Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: area courses   Jamie Archie at 3/13/06 12:02pm
Sounds like you might want a course with some bite in it. Old Sycamore is a shot-shaper's course, and a driver is not needed on most holes due to the high number of doglegs. Regent Park is a little tougher in my opinion, fairly long, but does not not have severe doglegs. Two other nice, fairly tough courses are Verdict Ridge and Skybrook.
area courses   Scott at 3/11/06 10:34am
I have two friends coming in on the 17th for two days of golf. I am scheduling a round at waterford and the Ballantyne resort. Any other courses that come recommended? They are both single digit and big hitters who would over power a small course. I have heard mixed things about Old Sycamore.
Re: Equipment Hire   Mike A at 3/7/06 11:14am
Thanks for your help on the club rental. I'll try Edwin Watts. Played Ballantyne last time I was over but they want $45 to rent clubs.
Re: Equipment Hire   michaels at 3/3/06 3:34pm
virtually any course that you will want to play at will be able to rent you clubs for your round - alternatively their is a chain of golf super stores here called edwin watts - look them up and they too can rent you clubs
Equipment Hire   Mike A at 3/2/06 5:40am
I'm visiting family in Charlotte in a couple of weeks time and hope to get a few rounds in. Travelling over from the UK but unfortunately don't think I'll be able to bring my clubs. Is there anywhere I can hire equipment from near Ballantyne.
Thanks
Re: clubs and courses   TGreenway at 2/28/06 12:32pm
EFFORTLESS Golf is at the corner of Tryon and Tyvola, (about 8 min from airport)...with a nice driving range and full club fitting services. Good group of guys there, and competitive prices.
clubs and courses   mc at 2/24/06 10:15am
I'll be in Charlotte around March 24. I'm picking someone up at the airport, but I do have time to play golf that day and would also like shop around for a set of irons. Any recommendations on a golf course relatively close to the airport, as well as a golf shop to find a decent deal on clubs (I'm probably looking at Hogans or Mizuno).

Thanks so much!
Carolina Kick-Off Classic   Charlotte Golf Tour at 2/21/06 2:59pm
Join The Charlotte Golf Tour and The Carolina Golf Tour at the Pit Golf Links in Aberdeen, NC March 4th for the Carolina Kick-Off Classic!! Normal Green fees at The Pit are $109 in March. You can play this Golf Digest Top 50 Public Course for just $80 including the Prize Pool. This is a 2-person best ball event open to all men, women, and juniors who normally score 95 or less for 18 holes. You may sign up for this event as a four-some, a two-some or as a single, we will find you a playing partner. For more information and our complete 2006 schedule visit us at www.charlottegolftour.com
Charlotte National   TC at 1/23/06 12:14pm
Played Char. Nat'l this weekend (1-22-06) and the course is basically under water. Greens are in good shape but need to really dry out. Course does not drain well at all, standing water on fairways and greens, 8th and 18th fairway were completely underwater. Before you play, make sure you inquire about the drainage and how wet the course actually is?
Re: Where to play?   JB at 1/22/06 11:45pm
Ballantyne is your best bet. Waterford in Rock Hill and Springfield in Fort Mill are also pretty good courses run by good people.
Charlotte Golf Links   Tom Cusick at 1/19/06 1:19pm
Plyed CGL on 1/7/06 and actually wrote to the Pro to complain about the conditions. Course obviously wet from prior rain (3 days earlier) so cart paths only. Course does not drain that well. Traps were poor and sand was like wet concrete. Greens were horrible and heavily spotted with Bermuda as well as disease, couldn't find a true roll anywhere. Still charging $52 for bad golf in dead of winter, play somewhere else.
Pawtuckett Golf Club Closing for Good   B-Man at 1/11/06 10:27pm
Got word tonight that Pawtuckett Golf Club has closed for good, as of 12/26. The note said "The oversupply of golf in the market and the poor location were the driving forces behind this decision." It also added that "The land is being divided up and sold to residential developers."

While my last round there (Sept) showed the conditions had gone downhill, I still enjoyed the layout. It had a unique feel to it, compared to other area courses and it was still one of the top 3 values in the Charlotte area. I'll miss it.
Waterford GC   Eap at 12/27/05 8:40am
Played Waterford yesterday and the greens are in great shape. Some of the fairways are a little soggy due to the past rain.Had a good time!!
Where to play?   Long Driver at 12/19/05 7:09pm
Been keeping up with your website for awhile as an out of towner. Im debating on Ballantyne and Highland Creek. I am looking for a good challenge and a very nice course. Any suggestions on these two, or maybe another top tier course?
Thanks
olde sycamore   Nathan Helms at 11/23/05 7:11pm
I played olde sycamore today, because it was so cold the greens were brutaly fast. Most holes were not very muddy despite the heavens opening up two days ago. I played a horrible round but course was in good shape.
Re: Vacation Golf   Jamie at 11/9/05 3:29pm
You might want to consider The Divide (704-882-8088). It's fairly forgiving off the tee, and has three sets of tees to vary the course length. It's one of the Carolina Trail courses, and usually in good shape. The greens are good, and very straightforward, without severe breaks on most of them. Some water holes and/or creeks, but not too many. Other possibilities are Emerald Lake (704-882-7888) or Charlotte National (704-882-8282). All three courses are within a few miles of each other off Interstate 485, and are considered good quality, semi-private courses. Charlotte National usually has great, but fast, greens. Check out the course reviews on this site to get a feel for what to expect.
Re: Vacation Golf   Scott at 11/8/05 8:48pm
Ok, after reading this reply I am rethinking my course decision......I play alot, but am playing with my dad who doesnt play much. I need a course that will be fun for the both of us..........any clue of a good course for this?
Re: Vacation Golf   Jamie at 11/8/05 6:46am
Verdict Ridge and Olde Sycamore are fairly different in terms of setup and difficulty. Olde Sycamore is a shot-shaper style course, with the driver not needed on most holes. It has a lot of dog-legs. The greens are usually in great shape, and fairly fast. Verdict Ridge is beautiful, but one of the toughtest courses in this area. The greens are usually very nice, but can be tough to putt because of the undulations. Verdict Ridge is a great course, but it will frustrate you if you don't bring your A game. I play Olde Sycamore more because it's more convenient. Verdict Ridge is a bit of a drive, but worth it.
Vacation Golf   Scott at 11/8/05 12:02am
I will be visiting the area in the upcoming weeks. I was looking at playing either Verdict Ridge or Olde Sycamore. Any thoughts on which might be more enjoyable, in better shape, ect..., as both look nice on paper. Any thoughts and info would be appreciated!
Re: Charlotte National   Jamie at 10/24/05 1:56pm
Course conditions are similar. I would say the greens are comparable, with Charlotte National's being slightly faster. However, Emerald Lake is preparing to aerate theirs. You should call to inquire before booking anything there.
Re: Charlotte National   gatlin at 10/24/05 11:51am
Since you played them both recently... how does the condition of Charlotte National compare to the condition of Emerald Lake right now?
Charlotte National   Jamie at 10/24/05 7:00am
Played Charlotte National on Saturday. Right now the course is in great shape. The greens are outstanding: very consistent and smooth.
Springfield - Fort Mill   JB at 10/20/05 1:25pm
Great shape and good people running it! Worth a look. Best deal is with last minute golf!!!
Pinetuck   JB at 10/20/05 1:24pm
Played today, major improvement on greens condition. Worth your time and money now!!
HELP   Vinnie at 10/19/05 3:09pm
I am heading down in April to the Masters & am looking for a nice course with resonable rates on just south of Charlotte to play on the Sunday before. Can anyone help?
Also a hotel or someplace near the course to stay.

Thanks!
Emerald Lake   Jamie at 10/15/05 11:33am
Played Emerald Lake yesterday, and it is in great shape. The greens are very good right now, although they are planning to aerate very soon. The course is in the best shape I've seen it in years, but call first (704-882-7888) to ask about aeration. They are doing it later this year for some reason.
Warrior in China Grove   mtharpster at 10/13/05 9:25pm
for anyone looking for a great course of the betten path try Warrior in China Grove (i85exit 68 to 152 n) about 25 min. from Concord Mills. this is a great course in perfect conditon rates about $56 but well worth it, having played many Pro level courses this is not far behind. If the grow the rough and fasten up the greens a bit could host a tour event.
Fox Den   Jamie at 10/11/05 6:48am
I first played Fox Den in 1999, and it was the first time I ever broke par. I shot 69, so obviously I liked the course. I've only played it a few times since because it's a long haul from my house. The course is normally in good shape, and the front and back nines are very different, with a wide variety of holes. I thought the overall layout was good, and the greens were just about perfect. If you like unique layouts, make the extra drive and give it a shot.
Fox Den??   Cory M. at 10/7/05 5:42pm
Does anyone know about a course called FOXDEN in statesville?? Like the number,website, or anything?
Conditions   MJS at 10/6/05 3:55pm
For those visiting Charlotte this fall, please know that this summer's conditions were very hard on local area greens - very wet and humid early and very, very dry for an extended period only now starting to come back. My opinion on those asked about in earlier posts:

Springfield - tough tough, forced carries and truly unique place - just now developing real estate on/around course. Play it now as it is one of the best premium courses in the area. I played last week and greens were so so - having just been punched and suffering a bit from the bad summer - great value durring the week and unique.

Eagle Chase - kind of a long drive, I call this a bubba course. I mean it in a nice way - more like a muni look and feel it is low end but really good layout, not in great shape - almost like a mtn course with elevation change.

Olde Sycamore - Probably best greens around right now - very playable and tough layout. typical Charlotte style course in a housing development.

Regent Park - great layout and usually great shape - i have heard greens were lost earlier this year and have stayed away but will defer to earlier posters and go back on their rec.

Waterford - in Rock Hill SC - 30 min from Charlotte. A gem, and a Hale Irwin Course very fun and some unique holes (#3 has you drive thru a "chute") Good shape

Charlotte Golf Links - scottish style layout with lots of Gorse, bunkers and elevated greens - good shape and right off 485

Stonebridge - good shape for the most part and forgiving layout

Larkhaven is a muni that is not in the same tier as above but fun/fair and cheap

Verdict Ridge is TIGHT and LOTS of houses but very nice and good shape last time I played

My top 4:

Waterford
Olde Sycamore
Springfield
Charlotte Golf Links


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: