Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Lost PW   HittOD at 8/4/15 12:49am
I'm sorry to hear that the lost club has not been found yet. I know that I have in 40 years of golf, on a couple of occasions found clubs on the course, put them in my bag to turn in later only to realize that the club was still in my bag when I got home. I eventually turned the clubs in, but this surely caused some angst for those golfers with the lost club. To that end, I have for some years now been doing something that gives me some peace of mind in regards to leaving one of my golf clubs on the course. There are sites online where one can order golf club labels on which one can put their name, address, cell #, etc. I put one on each club in my bag. I know this doesn't guarantee the return, but I believe it makes it more likely, and in a more timely manner. I know that if the clubs that! I forgot to turn in had the label, I would have called the person to let them know that I had their club. I just did an internet search for "Golf Club Labels", and found a couple of sites that will provide between 16 to 20 labels for about $7 with no shipping. This of course won't help you find this club (assuming you had no label on it), but may be useful in the future, and to those reading this message board. I welcome any pro or con comments about this posting.
Lost PW   jscum13 at 8/3/15 11:01pm
long shot here but worth a shot with the amount of local traffic bman's site gets...I left a PW - or so I think - on the 18th green of Monroe Country Club on Saturday 08.01.15. It's a taylormade rocket bladez PW custom projectx shaft 5.5 flighted gwith a red and black golf pride grip. Since the finders of the club didn't turn it in, if anyone sees this club online somewhere please contact me. It's a costly replacement so I'm just hoping for a prayer here. Thanks
Cramer mtn   HateSlowPlay at 7/31/15 2:22pm
Local news story about the course re-opening

http://www.gastongazette.com/article/20150509/News/305099965
Cramer Mtn.   HateSlowPlay at 7/31/15 2:21pm
Cramer mtn recently re-opened as a private course. The homeowners stepped in and poured a lot of money into it to bring it back, including new greens, and from what I hear it is in fantastic shape now.

Only downside is that it is private/members only I believe.
Rocky River Update   Ryan Brickley at 7/31/15 1:53pm
The fairways that were sprigged with new grass have now been mowed and are OPEN for play. All holes are back to their regular length, except 2 and 6 which being played from the forward tees.
The greens are in GREAT shape and rolling a consistent 10 on the stimpmeter.
Thanks for everyone's patience as we have restored Rocky River to the condition you have come to expect.
Ryan Brickley
PGA Director of Golf
Cramer   IM4DHERD at 7/31/15 11:50am
Just called them...They went back to private. I played there in 2010 when they had opened to the public. End of saga.
Re: I meant Cramer Mountain in the last post   The B-Man at 7/31/15 11:41am
I believe Cramer Mountain is closed.

But I am interested in comments about Crowder's Mountain. I've been thinking about trying it out and adding it here for a while.
I meant Cramer Mountain in the last post   IM4DHERD at 7/31/15 11:36am
If anyone can edit it for me, I'd appreciate it.
Crowder Mountain?   IM4DHERD at 7/31/15 9:32am
Anyone play Crowder Mountain lately? 20+ years ago, when it was private, I played it and was VERY impressed. A real gem...Mountain golf just outside of Charlotte (near Belmont, before Gastonia). Opened to the public a few years ago, so I headed down, but was disappointed in the conditions, cart paths, markers, etc. Still a very funky layout with a lot of elevation changes. Have seen some Golfnow and Google reviews from the past year or two saying it's in good shape. Anyone know if they've turned it around?
Regent Park   Jamie at 7/27/15 7:53am
Played RP on 7/25. Still in pretty good shape except for the bunkers, which have the same problem as a lot of local courses. Over time, they lose sand. If the sand is not replaced, you end up with a very thin layer of sand over very hard, compacted earth. No problem as far as fairway bunkers are concerned, but a big problem in greenside bunkers. A very thin layer of sand will not allow the club head to pass under the ball, so you either try to intentionally hit it thin, or you will chunk it five feet. Someone (I assume an employee) at the clubhouse told my friend in our foursome to play outside the bunkers because of deferred maintenance - that is the first time I have ever heard that. Hopefully they can get this issue resolved.

Greens a little beaten up but putted fairly well. I probably fixed! 100 ball marks other than my own. One other issue still persisting is lack of water stations. Bring a lot of water with you.
Re: Where should we play?   JAG at 7/24/15 6:19pm
Thanks. I'll check them out. Turns out we're staying and play two days now.
Thanks for the recommendations.
October Golf   Kevin B at 7/23/15 2:40pm
Will be there for October car race. Have 9 guys who play golf need suggestion.
Re: Where should we play?   The B-Man at 7/17/15 1:58pm
My suggestions to stay near I-77:

Springfield
Fort Mill
Tega Cay
Edgewater

Check the map and then the reviews to get more details.
Rocky River Fairways Being Repaired   The B-Man at 7/14/15 3:33pm
Found this statement from Rocky River today on efforts to repair the winter kill damage to their fairways:

Like many courses in North Carolina this past winter, Rocky River Golf Club unfortunately experienced some winter kill of Bermuda grass in fairways and teeing areas. Some courses in Greensboro and Raleigh have had to close completely due to the damage incurred, but in Concord the impact was not quite as bad.

Rocky River has re-sprigged fairway areas on 8 holes and expects to have all areas completely back by Mid-August. The course REMAINS OPEN though, with several holes on the front 9 shortened to route play around the newly repaired areas. The 9 has been reduced to a Par of 31, and is playing much shorter which has been very popular! for juniors and senior players!

We are offering reduced rates for the entire month of July to compensate for the repaired areas. We apologize for the temporary situation but look forward to when it's back to 100% later this summer and fall.

Thank you for your patience and continued support of the club!
Where should we play?   JAG at 7/13/15 6:27pm
I'll be in Charlotte inform1-2 days in mid August. I've never played golf in Charlotte before so I'm hoping for some advice. Anything in great shape?
We'll be coming down 77 so kinda close to highway would be great. Thanks for the help.
Re: The Divide   dongtrgolfer at 7/6/15 8:01pm
I have played The Divide a few times over the past few months and it is much improved. The greens are much better (but slow). Fairways are ok but some places thin. Tee boxes were pretty chewed up on a lot of holes. Bunkers are definitely improved. Pro shop and staff much improved (now that they are being paid). I would still put Charlotte National and Emerald Lake above it but The Divide has closed some of the gap and given the layout (which I like) it is back on my play list.
Re: Beginner in Ballantyne   dongtrgolfer at 7/6/15 7:54pm
Any of the courses you listed have nice practice greens and it is free to putt! Chipping areas is a little more complicated. None are ideal but Springfield and Fort Mill are ok. Again, free to chip! If you are just banging balls I would suggest one of the places on South Blvd south of I-485. There are two places and they give you about 100 balls for $10 9also have cards that save $$), but there putting/chipping areas not that great.

Of the four you listed I would say none are overly "beginner" friendly. All have challenges and can cost a lot depending on what day of the week you play and your age. I would check out some of the Radcliffe courses. They are not as nice but can get some good deals at certain times and are pretty beginner friendly (that is where I start! ed). I would also suggest Charlotte National. Very wide open and good for beginners if you play the right tee (gold). Charlotte National is much better than Radcliffe courses, has some reasonable rates in the afternoons, and has friendly staff and golfers who don't mind playing with beginners.

Finally, your first step should be to find a good pro to give you lessons. It will eliminate a lot of the upfront frustration and make the game a whole lot better. don't invest in nice, shiny clubs, invest in lessons!
Beginner in Ballantyne   Mike at 7/6/15 1:15pm
Hello,

I wanted to know about some of the clubs around me, specifically about practice facilities / range / chipping and putting areas. I also wanted to know about cost for the range. What courses would you list as beginner friendly in the area? A search of what is by me (excluding Ballantyne CC as it is $$$): Regent Park, Springfield, Carolina Lakes, Fort Mill. Can you suggest any of these?

Thanks,
Mike
Mount Mitchell Golf Club   panthersfann55 at 7/3/15 3:02pm
www.mountmitchellgolf.com
My golf buddy and I found this great stay and play package in Carolina Golf Journal and decided to give it a try. 2 rounds of golf, 1 night stay in the Fairway Villa Condos and $15 credit towards dinner at the clubhouse restaurant for $99 (double occupancy). What an awesome deal. This was a 2 1/2 drive from the house and well worth it. It is wall to wall bent grass (greens,fairways,tees). It is also a CART PATH ONLY course. The course is very flat minus 2 or 3 holes and tucked in the Toe River Valley. The mountain views were spectacular and kept the rain away for our stay. The clubhouse staff were very nice and let us check in early and tee off an hour before our tee time since everyone was cancelling due to pending rain (it didn't). Condo was dated but ! had everything we needed (plus a front row view of the 8th fairway and the mountains in the background). Dinner was a little expensive since there is only 1 other restaurant next door to compete but the rib eye was worth the money.

Greens A+ no issues what so ever.
Fairways B+ some thin spots here and there but overall good no roll
Rough A+ fair and challenging
Bunkers B had some weeds in them but were soft and playable
Tees A+ not one chewed up
Overall a great experience. I had some reservations going into this after reading reviews from golfnow and tripadvisor but I'm glad we went. Just to warn you that the course does stay damp so don't expect to much roll. It is a shot makers course. The temp was also perfect.
Rocky River   Jrock704 at 7/1/15 12:04pm
Anyone played Rocky River within the last couple days? Older reviews seem to all say the fairways were terrible and I think they punched the greens last week. Playing Friday morning and want to know what I'm in for.
Re: The Divide   The B-Man at 6/30/15 10:22am
Two reviews got posted within an hour of your message board posting. Both reviewers were brand new to the site. So take the reviews with a grain of salt. I heard an anecdotal review from a friend who played here last week and he gave it an average review. If your expectations are low, I think the Divide will meet or exceed them. If you like the layout, it's probably worth giving a shot. If you want really good conditions, take the 20 minute drive to Red Bridge or the 10 minute drive to Olde Sycamore.
The Divide   ISlayMySelf at 6/30/15 9:11am
Haven't played the Divide in a few years because of the conditions but it is the closest course to me and I wanted to give it another try this Friday afternoon. Anyone have an update on the conditions and is it worth the twilight rate? My expectations are low but hopeful.
Re: Course Suggestions   cyoung2ty at 6/29/15 5:44pm
Lincoln Country Club has easily been one of my least favorite courses I've played since I moved down here. It wasn't in good shape (this was last April)... the greens were miniature... the staff pretty much didn't even acknowledge we were there... and overall, for a 'country club', it was horrible.

Again... this was last April. It's very possible I caught it at a bad time, so... reserve judgement until you've heard from others.

Also, a big group played Rock Barn in the early part of May and said it was the most winterkill they'd seen... but again, that was 7+ weeks ago, it may have turned around by now.
Re: Course Suggestions   MadMax2015 at 6/29/15 10:58am
Anyone played Lincoln Country Club? Can see if from the highway 321. Is it a private course?
Re: Course Suggestions   MadMax2015 at 6/26/15 8:13pm
Thanks. Heard there was a good bit of winter kill up that way but that may be a thing of the past. Played Glen Oaks but not a big fan of the layout.
Re: Course Suggestions   slowmofo at 6/26/15 2:01pm
You can never go wrong with either of the Rock Barn courses. Larkin isn't too bad and Verdict Ridge is turning around.
Course Suggestions   MadMax2015 at 6/25/15 12:09pm
I'm looking for suggestions for courses north of Charlotte. Any feedback on courses such as Rock Barn, Glen Oaks, Lincoln, and the like would be appreciated.
10 play cards   Spencer at 6/22/15 5:26pm
Anyone know of a good deal on a multiplay prepay card for any good courses around Charlotte? I saw that Red Bridge had a Father's Day special but I just missed out on it. Will be playing a lot during some time off and looking to play good courses for a little less if possible! Thanks!
Re: Winterkill of Bermuda Grass in N.C.   cyoung2ty at 6/22/15 2:48pm
Definitely the courses up north were the most hard hit.

Irish Creek is an absolute mess. Warrior is even worse.

Meanwhile, a little further south... Stonebridge, Tega Cay and Carolina Lakes seem just fine (with a few spotty areas here and there).
Re: Is Deer Brook any good?   Landon at 6/16/15 10:51am
Deer Brook is awesome right now played there this past Sunday it was there member guest that day but they got us out at 7 am The Fairways are perfect as well as tee boxes the greens are as good as you are going to get. They were very fast. This is a hidden gem only issue is it is a 45-50 min drive from Charlotte a must play.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: