Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings
Demo Day at Lincoln CC
Posted by: The B-Man
on 4/22/19 10:14pm
I received a note from Jody Saunders, the GM at Lincoln Country Club, about a Demo Day. Check it out: I'm the GM at Lincoln CC and thought your readers might be interested in our demo day coming...

Recent Reviews for All Courses

RSS feed icon Subscribe to the RSS feed for this page and never miss a review!

View All Course News & Updates

Tega Cay Golf Club Date: 4/11/19 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 80
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Course was in really good condition. I expected it to be wet but there was really only 1 hole that was soggy and it was near the water anyhow. Greens were in great shape and rolling nice.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Emerald Lake Golf Club Date: 4/8/19 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Average
Score: 75
Cost: $39
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Greens were recently aerated. Course was surprisingly soggy. But nothing too severe.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charlotte National Golf Club Date: 4/7/19 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 41
Cost: $15
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
I love Charlotte National, but I don't love the new greens. I understand why they made the change but I still miss the old bent greens. Played a late 9 yesterday and everything was good. I just found the greens to be too furry for my liking. They don't roll near as nice as the old ones used to. Hopefully once we are in growing season though they can cut 'em and roll 'em and get them rolling nice and true. Still worth playing though.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 3/31/19 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 82
Cost: $49
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: nstoudt See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 8.0
Course was in pretty good shape. Greens were recently aerated however.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 3/16/19 Sat Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $58
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: brinstone02 See All Reviews by this user
With it being so early in the season and all the rain the last 2 months we were skeptical of the conditions. The fairways were in great conditions and the greens were faster than normal and rolled very true! The only drawback was if you were unfortunate to get in a bunker. They were hard and soggy from all the rain. All in all we were pleasantly surprised at how great of condition the greens were in.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 3/9/19 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 83
Cost: $
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
After my last review I was not excited to come to Edgewater but I was signed up to play in a tournament. I had low expectations this time but was actually pleasantly surprised as I noticed a definite improvement over last time. They have done some work on some of the bunkers that were really bad my previous outing. They also have clearly been removing a lot of trees and vegetation to the betterment of the course. The greens were excellent. I take back what I said about not worth the drive from Charlotte, I am not giving up on this course yet and neither should you.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Highland Creek Golf Club Date: 2/26/19 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 80
Cost: $32
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: GolfNiners5 See All Reviews by this user
Some minor issues on tee boxes and some fairways with dead grass. Greens look great but need to be cut (can't blame them since it has rained forever). Worth playing- Should be in great shape once the season comes around
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Birkdale Golf Club Date: 2/7/19 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 89
Cost: $20
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Hadn't been to Birkdale in quite some time, and it will probably be a while before I go back. Course was not crowded at all on a nearly 80į day, which should've been the first clue. Had a coupon and it's a good thing, as the rack rate of $49 would have been way too much to pay for current conditions. Much of the grass was dormant, as to be expected, but the greens were in really rough shape. Bare patches and uneven patches abound. Low areas of the course are still really wet. Staff was great. Range was mats only. Range balls are a mix of old and new.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 2/6/19 Wed Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 95
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
First time playing here. Fairways and greens in good shape for time of year, greens were fast and true. While playing back nine couldn't help but noticed excessive noise from major highway . Front nines greens are small and raised making for short shots rolling back off putting surface. All in all liked course except for "road noise".
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Edgewater Golf Club Date: 2/2/19 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Below average
Score: 87
Cost: $52
Conditions: Poor - significant issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: TheClaw See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 5.3
Was inevitable I guess, but this course is going backwards fast. Greens are still good, everything else is just ok to terrible. The range balls were in terrible condition, half the bunkers are red clay. They are taking out a lot of bunkers as well so what is left are massive holes that look terrible with signs that say "GUR". Some of the "cart path only" signs look like they were created by children. The starter said they use red, white and blue flags to show the pin positions but some of the flags had been stolen so he said it is a mix. They have no other way to tell where the pin is (no pin position map on the cards or anything). I feel bad for the course as it obviously doesn't make enough money from rounds to make ends meet. For those who live in Charlotte this course is no longer worth the drive to play.
View Comments (2) Post Comment

Skybrook Golf Club Date: 11/25/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 86
Cost: $60
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: hotrod jb See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 13.0
First time playing Skybrook and I must say I really like the course. Conditions were very wet from the rain but overall it was good. The greens rolled true but a few issues with weeds. Only issue was the price in my book.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation Date: 11/11/18 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 92
Cost: $44
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: tpac See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
First time playing Olde Sycamore, and I think I have a new local favorite. The course itself was perfect, sans the marks on the greens the idiots in front of us were leaving. "Repairs yours and one other" everyone... Otherwise, the fairways were in great shape, the rough cut as should be, beyond the rough kept clear in case you need to retrieve an errant shot or two. and the green were FAST! Thought the course layout was great. The cart we had was also in great shape.. lots of power and quiet electric. The staff was welcoming and very professional. Practice facilities was also in good shape and offered plenty of space for everyone. All in all, I cannot wait to get back out to Olde Sycamore.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Carolina Lakes Golf Club Date: 10/25/18 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 64
Cost: $0
Conditions: PerfectPace: > 5 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
Played in the Lancaster Chamber of Commerce Rub of the Green Golf Tournament and the course was in near perfect shape; the only issue I had was no one seemed to repair ball marks on the greens. This is one of my favorite courses in the area.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Deer Brook Golf Club Date: 10/15/18 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 77
Cost: $27
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: BRR See All Reviews by this user
Iíve played twice this year, once in May (shot in upper 80ís) and the 2nd in Oct. (a 77 this time). Both times the course was in great shape. Green fee for seniors is $27.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Springfield Golf Club Date: 10/13/18 Sat Afternoon
Overall Rating: Perfect
Score: 79
Cost: $45
Conditions: PerfectPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: MGOBLUE See All Reviews by this user
Last played here in April, front 9 only, and thought the front was in pretty good shape. They closed the course for almost 2 mos to replace the greens and all I can say is that it they did a fantastic job. Fairways were lush and if there were any dead spots I didn't see them. The greens were immaculate and rolled great. I was only in one bunker but it had plenty of the white stuff in it. The tee boxes would be the only area not up to the same standard as the rest of the course.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charlotte National Golf Club Date: 10/1/18 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 83
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: < 3 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
My first time back since they re-opened with new Bermuda greens. I liked them. Could not make a single mark all day on them, even with wedges, but they held shots just fine. They are not cut fast right now, but they rolled pretty true. There were a few that still had issues on the collar with bare dirt. I think once they grow in and can be cut faster, they'll be really nice. The rest of the course was not as good. Fairways were not cut, which was strange. They were lush but they would qualify as first cut rough at nicer courses. The tee boxes were also not cut and many were not in great shape. Rough was also thick and difficult. It's like they haven't mowed in a week. Assuming they cut the grass this week, the course is worth playing, especially at these prices.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Stonebridge Golf Club Date: 9/23/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score:
Cost: $60
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 1/2 Hours
Username: StanTheCaddy See All Reviews by this user
The entire course played slooooooow most likely from Florence. Rough was high but playable and fairways were pristine. Greens slow with a few scars due to people not repairing their marks. Some tee boxes were worn but nothing too bad. Pace of play was on par for Sat morning - a little slow.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charles T. Myers Golf Club Date: 9/14/18 Fri Afternoon
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 95
Cost: $30
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: jaydee See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 18.0
This is the first time I have played since the greens were redone. Much improved greens from when I played here over winter (they were real bad then.)Yes I did too have trouble getting out of the rough on a few holes.I have to believe that the course will only get better going forward. I hope the greens hold up over the winter. Looking forward to playing some more here.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 9/13/18 Thu Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 93
Cost: $31
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: BetterThanMost See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Frequent Golfer (about once a month)Handicap: 18.0
Just want to echo IAM4HERD's review. New greens are great. Fairways are phemomenal! The other new feature is the removal of trees on just about every hole, mostly around the greens. Makes the course much more playable for all ability levels. They have grown the rough up to help combat the tree removal, but you can play out of it. GPS was working on my cart today as well. Definitely back in my rotation.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Warrior Golf Club Date: 9/11/18 Tue Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 91
Cost: $40
Conditions: PerfectPace: < 3 Hours
Username: IM4DHERD See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 16.0
First time at Warrior since the re-do. VERY impressed. The new greens are as perfect as anything around. A little slower than you might think for the way they look, but not shaggy. Perhaps kept a fraction long to keep them healthy. 95% of the fairways are perfect, just a couple spots here and there. Traps look great. I was in a couple and they played well ... Not fluffy, but compacted and raked. I was afraid they were thin, but they weren't. All the tee boxes were as good as any. GPS wasn't on, but I use my own so didn't even ask about it. Might have just needed to flip a switch. For the most part there is a nice 2nd cut, but the third cut can be pretty bare or overly thick. I expect this to be the next priority. Definitely well worth the trip (40 mins) and even the cost.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Charles T. Myers Golf Club Date: 9/5/18 Wed Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 94
Cost: $30
Conditions: Average - isolated issuesPace: 4 Hours
Username: dad4204 See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 20.0
Just coming out of renovation. So it's still rough. The greens have been completely redone and are going to be nice once they get really flat. We putted over some bumps and there are still areas growing in. But a great improvement. Tees have been replaced or are being replaced. You need tall tees for the new ones because the grass is tall. Again, the process is underway. Some traps have been reworked but others have no sand and are playing as ground under repair. Fairways are overall good. The rough is high and the fairways skinny, at least for the 15-18 handicappers we are. Some of our group became frustrated trying to get it out of the rough. Course is on the right path, I'll go back in a month or so and see how its coming.
View Comments (1) Post Comment

Monroe Country Club Date: 9/3/18 Mon Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 73
Cost: $34
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
My review may be slightly biased by my score. I shot a career best 73 with 4 birdies. I was a little worried before I teed off because the putting green was not in great shape. The greens on the course were fine though. Not perfect but they rolled pretty well and I was able to make some putts. Some were tricky to read as the bermuda blades have dried out in the summer heat. Tees and fairways were fine. I was only in 2 bunkers and they had no issues. The rough in a few places was pretty penalizing and deep enough you might not find your ball unless you step on it (raises hand). I won't say too much though because the thick rough kept one errant tee shot in play for me. This course is very reasonably priced and now has tee times online. The starter was friendly and offered to let me go off #10 as a single so I wouldn't be held up. I ran into a maintenance worker on several holes who was filling fairway divots with sand and generally checking things out. That was good to see. Nick Jacobi runs a great course and you should check it out when you can!
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Red Bridge Golf & Country Club Date: 9/3/18 Mon Morning
Overall Rating: Worth playing
Score: 78
Cost: $45
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 5 Hours
Username: KyleSmith See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Golf Addict (more than once a week)Handicap: 2.4
Overall, this course is worth playing, especially if you can find a deal online. The greens are perfect as usual- quick and true. The fairways had some spots throughout the course, which is pretty typical from what I have experienced. Tee boxes were pretty decent, although I played the tips for the first time and they don't get as much use. This course plays completely different from the tips- multiple 200+ yard carries and different angles when you have to hit driver. Still a fantastic course. Worth the trip.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

Eagle Chase Golf Club Date: 9/2/18 Sun Afternoon
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 79
Cost: $25
Conditions: Good - normal wear/tearPace: 4 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
Eagle Chase never disappoints me. While they did have some winterkill damage to repair over the past 2 months on a few greens, the problems are pretty much resolved. They resodded and mended a few (notably #9 and #17). Greens were a little slower than usual but still rolled true. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all fine. The rates and the views here are some of the best around. If the course were closer, I'd get a membership.
View Comments (0) Post Comment

The Golf Club at Ballantyne Date: 8/26/18 Sun Morning
Overall Rating: Great course
Score: 90
Cost: $62
Conditions: PerfectPace: 3 1/2 Hours
Username: The B-Man See All Reviews by this user
Profile: Avid Golfer (about once a week)Handicap: 9.0
I came back again for the 3rd time in 2 months. The course is now in just about perfect shape. The greens were nearly immaculate and rolling very fast! Tees, fairways and bunkers were all in good shape. The bermuda rough was the only knock. Seemed like it had not been cut or they are keeping it high. The ball tends to sink down in it so you can't find it unless you walk right over the ball. This makes it very easy to lose a golf ball that's just a few yards off the fairway. So definitely keep a couple pairs of eyes on your ball if it is headed for the thick stuff. I played with a member so perhaps I got a guest rate. I paid $82 in July - so this was much better.
View Comments (0) Post Comment