Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
The Club at Irish Creek
Posted by: IM4DHERD
on 7/31/19 10:27am
The Club at Irish Creek, private place in Kannapolis with a Davis Love III designed back nine, has a member for a day program. Link is on their website. Well worth the effort to sign up and the...

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

Larkin Golf Club Date: 8/19/19 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 0
Cost: $0
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Larkin is aerating greens Monday-Wednesday this week.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club Date: 8/18/19 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $55
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: wesleyheightshacker See All Reviews by this user
Played Red Bridge this morning. Per the usual, the greens and fairways were in fantastic shape. They continue to have some trouble with some of the tee boxes. Overall, the experience was fantastic.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 8/16/19 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $37
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
I love this layout and agree that it is important to play with someone familiar with the course. It is critical on a lot of holes to be not just in the fairway but the correct side of the fairway. The greens were smooth and very fast and the fairways, tee boxes and bunkers were in great shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 8/10/19 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 94
Cost: $49
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Played Birkdale this afternoon. Tees and fairways are in decent shape. Some bunkers are better than others. Greens are showing the stress of the summer heat. Lots of bare spots and bumps that throw your ball offline. Also not a lot of consistency in speed from green to green. The starter told me that the club will close this Fall to re-grass their greens with bermuda. Also, at some point in the future, they are going to build a hotel and shops on the land where the driving range currently sits. This project will also take out the 9th tee and fairway. That hole will be converted to a par 3.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Waterford Golf Club Date: 8/5/19 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $42
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
I received an email from Waterford on 7/24 that their greens had recovered from a root disease and decided to give it a try after playing it in early May posting here to stay away. The greens were in very good condition as was the rest of the course. Due to the heavy rain on Sunday the bunkers were a little firm but overall very satisfied. This is one of my favorite courses and I am so glad its back it great shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 8/3/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: wesleyheightshacker See All Reviews by this user
Greens were fantastic, probably some of the best that I've putted on in Charlotte. The fairways were fine. There were a few tee boxes that were pretty bare with not much grass on them. The bunkers are in bad need of repair as most didn't have much sand in them at all and the edges of some of the bunkers were grass less. The pace of play was pretty slow.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 8/2/19 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 88
Cost: $35
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
A little disappointed in Glen Oaks, but temper that with higher expectations. Probably as in good a shape as most anywhere around, but I can't recall seeming weeds on that course before. Also, the greens were in great shape, but rolled slow for some reason. Didn't look to be shaggy at all, maybe the gravity is different in Lincoln County? Tees traps and fairways all in good shape, except for the afore-mentioned weeds.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 7/30/19 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 40
Cost: $25
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: Hunter See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 7.0
I used to like this course. Layout wise. Haven't played in a LONG time and heard it got better so we played 9 after work. Outside of the tee boxes/fairways I was not impressed. Greens have tons of weeds and were very bumpy/slow. Several dead spots. Some bunkers looked good others looked mud. I will be passing on this course until I hear better news.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/29/19 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
One of my favorite courses and it didn't disappoint. Greens were in great shape and were very fast. Bunkers and tee boxes were in good shape as well.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 7/28/19 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $60
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Hunter See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 7.0
I love Stonebridge. Fair layout. Looked in great shape from tee to green. Few ball marks but that is on the players not the course. Staff is always friendly and well worth the money for a primetime weekend round.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Mooresville Golf Club Date: 7/24/19 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $41
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Mooresville is looking and playing great. Some of the best greens in the area, right up there with Warrior. When they were rebuilt they were too hard and fast, but have settled down. Fairways, rough, tee boxes all in excellent shape. One of the best practice ranges, chipping greens and putting greens in the Metro area.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

River Oaks Golf Club Date: 7/10/19 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 96
Cost: $31
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
For the most part the fairways were in good shape. The greens had been top-dressed with a sand that had numerous small pebbles in it. Ball marks all over, not unlike Emerald Lake. The traps looked good. They had put a lot of money into clearing trees and maybe just don't have enough now to keep it in the shape I remembered (last play 11/17).
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 7/7/19 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 88
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Where it needs to be good, it is very good. Where it doesn't, not so much. Greens, fairways and teeboxes are in great shape. Sandtraps have a lot of gravel in the them, or at least the two I was in and others I observed walking by. Much of the cartpaths are so broken up as to be very uncomfortable, if not dangerous, to ride on. Outside of the fairways and some rough are a lot of bare areas, but this has always been the case.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 7/7/19 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 86
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Had a good experience Sunday afternoon at the #7 course in my recent Top 10 list (Charlotte Agenda link on my Insta profile). One of my playing partners is friends with the PGA Director of Golf (Ryan Brickley) so we received great service -- he even rode with us a few holes. Fairways and greens were in fantastic shape. Only issue we encountered were several washed out or water-filled bunkers due to the recent heavy rains over the holiday weekend. We played lift, rake and replace in the bunkers because of this, but I did lose one ball in a sand bunker "water hazard" that led to a double bogey even after a rake/replace. I also think the course could be improved by cutting down the brush just off the cart paths so it's easier to find shots that are only mildly out of play. Despite that and the 95+ degree heat, my group had a fun round. The carts have GPS which was helpful for measuring targets to different portions of the greens and for layups. The amenities -- clubhouse, pro shop, bar, driving range, etc -- combined with the course conditions and layout will keep Rocky River in my Top 10 and possibly moving up this year.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club Date: 7/6/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TPX See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 10.0
Always like playing here. Course was in good shape. Greens weren’t quite as fast as the practice green which was a shame as it was rolling great. Course greens rolling pretty good too.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 7/2/19 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
The good - Couple of fairways have a few bare spots that make you scratch your head, but none seemingly in play. Otherwise they are lush and beautiful. Greens and fringe are magnificent. Some of teeboxes have some sand repair going on, but overall in great shape. The bad - The traps are thin, hard and have rocks. There are thins and bare areas, particularly at the cart paths but they shouldn't come into play. The ugly - they took out a large number of trees last year and those areas, not in play, are not very appealing. They did, however, have a number of people out working in the heat on these. Bottom line, tee to green as good as it gets.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Deer Brook Golf Club Date: 6/30/19 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Always a pleasure to play Deer Brook. Always in excellent condition, particularly this time of year. They had sodded a large section of the par 5 fairway, but it doesn't seem an area reachable by driver nor likely for a lay-up. Some issues with unattended ball marks on the greens, but those are player's faults, not the course's. Fairways, teeboxes, greens all in great shape. Wasn't in a trap, but they looked just fine. Greens were a bit faster than those I've played anywhere else around Charlotte this year.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 6/29/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $64
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Normal wear and tear for late June. Fairways and greens were in great shape. Bunkers - Average. Tee boxes could use a little bit of TLC. Played in just under 4 hours. Will be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 6/24/19 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $55
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Overall in very good shape. Greens were a little slower than they looked, but with all the rain we got in May and dry conditions that followed, they might have been giving them a break. Putted true and looked great. Fairways and tee boxes in great shape but oddly enough, some fairways had what looked to be ground up hardwood mulch spread on them. Maybe to hold moisture? Maybe to add alkaline? Didn't affect play at all. Some thin areas by the cart path. Now the sand traps...Looked great and you could tell there was plenty of sand in them but it was pretty compacted. Maybe they never fluffed them back up after May rain. Great for hitting out of fairway bunkers but my club would bounce and I'd skull the ball around the greens.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 6/19/19 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Weekday Senior rate $35, replay $15, Played 36, 80 and 83. Course is in great shape. They had dressed the greens not too long ago but they were putting great and the sandtraps showed issues from some recent heavy rain (ponds, etc. were bloated) but you could tell there is fresh sand in all of them and maintenance was out raking them back into shape. Tee boxes, save #10 that gets little sun, were for the most part great and the fairways, rough and fringes were very good. Well worth playing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 6/7/19 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Some might rate it average, but am giving them credit for the work being done. Issues - Most tee boxes have little if any grass. On one, we teed up just outside the designated teeing area, just to have some grass. They are, for the most part, well sanded so they are definitely working on them. The rough is fairly thin and had been aerated maybe not so recently. Again, they are aware of it, working on it and ask they you drive the carts in the fairways not the rough. Fairways and greens are in excellent shape, no complaints whatsoever. I guess they re-did the greens since the last time I played. They used to be so crazy fast that if your approach was above the hole you were screwed. Rolling very true now. Great practice area. One thing, and this is becoming a pet peeve of mine - Not a single red or yellow stake or line anywhere on the course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 6/4/19 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 101
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dad4204 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
As said earlier, the greens are severely pockmarked. I tried to repair several marks each hole, but it's a lesson in frustration as there are thousands. Fairways good, bunkers mostly good, but unraked, not sure why that was. I ran out of sand in 4 holes so the new carts will hopefully have 2 carriers. I didn't see a place on the course to acquire new sand, so played the last 14 holes without it. Obviously I'm obsessed with that. I love this course, but it kicked me this time. Tees were hard as a rock, maybe they could put a hammer in each cart. Should be good now with the rain.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Larkin Golf Club Date: 6/3/19 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
The good, the bad, and the ugly. The good - Course is in excellent shape, perhaps in part due to lack of play because for what seems like forever they have had #10 either totally closed or at least shortened due to neighborhood construction. #11 was shortened for some time too due to rebuilding of tee-boxes. I know I avoided it for more than a year. Sister course to Stonebridge and Edgewater and it shows in it's condition. Greens are fantastic. Hardly a blemish. The fairways near perfect except for some approach areas with multiple divots that haven't grown in, maybe due to the recent lack of rain? Bunkers look to have been recently re-done and are in great shape. Tee to green as nice as anywhere around, or better. Best $25 conditions out there, for sure. Holes 5-11 are like playing a mountain course with elevation changes seldom seen around here. The bad - Afore-mentioned construction. Not on the tees, fairways or greens but they are building a surrounding neighborhood. Just a bit distracting. Have to follow a maze to get to #1 and #10. Really only affects #s 11 and 12. Didn't see any marks/designations for penalty areas. No red or yellow stakes or lines anywhere. There are a number of holes with areas of very thick vegetation just off a short area of rough that could/should be designated a penalty area to allow for a drop rather than stroke and distance for a lost ball. Or just hit it in the fairway, I suppose. The ugly - 12 on a par five with 5 penalty strokes.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club Date: 6/1/19 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Verdict Ridge lived up to my own hype (I ranked it #1 for Charlotte's public courses in a recent article for Charlotte Agenda). Course was in immaculate shape tee to green. The greens in particular were quick and true, just about perfect. While the heat took a nice break on Saturday, they had a well stocked beverage tent set up on the crossing between 6 & 14, which was perfectly situated in the middle of both 9's. The only notable negative was the ground under repair on #7 at the end of the fairway -- my playing partner's ball rolled under the black plastic fence and he got a free drop. Not sure what the plan is for that area right in front of the hazard. The staff was super friendly and I should also mention the practice area has free range balls before your round -- not many public courses offer that. Needless to say, I'll be back many more times this year.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 5/30/19 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 45
Cost: $23
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Played Sifford/Revolution in the heat this afternoon. Conditions were fairly good from tee to green. Tee boxes were a touch on the long side, but nothing too bad. Fairways had plenty of grass on them. Green surrounds were in excellent shape. The greens themselves were in great shape but were on the shaggy side. Bunkers were good. Pace of play was fine on a weekday afternoon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment