Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Highland Creek Conditions?
Posted by: BetterThanMost
on 4/19/18 3:59pm
Unless you're getting a really good rate, I wouldn't pay what they are asking to play there on a Saturday.

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 4/17/18 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 92
Cost: $0
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
The layout is still a favorite of mine, pretty much a mountain course with elevation changes on almost every hole. The course conditions were okay and certainly playable. However, most of the fairways have serious issues that remind me of the winterkill that Rocky River suffered a couple of years ago. The impacted fairways (I lost track but it's easily half) are basically bare dirt with no grass. In some cases, we gave ourselves a better lie on the few blades of grass we could find near our ball but that was a challenge. I didn't get a chance to chat with the pro shop about what was going on. Greens were good. Speed was good even though they were just a bit bumpy. I didn't notice any major problems so I'd expect the greens will be in good seasonal form very soon. The bunker issues of the past 2 years seem to be resolved. I didn't have a problem with any of the ones I visited. Tee boxes were mixed but no issues affected play. It's just those fairways -- they are an eyesore and you're better off being just off in the rough. Also, if anyone ever figures out how best to play the tee shot on #10, I'm all ears. I despise that hole!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Larkhaven Golf Club Date: 4/15/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 94
Cost: $34
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: DriveCannon See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 12.0
As I understand they are closing down the course at the end of this season, there is still is no excuse. After reading comments that the course has significant construction throughout, I followed up by calling into the club house to hear first hand. The staff did not fully describe how bad the construction actually is. There is some type of pipeline being run through the entire course almost toughing every other hole. This mud path is 20ft across and extremely affects holes 1,10,11,12,18 to the point of being un-playable. Needless to say I will not be back, and I would think the course would deeply discount their prices due how bad these conditions are. I use to really enjoy this course, it sucks they are closing.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club Date: 4/14/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 76
Cost: $26
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
I have to caveat this review with the fact that I shot my career best tying round (76) - lol. I actually told my dad during the round that if I shot my best score, I would take on an extra half star to my review. The other caveat is that Red Bridge has literally been my favorite public course in the area for the last several years. So I have high expectations around here. I have to say though that it is not in the best shape right now. The bermuda greens are blotched with poa annua - really badly on the front 9, not so much on the back. It does affect putting on about 1/3 of the holes. Talking to the staff, they acknowledged it would be a few weeks before the poa annua dies off as the bermuda wakes up and starts growing again. In addition to the greens, the tee boxes were badly torn up and many were bare dirt. The fairways were very thin and at least one (#8) was littered with weeds. So the course is showing some neglect in addition to the poa annua. That was disappointing to see -- this course is usually in tremendous shape. I got a very good deal online ($26 for a 2pm Saturday tee time) so the value was certainly there. Pace of play was slow but we were warned that a large outing had teed off about 45 minutes before we did. The issues I listed didn't significantly affect play (though we allowed everyone to move their ball on the green if there was poa annua in the immediate direct line). I just expected better. With the score I shot, I'll be back of course :-P, but I'll probably wait at least a month before I consider it.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 4/14/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Never going back
Score: 1
Cost: $30
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Posting this review for a friend. I did not play but wanted to keep everyone updated. He stated there are still significant issues with the course which now has gone into the fairways. Greens are awful and the course rarely gets mowed. Fairways have weeds growing in them and also needs to be mowed. He said they almost thought about quitting after 7 holes because the course was that bad. I am not sure what is going on there but the last 3-4 reviews have not been good and it doesn't seem as if they are making any changes to better the course
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 4/14/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 86
Cost: $35
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: jscum13 See All Reviews by this user
You know how you get stuck behind that one group?? That one group that plays so slow and is a hole behind the entire round. Turns your 4 hour round in to 5 hours. That happened to our group today and no one at Monroe did anything about it, including the head pro Nick who came out to the course, saw a group well behind and did nothing about it. A member of our group even said something to him about the pace of play and he rudely blew him off. He was an eye witness to an errant shot that nearly hit my playing partner on the fly, with no fore call, and he did nothing to reprimand that group. Thatís the head pro of a public course ignoring the request of a paid golfer. Nick and his staff did nothing to speed these guys up. The greens were great and fast and the course is coming in slowly, but that was a really bad look for a course I (used to) hold to high regard. Safe to say I wonít be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charles T. Myers Golf Club Date: 4/13/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 37
Cost: $27
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time back at Charles T in a long while. I have great memories of playing here a bunch over 15 years ago when I had an annual membership. The course still feels and plays the same. I only got to play the back 9 today as I came out after work. There was not another soul on the back 9 though so it was a leisurely round - big thanks to the pro shop for telling me to play the back. Course conditions were pretty good. 90% of the green surfaces were nearly perfect, but several had some bumpy bare spots - I noticed it on 10, 11 and 17 the most. Everything else was just fine. I'll be back out soon to play the entire 18!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club Date: 4/6/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 92
Cost: $20
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
Tee boxes / areas are pretty rough shape but not a real concern for me. Greens in good shape, some irregular areas thought but course in great shape for early April. Got a deal on GolfNow, at $20 each I'll play this course all day. Both me and my wife always enjoy course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 4/2/18 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $36
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: dischydo See All Reviews by this user
Great course and greens. Still dormant fairways and tee boxes were okay but typical before course can get green and grow in
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 3/16/18 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $64
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Excellent condition. I honestly have nothing to complain about.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 2/23/18 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Played Emerald Lake on Friday. Weather was absolutely perfect. Course is in fairly good shape, other than the fact that it was really wet in spots, which was odd, as it hasn't rained much at all lately. Greens were the best I've seen them at Emerald Lake in quite sometime. The bermuda on the fairways and rough is still dormant, but should start greening up soon. They had some tees pushed up as they were letting some boxes recover. New clubhouse/grill is gorgeous. Pace of play was good. Our threesome got around in exactly 4 hours despite several foursomes directly in front of us.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Larkhaven Golf Club Date: 2/18/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 90
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 5 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
I'm giving it 3 stars because the greens are in excellent shape. They are digging sewer lines in through much of the course, so several holes are affected. There are ditches and netting/tarps across # 1 Fairway, #10 end of fairway, beginning of 12th hole (tee boxes are pushed up); 17 in front of the pond and 18 is now a par 3. Some of the bunkers had hard clay/dirt in them instead of fluffy sand. Luckily it was only $25 to play on a Sunday. Any more than that it would not be a very good value. Staff is always friendly, however the dress code is severely relaxed. Jeans, t-shirts and even a flannel shirt was spotted.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 12/1/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 82
Cost: $22
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: GetThere214 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.1
Love this course. Course is in great shape for late fall. Did have some leaves on and around the greens which is to be expected. They got some new golf carts which are really nice. Can't wait to get out here again.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 11/29/17 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 102
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Wanted to post an update, particularly about Olde Sycamore's greens. They were in much better condition than the previous post. The cooler November weather seems to have served them well. Tees, fairways, rough, bunkers all in excellent shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 11/19/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score: 83
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Giving them 1 star for pace of play. Course wasn't that busy, but they sent out a 4-ball and 3-ball of beginner golfers. By the time they finished they were 5 holes behind (and never caught up). No ranger in sight. In addition to slow play these guys were tearing the course up with massive divots, not raking bunkers (even taking practice swings in the sand). If there had been a ranger we could have told him/her to explain how golf works to these beginners (they don't know any better). The course was happy to take our money, and not care about customer service after that.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 11/4/17 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 79
Cost: $70
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: > 5 Hours
Username: kuehbr See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 3.5
Teed off at 12:30 on Saturday and it was probably my least favorite experience at Olde Sycamore. The pace of play was extremely slow, consistently had 3 to 4 groups waiting in front and behind us for a 4some that didnt know what ready golf was. The greens are shot right now. They are in a world of trouble for next summer if they can't get the roots to grow deeper and some spots were basically sand/dirt around the holes. Tee boxes are similar to greens. Fairways were nice and they have new carts. But for $70 dollars this place did not come close to expectations.. Would expect it from a $30-$40 dollar course.. save your money or look for deals to play this course right now. BirdieBug or GolfNow usually runs a couple of them.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 10/27/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 98
Cost: $20
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
Greens in great shape. I always find the course fun to play , every hole is different. Pace of play was a little slow but not bad considering it was a Friday afternoon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 10/22/17 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 80
Cost: $44
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
This was my first time playing Eagle Chase, but after reading many good reviews over the years I decided to give it a try and I was not disappointed. The course conditions were near perfect,the layout was very challenging and the staff was very friendly. They even had a ranger on the course successfully keeping the pace of play at 4 hours. The drive from Ft Mill was almost 1 hour, but once you exited I-485 , the drive in the country was a great change of pace from typical highway driving in and around Charlotte. I will definitely be back.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 10/20/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
played tega cay and found the course to be in perfect conditions. ball sits perfect in the fairways, tees are well kept. greens rolling wry true and quick. one of the few public course that is not only keeping the course in good shape but actually improving and making it better. best value in town for the quality
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Tillery Tradition Country Club Date: 10/18/17 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $35
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Played this course early morning, first time on the new greens. The greens themselves were very good,smooth,medium speed.There were some areas on a few greens that had been sodded at the edges near the fringes.These did not affect our play and I had heard about these in advance through their emails.Fairways were great and the tee boxes for the most part very good.The rough seemed a little thicker than in the past ,but not as bad as some other area courses. The traps on the other hand had not been raked and this had usually been a strength of the course.Maybe because we were out before they got a chance to do them? Overall very good course but they have raised their rates somewhat,thirty five dollars for senior rate in the weekdays.I love the course,but can do better price wise and closer than a 45 min.drive.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 10/14/17 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 81
Cost: $59
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Opow See All Reviews by this user
All I can says is that this place is in great shape as it always seems to be. The price is a little more than I like to spend but it was worth it. Greens are always fast and true. I still don't like the bunker because of stones in some of them but other then that I would always recommend playing here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 10/13/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Never going back
Score: 80
Cost: $35
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: Opow See All Reviews by this user
Six years later and this place is still in bad shape. I wish the would get a real management company in hear to fix the place. Nothing is worse than hit a ball on the first green about ten feet away and when you walk up on green you see that there is no way you can make the putt because of clumps of crabgrass and bear spots in your line. It also looked as if the just cut the rough because the clippings were everywhere and we lost two balls under it. I said six years ago it was crap and I would not be back and I should have stayed away.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Waterford Golf Club Date: 10/13/17 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $39
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
course was in great condition balls sits perfect in fairways greens rolled smooth. Great shot variety and most bang for your buck too
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course Date: 10/5/17 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $30
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 10.0
My first time back at RP in several years. I do enjoy the uniqueness of the layout, with lots of elevation changes and hilly terrain, a few blind shots. It was very familiar even having not played here in so long. That said, the course is quirky. Lies will be hit or miss everywhere. Since so many holes are sloped and hilly even fairway lies will be iffy. The fairways were in good shape for the most part. The rough on many holes had not been mowed recently, so we nearly lost a few balls in it. The greens on the front 9 were really good and quick. The back 9 was like a completely different course and very disappointing. Most of the greens were nearly unputtable due to sandy bare spots. Count two putts and pick up your ball. That bad. Not sure why the front 9 and back 9 were like night and day. I will say that the pro shop attendant mentioned that they had aerated 2 weeks ago and gave us a coupon for $20 off our next round if we come back in the next 2 weeks. I won't have a chance to use it and the expiration was kinda short, but it was a nice gesture. I do enjoy the challenge of this course so it was fun being back, but I'd like to see the back 9 greens in better shape when I play next.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Glen Oaks Golf Club Date: 10/3/17 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: tvrepairex See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 15.6
Played today and the course was in great shape,even with the drought.The fairways and tee boxes were good.The traps had good sand and were raked perfectly.The greens were good and a little faster than they appeared.Some of the pin placements were a little tough,such as on the edge of a ridge,but they were having a captains choice tournament after lunch so this probably led to some of the placements.I live in Concord so its about an hour trip up there ,but we love the course so we go monthly.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 10/2/17 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $70
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: hotrod jb See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
Course is in great shape! Greens roll really quick and true. Only reason for not giving 5 stars is the price.
View Comments (1) Post Comment