Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Instructor   dongtrgolfer at 12/19/14 12:39pm
I have tken lessons from Scott Fossum at Emerald Lakes and highly recommend him.
Re: Christmas Day   Ryan at 12/18/14 3:48pm
Rocky River is open, and FREE to walk, but the clubhouse is closed.
Instructor   ISlayMySelf at 12/18/14 2:32pm
I'm thinking about investing in lessons for the new year but wanted some input before I went further. Has anyone had lessons at the Regent Park Academy and if not do you recommend any instructors(perferably attached to a course) on the South Side of Charlotte?
Christmas Day   5putts at 12/18/14 11:47am
Anyone know which courses will be open for play Christmas Day?
Re: Emerald Lake or Sky Brook   Hobart at 12/11/14 11:40am
I have not played Skybrook since they have changed ownership, but I did play Emerald Lake last weekend and it was in good shape. The greens were good. Very quick.
Re: Emerald Lake or Sky Brook   slowmofo at 12/9/14 5:46pm
I would probably vote skybrook. There probably in the same shape with the greens being better at skybrook and I enjoy the layout better.
Emerald Lake or Sky Brook   pruittjc at 12/9/14 5:05pm
I was hoping that someone has played either of these courses in the last two weeks or so.

I saw the review for Emerald Lakes, but I also saw some not as favorable.

Thanks
Re: Golf League   dongtrgolfer at 12/1/14 11:12am
In the spring and summer Charlotte National has a dog fight on Thursday night after work around 5 PM.
Re: Golf League   slowmofo at 11/21/14 12:29pm
Not the best course, but Green Meadows is always running some type of tournament during the week around 2-3pm. It is usually nine holes with a bunch of side pots
Golf League   mjkcfp at 10/30/14 9:14am
Anyone know of any golf leagues in the area? 9 hole after work type thing? If not, anyone interested in helping to start/organize one for the South Charlotte area?
Coupla nominations   IM4DHERD at 10/27/14 5:45pm
Brushy Mountain in Taylorsville. Easy drive - 77N to 40W to 64 to Taylorsville, just off 64. About as far for me (Exit 23, Huntersville) as is Rock Barn, Deerbrook, Edgewater, Stonebridge. Very nice layout - Mountain style course with nice elevation changes and views of the foothills, particularly nice this time of year. Couple of house on #10 only, otherwise secluded and quiet...lot of mature trees. Fast, undulating greens. Fairways and teeboxes are some of the best around. Caveat: They just put about $2M into some course improvements and a new restaurant/clubhouse. There are many thin areas mostly outside of the fairways that need attending to, but they have had their hands full. Come Spring, this beauty will be fully back better than ever.

Als! o note Olde Beau is now listed...In that case you should list Cedarbrook, the course you see from 21 on the right as you head towards the big climb up the hill. Very nice course with what might be the best greens in NC. Olde Beau is fun, but IMO Cedarbrook is a better course and 20 mins closer.
Carolina Lakes   Fred C Dobbs at 10/26/14 11:52pm
Anyone know if Carolina Lakes G.C. has a senior rate during the week?
Making arrangements for a trip down from Canada.
Cheers
The Divide   Jamie at 10/23/14 1:17pm
Played The Divide on Saturday 10/18. The recent reviews are accurate - the course is really showing signs of dramatic improvement. Good job by new management to turn things around. And the green fee was only $40 for prime time. Time to put this course back on my play list.
Carolina Crossing Golf Club   Fred C Dobbs at 10/17/14 7:47pm
Is Carolina Crossing Golf Club back up running and is a Semi-Private course.
Fox Den is now Larkin Golf Club   IM4DHERD at 10/16/14 6:40pm
As noted in my review today, the ownership of Stonebridge has finalized their purchase of Fox Den and re-branded her "Larkin Golf Club". Looking forward to seeing what they will do for the place, which is already a gem. Seeing some improvements already.
Re: Westport   slowmofo at 10/16/14 1:25pm
Agreed. They need to mow this stuff down a bunch especially since the weather is cooler now. I have a heavy putter and need to add like 45 lbs to it with how slow those greens are.
Westport   thesheedspot at 10/13/14 2:30pm
Slow greens, long fairways. Not a fan of the layout, it has a lot of blind shots and everyone in our group had several bizarre bounces off the fairways. The only way to make a putt here is to hammer it right at the hole, not much feel to the greens. Better options exist a lot closer for those in the Charlotte area.
Re: Private course recommendations   slowmofo at 10/13/14 2:27pm
Quail Hollow ( doubt you can get on )
TPC piper glen
River Run Country Club
Providence Country Club
Charlotte Country Club( also tough )
Longview

Though I am not sure what kind of reciprocals or pull your club has
Private course recommendations   Don S at 10/10/14 10:26am
Hello,

I'm looking for recommendations on Private Clubs in or near Charlotte. I am comimg to Charlotte next week, and looking to play a couple rounds at private clubs. I belong to a small Club in Crete, IL, so I can have my Pro make me tee times.

Thanks
The Master's 2015 Trip   Rosemary at 10/4/14 5:09pm
I was lucky enough to get 4 tickets for The Master's 2015 and want to surprise my husband. We are coming from Ontario, Canada and I would appreciate recommendations for reasonable "stay & play" packages for Sat. & Sun. April 5 & 5. They would have to be near #77 or #20 as I assume this is the route we would have to take. Thank you in advance.
Charity Golf Tournament Oct 13th at Rolling Hills CC   The B-Man at 10/1/14 8:56pm
Turning Point Annual Golf Tournament 2014
October 13th
Rolling Hills Country Club
9:00 am - Shotgun Start
$150 per player or $600 per foursome
Sponsorship opportunities available

Format: 18 Hole Captain’s Choice
Entry Fee includes: Golf and Cart, Range Balls, Food and Beverages, and Charitable Contribution
Awards: 1st, 2nd and 3rd Place Team Prizes plus Raffle Prizes!
Contests: “Beat the Pro” Par 3 Drive, Win a Car for Hole-In-One, $10,000 Putt, Closest to the pin

Turning Point is the only domestic violence shelter and
program serving the residents of Union and surrounding counties and is solely respons! ible for family violence services and prevention.

For more information, contact btracy@turntoday.net or call Becky Tracy at 704-288-1902.

Visit the Turning Point website
Golf on Saturday, 10-04-2014   Mike Smith at 10/1/14 1:24pm
This is my first trip to Charlotte, and I'm looking for a reasonably priced public course for a foursome to play on 10-04-2014. I'm staying downtown near the Bank of America Stadium, so a course near there would be preferable if possible. Any help you might provide would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you,
Mike Smith
Golf on Saturday, 10-04-2014   Mike Smith at 10/1/14 1:05pm
I'm looking for an 18 hole public course near Bank of America Stadium to play on Sat, Oct 4 for 1 foursome.
Can you help an out-of-town hacker (21 hcp) find a reasonably priced track which one doesn't need to be a single digit player to have some fun on the links? Any help you can provide will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
M P Smith



Renaissance & Emerald Lake & Tega Cay   Nancy & Fred at 9/29/14 6:05pm
Played Renaissance 9/28 and the greens are in terrible shape. Many dead spots and various lengths of grass on the greens. It's impossible to putt and feel that anything you're doing is going to make a difference as there is too much interference with the state of the greens for any putt to be accurate. The fairways were fine. The bunkers were actually very nicely kept and well-raked. I felt like someone there felt so bad about the greens being terrible that they thought they would at least make the bunkers playable.
Emerald Lake, which we played two weeks ago had bad greens as well. Almost as bad as Renaissance. Lots of crab grass on them and the crab grass didn't get mown down with the other grass so many putts you're putting through pieces of crab grass sticking up. Plus, lots of ! dead spots. The back 9 was better than the front, but not great.
It's a shame. These both used to be decent courses (Emerald Lake used to be really nice). It's been one of the rainiest and cooler summers in the 15 years I've lived here. If you can't keep your greens up this summer, when will you be able too? Plus, they were both way too expensive for what you get - even on tee off or golf now - I think we paid $70 bucks for 2 people for Emerald Lake and $50 for Renaissance. If we had just paid at the club house we would have given up and asked for our money back. Not sure how that works on the discount web-sites. They need to charge a lot less if their courses are in such bad shape.
Tega Cay was really nice. Worth any extra money.
Men's Golf Club   CT Golfer at 9/29/14 4:29pm
Planning a move to Charlotte in the next 3-6 months and am wondering what the best public men's golf clubs are in the Charlotte area? I currently play in a club in Connecticut and would like to join a similiar club in Charlotte.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Re: Westport All Day Sep 16??   slowmofo at 9/15/14 5:25pm
The only thing I hated about Westport was that they let the fairways grow in and the greens as well. Those greens were some of the slowest I have ever played. Let me know if the condition has improved!
Westport All Day Sep 16??   phatdba at 9/15/14 9:29am
Westport (Denver NC) offers $25 for all day golf on Tuesdays.

I have a 7:40 tee time tomorrow (Sept 16) at Westport and would like one person to join me (two can play almost as fast as one and it is more fun that way).

It is short notice but please let me know thru this message board so we can coordinate.

We could play 2-4 rounds depending the pace of play and our endurance.
Re: Renaissance Park review - response from the course   slowmofo at 9/4/14 11:05am
I appreciate that Renaissance took the time to respond. It shows they that do care about their course and do want to make it better. I feel bad about trashing them in my review, but the conditions that day were awful. Yes I see them trying to make improvements with resodding. I wish them the best as more courses in the area to play make me a happy
Renaissance Park review - response from the course   The B-Man at 9/3/14 9:55pm
I have a good relationship with Ratcliffe Golf -- they run Renaissance Park, Charles T Myers and Revolution Park, among other courses around town. Jason Rockhold from Ratcliffe responded to the recent poor review posted on this site. The full text is below:

Dear Slowmofo,

Thank you for your comments. We take our guest’s opinions very seriously and appreciate your candor in sharing any negative experiences you had. It is our goal to utilize your comments to make our golf course a better experience to all of our golfers that play with us.

I would like to apologize for your poor experience with our fairways and a few of the greens at Renaissance Park. We are in the middle of some great projects that foc! us on equal coverage of water and leveling out some areas to make them more playable.

Fairways:
I have included a couple of photos (Photo 1, Photo 2) of the sodding process that has started Tuesday September 2, 2014 that is covering the areas of dirt to level out some areas that have compacted. We are working with the county to continue to make Renaissance Park Golf Course a great experience for everyone who plays it. In addition, we have purchased some new equipment to keep the fairway and rough length consistent and playable. These new machines help the grass grow as it adapts to the consistent length of cut.

Greens:
In addition to the resodding, we have recently installed a new water pump house to get better water coverage on t! he course. We will be aerifying our greens next week to get th! e ultimate use of this new tool. With the new pump house, we will get a stronger and faster recovery of our bent greens. As you know, bent grass greens typically experience problems of heat stress and wear during the summer. The desired growing conditions for bent grass are soil temperatures between 50-65 degrees and air temperatures of 60-75 degrees. As soil temperatures and air temperatures continue to rise into early fall, there is difficulty keeping these greens at optimal condition.

Knowing this, we offer bounce back coupons for $20 off your next round of golf during this time period.

We expect after aerification, a short healing period, and cooler temperatures to see great results from our end of summer projects.

Please come back in a few weeks as my guest, there is no doubt you will see the positive results from our labors.

Have a great day!

Jason Rockhold, MBA, PGA
Director of Marketing/PGA Instructor
Ratcliffe Golf Services, Inc.
rockholdpro@aol.com
Regent Park   Jamie at 9/3/14 7:44am
Have played Regent Park a lot this year, and it has become one of my favorite layouts. Played on 8/30/14 and the course condition was good. One of the best things about RP on Saturdays is that the pace of play is usually not an issue. It took us 4 hours 20 minutes last Saturday, and that was actually a little slower than normal. We usually start around 7:45 so we are out early, and done by noon. Greens starting to show a lot of ball marks, but overall in good shape. Only real negative is they still need more water stations.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: