Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Warrior in China Grove   mtharpster at 10/13/05 9:25pm
for anyone looking for a great course of the betten path try Warrior in China Grove (i85exit 68 to 152 n) about 25 min. from Concord Mills. this is a great course in perfect conditon rates about $56 but well worth it, having played many Pro level courses this is not far behind. If the grow the rough and fasten up the greens a bit could host a tour event.
Fox Den   Jamie at 10/11/05 6:48am
I first played Fox Den in 1999, and it was the first time I ever broke par. I shot 69, so obviously I liked the course. I've only played it a few times since because it's a long haul from my house. The course is normally in good shape, and the front and back nines are very different, with a wide variety of holes. I thought the overall layout was good, and the greens were just about perfect. If you like unique layouts, make the extra drive and give it a shot.
Fox Den??   Cory M. at 10/7/05 5:42pm
Does anyone know about a course called FOXDEN in statesville?? Like the number,website, or anything?
Conditions   MJS at 10/6/05 3:55pm
For those visiting Charlotte this fall, please know that this summer's conditions were very hard on local area greens - very wet and humid early and very, very dry for an extended period only now starting to come back. My opinion on those asked about in earlier posts:

Springfield - tough tough, forced carries and truly unique place - just now developing real estate on/around course. Play it now as it is one of the best premium courses in the area. I played last week and greens were so so - having just been punched and suffering a bit from the bad summer - great value durring the week and unique.

Eagle Chase - kind of a long drive, I call this a bubba course. I mean it in a nice way - more like a muni look and feel it is low end but really good layout, not in great shape - almost like a mtn course with elevation change.

Olde Sycamore - Probably best greens around right now - very playable and tough layout. typical Charlotte style course in a housing development.

Regent Park - great layout and usually great shape - i have heard greens were lost earlier this year and have stayed away but will defer to earlier posters and go back on their rec.

Waterford - in Rock Hill SC - 30 min from Charlotte. A gem, and a Hale Irwin Course very fun and some unique holes (#3 has you drive thru a "chute") Good shape

Charlotte Golf Links - scottish style layout with lots of Gorse, bunkers and elevated greens - good shape and right off 485

Stonebridge - good shape for the most part and forgiving layout

Larkhaven is a muni that is not in the same tier as above but fun/fair and cheap

Verdict Ridge is TIGHT and LOTS of houses but very nice and good shape last time I played

My top 4:

Waterford
Olde Sycamore
Springfield
Charlotte Golf Links
Pinetuck   JB at 10/2/05 7:41am
STAY AWAY!!! They have lost almost every green. They should shutdown for 6 months and fix!!! Worst shape ever.
Re: charlotte area courses   Jim C. at 9/27/05 10:11pm
Played Charles T Myers today. The course is really returning to good form. Tee boxes were adequate. Most fairways were in good condition although some rain would be nice. The greens were very good. The greens are just a couple of days from being completely healed from being "punched."

You'll not find a better course at this price.
Crescent (Salisbury)   Jamie at 9/26/05 5:57pm
9-26-2005

I played there today and the course is in excellent condition.
Naturally, I played horrible but the greens are in mint condition and the fairways are nice as well.
Pawtucket   Chipper Green at 9/25/05 6:47pm
Just played Pawtucket on 9/23 and it is a very frustrating course. It has a nice but difficult layout, and they keep it in such bad shape that it makes it alot harder than it should be. The fairways are very inconsistent (lots of weeds and crab grass), the sand is hard, the tee boxes are hacked up, and the greens are almost unplayable. I had better lies in rough than in the fairway several times. It's a shame because this could be a really nice course if someone ever decides to take care of it. Right now, its just a ball eater, and you can expect to add atleast 7-10 strokes to your score because of conditions alone.
Re: Course conditions   Jim C. at 9/22/05 4:58pm
Played Olde Sycamore today 09.22.05. It was great. Conditions were excellent. You can find a coupon in the paper here for $35 per person or at www.golfholes.com.

Played Springfield last week 09.15.05 and the greens were in very poor condition. I've always enjoyed Springfield but would not play there again until the greens have returned.
Regent   Patriot Dave at 9/22/05 12:17am
We played Regent on 9/17. Thought the course was great. The layout was great and the 10 minute interval between tee times kept us from ever feeling rushed. I really enjoyed the fact that the holes are really spead out and you almost felt like you had the whole course to yourself. The greens were a bit rough though. Several of them were "splotchy" and burned up in places, but other than that, I was very happy with our decision to play there. Many have claimed it's "pricey", but $60 (including cart) was a GREAT deal for a course this nice in our group's oplinion. We're used to paying $50 for an AVERAGE course around here. If you want to talk about "pricey", try playing in Vegas or San Diego, where a decent track will cost you well over a hundred to play on. All in all, we were VERY happy with this place.
Course conditions   Jeff at 9/21/05 2:28pm
My friends and I are headed to the Charlotte are on October 11th from Ohio. We are playing Ballantyne, Birkdale and Verdict Ridge.Those are set. We are still deciding between Regent Park, Olde Sycamore, Tega Cay and Springfield. Can anyone let me know current conditions or how to get updates on conditions so we can decide from those 4 courses
charlotte area courses   dmd at 9/17/05 9:29am
General question for anybody. We are coming to Charlotte the 1st week of November and seems like there are a lot of courses to pick from. We want to play 6 rounds from Mon. to Sat. Would like to keep travel time to within 30-45 minutes. Also would like to have a variety of courses in layouts. The ones that I have been considering are Verdict Ridge,Stonebridge, Charles T Myers, Skybrook, Eagle Chase(too far??), Larkhaven, . Would like to play 1 or 2 upper scale and the rest just good value courses. Our scores vary from 85-100. Thanks in advance for any advice. We are coming from Ontario,Canada.
thx
daryl
Frequent Golfer Program in CLT   Tim Cooper at 9/16/05 11:42pm
If any of you have not discovered LastMinuteGolfer.com.. let me strongly encourage you to join.. it's free and you earn yards each time you book a tee time.. then redeem them for free golf later... and they are in a bunch of cities now. You can thank me later by taking me out for a free round once you earn one.

I joined in January and I've already played five more rounds than I did last year for the entire year.

http://www.lastminutegolfer.com/charlotte

TC
Re: Regent vs Divide   Jim C. at 9/13/05 10:30pm
Check out Olde Sycamore. Reminds me of Regent Park. I understand they "punched greens" about a month ago, so they should be in good condition.

Re: Regent vs Divide   B-Man at 9/13/05 10:01pm
If money is no object, go for Ballantyne Resort. That's a great conditioned course with all the amenities and it's not all that difficult. I did just play the Divide last week and it was fine. They don't aerate til October. Generally speaking, I'd say the Divide is overpriced compared to others around town.

Last I heard (a week or two ago), Regent was in OK shape. They had recent problems with burned out greens, but have mostly recovered.

One last one to consider is Emerald Lake. I hear it's in great shape right now. It is very playable for all skill levels.
Re: Regent vs Divide   Jamie at 9/13/05 2:00pm
Regent Park is a little better than the Divide in terms of overall conditioning, but I think it is also more difficult. The Divide features slightly more foregiving fairways, but the greens are a little less consistent. Check with the courses about aeration, because September is a popular time for that. A few more courses you may want to investigate are Highland Creek near the university, Birkdale, and if you really want a beautiful but tough course, Verdict Ridge. Verdict Ridge may be the most scenic course, but it's a little bit of a drive.
Regent vs Divide   Patriot Dave at 9/12/05 11:32pm
Heading to town with a group of 16 for the Pats/Cats game this weekend. We have ONE day to golf (Saturday). We have a mixed crew with guys who shoot in the 90's all the way to guys who shoot in the 120's. Money is not an issue. We are looking for an upper class track that isn't excessively tough or super long. Wide fairways, elevated tees, spectacular views, and beverage carts are all major plusses. Basically I'm looking for somplace that will impress some of the more experienced golfers, but not be too tough for the beginners. Looked into Skybrook, but found out the greens were being aierated (sp?) which is a MAJOR turnoff. In researching a number of places, it seems that Regent Park & The Divide seem to really come close to what we are looking for. Any suggestions or comments?
Charlotte Golf Links/Divide   Jamie at 8/17/05 2:10pm
Thanks B-Man for the update on CGL. I suspect the greens will fully recover by the Fall. The Carolina Trail courses generally do a good job with issues like that. I played The Divide on 8/13, and their greens were in good shape, although the speed was somewhat inconsistent. Fairways were in good shape also.
Re: Charlotte Golf Links   B-Man at 8/12/05 2:33pm
Passed your note along to the course manager, Boyd Everling, and he gave me this very detailed response:

"As of August 1st we have been giving discounts off of our full rates to every player when they come in and explaining that we have some thinning of the greens and that we have been quad-tining (using 1/4 tines) on the greens to get air and water to the roots. We also have been explaining that holes #2, #9, #13 were bad and that they should consider a mandatory 2-putt. On 8/6/05 our morning rates should have been $59 but we were charging $49 automatically.

As of today, 8/12/05, our problems greens (2,9,13) are now 90%+ covered and playable. The other 15 greens are good except for some quad-tines still healing. Besides the greens, we have been told (and I agree) that our fairways are some of the best in the Carolina's.

For anyone not familiar with our courses, the Carolina Trail courses have a central tee-time office in Chicago that takes tee-times on occasion. They will not mention course conditions or fee reductions because they do not know. If any golfer wants our course conditions or rates, please ask the operator to transfer them to the golf shop. We have been up front with every customer that we have talked to about this situation, with most saying that they appreciate our honesty. For anyone that has fallen through the cracks, we apologize, but we are doing everything that we can. Please be sure to ask for the "Golf Shop Staff" to answer any questions and there should not be any problems. Going forward, our greens are much improved but still have small quad-tine holes. From what our customers are telling us, our greens are the same as many in the area due to the tough summer stretch of weather. We should be much better in a couple weeks as long as we don't hit 100 degrees for an extended period of time again.

What I would like to say is that our greens are just O.K. right now, but very playable. We have made it through the tough period and we are improving each day. We are still discounting through this weekend and may continue depending on the conditions. I would recommend that anyone wanting to play a great conditioned course immediately, call the Tradition at (704) 549-9779 which is a sister course of ours. The whole course is great and the A-4 greens are outstanding.

I appreciate the opportunity to explain our situation.

Professionally,

Boyd Everling
PGA Head Professional/GM
Charlotte Golf Links"
Charlotte Golf Links   Jamie at 8/12/05 7:06am
Played on 8/6, and greens were having problems. Three were unplayable, and the other fifteen were a mixture of fair to poor. Very frustrating...particularly since the folks in the clubhouse never said anything about it when I made the tee time. A few minor glitches, well OK, I can understand not saying anything. But when most of the greens are trashed? That's what actually bothers me more than the lousy greens....it's called the "bait and switch" technique. I should not have to go through a phone interview with the greenskeeper to learn about major course issues!
Renaissance park   Kevin at 7/25/05 2:52pm
Has anyone played this lately? Haven't played it in a LONG time and wondered what kind of condition it was in.

Thanks!
Re: More reviews   Jamie at 7/22/05 12:38pm
To Hans, The Warrior is a good course. I played it earlier this week. Well laid out, good variety of holes, well manicured. The play was a little slow, but that may be because it's popular in that area. The greens, although very soft and spongy, were in good condition. It's worth a look.
Re: club fitting etc   Jim C. at 7/22/05 7:42am
John Gamble and Mike Kurilko at Carolina Golf Manufacturing are the best. Their shop is located on Central Ave. The offer club fitting and repairs at a very reasonable price plus you'll get a few pointers along the way.
club fitting etc   Jmunn at 7/21/05 2:26pm
Hi,
Just bought a new Ping driver and it has too long shaft for me (Im 5'7) Looking for a good place to get the shaft and my Nike CPR irons fit for me?? any recommendations? Oh, and any interest in a barely used Nicklaus 430-S Driver out there ;) thanks, Jeff
Singles Golf Group   Tree at 7/13/05 3:40pm
If you're single and want to meet other singles through the game of golf, go to www.charlottesinglesgolf.com
Re: course off 485   Tree at 7/13/05 3:38pm
It's called the Divide and it's part of Carolina Trail.
Charlotte Golf Links   Scott Ajello at 7/9/05 9:32pm
I really enjoy this course. It is in great shape. Though short it makes you pay if you try to stripe it and miss.
The Course is in great shape, the staff is a pleasure and it is a real great price.
Thanks to Bman for the time he puts into his site.
Pawtuckett   Drew at 7/9/05 6:13pm
Played 7/9. Fairways in good shape overall, although the type of grass is not consistent. No real problems though. Greens on the other hand are about a hot week from being totally burnt. Most greens still had grass but were VERY fast and only a great approach shot would hold. Tough course - tight fairways and smallish greens. The great Saturday morning rate ($25 with coupon) will bring me back though...maybe in the fall once the grass thickens back up.
Crystal Creek..dont DO IT!   Golfer Dude at 7/9/05 10:29am
STAY AWAY!!!!!!!! THIS PLACE IS A TRAIN WRECK!!!! THE OLD BAG THAT WORKS IN THE CLUBHOUSE IS A WITCH!!! GREENS AND SAND TRAPS ARE DESTROYED!!! FAIRWAYS ARE LIKE A COW PASTURE...(COMPLETE WITH SHIT!!!)
More reviews   Hans at 7/5/05 5:45pm
Has anyone played Warrior in China Grove? Is it worth the trip?

Also worth mentioning, I have found some good deals for several courses in Charlotte on www.clickitgolf.com.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: