Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Queen City Golf Pass   dongtrgolfer at 5/6/15 7:59am
Just bough the pass. With improvements in the courses this is a pretty good deal and really pays for itself after two to three rounds with the one round free.
Re: Queen City Golf Pass   Jeff Allston at 4/17/15 9:49pm
I have played a few of the courses over the last year or so and they are better, not great, but better. I am still hesitant to buy anything from these courses other than a round of golf though. You just never know when the doors are going to close.....
Queen City Golf Pass   ISlayMySelf at 4/16/15 5:18pm
Does anyone have any feedback on the Golf Pass that is being offered now? I know it is for a couple of former Carolina Trail courses and was curious if the conditions, management and experience of playing have improved in the last year. I'd like to support the courses but I'm hesitant. Any feedback would be appreciated.
Re: Looking for good conditions April 3-5   tvrepairex at 3/24/15 8:12pm
Try Red bridge in Locust or Rocky River in Concord.
Looking for good conditions April 3-5   jscum13 at 3/23/15 9:16pm
Couple buddies coming down from upstate NY to stay with me and play area courses in Charlotte NC. I know most of the courses are still dormant and fighting the moisture from the rain we've been getting but has anyone played an area course worth traveling to? It's a vacation for them so we'll drive as far as 50-60 mins from south charlotte. Any recommendations are appreciated.
10 courses in Triad for $75   Desmond Johnson at 3/19/15 11:49am
The Winston Salem Journal is currently offering a Golf ParCard deal card...10 courses in the Piedmont for only $75...courses include Badin Inn, Pudding Ridge, Oak Valley, Pilot Knob, Cedarbrook and more. Over 75% in savings. There are only 400 of the cards available for sale to the public. You can get up to 4 (3 to give to playing buddies)at http://www.journaldealsnow.com/deal/winstonsalem/journal-deals-now-parcard enjoy!
golf leagues   rmunyer at 3/12/15 11:01am
Anyone know of any after work golf leagues
Re: senior play events   panthersfann55 at 1/26/15 6:21pm
http://www.senioramateurgolftour.net/Charlotte_tour_pages/schedule.asp

check out this website. You get to play a lot of the private clubs in town and compete with golfers on the same level. Can't sandbag it either. I played on their regular tour a few years ago. Good fun for all.
senior play events   oneputt at 1/26/15 7:56am
I would like to find a listing of senior golf leagues or events open to the general golfing public. Thanks
WInter golf   Fred C Dobbs at 1/4/15 12:48am
Round was a little slow today at Deer Creek C.C. just outside Toronto. Fairways and greens were slick and difficult to read. Could have been the 5 inches of snow that fell the night before. I chuckle when I read the golfers comments regarding the conditions of the local courses during the N.C and S.C. winter months. We only dream of golf from Nov till April up here......lol
Looking forward to our return in the fall for some golf and Southern Hospitality in and around Fort Mill/Rock Hill area.
Cheers from up north in Canada.
Re: Instructor   ComeBackWarmGolf at 12/23/14 12:43pm
I highly recommend Brett Latcham at Golf Depot.
Re: Instructor   dongtrgolfer at 12/19/14 12:39pm
I have tken lessons from Scott Fossum at Emerald Lakes and highly recommend him.
Re: Christmas Day   Ryan at 12/18/14 3:48pm
Rocky River is open, and FREE to walk, but the clubhouse is closed.
Instructor   ISlayMySelf at 12/18/14 2:32pm
I'm thinking about investing in lessons for the new year but wanted some input before I went further. Has anyone had lessons at the Regent Park Academy and if not do you recommend any instructors(perferably attached to a course) on the South Side of Charlotte?
Christmas Day   5putts at 12/18/14 11:47am
Anyone know which courses will be open for play Christmas Day?
Re: Emerald Lake or Sky Brook   Hobart at 12/11/14 11:40am
I have not played Skybrook since they have changed ownership, but I did play Emerald Lake last weekend and it was in good shape. The greens were good. Very quick.
Re: Emerald Lake or Sky Brook   slowmofo at 12/9/14 5:46pm
I would probably vote skybrook. There probably in the same shape with the greens being better at skybrook and I enjoy the layout better.
Emerald Lake or Sky Brook   pruittjc at 12/9/14 5:05pm
I was hoping that someone has played either of these courses in the last two weeks or so.

I saw the review for Emerald Lakes, but I also saw some not as favorable.

Thanks
Re: Golf League   dongtrgolfer at 12/1/14 11:12am
In the spring and summer Charlotte National has a dog fight on Thursday night after work around 5 PM.
Re: Golf League   slowmofo at 11/21/14 12:29pm
Not the best course, but Green Meadows is always running some type of tournament during the week around 2-3pm. It is usually nine holes with a bunch of side pots
Golf League   mjkcfp at 10/30/14 9:14am
Anyone know of any golf leagues in the area? 9 hole after work type thing? If not, anyone interested in helping to start/organize one for the South Charlotte area?
Coupla nominations   IM4DHERD at 10/27/14 5:45pm
Brushy Mountain in Taylorsville. Easy drive - 77N to 40W to 64 to Taylorsville, just off 64. About as far for me (Exit 23, Huntersville) as is Rock Barn, Deerbrook, Edgewater, Stonebridge. Very nice layout - Mountain style course with nice elevation changes and views of the foothills, particularly nice this time of year. Couple of house on #10 only, otherwise secluded and quiet...lot of mature trees. Fast, undulating greens. Fairways and teeboxes are some of the best around. Caveat: They just put about $2M into some course improvements and a new restaurant/clubhouse. There are many thin areas mostly outside of the fairways that need attending to, but they have had their hands full. Come Spring, this beauty will be fully back better than ever.

Als! o note Olde Beau is now listed...In that case you should list Cedarbrook, the course you see from 21 on the right as you head towards the big climb up the hill. Very nice course with what might be the best greens in NC. Olde Beau is fun, but IMO Cedarbrook is a better course and 20 mins closer.
Carolina Lakes   Fred C Dobbs at 10/26/14 11:52pm
Anyone know if Carolina Lakes G.C. has a senior rate during the week?
Making arrangements for a trip down from Canada.
Cheers
The Divide   Jamie at 10/23/14 1:17pm
Played The Divide on Saturday 10/18. The recent reviews are accurate - the course is really showing signs of dramatic improvement. Good job by new management to turn things around. And the green fee was only $40 for prime time. Time to put this course back on my play list.
Carolina Crossing Golf Club   Fred C Dobbs at 10/17/14 7:47pm
Is Carolina Crossing Golf Club back up running and is a Semi-Private course.
Fox Den is now Larkin Golf Club   IM4DHERD at 10/16/14 6:40pm
As noted in my review today, the ownership of Stonebridge has finalized their purchase of Fox Den and re-branded her "Larkin Golf Club". Looking forward to seeing what they will do for the place, which is already a gem. Seeing some improvements already.
Re: Westport   slowmofo at 10/16/14 1:25pm
Agreed. They need to mow this stuff down a bunch especially since the weather is cooler now. I have a heavy putter and need to add like 45 lbs to it with how slow those greens are.
Westport   thesheedspot at 10/13/14 2:30pm
Slow greens, long fairways. Not a fan of the layout, it has a lot of blind shots and everyone in our group had several bizarre bounces off the fairways. The only way to make a putt here is to hammer it right at the hole, not much feel to the greens. Better options exist a lot closer for those in the Charlotte area.
Re: Private course recommendations   slowmofo at 10/13/14 2:27pm
Quail Hollow ( doubt you can get on )
TPC piper glen
River Run Country Club
Providence Country Club
Charlotte Country Club( also tough )
Longview

Though I am not sure what kind of reciprocals or pull your club has
Private course recommendations   Don S at 10/10/14 10:26am
Hello,

I'm looking for recommendations on Private Clubs in or near Charlotte. I am comimg to Charlotte next week, and looking to play a couple rounds at private clubs. I belong to a small Club in Crete, IL, so I can have my Pro make me tee times.

Thanks


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: