Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Game/places to play   dongtrgolfer at 7/2/14 10:04am
What side of town are you on? If south charlotte then would recommend Charlotte National, Regent Park, Emerald Lake, Eagle Chase (bit of a haul), and Red Bridge.

Many clubs have dogfights late afternoon during the week and check with the pro shop staff about groups. Charlotte National is a very friendly place and if you call they can probably get you paired up with someone.
Game/places to play   Gus kern at 7/1/14 6:24pm
Great website and message board. Looking for places to play that are reasonable in price but still a challenge, and any games that might be out there. Low single digit handicap. Thanks.
Re: Birkdale Golf Course Conditions?   4Putts at 6/29/14 4:49am
Worth playing if you can get a deal. Biggest problem is the bunkers which are borderline unplayable. Green, Fairways, Tees are pretty much OK and the layout is great.
Charity Golf Tournament at Skybrook on Aug 3rd   The B-Man at 6/27/14 10:35pm
Prayers for Elijah Golf Tournament
The tournament raises money for medical expenses for a 9 year old boy named Elijah who was recently diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. His story is on www.facebook.com/prayersforelijah. It will be held on Sunday, August 3rd @ 1:30 at Skybrook Golf Club. Registration can be done online by visiting www.PrayersForElijah.com. The fee to register is $70 and includes green fees, golf cart, SWAG bag, dinner and a free Skybrook green fee gift certificate. Proceeds from this event will be used for El! ijah's medical expenses.
Birkdale Golf Course Conditions?   MGOBLUE at 6/26/14 3:14pm
Thinking of giving this course another chance, has anyone played there lately and if so how were the conditions?
Red Bridge   DrSchteeve at 6/25/14 11:33pm
Just punched and sanded.
Re: Re: Lessons   dongtrgolfer at 6/20/14 7:56am
I have gone to Joyner and Scott Fossum at Emerald Lake. My preference is Scott. It is just a personal preference as both are good instructors. I suggest taking a lesson from a few different instructors and see who you click with.
Re: Re: Lessons   tvrepairex at 6/18/14 4:58pm
Here is a link to Randy's website.It might give you a little more info.
http://www.randyjoynergolf.com/
Re: Re: Lessons   worthing at 6/18/14 2:38pm
Dose anybody else have an opinion about Randy Joyner? What about any other instructors in the area?
Re: Lessons   tvrepairex at 6/16/14 10:43pm
I have taken from Randy Joyner when he was at Leatherman.He is now at Ballantyne but I highly recommend him.Great teacher,he is patient with his pupils and will try to work with you on your weaknesses without completely remaking your total swing.He also offers short game lessons and playing lessons.
Lessons   worthing at 6/16/14 4:06pm
I have decided to take a few lessons to fine tune my game. I am looking at Chris Leatherman, because I have heard some good things and he is more affordable than others. Also, I like that he offers 30 minute lessons.

Does anyone have any experience with Chris? Does he do a good job? The most important goal I have in these lessons is to improve my short game; does anyone have experience with lessons for short game?
New Facebook and Instagram pages   The B-Man at 6/9/14 11:46am
I've just created Facebook and Instagram pages for the site. If you use them, be sure to Like and Follow me there for interesting links and pics:
Re: fox den   The B-Man at 6/4/14 1:21pm
Thanks, panthersfann55. Here's the story:

Fox Den Golf Club in Statesville, N.C. is pleased to announced new ownership as of May 1, 2014
fox den   panthersfann55 at 6/4/14 1:02pm
looks like stonebridge bought fox den on may 1st in a story found on clickit under fox den.
Rock Barn - Jackson   ILL-INI at 6/2/14 10:26am
Decided to take the drive up to Rock Barn yesterday with two other guys. I live in Ballantyne and the drive was about 1 hr. Not too bad but a little on the long side for sure. I was expecting an awesome track. Hardly. Fairways were thin and dead all over. Traps were horribly manicured. Greens were punched two weeks ago and were still terrible. I can't remember a time I've ever seen a course look quite as bad as that course.
Fox Den home foreclosure   The B-Man at 5/31/14 12:39pm
Noticed this article in the Observer today:

Statesville homeowners try to ward off foreclosure over money developer borrowed

It mentions that a limited liability company called Fox Den Acquisitions acquired the golf course earlier this year. Judging by the recent review, it hasn't affected the course conditions, but I'm curious what anyone else knows about the situation.
Cell Phones   dongtrgolfer at 5/28/14 9:42pm
I have noticed some really bad ediquette lately by people on the practice ranges. They get a call and decide to stay on the range to talk. They do not move away from the practice areas. And these are not short calls. They last 10 to 15 minutes and usually in a loud voice. I was at Charlotte National after work and a gentleman came up and immediately got a call. He hadn't even started hitting balls. He stood there and talked for over 15 minutes. No matter my glares and glances. So I learned all about his medical issues and doctor visits along with his friend on the phone. Please have some consideration for those around you and move away from the practice area, we promise not to steal your clubs or balls.
sstclair@bellsouth.net   DrSchteeve at 5/26/14 9:50pm
More good news on Highland Creek. Massive sand has been delivered to redo the bunkers, and plans in place to fix the cart paths.
Skybrook   NCGolf at 5/24/14 10:50pm
Played Skybrook today and was very pleased. New management seems to be making great strides toward improving conditions.
Re: Plane crashes on Charlotte National 8th hole   slowmofo at 5/19/14 5:02pm
no hitting full wedges near low flying planes. That is craziness
tradition   scott at 5/18/14 8:59pm
Played the tradition Today, we were pleasantly surprised by the conditions, some teeboxes were rough. The genes were in great shape, esp. Considering the disaster they were in.
Hope the new owner group keeps up the good work!
Re: Member for a day at Irish Creek   HateSlowPlay at 5/18/14 9:11am
Irish Creek is an absolute gem. One of the most beautiful courses around, always in great condition but very very tough.

The only hole I don't like at IC is the 18th hole. Not a very good/memorable finishing hole compared to the other holes on the course.

Beware holes 10/11 and 16/17...they will eat you for breakfast
Group Leagues   Fernando Amoroso at 5/16/14 12:47pm
I am new to Charlotte and would like to join a weekend golf group. 16 handicapper. Any suggestions?
jandrews1010@gmail.com   ILL-INI at 5/14/14 6:24pm
Have an extra round for Tega Cay this Sunday at 1:20 if anyone is interested. $32. E-mail me @ jandrews1010@gmail.com.
Member for a day at Irish Creek   Jon at 5/14/14 10:58am
Has anyone played this course under that program? Is there hard/soft sell to join? How is the course?
Plane crashes on Charlotte National 8th hole   The B-Man at 5/12/14 11:10am
I pulled up for my round yesterday just moments after this plane crash. Had to skip #8 and play #9 twice because they had the area taped off with police cars next to the fairway:

Small plane crash in Union Co. injures 3 adults, child

Crazier than that, though, was the fact that I tweeted a photo about it and got a reply from a lady whose brother and nephew were in the plane. She was asking me for updates (!). I think all is well, though, as w! e received word that the 4 people were in stable condition.
Re: Eagle Chase   panthersfann55 at 4/28/14 6:13pm
biggest thing is to take an extra club or 2 on certain holes. on #4 1 extra, #5 2 extra to the middle, #6 go with your gut its all downhill it does play it's true yardage, #9 one extra from the fairway, #11 go for the green in 2, #15 2 extra, 17 1 extra if u end up by the drain on the right. played this past fri and greens were quick. don't over think it focus on speed. the practice green reflects the course greens which is very rare.
Eagle Chase   HackingLefty at 4/28/14 3:24pm
Coming up tomorrow for the Wells Fargo this week, Have a tee time at Eagle Chase @ 11am thanks to suggestions from this website. Hopefully the weather service has wrongly predicted Mother Nature and the storms hold off until at least late afternoon. Any advice on the course for 2 mid-handicappers?
Cleghorn Plantation Conditions   MGOBLUE at 4/28/14 12:12pm
Played this course for the first time yesterday. Liked the layout of the back 9 better than the front. The fairways were a little rough, no pun intended but the greens were basically unplayable. Not sure what is going on there but it appeared they had been aerated and top dressed with too much sand. My son and I didn't even try to put after a few holes. There also appears to be some other type of grass or weed growing on them in many spots. The staff was very friendly and for $35 for a Sunday morning tee time and a free sleeve of Titleist golf ballsfor booking on line the price was great. I may be back if the conditions improve dramatically.
Statement from the new owners of the CT courses   The B-Man at 4/26/14 11:57pm
In case you are not on Clickit's mailing list, they sent out this statement from the new management company of the Carolina Trail courses. I'm not sure why it doesn't mention Waterford. We already know Charlotte Golf Links is closed for good and Skybrook has got a new owner.

"As you have probably heard, a foreclosure process was recently completed with respect to Birkdale Golf Club, The Divide Golf Club, Highland Creek Golf Club and Tradition Golf Club. As a result of that process, effective April 8, 2014, Romspen Birkdale LLC / Romspen Divide LLC / Romspen Highland Creek LLC / Romspen, The Tradition LLC is now the owner of the respective courses.

The new owners are committed to returning the golf courses to their r! ightful place as some of the best daily fee facilities in the Charlotte area and have retained the services of Traditional Golf Management to operate the day to day business. We understand that this has been a very volatile environment and we are confident that the new ownership and management will provide the much needed stability that these clubs need. We are currently working on both operating and capital plans that will allow us to show continuous improvement in the facilities and service levels at the clubs.

New membership programs are in place and special considerations are being given to those that held memberships under the previous ownership. Please contact the respective golf club for more information on the membership details (including the revised pricing for weekday sports members).

We are excited to begin the process of restoring these courses to the quality that was enjoyed years ago. We look forward to earn! ing back your business and seeing you on the golf course."%3! Cbr />
-Traditional Golf Management


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: