Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Carolina Crossing   Squid at 7/10/07 9:07am
I also played Carolina Crossing back around Father's day. I agree with what the other two lads said. The greens were slow beyond belief. However, the rest of the course was in pretty good shape. The back 9 is a little close together and I found myself playing from another fairway a few times!!
Re: Carolina Crossings   Paul at 7/9/07 10:53am
I agree with the posting from jamie. If any of you are married, you know that your wife does not always enjoy you spending 60 bucks to play golf, so my brother and I have had to find courses that are a decent drive, but prices we used to pay when we were younger. all courses, including Springfield (my fave here) have outpriced us. That being the case, Carolina Crossings has become a course we play often. The greens, yes, very slow. but the fairways are very plush, and in great shape. GPS on the carts is a plus, and you can get some crazy deals, below 20 bucks with a car on some sites. if you live in south charlotte, and get a good rate, it is worth the play.
Carolina Crossing   Jamie at 7/1/07 3:09pm
I played Carolina Crossing (formerly Carolina Downs) near Rock Hill yesterday for the first time. I had heard it used to be in poor condition, and then was bought by two local businessmen and renovated. The course, although a good value for the money ($38 Saturday AM), is a little paradoxic. What do I mean by that? Well....

First the good: very friendly staff, the fairways were plush and in great shape. The greens were fairly smooth and consistent.

Now the bad: the greens were consistently the slowest I have putted on all year. It was very difficult to get the speed right on putts. I was amazed by how slow they were, and this was at 7:45 AM after they had just been cut!

Also, the layout of the course is a little odd. The vast majority of the holes are narrow doglegs, probably because the course is also extremely short, only 6000 yards from the BLUE tees! Several blind shots, and a few fairways slope downhill AWAY from the dogleg, so even perfect tee shots end up in the rough. Local knowledge is important here. The fairwyas are also very close to each in opposite directions on several holes, so errant tee shots can cause a problem.

Considering all, I'd give the course a thumbs up for the price, and I'll come back, but I sure hope the greens are faster next time. Give the course a try, but consider yourself warned.
Charles T. Myers   Chipper Green at 6/28/07 9:56pm
Played Chucky T today for the first time in a year. I must say, this place is really headed in the right direction. The fairways were in great shape and the greens rolled well. Still alot of blotchy spots if you get off the fairway but overall, I was impressed. Apparently they are under new management...Ratcliffe golf, and I had a chance to talk with the GM and he promised that it would only get better. I hadn't been there all year for a reason, but after today's round I think I'll be back more often.
Charity Golf Tournament   K. Hetzel at 6/26/07 1:35pm
The 2nd annual Joan Roberts Foundation for Ovarian Cancer "Swing for the Cure" golf tournament will be held Monday, July 16, 2007 at the Raintree Country Club, 8600 Raintree Lane. This event is hosted by Keith Roberts and Kristin Hetzel.
The tournament will be teams of four, captains choice with a shotgun start at 1:00 pm. The $100 per player cost includes a boxed lunch donated by 131 Main, greens fees, on-course refreshments and a BBQ dinner at the awards ceremony following the event. A silent auction and chances to win great prizes including a brand new car from Dale Jarrett Ford for a hole in one is also scheduled. For details & registration, visit www.joanrobertsfoundation.com or call 704-661-4400. Registration deadline is July 11, 2007. All proceeds go towards the Joan Roberts Foundation for charity projects to help raise ovarian cancer awareness.
Re: River Oaks at lake norman   Fisher at 6/12/07 1:59pm
I played River Oaks on Sat., 6/9 and never played it as NC National. This assessment is based on the present layout of the course.

River Oaks (ROGC) has the potential to be one of the finest courses on the I-40 corridor west of 77. At only 6400 yards from the back tees, itís a fair test of shotmaking & club selection. You really need to pick the right clubs on this course. That's why it can be one of the best in that area.

Keep in mind, and I had to keep telling myself, that ROGC is a NEW course, from tee to green. A lot of the greens are new & the staff may still be in the process of marking yardages. You can tell that ROGC laid down a lot of sod to build those greens. They wanted the least amount of time for grow-in so they can begin to get revenue from play, so they laid down sod instead of seed to a lot of the greens on the front 9. Considering the immaturity of some greens, most rolled exceptionally well, and consistent. I was pleasantly surprised!

The 1st Hole used to be a long par-4 back in the pre-ROGC era. Now, itís a short, but fair 320-yd par 4. The creek no longer is in play, but the new green is. It's shallow from front to back (I paced off 16 steps from the front until the hole drops off into the abyss). An accurate short iron approach on Hole #1 will reward you with an easy birdie opportunity. If you miss long or left...you'll scramble for bogey or worse, make a drop for double. I could be wrong, but #1 may be the only significant change on the front 9 until you finish the side.

My favorite hole by far is #8. A 400-yd par-4 from an elevated tee, and a tee shot that forces you to hit a high-draw. The visual aspect of this tee shot is amazing!! You have to play it yourself to believe it. The fairway looks tiny, but a high tee shot opens it up. Go ahead a rip driver, you have plenty of room, just donít miss it right. A pushed tee ball on this hole is gone forever.

The 9th is the epitome of penal golf! Before the change, it mustíve been a short, easy par-4. Now, itís a daunting, 220 yd par-3. You have to carry your shot all the way to the green. Any short shots are lost into the ravine the fronts the green & the sides. Higher handicappers will want to take advantage of the fairway and hit their tee shots & hope for a close approach to a one-putt par. Otherwise, youíll stare at double or worse if your tee shot is short. Stronger players may want to hit an extra club & play to miss long; thereís a natural ďbackstopĒ behind the green. Although this hole plays a full club less, you still need to catch it all to get it on the putting surface.

From what I understand, the back-9 still remains as it once was. Again, itís a test of club selection and accuracy. Length off the tee is not a significant part of scoring on this course. For example, a short par-3 (127 yds) on the back-9 requires two- to three-clubs LESS on approach because of its severe elevation. I hit easy SW where it should have been smooth LW...heck, if my putter had one degree more loft, I would have hit it.

The 200 yard par-3, 17th is another hole where you end up scratching your head to exactly how far you need to hit it. Itís a flat hole, with water on the left side. Looks can be deceiving! Play your shot to the right half of the green to eliminate the hazard and greenside bunkers.

My only criticism is that you always question your yardages on many of the holes, especially the par-3ís. My recommendation to the course is to send its assistant pro or superintendent to laser each hole from at least 5-10 different spots and mark it down, get in on paper & hand it to every player that checks in. That would have helped me tremendously. If you have a range finder...bring it!!

Otherwise, River Oaks can be the place to go if youíre looking to play a great mountain style course but also challenge your shotmaking & on course management. Although not as long as Skybrook or Verdict Ridge, River Oaks can belong to that class in several years, if not less.
Re: River Oaks at lake norman   Geof at 6/11/07 12:01pm
I played the front nine back when it was NC National....decent track...lot's of different club use (at least for me) been a couple of years so the conditions I had wouldn't be relevant...I'd be interested in making the drive just to see the changes...
River Oaks at lake norman   paul at 6/6/07 10:39am
Apparantly, this course just re-opened, and I was wondering if anyone has played it, or is thinking about playing it? clickit has some decent offers on it, but i dont want to drive an hour if it is a dump, but it looks decent. has anyone played it?

also, has anyone ever played gastonia municipal before?
Re: Westport   Fisher at 6/5/07 10:19am
I played Westport last week after work one afternoon. Teed it up as a single around 530 or so. Overall, the conditions weren't that bad & I liked the layout of the course. Tee boxes were a mix of dry spots and grass & the fairways are in need of rain. On the otherhand, the greens were exceptional and rolled pretty smoothly. I do remember they have about 4 sets of tees & will accomodate your skill level. Westport has the potential to be a great course, once conditions become more favorable. Its a great value!
Westport   Sam at 5/31/07 6:04pm
Has anyone played Westport recently? How was the condition of fairways and greens? Do they have senior tees? Thanks for any information available.
More course updates...   J.D. at 5/29/07 1:06pm
1) The Divide was in decent condition, though the greens were long and slow. I always considered this a straightforward course, but on closer inspection, there are a handful of interesting holes here. But they keep the course in fine shape -- better then CLT Links (although Links finally improved the greens).

2) Stonebridge had everyone starting on the #10 hole and I'm convinced that is a better experience than normal (despite two back-to-back Par 5s). Conditions were okay -- greens were recently punched and also showing signs of wear.

3) Springfield was in very good shape, but the greens were long, slow and bumpy. Understandable, given our current drought. Bunkers were in perfect condition.
CLT Golf Links   J.D. at 5/25/07 11:46pm
Okay, I've been consistently tough on CLT Golf Links, because there's so much potential at this Tom Doak course and I hate to see it treated poorly.

Good news (at last). The greens have made a comeback. They're still cut high and slow, but they're rolling and I didn't see any beetles today -- a good sign. Fairways in decent shape. It's obvious they're clearing out some of the high rough to speed up rounds a bit. Now if they can just improve the bunkers, this underrated star may shine bright again.
Birkdale   Sandy at 5/21/07 8:38pm
Played Birkdale today and it was in good shape. #10 green was a little beat up, but that was the only issue. All greens rolled true. The range was pretty packed, but the course played pretty quickly.
Best place for lessons and practice ?   Sean M at 5/10/07 4:02pm
Hey, great site. It's so nice to have all this info in one place. I moved to the Charlotte area (Indian Trail) last year from Oregon. I used to be a 3-4 times per year golfer, but I've started playing more often since coming here and I want to take some lessons. I've also got kids who would like to learn.

Any recommendations on particularly good instructors, schools, camps, etc ?

Any recommendations on the best practice facilities? I'm about 5 minutes from the driving range on 74, but I need to work on my short game and putting on real grass.

So far, I've played the Divide, Traditions, and Emerald Lake.
lastminutegolfer.com   Mike Hendrix at 5/4/07 1:16am
What complaints do yall hear about last minute golfer, from the courses or players?
Re: More Course Reviews   Jamie at 5/1/07 12:19pm
Thanks for the info on Olde Sycamore. I have a church tournament there on 5/11.

You're right about Charlotte Golf Links. They starting losing their greens back in 2005 during a very bad dry period in the summer. They have nevered recovered, so I don't play there very often. As to why they're always crowded, I have no idea. Well, actually I do, sort of. Judging by the constant traffic on Providence Road, (which should be a six lane highway to handle the ridiculous traffic volume) they could probably charge $200 per round and still be crowded. Seriously, though, I just think management is taking advantage of the location. After all, if you have ever tried to turn left onto Providence Road after your round, you can understand why. You literally take your life in your hands when you make that attempt. About 8 million people live within a mile or two of the course, and management knows that.
More Course Reviews   J.D. at 4/30/07 2:12pm
* Regent Park is in better-than-average shape and the greens are rolling true. I met the new owner and he seems to be genuinely committed to providing a quality golf experience.

* Olde Sycamore is in average shape, but there are a few holes (5-6?) on the front nine that have fairways that are practically dead. Greens have been better here, but are average.

* Charlotte Golf Links is just awful. The greens are terribly inconsistent, and they're all cut high, almost like fairways. They claim to be working on the problems, but there are beetles on most greens, which suggest its only going to get worse. Are they just letting this place rot? Or are they just keeping status quo because it's always crowded?
I should call...   Fisher at 4/26/07 3:57pm
...next time I drive 25 miles to a golf course, only to find out they had a shot-gun tournament about to start. Crescent did this to me last weekend. I had to come up w/ an alternative place & ended up at a course nearby(I won't mention the name, but they have a HUGE boulder painted white at the entrance). That was absolutely the longest round. Pro shop kept sending out 5-somes on that day for some reason. RIDICULOUS!!

Has anyone played Crescent within the last two weeks? Just want to get an idea of conditions & how long ago they aerated greens.

Thanks!
ClickitGolf.com Coupons now integrated   The B-Man at 4/20/07 2:57pm
Hey everyone -- I've added coupon links to the bottom of the course pages for the ones that ClickItGolf.com is affiliated with. So you can immediately see what the latest deals are.

Shameless plug -- using these coupon links gives me a cut on any purchase you make with ClickIt. So buy a foursome deal today!

Coming soon -- I'm feverishly working on a new site design and should have it ready before the month is out. Look for easier access to course information and deals as well as the ability for you to post your own course reviews and sign up for email updates.
Larkhaven 4 ball   ruckter at 4/17/07 4:17pm
Has anyone played this tournament? It sounds like a lot of fun for a very reasonable price. ($300 a team for 3 day tournament)

Also, thanks for adding Tega Cay. It is under new management and I am interested to see how the conditions may change.
A few course updates....   J.D. at 4/4/07 10:21am
B-man,

C'mon, man, it's Masters Week! No 2007 course updates from you yet? Where's the love, man?

Here are a few observations I had over the past few weeks:

1) Ballantyne Resort course is in great shape. It's not a favorite of mine (especially at the price) but the fairways and greens (recently aerated) are in very good shape. It's still a mystery to me why they can't even out the tee boxes. It always seems like tee shots are from sidehill lies.

2) Stonebridge has had great greens this winter/spring! In my opinion, Stonebridge and Charlotte National really keeps the best greens in town.

3) Charlotte Golf Links -- I've heard that the greens are very long and slow...again. Why can't they ever seems to get the greens right? The place is always packed with people...you have to believe they're making money. Yet, in my 2 1/2 years here, the greens are always terrible. What a waste of a Tom Doak design! I've also heard rumors that they finally sold the course to a condo developer. Not sure if that's true.

4) Regent Park -- I've also heard that the greens were in bad shape at RP this year. Haven't experienced first-hand. If true, I hope that's not a sign of things to come from the new management that bought the place.

- J.D.
Tega Cay - Golf Holes   Larry at 3/30/07 5:04am
Has anyone tried this golfholes.com coupon for Tega Cay recently? Coupon is for $122.85, 4 play for 3 on weekends. That's an incredible deal considering is about $47 on weekends.... I'll give a try this Sat and let ya know, but I have my doubts that it will work when I show up with this ridiculous cheap coupon pd for.

p.s. Ballyntine in excellent shape! Played their on 3/26
Re: Emerald Lake Golf Club   B-Man at 3/28/07 11:45pm
Thanks for the update, Howard. I'm not sure I would give Emerald much credit over the Divide, though, especially on price. You can always get a decent rate at the Divide with their own players' card, Click-it coupons, or their email specials. Emerald Lake has been lacking in the discount fee department for the last few years that I've seen. My experiences there have generally been hit and miss, as far as the conditions -- with the exceptions of the greens, which are nearly always very good. So we'll see. I haven't played there in a while and have been meaning to give another try. I'll look for an opportunity in the next month or so and post an update.

B-Man
Emerald Lake Golf Club   Howard Dinsley at 3/28/07 11:16pm
Just wanted to give everyone a heads up. I played Emerald Lake today and it was it great shape. The greens are running great and smooth and the fairways are just begining to get green and fluffy. The rates for this summer are like 39 bucks during the week, 42 on friday and 59 on weekends. They are not going any higher than that, which makes them cheaper than the divide and all surrounding courses, but always in better shape. This is a course that will be a gem this summer.
The Tradition   Chipper Green at 3/2/07 9:01pm
Played there this past week and this place has to have the worst drainage ever. It was soaked and it hadn't rained in at least 5 days. Very poor conditions. I have vowed not to return unless there has been a recent drought.
Re: Buy 1 Get 1 Free Charlotte golf   john gunderman at 1/20/07 6:40pm
please email info and recommended courses. we are coming as a foursome. handicaps are 6, 8, 11, 13. thank you
Eagle Chase   Eric at 1/19/07 9:40pm
Played Eagle Chase on 1/16 and the course was in good shape. The greens were suprisingly fast. (price was $30 for a noon tee-time).
I suggest if you are in the Charlotte area, you should travel to Marshville to play this track.

Emerald Lake   JLA at 1/17/07 8:58am
I noticed Emerald Lakes' rates this winter have actually gone UP to $59 for Saturday mornings. What's the deal? I was told they would go up again in March after they aerify. Up to what...$75? I have not played there since last spring because they are so much higher than the surrounding courses like Divide and Charlotte National. In the winter the course typically drains poorly and is in very average shape compared to other courses. Are they trying to compete with Ballantyne and Olde Sycamore? Are they preparing to go all private?
Buy 1 Get 1 Free Charlotte golf   Hollywood at 1/3/07 10:08pm
I got the hottest deal in golf in Charlotte, BAR NONE!
BUY ONE ROUND GET ONE ROUND FREE Golf Card.
This is unbelievable 6 different courses. 3 in charlotte, one in Hickory, one in Rockingham, one just outside Mrytle Beach. You Can play golf for a cheap as $12, if you go with a buddy. A total of 30 round of golf, plus 30 buckets of range balls at all the golf courses-also at BUY1GET1FREE deal. For $40 Bucks! Thats it!
You are making money after 2 rounds. The card is completely transferable, your buddy, your dad, anyone can go and use the card.
Call me ASAP! 305-965-0267 ask for hollywood & about the golf card.
FREE GOLF PACKAGE   STEVE at 1/3/07 9:12pm
UNDER PAR DISCOUNT CARD has 30 rounds of golf at 6 courses and 30 buckets of range balls at 6 area Golf Courses. The Golf Package cost $40.00 . For golf discount information
call 704-651-GOLF


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: