Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Carolina Trail Courses Update   The B-Man at 8/14/14 5:26pm
Most of you should be seeing much better reviews lately for the former Carolina Trail courses. They are starting to really come back in shape, which is great to see.

I received two emails yesterday - one with a $10 off coupon for any of the 5 former courses - The Divide, Waterford, Tradition, Highland Creek and Birkdale - and one from Waterford. Here's the full text:

NEW OWNERS AND MANAGEMENT AT WATERFORD GOLF CLUB
As you have probably heard, a foreclosure process was recently completed with respect to Waterford Golf Club. As a result of that process, effective August 1, 2014, Romspen-Waterford LLC is now the owner of the facility.

The new owners are committed to returning the golf ! course to its rightful place as one of the best daily fee facilities in the Charlotte area and have retained the services of Traditional Golf Management to operate the club. We understand that this has been a very volatile environment and we are confident that the new ownership and management will provide the much needed stability that this club needs. We are currently working on both operating and capital plans that will allow us to show continuous improvement in the facility and service levels at the club.

We are excited to begin the process of restoring the course to the quality that was enjoyed years ago. We look forward to earning back your business and seeing you on the golf course.

Birkdale   nenad at 8/10/14 10:22pm
I just moved to Huntersville and I live across Birkdale golf course. I have read some pretty bad reviews about from the past but nothing since July 7th. Have the conditions on the golf course and the practice area improved? Is it worth playing? Thanks...
seven lakes   panthersfann55 at 8/6/14 4:57pm
Headed out to seven lakes in west end, nc (outside pinehurst). We always play this course along with 2 other choices every year and boy it was in great shape. Bent grass greens show no sign of summer stress except for 2 rings on 18, bunkers fluffy, fairways lush with grass, and rough tough but fair. A's all around and never saw another golfer the whole round (large group teed of an hour or so before our tee time). For $34 in the am on a course that is $60-$80 peak season was a great deal.
seven lakes   panthersfann55 at 8/6/14 4:57pm
Headed out to seven lakes in west end, nc (outside pinehurst). We always play this course along with 2 other choices every year and boy it was in great shape. Bent grass greens show no sign of summer stress except for 2 rings on 18, bunkers fluffy, fairways lush with grass, and rough tough but fair. A's all around and never saw another golfer the whole round (large group teed of an hour or so before our tee time). For $34 in the am on a course that is $60-$80 peak season was a great deal.
Golfnow.com   ILL-INI at 7/30/14 9:21am
Saturday it's supposed to spit a little rain but there's some really awesome tee times/rates to be had on golfnow.com. I just booked me and a couple buddies of mine for $35 (plus the fee and tax) on a 12:30 tee time on Saturday. Just wanted to give you all a heads up.
Rock Barn   The B-Man at 7/17/14 12:54pm
Rock Barn has been added! Go post a review.
Re: Which courses should I add?   slowmofo at 7/17/14 11:51am
Def Rock Barn. Just played it on Sunday and it was in amazing condition. It's probably my favorite course in the area.
Re: Which courses should I add?   4Putts at 7/10/14 6:08pm
Rock Barn - Great
Mooresville - Weak
Westport - Average
Lincoln CC - Average
Cheraw State Park - Great
Re: Which courses should I add?   The B-Man at 7/10/14 4:08pm
phatdba: River Oaks is listed here. Post a review!
Re: Which courses should I add?   phatdba at 7/10/14 4:05pm
This site is where I go first to see what sort of shape local courses are in - thanks Bman! I like to know the good, the bad, and the ugly. Helps me find bargains and avoid busts.

I would add Crowder Mountain, Kings Mountain, River Oaks (new fave in Statesville), Badin Inn, Westport, and I second Scott B on Rock Barn.

Crowder Mountain is not on any of the discount sites (ClickitGolf, GolfNow, Birdie Bug, TeeOff), doesn't get much notice, but it is in 4-star shape at a 3-star price, and is a scenic and enjoyable layout (con: no driving range).
Re: Which courses should I add?   Scott Brotherton at 7/10/14 3:46pm
I wouldn't bother with Mooresville, they are about to redesign most of the course. Old Beau is incredible. Very tough. Westport isn't anything special. Rock Barn is great.
Which courses should I add?   The B-Man at 7/10/14 3:41pm
The note about Pinetuck below reminded me of my "to be added later" course list. These are courses that a) I have never played OR b) Are located far from Charlotte OR c) Are beginner only / executive type courses OR d) I just don't hear much about from anyone. I'd like to get some feedback on what courses you would like to see added to the site.

Here are several on my consideration list (no particular order):
  • Rock Barn
  • Mooresville
  • Olde Beau
  • River Bend
  • Westport
  • Badin Inn
  • Cleghorn Plantation
  • Kings Mtn CC
  • Lincoln CC
  • Catawba Creek
  • Cheraw CC
  • Cheraw State Park
  • Spring Lake
  • Crowders Mtn

I'm also considering expanding to cover courses in and around Pinehurst since two of my favorites are near that (Tot Hill Farm and Tobacco Road).

Post your comments here or send me direct feedback. Thanks!
Pinetuck (Rock Hill)   cyoung2ty at 7/9/14 5:13pm
This is the second time I've played here and the second time I was far less than impressed.

The greens were recently punched, but they're still the best part of this cow pasture.

I got a $15 rate on GolfNow for 9 holes so I took my 14 year old son out with me this afternoon.

The staff is nice enough, but waiting 10 minutes in the pro shop to pay for my round should never happen.

The carts are essentially death traps. The brakes barely work. There was no windshield, so when it began to rain a little, there was no way to avoid getting soaked.

The tees may as well be cement. I found it next-to-impossible to put a tee in the ground on some holes.

The fairways were burnt ou! t and I found myself in divots more often than I should have.

Overall... paying $35 (including GolfNow fees) for 9 holes with my son isn't bad. I just wish there was a little more pride in the course.
July 4th Weekend Tournaments   POL at 7/3/14 7:52pm
Anyone know of any Charlotte area tournaments going on this weekend?
Re: Game/places to play   ILL-INI at 7/2/14 2:09pm
Try golfnow.com and see if you can get a tee time for Tega Cay - that's a must play right now. Also - take a little drive out to Mineral Springs and play Stonebridge.
Re: Game/places to play   dongtrgolfer at 7/2/14 10:04am
What side of town are you on? If south charlotte then would recommend Charlotte National, Regent Park, Emerald Lake, Eagle Chase (bit of a haul), and Red Bridge.

Many clubs have dogfights late afternoon during the week and check with the pro shop staff about groups. Charlotte National is a very friendly place and if you call they can probably get you paired up with someone.
Game/places to play   Gus kern at 7/1/14 6:24pm
Great website and message board. Looking for places to play that are reasonable in price but still a challenge, and any games that might be out there. Low single digit handicap. Thanks.
Re: Birkdale Golf Course Conditions?   4Putts at 6/29/14 4:49am
Worth playing if you can get a deal. Biggest problem is the bunkers which are borderline unplayable. Green, Fairways, Tees are pretty much OK and the layout is great.
Charity Golf Tournament at Skybrook on Aug 3rd   The B-Man at 6/27/14 10:35pm
Prayers for Elijah Golf Tournament
The tournament raises money for medical expenses for a 9 year old boy named Elijah who was recently diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. His story is on www.facebook.com/prayersforelijah. It will be held on Sunday, August 3rd @ 1:30 at Skybrook Golf Club. Registration can be done online by visiting www.PrayersForElijah.com. The fee to register is $70 and includes green fees, golf cart, SWAG bag, dinner and a free Skybrook green fee gift certificate. Proceeds from this event will be used for El! ijah's medical expenses.
Birkdale Golf Course Conditions?   MGOBLUE at 6/26/14 3:14pm
Thinking of giving this course another chance, has anyone played there lately and if so how were the conditions?
Red Bridge   DrSchteeve at 6/25/14 11:33pm
Just punched and sanded.
Re: Re: Lessons   dongtrgolfer at 6/20/14 7:56am
I have gone to Joyner and Scott Fossum at Emerald Lake. My preference is Scott. It is just a personal preference as both are good instructors. I suggest taking a lesson from a few different instructors and see who you click with.
Re: Re: Lessons   tvrepairex at 6/18/14 4:58pm
Here is a link to Randy's website.It might give you a little more info.
http://www.randyjoynergolf.com/
Re: Re: Lessons   worthing at 6/18/14 2:38pm
Dose anybody else have an opinion about Randy Joyner? What about any other instructors in the area?
Re: Lessons   tvrepairex at 6/16/14 10:43pm
I have taken from Randy Joyner when he was at Leatherman.He is now at Ballantyne but I highly recommend him.Great teacher,he is patient with his pupils and will try to work with you on your weaknesses without completely remaking your total swing.He also offers short game lessons and playing lessons.
Lessons   worthing at 6/16/14 4:06pm
I have decided to take a few lessons to fine tune my game. I am looking at Chris Leatherman, because I have heard some good things and he is more affordable than others. Also, I like that he offers 30 minute lessons.

Does anyone have any experience with Chris? Does he do a good job? The most important goal I have in these lessons is to improve my short game; does anyone have experience with lessons for short game?
New Facebook and Instagram pages   The B-Man at 6/9/14 11:46am
I've just created Facebook and Instagram pages for the site. If you use them, be sure to Like and Follow me there for interesting links and pics:
Re: fox den   The B-Man at 6/4/14 1:21pm
Thanks, panthersfann55. Here's the story:

Fox Den Golf Club in Statesville, N.C. is pleased to announced new ownership as of May 1, 2014
fox den   panthersfann55 at 6/4/14 1:02pm
looks like stonebridge bought fox den on may 1st in a story found on clickit under fox den.
Rock Barn - Jackson   ILL-INI at 6/2/14 10:26am
Decided to take the drive up to Rock Barn yesterday with two other guys. I live in Ballantyne and the drive was about 1 hr. Not too bad but a little on the long side for sure. I was expecting an awesome track. Hardly. Fairways were thin and dead all over. Traps were horribly manicured. Greens were punched two weeks ago and were still terrible. I can't remember a time I've ever seen a course look quite as bad as that course.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: