Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Charlotte natl.   Scott at 8/6/06 7:33pm
The great thing about the finishing two holes is the 17th favors a fade and the 18th a draw.
I play a draw so on the 18th I aim to the right of the far 150 yard marker. The carry is probably around 230 yards to make it over the water (from the back tees) and over 290 to push through the fairway.
If you cant make the carry then aim for the two mounds at the end of the fairway to the right you will wind up with under 200 yds.
Hope this helps.
ROCKY RIVER GOLF CLUB   JPO at 8/4/06 3:06pm
In great shape on 8-3-06.
Tees as good as they've ever been.
Fairways really lush (not dried out), and green.
Didn't have a bad lie all day.
Summer rules are a snap.
A few of the greens had some burnt spots on them.
However, the superintendent did a good job of placing the hole locations.
Sure wish that they would change the flags to solid colors so they could be seen from far away. Those checkered flags without pin sheets are ridiculous.
Seniors for $29.00
"ONLY IN AMERICA"
Charlotte National and Waterford   J.D. at 7/31/06 12:45pm
Played both courses this weekend and both are in great condition. Look for online specials for Waterford--was able to play Sunday for $29!

If someone can tell me how to play the 18th hole at Charlotte National, I'd appreciate it. It's always a card-killer for me.

Crowders Mtn GC   Eric at 7/27/06 8:52pm
Has anybody played this course this year? If so, what shape is it in. Thx.
CLT Links and Olde Sycamore   J.D. at 7/24/06 10:12am
Latest reviews:

Charlotte Golf Links -- greens were still bumpy and inconsistent as they have been for most of the year, but the fairways were in average shape. The course layout still continues to impress me...you have to think your way around the course, with a few options off most tees. If they put a bit of money into fixing the greens and making the bunkers a little more interesting (e.g. make them more Scottish), it could be one of the best in Charlotte. The potential is there.

Olde Sycamore -- worst greens they've had this year, unfortunately. But the fairways are in good shape. If you're having trouble with long irons on this course, you're in for a long day...it feels like the slope rating should be higher than posted. For the money, you'd expect a yardage book or a good GPS system on this course, rather than the dog-eared photobooks they put in the carts. But still a good course.

Near UNCC   Jonathan at 7/18/06 11:14pm
I would try Rocky River Golf Club near the race track in Concord. I played there last week and was really impressed with the course and the staff. You might pay 50 bones on Friday, but the course was in really good shape with only a few greens that needed just a bit of attention.

Also, try The Tradition if you need another option. I have not played there but do know that it is up that way and Clickit has a good deal running for it right now (I think $40 for two people on Friday).
Good luck-
where   chris at 7/12/06 1:42pm
a buddy and i are coming to charlotte this friday we want to play a round in the afternoon somewhere on the north side of town near uncc we would like to not break our budget yet play a decent course..... any suggestions
Lincoln Country Club   Soup at 6/26/06 10:06pm
I played an interesting little track this weekend for the first time called Lincoln Country Club. Was looking for something new around Huntersville on a steal after blowing my golf budget at Ballantyne this weekend (which was in awesome shape). Found LCC on last minute golfer for $33 on Sunday morning. I wasn't impressed pulling in (golf shop is in a church), and things generally look run down (built in '43). But there are some interesting hole layouts and the minimal hazards are well placed. The best part is the well kept greens that were in great shape. Worth a look if you are up near the lake and looking for a VERY laid back course to take your high-handicaper buddies. - soup
Re: drivng ranges   B-Man at 6/24/06 8:54am
The Golf Center
(704) 225-0072
5321 W Highway 74
Monroe, NC 28110
N.C. National Revisited   James at 6/24/06 6:49am
I had a brain fade, or maybe we could not get on another course in Statesville. We played N C Nationial again last weekend. While the course was challenging the greens need a lot of help. These folks need someone who can take care of the greens. It is a shame to play on a course that has so challenging but needs to improve the greens. It is no wonder that even on a Saturday the course was not crowded even with tournments at the other corses in Statesville.

Get a greens keeper and you will have a great place to play golf.
Re: driving ranges   anonymous coward at 6/22/06 5:20pm
I've been to the one by Dale J, I like it. It is a bit out of the way, but the alternative is charlotte golf links and the traffic getting out of there is insane.

Do you know what it is called and what the hours are? It is hot as hell, i'd like to wait for evening but I can never remember the name to give them a call.
Driving Ranges   Russell at 6/22/06 8:34am
I do a majority of my practice at Leatherman on South Tryon near the old / new / abandoned coliseum. They have about 30 hitting stations with synthetic turf and a large natural grass hitting area. I have never liked the grass area there - it always seems too sandy - then again, maybe it is just my steep - over the top swing... They have a pretty nice putting green and a chipping/pitching/sand area that has a real green for judging real results. They have 2-1 coupons in those direct mail envelopes and you can print them off at moneymailer.com that makes their rates a lot more reasonable. Without a coupon I think it is 45 balls for $6, 70 for $9 and 95 for $12.

I also go to Renaissance across the street from Letherman. The putting green is large, the uphill pitching area is great (up to 50 yard pitch) but does not appear to be maintained anymore. The driving range is all grass, is in pretty rough shape and the yardage markers are difficult to judge. It is about a 5 minute walk from the clubhouse to the driving range. A single bucket of about 70 balls is $5 and they used to have a 2 for $9 deal but I am not sure they still offer that. I find it a little ironic but they have gone to a dress code this year.

Finally, Tega Cay has a very nice short game practice area. Two large putting greens that are kept in great shape and match the course greens pretty well. There is also a large chipping green that is cut like a real green. Their driving range is a little goofy though. You hit off a cliff down into a hole. No distance feedback at all so you might as well be hitting into the grand canyon. I think that a token is $3 and you get about 25 balls.
Last Minute Golfer registration code for free golf   B-Man at 6/21/06 10:49pm
I just signed up to be an "ambassador" for the Charlotte LastMinuteGolfer.com web site. If you haven't tried this site out, sign up and give it a look. It offers advance and last minute (less than 24 hrs) tee times for local courses at pretty good discounts. Sometimes you can get some real steals.

Anyway, the site has a Frequent Golfer program so you get "yards" every time you book tee times. You can then redeem those yards later on for discounts on future tee times or even free golf!

If you sign up with my Ambassador code, you'll get 200 yards free right off the bat. I also get some, so sign up now! :-)

My code: BMANCLT01

http://www.lastminutegolfer.com/northcarolina/

Let me know if you sign up and how you like it.
Re: driving ranges   B-Man at 6/21/06 10:43pm
Hmmm, good question. The one I use all the time is at The Divide, though that's mostly because it's so close to my house and I have Carolina Trail Preferred Player's Card that gets me $5 off a range card (10 buckets for $35, I think). But really, all in all, it's a nice place to practice. It has a chipping green with a sand bunker and a nice putting green.

There's also a lighted range near me off Hwy 74 across from Dale Jarrett Ford. I think the Charlotte Golf Links range is lighted as well. Golf Links also has a chipping area with a bunker.

I've heard that the Regent Park practice area is one of the better ones, but it's on the opposite side of town from me. Over there off I-77 is also the Leatherman range (used to be Michael Jordan's place) right across from Renaissance Park off Tyvola Rd. Never hit there, but it looks decent.

Charlotte National, near me, has a nice feature -- a chipping green cut like a real putting green. The Divide, Charlotte Golf Links and most courses don't keep their chipping green cut like a normal green. They let it grow slow and bumpy and most times it's a small green. Charlotte National keeps theirs firmly cut and it's decent size -- so when you practice chipping, the bounce and roll is true and really helps develop your feel.
driving ranges   anonymous coward at 6/21/06 4:24pm
what are your favorite driving ranges b-man?
Charlotte National   J.D. at 6/19/06 11:38am
Bman,

Your review of the Charlotte National Golf Course was spot on. The greens were in the best shape of any course I've played in the area this year. And they're lightning fast and very tricky to read (better get a view from both sides of the hole!).

I'd rate this course a B+ overall. The conditions are "A" caliber but the course is a little visually drab and the layout could use a little more variety -- you have to use driver on almost every par 4 hole.

Thanks for your reviews and keep 'em coming.
Waterford   Jonathan at 6/18/06 10:31am
Made it to Waterford earlier in the week and was very impressed. Couldn't beat the $25 coupon considering the shape of the fairways and greens. The weather was not great when I played, but the course was in great shape.

Re: want to walk   B-Man at 5/22/06 9:46pm
"Close to Ballantyne" is somewhat limiting. Nearby (20 min or less) would be Charlotte Golf Links, Renaissance Park, Fort Mill Golf Club, Springfield, and Regent Park. Of those, Links and Fort Mill are very walkable. At Links you could get a Players Card that will get you discounts on regular play. You'd have to check Fort Mill's prices. Renaissance is also affordable for Meck Co. residents. Another place that I know is nice, quiet and affordable is Stonebridge. I think with backroads (check Google Maps) you could get there from Ballantyne in 20 minutes.

If they were closer for you, I'd say Larkhaven or Charles T Myers. Both are inexpensive and walkable, Larkhaven maybe a little more so. Other good ones are Monroe Country Club and Charlotte National, but they would be a haul from Ballantyne.
want to walk   TYLER at 5/22/06 5:02pm
I am looking for a rare commodity. I need to find a place to go out once a week, walk 9 or 18 holes, get a good workout and keep my game fresh. I don't get alot of time to play on the weekends, but I have decided that one morning per week I am going to take some time 'off' and go walk a round. I would really like to find something really slow in he mornings, quiet, solitude, that doesn't cost much at all. I am from Pittsburgh originally, we always had plenty of municipal cources (not the best, but great for weekly smacking the ball around) that you could walk and get a hot-dog for under $15. Any advice out there? Also, close to Ballantyne would be great!
1st Annual Golf Invitational   Team Technology, Inc. at 5/18/06 11:55am
Team Technology, Inc., is sponsoring a golf invitational at The Tradition Golf Club Monday May 22. http://www.thetraditiongolfclub.com

The fee is a $75.00 charitable contribution, per person with ALL proceeds going to The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Currently, we have 9 teams and would love to have additional players.

The Leukemia Society is our corporate charity and we have raised approximately $50K over the last 7 years for this charity.

Call Claudia Toner 704/849-0266 x 62. It isn't too late to register!
olde sycamore and eagle chase   chaaooh at 5/14/06 11:35pm
Played eagle chase and olde sycamore over the past four days. Eagle chase was a really good round, reasonably priced and the greens rolled great. Some very memorable and challenging holes, esp. a few of the par 3s. The fairways were not in great shape however.
Olde Sycamore is a great round of golf, though I thought the greens were on the slow side.
Charlotte Golf Links   J.D. at 5/12/06 9:16pm
Played 36 there today -- the greens keep getting better, but still have more room to improve. In addition, they're pock-marked with ball divots (does anyone repair their ball marks on the greens anymore?!?). Fairways were in good shape. One gripe though -- you won't find any real sand in the bunkers here. Instead, it's more like packed, hard dirt. For the money, this course rates around a "B."
Golf Vacations   B-Man at 4/26/06 11:54pm
I've just posted a new guide to Golf Vacations in the Carolinas. It has links to the Carolina Golf Travel Guide, which provides great package deals for all the destinations. Check it out if you're planning a trip.
Re: Memberships   B-Man at 4/26/06 1:06pm
My 2 cents: The Carolina Trail offers a ton of membership options across its 5 courses (The Divide, Charlotte Golf Links, Tradition, Waterford, Highland Creek). They run specials throughout the year. I get email specials on memberships once a month it seems. Unless you plan to play 1-2 times a week for sure, with some weekends, golf memberships, in my opinion, are too pricey.

For the semi-private courses around town, you pay $30-$45 on a weekday (with many discount options if you check the paper or links off this web site) and $45-$65 on weekends. At 1 or 2 rounds a week, you're talking $150-$200 at any course you like, carts included. Typically, the membership dues are in the $175-$250 range and most don't include cart fees. Don't forget, too, that in the winter you may not play much at all, yet you're still paying dues.

With those caveats, Carolina Trail is a decent option around town, since you can get a package deal that includes all 5 of their courses. If you're interested, I can share the email deals that I've seen recently in case you need to negotiate.
Memberships   anonymous coward at 4/20/06 1:36pm
is the carolina trail golf membership any good? i'm looking at raintree and cedarwood because of pure proximity, but cedarwood's monthly dues are high, though the course is a good walkable course and my house is on it. what is a good deal around here for memberships, and when is a good time to grab one?
re:crystal creek   matt at 4/19/06 8:31pm
im an employe at crystal creek and theyre shutting down during the next off season- (winter)
crystal creek closing?   david at 4/18/06 11:31am
Heard a rumor that crystal creek golf course in pineville will be closing. Just wandering if this rumor could be verified.
B-Man's New Golf Blog   The B-Man at 4/5/06 12:45am
Golfing with B-Man in the Carolinas - my new blog for the site.

Just getting it started. Let me know what you think.
Divide   Jamie at 4/3/06 6:41am
I played The Divide on 4/1, and I was told the greens were aerated on 3/13. Dissapointing - they definitely did not putt like they were aerated almost three weeks ago. The greens are a long way from healing; they actually looked and putted like they were aerated a few days ago. They need at least another two weeks before they roll true.
N.C. National   Jim at 4/2/06 8:48pm
I played N.C. National Saturday for the first time. I liked the challenge of the course, the yardage books on the carts were helpful. But the greens was not what I expected, my home course is run down because of the working class image, but the greens were far better than those at N. C. National. I am glad I booked the course on lastminute golfer, because I would have hated to pay full price to play greens that was in that kind of shape.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: