sanded and full. Greens were in fantastic shape as were teeboxes.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 5/14/19 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Took a first timer out for his maiden round at Eagle Chase and he loved it. Greens were virtually perfect as they usually are. Carts were 90* despite weekend rainfall. A few bunkers had standing water but the maintenance crew was actively draining them on several holes (we teed off at 7:30am). So it was good to see them being proactive to quickly address it. Staff was very friendly to let us play through and did not interrupt our round.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course Date: 5/11/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 71
Cost: $
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
The course was in decent condition. Greens were a little long so they rolled slow but overall not bad.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 5/5/19 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 40
Cost: $0
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
First time playing here in years and I was very pleased with the course conditions. Fairways were lush and green , greens were smooth and fast. I only played the front 9 due to weather concerns, lightening in the area. This was always one of my favorite courses in the Charlotte area and I definitely will be back and very soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Waterford Golf Club Date: 5/4/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 80
Cost: $54
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
Let me start by saying that Waterford is one of my favorite golf courses in the Charlotte area. I have played this course several times this year and it has always been in good shape so I was shocked to see the condition of the greens and tee boxes. I am not sure what is going on with the greens but they were almost bare as were the tee boxes. Not sure if this is related to all the rain we have had in the past half year or what. The pace of play was 4 hours and 40 mins which is way too slow for me. When my threesome got to the twelth tee box there was the twosome that was ahead of us on the tee, in the fairway was a threesome and on the green was another threesome. I called the pro shop to ask for a ranger and was told no ranger was on duty that day due to only 45 golfers having signed up to play. I explained that all those 45 golfers were on the 12th hole at the same time. I had found out earlier that a tournament had been scheduled for May 4th but was canceled due to not enough golfers signing up. Maybe they saw the conditions of the greens and tee boxes? I hope the greens and tee boxes come back to their normally great condition as this is one of my favorite courses.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 4/28/19 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Course was in fantastic condition. Greens were perfect and were rolling a good speed. I havent played here since they lost the greens in '17 and was amazed at the difference.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 4/11/19 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Course was in really good condition. I expected it to be wet but there was really only 1 hole that was soggy and it was near the water anyhow. Greens were in great shape and rolling nice.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 4/8/19 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 75
Cost: $39
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Greens were recently aerated. Course was surprisingly soggy. But nothing too severe.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charlotte National Golf Club Date: 4/7/19 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 41
Cost: $15
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
I love Charlotte National, but I don't love the new greens. I understand why they made the change but I still miss the old bent greens. Played a late 9 yesterday and everything was good. I just found the greens to be too furry for my liking. They don't roll near as nice as the old ones used to. Hopefully once we are in growing season though they can cut 'em and roll 'em and get them rolling nice and true. Still worth playing though.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 3/31/19 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Course was in pretty good shape. Greens were recently aerated however.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 3/16/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $58
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: brinstone02 See All Reviews by this user
With it being so early in the season and all the rain the last 2 months we were skeptical of the conditions. The fairways were in great conditions and the greens were faster than normal and rolled very true! The only drawback was if you were unfortunate to get in a bunker. They were hard and soggy from all the rain. All in all we were pleasantly surprised at how great of condition the greens were in.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 3/9/19 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
After my last review I was not excited to come to Edgewater but I was signed up to play in a tournament. I had low expectations this time but was actually pleasantly surprised as I noticed a definite improvement over last time. They have done some work on some of the bunkers that were really bad my previous outing. They also have clearly been removing a lot of trees and vegetation to the betterment of the course. The greens were excellent. I take back what I said about not worth the drive from Charlotte, I am not giving up on this course yet and neither should you.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 2/26/19 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 80
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Some minor issues on tee boxes and some fairways with dead grass. Greens look great but need to be cut (can't blame them since it has rained forever). Worth playing- Should be in great shape once the season comes around
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 2/7/19 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 89
Cost: $20
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Hadn't been to Birkdale in quite some time, and it will probably be a while before I go back. Course was not crowded at all on a nearly 80 day, which should've been the first clue. Had a coupon and it's a good thing, as the rack rate of $49 would have been way too much to pay for current conditions. Much of the grass was dormant, as to be expected, but the greens were in really rough shape. Bare patches and uneven patches abound. Low areas of the course are still really wet. Staff was great. Range was mats only. Range balls are a mix of old and new.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 2/6/19 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 95
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
First time playing here. Fairways and greens in good shape for time of year, greens were fast and true. While playing back nine couldn't help but noticed excessive noise from major highway . Front nines greens are small and raised making for short shots rolling back off putting surface. All in all liked course except for "road noise".
View Comments (0) Post Comment