Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Stonebridge   Steven St. Clair at 3/9/09 9:06am
I have played Stonebridge twice in the past month, both weekend afternoons. The course layout and conditions were good.

However, both rounds took over 5 hours to complete, and that was after our tee time was delayed by 15-30 minutes (and these were relatively warm, dry days, so there was no frost delay). Rangers were scarce and only promised the pace would improve, which it did not.

Weekend pace of play is a problem at most public courses, but it is time we hold courses accountable to improve the pace. Sadly, Stonebridge has not done so.
Charlotte Golf Links   Trace Mannig at 3/4/09 7:42pm
Played at golf links today, at 5 (only got in 9) but even so, it looked ok. It is my stomping ground, play there at least once a month since it is 2 seconds away from my house. There is a major drainage problem. The last time I was there it was soggy, and today (2 days after snow) it was real nasty. Even still bunkers could have been better, and greens needs some work. They need to just till the heck out of the bunkers and lossen up the packed in sand. I still chipped in #10 from the bunker guarding the front of the green!!!! I like this course, I just wish they would put a little of the money I spend into it and make it a great public course!
$400 for a year of Unlimited Range Balls & Practice Time   Mitzi at 3/3/09 6:36am
Membership Drive in March- Individual - $400 Family- $600- Discounts on memberships end March 31st. A Deal you can not beat. Improve your game in 09 and Join Northlake Golf Club www.northlakegolf.net
The Divide & Olde Sycamore   Scott at 2/28/09 2:50pm
Played the divide this week and the greens are a mess. I don't see how these greens will get any better all year in 2009. Save your money and play somewhere else! Also played Olde Sycamore this week. Course is always in good shape and you can get good deals during M-TH. Greens were fast and rolled great for Feb. They had some evil pin placements out there on Thursday.
Tega Cay   Jin at 2/26/09 10:27am
Been playing at Tega Cay the past month. Just joined their membership since it's close to home and a decent deal (no initiation and only $150 per month for a year). 27 "Championship holes", but technically only 18 are in decent shape. I played the Cove last week. Apparently they re-did the greens and bunkers last year. Greens are brown right now and have not been plugged, will get better once spring hits. The other 2 9's are a lot nicer (Pines/Grand). As BMan said, you def want to play with a Tega Cay veteran, b/c there are a lot of holes where you don't really know where to play the ball. And playing from the tips to whites changes from hitting a driver to 3 wood. I hit 3 tee shots too long to get into trouble from the whites... I'm not a great player, but I have the distance so I'll be playiing from the blacks now. Their greens are the nicest I've seen in the Charlotte area (not trying to dog any other course): barely any brown spots, no divot marks that I could see and speed was great. The practice green is a little faster than the course's green speed, but they are all clean. The Grand is the nicer of the 3, then Pine and Cove. Play usually starts at the Pines and then thru the Grand. The Grand has a great layout and is quite challenging, score as low as you can on the Pines! Rip it on the 1st hole, very short par 5 with an average 2nd shot of 170-200 yds depending on your drive.
Larkhaven Golf Course   Terry at 2/16/09 7:46pm
Played Larkhaven the other day. Course is in good shape with green fairways even in the winter months. Worth another play with early bird rates Mon thru Thur at $23 for 18 holes with cart.
KiS Golf closes, files for bankruptcy   B-Man at 1/22/09 1:07pm
Since there were a couple posts about KiS Golf last year on this board, I thought I would share this. I saw this today in a Charlotte Observer article about Better Business Bureau complaints.

"KiS Golf, locations in Pineville and Concord: 15 unanswered complaints last year and 23 total complaints in the past three years. The company, which sold lifetime golf memberships for thousands of dollars for such activities as golf lessons and golf-related travel, filed for Chapter 7 bankruptcy protection and closed last month. A phone number for the company was not in service."
Divide, Deer Brook   Jamie at 1/22/09 7:17am
It's weird to see so few golf course related comments lately. Probably because I'm in the minority in terms of playing in cold weather. If the courses are open and it's not raining, I'm there, freezing or not. I miss only about a handful of Saturdays each year. Anyway, both Deer Brook in Shelby and The Divide are in good shape with their greens. I'm playing Waterford this Saturday, and the greens there are usually in good shape. Have also played CT Myers lately, but there is some construction going on with a few holes, and the course does not drain well. In the winter that can result in what I call "splat" golf. All carry, everything is wet, no roll. You get the picture.
Synthetic putting   Jeff at 1/8/09 4:55pm
I installed a synthetic putting in my backyard and it is great. It is the closest thing to a real green that I have ever practiced on. It really makes for a good pratice and entertained addition to our yard. If anyone is interested I can provide all of the info. They are fairly resonable in price.
2009 Driving Range Special   Mitzi at 12/18/08 5:29pm
$400- Unlimited Range Balls & Practice Time in 2009

Improve your Golf Game in 2009 by committing to membership
@ Northlake Golf Club- Private Practice Facility
2009 Individual Membership Special- $400- Expires 12-31-08
No Exceptions. www.northlakegolf.net- 704.726.7224-
Charlotte Golf Links   Jin at 11/3/08 8:20am
Played at 2 and finished by 5:45, right when the sun was setting. The course was pretty empty, and the rough wasn't as brutal this time. Heard they just cut the rough for the rest of this year. The fairways had a lot of roll, and I couldn't get anything to stick on the greens. They were super fast and the fringe wasn't any slower. I swore never to play here again, but it was close so I gave it a try. Actually enjoyed my round, but that's because the rough wasn't as bad. FYI they are aerating the greens in the next few weeks. Not sure about an exact date.
Stonebridge   Scott at 11/2/08 9:54pm
Played Stonebridge 11/2. Greens were punched Monday 10/27. They were a little bumpy but give them 2 weeks and they will be back strong. Course in good shape.
Divide   Jin at 10/20/08 12:13pm
Been playing here quite a bit since it's cheaper. We get an email almost on a weekly basis. Played Sat for $39 at 11am. It was pretty wet from the rain on thurs/fri, but it wasn't bad. pace of play was slow! Divide is one of the worst about pace of play... their rangers need to monitor the course better. there were a bunch of 2somes which could've been joined into 4somes. but i also blame the cart path only rule... but still, we waited up to 10 mins on some holes. bunkers still have rocks scattered throughout them.
Birkdale   Rob Pappalardo at 10/19/08 10:32pm
Played today 10/18/08..Course was in good condition (Alot better than my swing..lol)..Greens were nice and fast ..The rough was ROUGH tho,we lost several balls that should have been easy to find!..Still it was pretty much top-notch for this time of year..can't go wrong here!
Regent Park   Jamie at 10/18/08 9:31am
Played Regent Park on 10/16. The course was in pretty good shape. Some greens were a little beat up, but fine overall. One weird thing happened that I've never seen before. I was waiting on my brother to check in so we could head to the first tee. After a few minutes he had registered and "paid" with the lady behind the pro shop counter and we started the round. We showed our receipts to the stater and teed off on 1. Three and a half hours later we were on the 16th tee and the marshall approached us, asking again to see our receipts. My brother pulled his receipt out again and realized he had only been charged $6 for three balls he purchased. Apparently the pro shop had screwed up and not keyed in his green/cart fee on his credit card in the beginning. Somehow they had dicovered this later on and sent the marshall all the way to 16 to ask my brother to come in and settle up when we finished. Once we finished he spoke with the same lady who apologized and re-entered the transaction correctly.

I can understand an honest mistake, but to send a marshall to track down someone in a situation like this when it's your own fault is a little troubling to me. My brother did not mind paying the $40 for the round, it's the curcumstances that were sort of unprofessional.
Fort Mill Golf Club    at 10/16/08 7:49am
Dave, I just played Fort Mill yesterday for the first time in about 10 years. What an impressive renovation of the place. Maybe doesn't rank among the top courses around the area but might be the most improved. The key is to join as a member if you can... unfortunatley memberships are limited to residents of Fort Mill or if you work in Fort Mill. If you are lucky enough to meet that criteria (which I am and will be joining soon) then the rates are much more resonable. $120/mth + Cart Fees or you can walk all you want. Looking forward to playing there a lot!
Fort Mill   Dave at 10/12/08 5:36pm
Played 36 at Fort Mill on Friday (cart fee only for second 18)in a little less than 7 hours. The course is in fantastic shape. Tee boxes, fairways (except for number 12, which was very wet where your tee shot will land)traps and greens were very nearly perfect. A word of caution about these greens. They are very, very hard and will not hold a ball. Very similar to the greens at Westport. They do putt very true although obviously pretty fast. The new clubhouse is very nice and they have brand new carts. All in all it's pretty nice over there but it is priced about the same as Springfield and Olde Sycamore and I don't think it's quite that nice.
Birkdale Golf Club   Jin at 10/11/08 8:09pm
Played today at 1 and finished around 5:20. The first nine was fast, no one in front of us or behind. Second nine slowed down a lot... waited about 5 mins on each tee box. Course was a little wet here and there. The right greenside bunker on #1 was gunky. Tee box on the par 3 #6 was pretty long, really long actually. There are a few short par 4's, only one I can get close to getting on the green (#7). MOst of the greens were in great condition, rolling pretty fast.
Fairways were a bit soft. Course in general was in great condition.
cheap balls!   Jin at 10/10/08 8:21am
Top Flite Strata TL-Tour 12pack. Just saw these on golf galaxy's website for 9.99. It's a steal for the price... not sure if they are available at the local stores, but shipping is only $5 which is equivalent to a gallon of gas. There are different takes on this ball, but for the price I don't think it can be beat.

Get 'em at Golf Galaxy
Andy Browning   "Tee" Smith at 10/8/08 9:38am
Andy, I used to be a member at Regent Park but have left for similar experiences you note in your comment. Since I read your post I have contacted current members there to see if things have changed. I am considering possibly rejoining but wanted to know more about what your experience was. Email me please at tesmith4@thebogeychronicle.com
Thanks and I really hope to hear from you. I used to pal around with most of the current members and we discuss different views and takes on the ownership there. I have met at least 4 others that have similar accounts that you noted but I also hear a lot of good things too. Just trying to get a better understading of the pros and cons.
Woodbridge??   Rob Pappalardo at 10/7/08 8:14pm
Hey guys anyone played this course recently??We are tentatively scheduled to play this Kings Mountain course this weekend.I know in the past this course has had top notch conditioning but I confess its been years since I ventured out that far to play it.If anyone has played it in the last year or two ..your input is appreciated..If not I guess I'll review it next week.
Clt Links, Stone Bridge   Jin at 10/5/08 9:41pm
Clt Links today- course was pretty empty (I think most were watching the beating the Chiefs took). Fairways were nice and greens were fast. Most of the greens were in great shape, with the usual divot marks. Most of the tee boxes were in decent shape. As stated before, the rough is almost unfair... even worse, is the shrubage a few feet outside of the rough... it's so easy to lose a ball if your shot is a little off track. Keep it in the fairway and you'll really enjoy your round.
Stonebridge - played yesterday early in the AM... really chilly. course was in great shape and very green. The tee boxes were in good shape and the greens were in great condition. greens were kind of slow in the AM because of the dew, but they sped up as the sun came up.
Mooresville golf course   Rob Pappalardo at 10/5/08 1:30pm
Played there today 10/5/08(sunday)..was VERY pleased with the conditions..$33 for 18 with a cart and the fairways are nice and with just a few "sandy" spots on the greens it was real good for a course that has been aerated with the last two weeks (Truly we never saw a hole). It was not even full and the pace of play was swift ..Teed off at 8:45..done by 12:20 and stopped at the turn for a bite to eat.
Carolina trails courses..   Rob Pappalardo at 10/4/08 8:51pm
I have a buddy I work with whos 46 and I'm 39 we play these courses EVERY weekend and would like to turn the "twosome" into a "foursome" if there are any players of our age (or close to it) who are similarly skilled (We shoot anywhere from 75-90)who are interested in playing these on the weekend then I would be interested in hearing from you.
You can e-mail me at truesoxfan_rob@yahoo.com.
Charlotte Golf Links,The Divide   Rob Pappalardo at 10/4/08 8:41pm
Played there(Charlotte Golf Links) last weekend 9/28/08..VERY happy with the condition the greens were great and the fairways were good (My god though the rough was like the US open...Give us a chance guys)..Overall it was in great shape.
Played the Divide 9/27/08 and was not as pleased with it..the greens are getting beat up in my opinion ..pockmarked and burnt in spots.
I'm playing Mooresville tomorrow and I'll report on the conditions there... Its a Donald Ross track thats actually a REAL cool layout... the question there is the condition I have heard they aerated 2 weeks ago... so I'll report tommorow.
Fox Den   Ken Spruill at 10/4/08 5:25pm
Whats the word on this track? I have not seen anything really written about it and I hear that it is a great layout. I know that they built a huge clubhouse, but has anyone been up there recently?
Stonebridge   Scott at 9/29/08 11:13pm
Played Stonebridge on 9/29. Course in good condition. Greens rolled good and pace of play was great. Tee'd off at 9am and finished at 1pm as a threesome. Lot of ball marks on the greens but they are in great shape and roll good. People should not be able to play golf if they don't fix there dam ball marks on the greens! Fairways were also in good shape. Get down to Mineral Springs and play this course. Worth the drive!
Divide   Jin at 9/22/08 3:29pm
Played the Divide yesterday (9/21). Pace of play was pretty slow, but they did have a best ball tourney right in front of us. The group in front of us tried to go for the green on 18 on their second shot... crazy (had to wait about 15 mins before they all dropped on the second landing area). Anyways, the greens were faster than expected... with a lot of brown spots on them. Rough was thick and fairways were okay, some hard spots on a few. Bunkers were in decent shape.
Looking for players...   "TEE" Smith at 9/18/08 12:03pm
I'm an avid golfer of the Carolina Trail courses... problem is finding players who play regularly and are willing to travel to all 6 courses with me. I'm looking for anyone who has an established hcp of 13 or better that plays a lot. email me at tesmith4@thebogeychronicle.com
Also... the comments about the new owners at Regent Park are right on the money!! I guess nothing has changed there. The owners are complete morons and until things change I'll never play there agian. What a sheme... the track deserves better managment. I used to be a "member" there but they jacked around with dues to the point that it makes no sense to join. The course is good but it's not that good... and it's still public but demanding private rates... what a joke. Try Raintree if your looking to spend that kind of dough for a membership... at least Raintree is private. The Carolina Trail has the best overall public membership... Regent Park could learn a thing or two from them.
Springfield   Clay at 9/18/08 11:02am
Played 9/17. Had not played Springfield in a few years. I was surprised at how the development is giving the course a true country club feel for a public course. When you play this course plan to lay-up, almost every hole has obstacles in front of greens. Fairways were great. The greens were inconsistent- some fast, some slow. Played 9 holes for $19 because of maintenance- cart path only.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: