Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Lessons
Posted by: IM4DHERD
on 8/17/18 1:40pm
Searched the Message Board for "Lessons" and "Instruction" and see nothing newer than 3 years old. I desperately need a tune up, maybe an overhaul. Curious to read reviews of area pros ......

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 8/17/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: RJH6 See All Reviews by this user
Not sure why the ratings here are so low. Thought the greens were some of the better greens Iíve played in Charlotte especially for the cost. Some of the bunkers could use some work, but everything else was great. Iíll be back for sure.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 8/8/18 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 90
Cost: $28
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
Been a while since I have played here. I've been missing some great golf. Fairways and most all greens in excellent condition for summer. A couple of fun holes. A challenging but fair course. Will be back soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 7/29/18 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 76
Cost: $54
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Been meaning to get back out here and finally made it late Sunday afternoon. I really enjoy this course because it's straightforward and a place where you can post a good score (like I did today!). It's a bit of a drive since it's situated in the middle of Union County halfway between Monroe, Indian Trail and Waxhaw. They've really picked up the construction on the neighborhood now. So the landscape has changed, especially behind the par 3 third and to the right of number 4. Right now, the trees have been cleared and so it's just dirt piles. Besides that, they are working on the tee boxes everywhere but especially the front 9. They've chopped down lots of trees on the front 9 too. Hole #5 needs some love. I think they intend to sod around the areas where they cleared trees but right now it's rocks and dirt all along the left side of the hole and up to the green. If you stay on the fairway around this layout, you'll love the conditions. If you get off the fairway though, you will have some difficult lies on dirt and rocks. The greens and bunkers seemed to be in good shape. The bent grass greens have held up well and they were not too many unrepaired ballmarks. I thought the speeds were average but putts were rolling true. All in all, very good conditions for late summer. I will complain a bit about the rate though. $54 for a Sunday 4:30 tee time? My partner said he asked for a twilight rate and got $29. Why was I charged $25 more?? I'll be sending the course a note. Assuming the price is right, I'll be back here again soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club Date: 7/28/18 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 74
Cost: $24
Conditions: PerfectPace: > 5 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Course is in great shape, greens were slow and you could tell they had been punched within the last couple of weeks but hey rolled true. My main complaint and reasoning for not giving it 5 stars was the pace of play. They piled people up even though they had a starter. We waited pretty much on every hole and probably every shot. It had to be the longest round of golf in my life. They have 3 to 4 rangers driving around but they don't do anything to speed people up. If I wasn't playing so well we probably would have quit early.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 7/27/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
First time playing this course. Played with my wife and another couple we know. All of us loved the course and lay-out, fair but not to tough for us average golfers. We all thought the course was in great summer conditions. Greens a little slow , but that is expected. Fairways overall in great shape and rough not too long. We will be back soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 7/25/18 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 88
Cost: $40
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: GungaGalunga See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 15.0
Reviewed this earlier in the year and was harsh in my comments to the course...and it still needs work regarding the greens...most have significant issues around the edges of the green and a few are really bad...also noticed higher than usual ball marks not repaired on the greens. Shame for a nice layout. Bunkers need sand added...hit one shot and saw the liner of the bunker. there was probably 1/2 in of sand only. Fun course when it's in better shape, but this is not it's year. Hope they can turn it around soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 7/22/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score:
Cost: $55
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Drewpac See All Reviews by this user
Similar to some recent reviews, there are still challenges but it seems the course is improving. There are some issues with some tee boxes (just tee off around them), there are some issues with the greens on a couple of holes (yes 10 is bad), and probably the one that's the most confusing is the amount of weeds in some of the bunkers (easy fix). But overall, the course is in an improved condition. Its such a unique layout that seeing improvement is encouraging. As i said, there are issues, but $55 for a weekend round is unfortuntely on the low end around CLT these days, and you do get a good challenge with overall good conditions at HC. *We did get a cart that barely worked, which is odd and indicative of the financial challenges they face. Traded it in before we started, moved on. All went well after that.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 7/21/18 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $46
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: dischydo See All Reviews by this user
First time playing Eagle Chase after hearing great things. Was not as impressed as other reviews make it sound. About ⅓ of the greens had been partially sodded and the rest were punched about 2 weeks ago. Overall good layout but the greens were slow and the sod really made it questionable. Give it a month or 2
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 7/20/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 95
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
Played with my wife and another couple we know. Course in good condition overall. Now that we have played course a few times we are becoming more familiar with certain hazards you have to negotiate like knowing you have to lay up off the tee. Love the 14'th and 18'th holes.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 7/20/18 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 82
Cost: $28
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: Jdog85 See All Reviews by this user
From Tee to Green course in outstanding condition. Recommend a trip around this track staff does a good job keep this course looking good.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/16/18 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 86
Cost: $0
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: GungaGalunga See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 15.0
Course is in great shape tee to green. Greens are left a little long for heat tolerance and therefore a little slower than usual, but roll true. Worth the drive every time.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 7/14/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Tee boxes still have not improved. Par 3's are the worst. Some fairways have bare spots but for the most part are in great condition. Biggest issue right now is the bunkers, they are not raked and there are weeds/grass growing in them. I feel this is an easy issue to fix but shows that they aren't worried or can't pay someone to do it. I booked on teeoff.com and had a discount code so for $35 definitely worth it.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 7/14/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $45
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: Jdog85 See All Reviews by this user
Layout, fairways and tee boxes in good condition. Now the greens are a different story. Need to put the new greens in and also improve some traps. Greens are bad, too soft people not properly repairing ball marks. Great course worst greens in Charlotte. Dont be fool by the drive by.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 7/12/18 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 90
Cost: $42
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
Played here for the first time since the fall 2016 and I was impressed by the course conditions based on past reviews. Some of the greens had bare/dead spots, but with the exception of #10(almost unplayable) and #14 , they were located mainly on the edges away from the hole. The course could use a good soaking from mother nature as fairways and tee boxes were very firm. Hopefully this is an indication that Highland Creek is on it's way back to the shape I remember in the late 90's and early 2000's.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Crowders Mountain Golf Club Date: 7/8/18 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $28
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
My first time at Crowders and I loved it. Great fun and great views and a great price. I had low expectations for course conditions because of the price and the lack of amenities, but the key was that the bent grass greens were in good shape. A few collars had issues but the greens themselves rolled well and didn't have any issues - save one. Apparently a vandal took a 3-wheeler to the 17th green creating some nasty tire track damage. However, the green was big enough to put the pin away from the damage. Fairways were cut high so they were slow -- which helped on a few holes with sidehill slopes. The tee boxes were not manicured at all either -- a few were even cut in random spots that didn't look like a tee box (#6 and #11). That was kinda what I expected for the price and the rural location. Those course condition gripes aside, this was a ton of fun to play. It plays much shorter than the yardage on the card and many of the greens are flat and easy to read. The elevation changes provide much of the challenge. Almost every hole offers views of the namesake mountain. It's a very picturesque layout. My first meeting with "Young's Revenge" - the fabled "hardest par 5 in the world" - resulted in a double bogey, even though I was only about 15 yards off the green in 3. It is predictably overhyped, but does require 3 really good shots to get to the green. I look forward to getting my revenge the next time I play it. Take note that there is no driving range and the clubhouse doesn't sell beer. So bring your own cooler. I will be back again soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Fort Mill Golf Club Date: 7/8/18 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
Ft Mill golf club is a Ross and Cobb design. Tee to green course was in best shape I have ever seen. Greens rolled true at medium to fast pace. Fun course to play and best value for your dollar. Proshop staff is always friendly.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 7/7/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $82
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
The good - greens were in good shape and rolled pretty well, though they were not as fast and smooth as usual for Ballantyne. Plenty of beverage access before, during and at the turn. The starter and cart crew were courteous and helpful. The bad - the price (!) -- this round was a terrible value compared to other local courses given... the bunkers, plain terrible. The majority had standing water but even those that didn't played like dried up river beds. Every one my group landed in had to be played as ground under repair and it was difficult to find a playable spot. This really looked like negligent maintenance, like they hadn't been touched in weeks. I was also not happy that it was cart path only even though the fairways were fine (I noticed the next morning that the cart rule was 90*). The tee boxes were also very bad -- many were very thin and muddy. Overall, these were course conditions I'd expect to see at a $40 course at best, not one that charges $82 for an afternoon round. I will not be back to play at those rates.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 7/7/18 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $50
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Greens were in awesome shape, a little sandy but still great overall. Fairways and tee boxes in great shape (which is expected as remote and quiet as this course is). The best thing about this course is standing on the 3rd green we could not see or hear another human being. Very tranquil and enjoyable place to play. My only grip is some bunkers are orange and muddy, while others are completely filled with new white sand. The course does not rake the new white sand bunkers though so you can actually get a worse lie in them than the orange bunkers cos the sand is so fluffy. Minor issue though. Overall though a great place to play, conditions always fantastic, pace of play is always great as it is so quiet. Definitely worth the haul from Charlotte.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 7/5/18 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $34
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Shankapotomous See All Reviews by this user
Eagle Chase is always a welcome addition to the rotation of courses that I play. If it wasn't for the time it takes me to drive there to play, I would play there far more often. It's a completely different style of course than you will find any other place in the area. It gives you a mountain course feel with the elevation changes and slopes and is a test unlike other courses in the area. Having said that, they are making their way through some of the same issues that have plagued other courses in the area over the harsh winter. However they are handling the necessary recovery efforts better than most courses. Roughly 5 to 6 greens had some form of winter damage that they have worked hard to repair. Of those greens there were only 2 that I would call "damaged" currently. However the sod they replaced and the aeration and top dressing is taking well. All but 1 green should be 95% healed within the next 2 weeks with a little rain. Having said that, the course staff does an EXCELLENT job of placing the pins in unaffected areas of the greens and still making sure your experience is pleasurable. Fairways are very well maintained and course conditions are as good as any around. When the greens on this course are healed, they will be back to being some of the best (as they normally are) in all of Charlotte. It is well worth playing. If you are the type however that gets easily frustrated at conditions that are not pristine (even if due to acts of nature) then hold off for about 3 more weeks before playing it. But if you are the type of player who recognizes a good course, understands how conditions change and appreciates a staff that takes care of you and does the best they can to get the course back in the tip top shape it almost always is, then give it a shot and make sure to go in the clubhouse afterwards and tell Wally and the staff that they are doing a great job with the hand they were dealt. It is an excellent value for the course you always get. It's a great mix of holes and strategy that you don't use on most other courses. Appreciate the views and give it a go !
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 7/4/18 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
The course was in very good shape, but the greens were still slow (as the last review noted). Once you adjust to the speed, it's fine because there are no problems with the greens. Very few ball marks -- which compared to other bent grass courses like Emerald Lake is an accomplishment worthy of note. They had us start on the back 9 - no reason given, but whatever. There were no marshals on the course -- it was the 4th of July afterall -- and so we ran into a roadblock with slow play on our 10th hole. There was also no cart girl on a 90+ degree day. Again, it's a holiday so I assumed they were just under staffed. The GPS touchscreen in our cart was non-functional so we couldn't really use it to check distances. I also noted that while the scorecard had up to date ratings for the tee boxes, they have not been updated on GHIN. So I couldn't post my score with the right tee ratings. Those are all little things, granted, but they added up. So this course has the potential to be a 5 star gem around Charlotte. For now, I gave it 4. Happy 4th y'all!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 7/1/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $59
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: dischydo See All Reviews by this user
Course and greens overall in good shape. 3 fairways were beat up. Greens were soft and receptive with some ball marks but still rolled nice.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 6/30/18 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 80
Cost: $55
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
I booked a last minute tee time at Carolina Lakes but was initially hesitant about it as I feared the greens would be under stress from the heat. Boy was I wrong. Every green had a perfect covering of pristine bent grass. The course was in perfect condition. Everything about it was great but the greens were a real highlight. They were a touch on the slow side for how good they looked but I understand they are keeping them long and well watered. I highly recommend you get out there and play Carolina Lakes and enjoy it while it is in such great condition.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Deer Brook Golf Club Date: 6/29/18 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 77
Cost: $36
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Shankapotomous See All Reviews by this user
Overall this course was in great shape. For those of you that haven't given Deer Brook a chance you should find the time to make the drive. Greens were in very good shape given the rough winter and the time of year for aeration. They aerated the first week of June so they have recovered very well with no signs at all of any punch marks. Fairways were in very good shape, and bunkers were well maintained. There really wasn't anything at all to complain about the day that I was playing, short of it being slow play. That isn't the courses fault though, just happened to be how it went, but still finished in the standard 4 1/2 hours. Overall given the many other courses I have played around the area recently, Deer Brook ranks near the very top for course quality, layout, and condition.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club Date: 6/27/18 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 76
Cost: $34
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Shankapotomous See All Reviews by this user
I stumbled on this website recently and I firmly believe in first hand reviews. So since I play often and everywhere, I thought this might be helpful. First of all ... if you have not played Red Bridge or its been a while, do yourself a favor and go again. In terms of public courses in Charlotte, Red Bridge is absolutely one of the best I have played. It starts at check in with a first class staff (Mark Davis - Head Pro) is always extremely helpful and attentive. And it goes through the grounds crew who do a great job with the course. This truly is a hidden gem. It is always in top notch shape and is a true test to your game. The greens are very smooth and well manicured, and the fairways are green and great turf to hit off. The seeding of the course is consistent and flush and green throughout. The rough is fair and plays consistent hole to hole. The bunkers are well maintained and fair to hit from (actually true playing sand .... not the dirt or hard pan many courses have). There are 2 greens (12 and 15) which had small winter kill which is being addressed and rectified by the grounds crew. These greens were aerated and top dressed and are recovering appropriately, and they do a good job of placing the pins where you can still play the greens fairly so keep an open mind and be glad they are doing everything they can to have those back in tip top shape soon too. Several holes have some newly laid sod which seems to be a proactive course improvement to areas before they became an issue (so kudos to the grounds crew and staff for being proactive and not reactive). Weekday rounds (pay at the counter are roughly $35 but if you pay online you can get them as cheap as $25 in some cases). Pace of play is what you would expect and the course is a great mix of dog legs left and right, and is made up of 5 par 5's, 5 par 3's and 8 par 4's. All of which play tough but fair. All in all, if you haven't played here .... you are missing out. Do yourself a favor and go play Red Bridge and take a few friends as well, you will not be disappointed. This really is a hidden gem around the area.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 6/26/18 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: aepfeiffer See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.2
Course is in overall great shape, nothing wrong with the bunkers, fairways or anything, but they just recently punched the course tee to green within a week or less, so some holes here and there on the tee boxes and fairways, but greens are extremely bumpy from being punched but still rolling pretty quick! Overall you cant go wrong playing here, only thing I was disappointed to hear was they were only cutting off $10 the price to play while the greens were punched!
View Comments (0) Post Comment