Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Re: Mens Golf League Suggestions?
Posted by: eric_w74
on 6/22/18 8:27am
hey Brett, you should come out and play with the charlotte chapter of the MGA. we play once a month for a big check and trophy.

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

The Divide Golf Club Date: 6/16/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 83
Cost: $34
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
The course is more playable than it was on my last visit (Labor Day last year). Conditions are still hit and miss. Greens were very soft -- likely aerated recently. Several on the front 9 had major problems with little or no grass in spots. These were mostly the shady greens that get little sunlight -- #3, #4, #7. This made putting very bumpy and unpredictable on those greens. The back 9 greens were better but I doubt they'll get the few (#12 was another rough one) greens I mentioned back this season. There were a few other head-scratching maintenance issues -- a giant patch of resodded fairway on #9 that was overgrown like rough but covered the left half of the fairway, unmown grass right next to the 16th green, and grass in the greenside bunker at #17. They are also doing work on #18 which has the cart path to the second fairway blocked -- which requires a long detour by the 1st green to get around the lake. All in all, the course is playable now and you might have a good round if you avoid those issues. They are clearly putting some work into the course. However, right now it's still overpriced. $34 for that late on a weekend afternoon was about $10 too high for those conditions.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 6/16/18 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $55
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Aside from a few dead spots around some of the fringe areas near the greens, this course was in spectacular shape. Fairways were perfect, greens excellent. The carts have some nice features...GPS screens (That are pretty accurate) and USB charging plus for your phone. Nice job Carolina Lakes getting your greens back!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Tradition Golf Club Date: 6/15/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 80
Cost: $25
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Greens were just punched 10 days prior to our round and were mostly fine, just a little on the slow side still. No major issues and they will probably be in good shape with another week where they can cut 'em faster. Most of the tee boxes were spotty, but fairways and bunkers were in good shape. We played on the last day of the $25 aeration deal and it was a great value.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 6/10/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 76
Cost: $52
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: KyleSmith See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 2.4
Overall, this is a good beginner course, but after playing Rocky River Friday, this course just about drove me crazy. A lot of bare spots in fairways, a lot of rocks in areas just off fairways, bunkers as hard as concrete, and greens that might have ran at a 7 on the stimp (if they weren't losing them). Overall, the conditions wouldn't bother me if the green fee/cart fee weren't higher than the majority of the other public courses in the area. But $52 to play, and another $10 for approximately 45 range balls, is a joke. I don't suggest playing Highland Creek, especially with Skybrook and Rocky River so close.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Rocky River Golf Club Date: 6/8/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $31
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: KyleSmith See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 2.4
Got out of the office a little early and played a late 18 with B-Man himself. I had never played this course and have heard so many good things about it, so I was excited to get out. It didnt disappoint. The fairways were green and in great shape, and the greens were fast and true. There was a little bit of an issue on 17 green (not sure if its winter kill or what), but it seemed close to flawless other than that. Can't wait to get back to this course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 6/5/18 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 38
Cost: $25
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: hotrod jb See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
SB is in it's prime right now. The only thing I could see that needs some improvement is a few tee boxes. I highly suggest you give it a try. Great course in great shape.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 6/4/18 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 78
Cost: $65
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: KyleSmith See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 2.4
Birkdale is the perfect example of why I hate the current state of golf. They charge $65 for a course that is very green, but plays pretty terrible. The course looked great- very green, not many issues in the fairways or tee boxes, and greens looked decent from the fairways. In reality, if you missed a fairway at all, you were probably not finding your ball because of isolated dirt patches that shoot your ball way off line, or thick bermuda rough that wasn't that thick at Quail for the PGA. The greens were incredibly soft and a hair furry (read: slow). I had heard a lot of good stuff about Birkdale, and later this summer I might give it another go, but I am not impressed with the $65 round Sunday.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 6/3/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 77
Cost: $36
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
One of my top 5 favorite public courses in the area is in pretty good shape. They just have a handful of greens with areas they had to aerify recently due to lingering winterkill issues but the greens are large enough that they were able to put pins in spots where it did not affect play. They had a note posted on each cart listing the holes affected and asking you to play them as ground under repair. The only one I really noticed was #9 but the others (#1, #8, #17 and #18) were not that bad. All the other greens were immaculate and rolling well. This is a great course with beautiful views and it's very reasonably priced. I need to play it once a month at least.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Charles T. Myers Golf Club Date: 6/2/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 77
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Disclaimer: Charles T Myers is redoing their greens and closing in July/August. Today the course was in really good shape - except maybe for the tee boxes, but that did not affect play really. The greens in particular were very good. Play the bentgrass greens while you can since they're being replaced next month with bermuda. The course held up well today even with two ten minute downpours during our back nine. We did have to play through some puddles but many courses would have been unplayable after that much rain in such a short time. I did wish the carts had a pull down rain cover though! I may try to get back out here before it closes in July.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charlotte National Golf Club Date: 5/27/18 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 84
Cost: $40
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Conditions were fine - especially compared to other public courses in Charlotte right now. However... Charlotte National is replacing their 20 year old bent grass greens with Bermuda in July. So they will be killing off the bent grass in June and going to a reduced rate as they die off and are replaced with Bermuda. Then they will offer temporary greens in July while the new greens grow in. So you've probably got another 2-3 weeks to play the course as is. If I get out there to practice in the next month, I'll post another update.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Mooresville Golf Club Date: 5/27/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Bad, stay away
Score:
Cost: $
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Mooresville Golf Club is currently using 3 temporary greens and will close on June 11th for the remainder of the month of June to complete repairs.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Chester Golf Club Date: 5/27/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score:
Cost: $53
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 Hours
Username: syncgolf See All Reviews by this user
Course was in great shape. I love the new greens they roll true and fast. Fun course with generous fairways. Best value for your money only 33 min from my house Played in 4 hours on a Sunday. will be back again soon!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Mooresville Golf Club Date: 5/27/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $41
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: KyleSmith See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 2.4
Disclaimer up front: yes, they have three temp greens currently. That shouldn't keep you from playing this course if you are in the area. This is the best public track I have played in Charlotte. Hands down. The back nine (our front nine) can play a little tight, but many holes I hit 2 iron off the tee and still had low iron/wedge in. The course was well kept and the greens were pristine. I will for sure be back that way this summer once the greens are finished.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 5/27/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 88
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: mattc1323 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 12.0
Fun little course. Greens are in great shape. They let a walker go off in front of us, at 8:00am, caused us to have a 5 hour round. Very frustrating, but the course is a solid play at a great price.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 5/25/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 95
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
This was my first visit to Carolina Lakes, and I will most definitely be back. The cold Spring and resulting winter kill have affected just about every course in the Charlotte area this year, but Carolina Lakes was in phenomenal shape. Greens were excellent, as were the fairways. An occasional tee box had some thin spots, but those were few and far between. Each of the numerous bunkers on the course were well maintained and had plenty of soft white sand in them. Every sprinkler head had yardages on them and there were markers in the fairways and on cart paths. The cart paths are also well maintained. The layout of the course is outstanding as well. The course is inside of the Sun City retirement community, and winds it way through it. There is a mix of short and long holes, straight holes and doglegs. You will hit clubs other than driver off of several tees and that helps to provide great variety to the course. The four par 3's all demand carries over water or natural areas. There is a good bit of elevation change, particularly on the back nine. Perhaps the signature hole is #9, a dogleg right par 4 that features 7 bunkers that the tee shot must be threaded through. This is not a course that you can walk, as there are a few lengthy rides between holes. The fleet of carts is new and full of features, including the best GPS system I've ever seen in a cart. The GPS touch screen gives you a flyover of each hole, in addition to the distances to the front, back, and that day's hole location. I did not go into the clubhouse, but those amenities seem top class as well. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Pace of play was great. Our twosome got around in less than 3.5 hours on the Friday afternoon of a holiday weekend. As I mentioned above, Carolina Lakes is in about the best shape of any course in the Charlotte area currently. The conditions and layout make this one a must play for anyone.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 5/24/18 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 80
Cost: $50
Conditions: PerfectPace: 5 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
Played in a church tournament today which was the first time playing here since ??? Course was in fantastic shape even though they had heavy rain the night before. I had forgotten how much I had enjoyed playing here in the past. I will be back and soon.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club Date: 5/22/18 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 85
Cost: $39
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: tpac See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
First time playing the course. Really enjoyed it. Free access to range balls during pre-round warmup was nice.. wish other courses would follow suite. Cart, while didn't have GPS, seemed fairly new and had plenty of power. Pro Shop guys were super nice and helpful to a first time visitor. Locker room was very nice. If I lived closer, would contemplate a membership here. Only complaint was they had just sanded the greens, so coupled with the early morning dew, it was a bit messy out there. Having said that, can't wait to go back to play those rolling fairways!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 5/21/18 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 78
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: ILL-INI See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 5.0
I've played Stonebridge 5 or 6 times in the last 30 days and it's been in really good shape each time. They mini-punched a couple weeks ago but the greens are pretty much back to normal - a little hairy as of yesterday but that's too be expected - they still roll true just have to put a little more speed on them. Prior to the punch they were rolling at least a 10 and true. Some of the "Gold" back tees are in need of some love but really only a couple are in need of repair. Exceptional golf course, exceptional staff, exceptional value. This and Carolina Lakes (At sun city) are my must plays right now.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club Date: 5/19/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 75
Cost: $54
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: dischydo See All Reviews by this user
Mostly great shape. A few greens had some patches they need to take care of. Still rolled well.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course at Revolution Park Date: 5/15/18 Tue Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 37
Cost: $24
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: < 3 Hours
Username: Acgolf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.0
Dr. Sifford is a fun little course. The greens had a lot of bare spots and were pretty slow. They have a number of guys out working on the course which was good to see. Worth the money especially if you are tight on time.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 5/13/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $50
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: jscum13 See All Reviews by this user
Skybrook is coming around. Definitely putting in the effort to make the course great. They are suffering from the same issues as most public courses right now, thin fairways, dead in some spots like on 1 fairway and 5 fairway, but the greens are really good, no poa and rolling true. The fast pace of play may have had to do with sneaking out on Mother's Day morning and the 95 degree forecast, but Skybrook usually isn't a slow round. They look to be completely over their bunker issues of the past, I was in 2 or 3 and felt very confident in the sand each time. They are trying (watering diligently during the day) and that's all you can ask for when searching for a public course in Charlotte right now. Not many others can say the same. Should be in really good shape this summer.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 5/12/18 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 84
Cost: $59
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: GinMillDJ See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Fairways and greens are spectacular. Most bunkers are in good shape. Some of the tee boxes are chewed up. The course is trying to repair the regular mens tee boxes, so some tee positions are playing back and some are playing from the senior area. Course does a pretty good job trying to keep the pace of play around 4.5 hours. On hot days, the ranger drives around with cold wet towels to cool down with. Nice touch
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Larkhaven Golf Club Date: 5/11/18 Fri Morning
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 86
Cost: $20
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: Acgolf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.0
Larkhaven is not good. I will leave it at that. Luckily, the price is very cheap, but do not expect anything good here other than friendly service.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 5/10/18 Thu Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 80
Cost: $32
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
First time playing here since 2012. Greens and bunkers were in good shape but tee boxes and fairways were not. Number one fairway was in the worst shape of them all and had maintenance being done to it while we teed off. They appear to be making an honest effort to get it back in shape so I will be back as this was once one of my favorite courses.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Fort Mill Golf Club Date: 5/9/18 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 79
Cost: $60
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: Acgolf See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 7.0
This was my 3rd or 4th time playing FM, the other times were all last summer. The course was not good this time around. Fairways were mediocre at best, the green on 2 was dismal. Overall, this was VERY overpriced and I will not be back until I read that improvements have been made.
View Comments (0) Post Comment