Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Fox Den CC   panthersfann55 at 9/11/06 8:31am
played in the spring, fun layout. called a few days ago learned they airified. will be playing this track next thursday will let you know what conditions are.
Fox Den CC   Fisher171 at 9/6/06 1:24pm
Anyone play this track recently? I've gone there to use their practice range on several occasions, but have not had the chance to play yet. Let's hear it! Mahalo nui!!
Re: Springfield   Fisher171 at 9/6/06 1:20pm
I played Charlotte Golf Links on 8/26 & agree w/ Springfield that most of the greens were in rough shape; a case of too much rain in combination with all the rounds that club attracts. Some of the greens looked like they had trouble recovering from the last aerification. Also, it looked as if the grounds crew didn't bother mowing grees that morning, but that's my opinion. Overall, I enjoyed the lay-out & would like ly come back...after some dry days.
Best values, good practice ranges   new to Charlotte at 9/3/06 11:19am
I'm new to the area and am hoping you all might have some recommendations as to the best places to play for cheap, and also where the best practice ranges are. I live in Fort Mill. Thanks and great site!
Re: Regent Park   Eric at 9/3/06 9:42am
I played Regent Park about 2 weeks ago. The course is in excellent shape and the greens were fast. The price is a little high but overall its in very good condition.
Springfield   JB at 8/27/06 3:29pm
Greens are in terrible shape. Give them a month to recover.
Charlotte Golf Links   Fisher171 at 8/24/06 11:37am
My buddy & I are playing Charlotte Golf Links this Sat a.m. Does anyone know what type of condition the course is in? Are the greens in decent shape? I played at Verdict Ridge last Thu (8/17) & the greens were, by far, the best I've putted on in the Charlotte area. Mahalo nui for any feedback!
Regent Park   jcolley4 at 8/21/06 2:11pm
Thanks for the information regarding Birkdale. Has anyone played Regent Park recently and if so how was the condition. It used to be one of my favorite tracks but last year it was not in good shape at all.

Thanks,

JC
Tradition Golf Club   Chipper Green at 8/18/06 9:53am
Just a minor gripe, but I played Tradition yesterday, which is usually one of my favorite courses, and they had the pin placements on the GPS system all screwed up. It wouldn't be a big deal if this were the first time, but the last several times I've been out there I've gotten bad info from the GPS. They should atleast color code the flags so you can atleast double check the GPS. I can't tell you how dissappointing it was to hit several "great shots" to front hole locations, only to get up to the green and see that I was facing a 40ft putt b/c the pin was in the back. Other than that, it was ok.
Re: courses   Chipper Green at 8/18/06 9:46am
Played Verdict Ridge last week and its in great shape. Lastminutegolfer.com offers discounted tee times for Verdict Ridge and Skybrook. Also try Golfholes.com, they have discount coupons for Verdict Ridge.
re: courses   pete at 8/16/06 5:14pm
Played Birkdale this past weekend and the greens were really a mess. We got stuck behind a real slow group and ended up spending five hours out there... won't be going back any time soon.

Played Verdict Ridge the previous weekend and enjoyed the round. Conditions are among the best I've played in the area recently. Pricey at $74 though.

Heading to Ballantyne on Saturday morning...
courses   jcolley4 at 8/14/06 2:14pm
My friends and I are making our usuall trip to the Charlotte area the 2nd week of October. If anyone knows how the conditions have been for Ballantyne, Skybrook, Verdict Ridge and Birkdale. I would really like to know. Also if anyone knows of the best site for discount coupons, It would be greatly appreciated as well.

Thanks

jcolley4
Re: Mallard Head   Pinger at 8/10/06 2:54pm
Yes, it is still alive and well, not to mention one of the few courses you can still play for $27 with $1 hot dogs and $1 beers at the turn. Probably one of the best kept secrets in Iredell County. Pro shop is a bit out of date, but the staff there is great. I would call the course about an 8 out of 10 for condition and playability. If you can play during the week, there is rarely more than a few other foursomes on the course.
charles t. myers   panthersfan55 at 8/9/06 3:23pm
Played this course for the first time this year. Not a great experience. All the greens on the back 9 had weeds growing on them. Along with the greens being hard as a rock putting was almost impossible. Front 9 played a little better (greens in somewhat better shape). I know new management took this course over but i would give it sometime.
Mallard Head   Chipper Green at 8/9/06 2:11pm
Does anyone know anything about a course in Mooresville called Mallard Head? I thought I knew of all the local public courses but someone mentioned this course to me and I was clueless. Playable or not? Thanks.
Charlotte natl.   Scott at 8/6/06 7:33pm
The great thing about the finishing two holes is the 17th favors a fade and the 18th a draw.
I play a draw so on the 18th I aim to the right of the far 150 yard marker. The carry is probably around 230 yards to make it over the water (from the back tees) and over 290 to push through the fairway.
If you cant make the carry then aim for the two mounds at the end of the fairway to the right you will wind up with under 200 yds.
Hope this helps.
ROCKY RIVER GOLF CLUB   JPO at 8/4/06 3:06pm
In great shape on 8-3-06.
Tees as good as they've ever been.
Fairways really lush (not dried out), and green.
Didn't have a bad lie all day.
Summer rules are a snap.
A few of the greens had some burnt spots on them.
However, the superintendent did a good job of placing the hole locations.
Sure wish that they would change the flags to solid colors so they could be seen from far away. Those checkered flags without pin sheets are ridiculous.
Seniors for $29.00
"ONLY IN AMERICA"
Charlotte National and Waterford   J.D. at 7/31/06 12:45pm
Played both courses this weekend and both are in great condition. Look for online specials for Waterford--was able to play Sunday for $29!

If someone can tell me how to play the 18th hole at Charlotte National, I'd appreciate it. It's always a card-killer for me.

Crowders Mtn GC   Eric at 7/27/06 8:52pm
Has anybody played this course this year? If so, what shape is it in. Thx.
CLT Links and Olde Sycamore   J.D. at 7/24/06 10:12am
Latest reviews:

Charlotte Golf Links -- greens were still bumpy and inconsistent as they have been for most of the year, but the fairways were in average shape. The course layout still continues to impress me...you have to think your way around the course, with a few options off most tees. If they put a bit of money into fixing the greens and making the bunkers a little more interesting (e.g. make them more Scottish), it could be one of the best in Charlotte. The potential is there.

Olde Sycamore -- worst greens they've had this year, unfortunately. But the fairways are in good shape. If you're having trouble with long irons on this course, you're in for a long day...it feels like the slope rating should be higher than posted. For the money, you'd expect a yardage book or a good GPS system on this course, rather than the dog-eared photobooks they put in the carts. But still a good course.

Near UNCC   Jonathan at 7/18/06 11:14pm
I would try Rocky River Golf Club near the race track in Concord. I played there last week and was really impressed with the course and the staff. You might pay 50 bones on Friday, but the course was in really good shape with only a few greens that needed just a bit of attention.

Also, try The Tradition if you need another option. I have not played there but do know that it is up that way and Clickit has a good deal running for it right now (I think $40 for two people on Friday).
Good luck-
where   chris at 7/12/06 1:42pm
a buddy and i are coming to charlotte this friday we want to play a round in the afternoon somewhere on the north side of town near uncc we would like to not break our budget yet play a decent course..... any suggestions
Lincoln Country Club   Soup at 6/26/06 10:06pm
I played an interesting little track this weekend for the first time called Lincoln Country Club. Was looking for something new around Huntersville on a steal after blowing my golf budget at Ballantyne this weekend (which was in awesome shape). Found LCC on last minute golfer for $33 on Sunday morning. I wasn't impressed pulling in (golf shop is in a church), and things generally look run down (built in '43). But there are some interesting hole layouts and the minimal hazards are well placed. The best part is the well kept greens that were in great shape. Worth a look if you are up near the lake and looking for a VERY laid back course to take your high-handicaper buddies. - soup
Re: drivng ranges   B-Man at 6/24/06 8:54am
The Golf Center
(704) 225-0072
5321 W Highway 74
Monroe, NC 28110
N.C. National Revisited   James at 6/24/06 6:49am
I had a brain fade, or maybe we could not get on another course in Statesville. We played N C Nationial again last weekend. While the course was challenging the greens need a lot of help. These folks need someone who can take care of the greens. It is a shame to play on a course that has so challenging but needs to improve the greens. It is no wonder that even on a Saturday the course was not crowded even with tournments at the other corses in Statesville.

Get a greens keeper and you will have a great place to play golf.
Re: driving ranges   anonymous coward at 6/22/06 5:20pm
I've been to the one by Dale J, I like it. It is a bit out of the way, but the alternative is charlotte golf links and the traffic getting out of there is insane.

Do you know what it is called and what the hours are? It is hot as hell, i'd like to wait for evening but I can never remember the name to give them a call.
Driving Ranges   Russell at 6/22/06 8:34am
I do a majority of my practice at Leatherman on South Tryon near the old / new / abandoned coliseum. They have about 30 hitting stations with synthetic turf and a large natural grass hitting area. I have never liked the grass area there - it always seems too sandy - then again, maybe it is just my steep - over the top swing... They have a pretty nice putting green and a chipping/pitching/sand area that has a real green for judging real results. They have 2-1 coupons in those direct mail envelopes and you can print them off at moneymailer.com that makes their rates a lot more reasonable. Without a coupon I think it is 45 balls for $6, 70 for $9 and 95 for $12.

I also go to Renaissance across the street from Letherman. The putting green is large, the uphill pitching area is great (up to 50 yard pitch) but does not appear to be maintained anymore. The driving range is all grass, is in pretty rough shape and the yardage markers are difficult to judge. It is about a 5 minute walk from the clubhouse to the driving range. A single bucket of about 70 balls is $5 and they used to have a 2 for $9 deal but I am not sure they still offer that. I find it a little ironic but they have gone to a dress code this year.

Finally, Tega Cay has a very nice short game practice area. Two large putting greens that are kept in great shape and match the course greens pretty well. There is also a large chipping green that is cut like a real green. Their driving range is a little goofy though. You hit off a cliff down into a hole. No distance feedback at all so you might as well be hitting into the grand canyon. I think that a token is $3 and you get about 25 balls.
Last Minute Golfer registration code for free golf   B-Man at 6/21/06 10:49pm
I just signed up to be an "ambassador" for the Charlotte LastMinuteGolfer.com web site. If you haven't tried this site out, sign up and give it a look. It offers advance and last minute (less than 24 hrs) tee times for local courses at pretty good discounts. Sometimes you can get some real steals.

Anyway, the site has a Frequent Golfer program so you get "yards" every time you book tee times. You can then redeem those yards later on for discounts on future tee times or even free golf!

If you sign up with my Ambassador code, you'll get 200 yards free right off the bat. I also get some, so sign up now! :-)

My code: BMANCLT01

http://www.lastminutegolfer.com/northcarolina/

Let me know if you sign up and how you like it.
Re: driving ranges   B-Man at 6/21/06 10:43pm
Hmmm, good question. The one I use all the time is at The Divide, though that's mostly because it's so close to my house and I have Carolina Trail Preferred Player's Card that gets me $5 off a range card (10 buckets for $35, I think). But really, all in all, it's a nice place to practice. It has a chipping green with a sand bunker and a nice putting green.

There's also a lighted range near me off Hwy 74 across from Dale Jarrett Ford. I think the Charlotte Golf Links range is lighted as well. Golf Links also has a chipping area with a bunker.

I've heard that the Regent Park practice area is one of the better ones, but it's on the opposite side of town from me. Over there off I-77 is also the Leatherman range (used to be Michael Jordan's place) right across from Renaissance Park off Tyvola Rd. Never hit there, but it looks decent.

Charlotte National, near me, has a nice feature -- a chipping green cut like a real putting green. The Divide, Charlotte Golf Links and most courses don't keep their chipping green cut like a normal green. They let it grow slow and bumpy and most times it's a small green. Charlotte National keeps theirs firmly cut and it's decent size -- so when you practice chipping, the bounce and roll is true and really helps develop your feel.
driving ranges   anonymous coward at 6/21/06 4:24pm
what are your favorite driving ranges b-man?


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: