Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Tega Cay   Jin at 7/26/09 5:12pm
Played Tega Cay this morning and finished under 4 hrs. Pace of play was great! Fairways are green and the rough is nice and thick. Some of the tee boxes need work though, #8 (black tee) on Grande View in particular. Greens are rolling true, without many ball marks and barely any brown spots.
Golf Links (another opinion)   Drew at 7/26/09 10:06am
I played Golf Links on the 24th. I have to disagree with Jim - the course was not in that bad of shape (in my opinion). Not to say it's pristine at this point in the summer, but fairways are decent and you could always seem to find a nice lie within inches of your ball (if you felt like you were on a bad spot). Greens were fine and rolled pretty well for me. Some were very very nice. Some of them (3-4 maybe) had been punched recently but the mini-tines were used and it really didn't affect putting. They were also soft and held good approach shots well. With the recent Click It coupons (I payed $37), it's a pretty good deal. I enjoy the layout and will be back soon.

I will agree, however, with the staff. Very rude in the clubhouse and almost dismissive of patrons.
Golf Links   Jim at 7/23/09 8:20pm
Played 7/19/09 and the course was in poor condition. 3 of the greens are virtually unplayable. The staff is very rude. I would rather pay a bit more and play Springfield or Emerald Lake.
Edgewater   James at 7/20/09 8:34pm
I played in the "Heat Stroke" tourney at Edgewater, and it was a treat. I enjoyed the course and the layout, and thought it was a fair challenge. The back nine was in better shape than the front, but such can be expected for a new course. The greens were terrific, and the terrain is at times breathtaking. Certainly worth the drive to check this one out, but it does take a solid 70 minutes from center city Charlotte. They have a great staff and are committed to working hard to bring players in like me, which I appreciated after being ignored at other courses.
Re: Another opinion on Red Bridge   Sean at 7/19/09 1:39pm
For a bogey golfer, there is a fine line between a challenging course and a ridiculously frustrating course. Redbridge is a ridiculously frustrating course.
We played on the first day that the back 9 was open.
Two of us normally shoot in the mid 90's and two usually shoot high 80's to low 90's. Our scores were 101, 102, 109, 112 (playing from the Whites).

My biggest problem with this course is that it doesn't give you any options. If you miss the fairway, you are in big big trouble. Most courses with tight fairways and lots of trouble seem to give you choices. There are plenty of times when I've played a par 4 or 5 hole and hit a 5 iron off the tee to be safe. But at Redbridge, many of the holes have water or other hazards that extend far enough out from the!
tee box, that you don't have the option of hitting a "safe" shot. And a 620 yard par 5 from the whites? Come on, that's just silly.

This is an incredibly gorgeous course and for very low handicappers, I think it would be a great challenge. But as an 18 HCP, I will NOT play this course again. Not unless I'm really in the mood for some self punishment.
Practice facilities   James at 7/18/09 8:32am
I would like to conduct an informal poll of users. What is your favorite course / independent practice facility? I fondly remember Stonebridge as being the best, but I now live in Charlotte and am not willing to make that commute just to practice. Birkdale is pretty solid, with a chipping area and practice bunker. Thanks for your input.
Another opinion on Red Bridge   B-Man at 7/16/09 10:02pm
Got this email a few days ago from Steven and thought I would share another opinion about this new course (see my review here):

"Played 7/12/09. Course is in great shape; the rough will need some taming. Needs significant tweaking unless it becomes truly private. My main word for the layout is: GOOFY. #10 has a long carry to a narrow and very sloped fairway. #18 is a 625 yard par 5 to a small green perched on a hill with a gorge in front of it (that is from the WHITE tees?!?). Lots of blind shots: if you were a member and knew the course well these might even be fun, but not for the casual occasional player. The gold tees play 5700, the white tees play 6400 - they need something in between. Overall not impressed and unlikely to go back."
NC Legislature proposing tax on Golf fees   B-Man at 7/13/09 2:56pm
I was at Skybrook over the weekend and they had a petition at the check-in desk that they were asking folks to sign. Apparently, North Carolina Governor Bev Purdue and the state legislature are proposing a new recreation tax that would increase golf fees and membership dues. I looked into it today and this is serious:

Golf enthusiasts opposed to recreational tax proposal

NC Legislature considers Recreation Tax on Golf

Please take a look and help fight this. And get the word out.
Springfield   J.D. at 7/13/09 8:53am
Played Springfield yesteday. Very good conditions with two items of note: 1) Those enormous bees have taken nest by burrowing into 4-5 of the greens again, same as last year. I hope they get on top of this, those buggers really damaged the greens. 2) Despite promises to the contrary, the course STILL hasn't added white/red/yellow stakes around the course. Slows down play dramatically.
Ballantyne Resort closed until September   B-Man at 7/12/09 4:58pm
I drove past Ballantyne today and saw that the 2nd green was all dirt and knew something was up.

Sure enough, the course is closed during July and August for the second summer in a row. After renovating and rerouting a couple of holes last year, now they are completing reseeding all 18 greens with Champion Ultra Dwarf grass, known for its "durability and consistent playing conditions throughout the year."

Seems like an odd decision. Why didn't they do this last year?

Here are quotes from the press release:

“We made this decision because of recent problems with the current putting surface. After careful study, we did not like the prospects for recovery in a time frame that would enable us to provide our golfing guest with a putting surface that meets our quality expectations, and, more importantly, because we believe the end result will enhance the quality of the greens in the future,” said Joe Hallow, President, Bissell Hotels.

“We chose the Champion product after extensive consultation with agronomists and experts from the USGA, PGA and nationally prominent members of the academic community. The Champion product is known for providing a firm, fast and true rolling putting surface and is used extensively by leading golf courses in the Southeast and other areas of the country,” said Woody Allen, Director of Golf, The Golf Club at Ballantyne.
RED BRIDGE   randy at 7/9/09 4:50pm
red bridge is a new course thats opened up in locust. its a pete dye design. ive played it several times now and its breath taking. the course opened up july 4th.
Carolina Golf Reviews   B-Man at 7/7/09 10:28pm
Hey everyone, I set up a second web address for the site so it'd be easier to remember and advertise:

http://www.carolinagolfreviews.com/

I hope to expand the site to include more and more courses around Charlotte and the Carolinas. So at some point I may rebrand the site to capitalize on that. For now, it's still the B-Man's Guide to Golf in Charlotte and http://golf.bman.com/ will always get you here. This is just another way to find it and share with friends.

Thanks for visiting and providing great updates!
Re: Larkhaven   B-Man at 7/7/09 10:13pm
Got a note from Terry at Larkhaven and he did say they had to punch the #3 and #8 greens about a week ago. He said they are coming along but still a little bumpy. He also said the rest of the greens were pretty good and invited me to come out and play their July special, $25 anytime Mon-Fri and after 12:00 on weekends.

I'm a bachelor this week and next (family drove up to PA to see relatives). So I may try to get out for a late round one day next week and see things for myself.
CLT National, Springfield, CLT Links   J.D. at 7/6/09 9:05am
Charlotte National: Continues to be in good shape off the tee, fantastic greens and decent fairways. Bunkers have 1/2 inch of nice fluffy sand that covers a crusty, angry base. (Don't follow my lead -- use the leading edge of your lob wedge and DIG IN.) Some of the toughest rough I've played this year led to my worst round of the year by far.

Springfield: Very good conditions all around, with the exception of 1-2 greens that are just starting to get chewed up (worms?). Highly recommended.

Charlotte Links: The staff continues to be some of the most ornery people around...they need attitude adjustments. 4-5 greens were recently punched and are really soft, and you need a pick-axe to get your tee in the teeing ground!

But the rest of the course is in fine shape. Seems like they're content to keep mowing down the rough -- making this course easier and easier. (Tom Doak would be horrified at what they've done to his design.) All that said, I shot my lowest-ever round of 79 (white tees...we were just having a practice round) so it's tough for me to be too angry.
Larkhaven   Jeff at 7/3/09 7:10pm
Played Larkhaven today. The fairways are in good shape. Some of the teeboxes are rough with the worst being #9 (its totally bare). The greens are horrendous. Normally the greens here are a little hairy and slow but they must have aerated them or something (dont really see holes in them) there is sand all over. Very rough. I'd stay away for awhile.
Tega Cay   Eric at 7/3/09 6:37pm
I have played Tega Cay twice in the past month. It is in great shape, greens are rolling true, pace of play has been very good, and the staff is very friendly. I had not played there before this year and I've been very impressed.
Tega Cay   fsquid at 7/2/09 10:16am
Anyone played Tega Cay lately? I never hear much buzz about it and maybe that is justified
Stonebridge   Tom at 6/28/09 10:08pm
Played Stonebridge today, and it was awesome. The conditions of the fairways were country club-esque and the greens were in the usual top notch shape. They also have a free VIP program that gives you the lowest rate avaialble at all time. Highly recomend
Re: Round of Golf   Rob at 6/25/09 9:54am
Played Rocky River last Saturday. I thought it was in really good shape T-boxes needed work but fairways were really nice and the greens were very puttable.Price was great for the weekend with the coupon offered on there website. I say go for it!
Re: Round of Golf   Jamie at 6/24/09 7:35am
I have not played Rocky River in years. Good course overall, but try to avoid playing on weekends. Normally on weekends they used to put the pins in impossible locations at the edges, and the greens are big. You could hit the center of the green and still have 50 feet for birdie. Don't know if they still do this, but call ahead and ask sarcastically if they have the pins actually on the greens. Seriously though, it's a solid course, but find out the pin positions before you go.
Round of Golf   Mrbiolife at 6/23/09 3:43pm
Hello fellow B-Man visitors. I am planning on playing several courses in the Charlotte area and one of them is River Rock Golf course. I am reluctant to now, because I have heard so many negative things about the greens. I would prefer true greens, that are well maintained, but I do understand occasional greens that have been burned, as long as there has been in effort to have them repaired.

I am bringing some clients with me, and I know you're saying, there are better courses to play, but hold on, let me say that one of my clients played this course about 4 years ago, and he said when he was in the area again, he would want to visit it. Do you think we will be disappointed?

If I get good feed back, I will proceed with the planning, but if not, I will go by and check out the course myself to see. Anyways, I am hoping someone can save me a trip

thanks
Springfield   Chuck at 6/23/09 3:09pm
Just played Springfield and from tee to green the course is in great shape. I can only remember 1 green that had some brown spots but the flag was on the opposite end so no problem. Check there website as they have some special rates, I for one will play more than once this year.
Re: Emerald Lake Golf Club   B-Man at 6/20/09 10:54pm
I had received another review last week on email and wanted to post here:

"Just wanted to report that I have just played Emerald Lake Golf Club yesterday [6/13]. The course is in FANTASTIC shape!!! The greens are perfect!! The rough is deep. The fairways are true. Rumor is of a complete bunker renovation also. I would HIGHLY suggest everyone come play this track. It truely is a gem!!" [Will]

Don't quite know what to make of the disparate reviews...
The Divide   Graham at 6/18/09 2:02pm
I played The Divide on June 13th. We were delayed by 20 minutes from our original tee time and the groups were stacked up all day. All in all we had a 5.5 hour round and the conditions were pretty bad. The greens were soggy and were really tracked up around the holes. The tee boxes were horrible-- what little grass was growing on them desperately needed to be cut. The bunkers were among the worst in Charlotte-- some with standing water, some with 2 feet of course beach sand to slog around in, 1 with perfect white fluffy sand, one that had gravel in it, and the rest of them were thin and crusty. Several of the holes were double cut so that there was a rim of loose dirt around the edge. Fairways were okay but a bit shaggy. The only positive was the ranger and beer girl. Ranger was really nice and helpful with our disfunctional GPS-- the beer girl was an 11+ on a scale of 10 and charming to boot. I get the feeling that someone has cut the maintenance budget at this track by 50%.

There are some good holes out there on this one but I would wait until they get there act together from a maintenance perspective before I played again.
Re: golf vacation   Dave at 6/17/09 8:33pm
John - I'll give you four or five all of which have been commented on here:

Olde Sycamore
Springfield
Verdict Ridge
Skybrook

The other one I will mention because it's in great shape is Regent Park. Unfortunately it's hit or miss with the staff over there but the course is in nearly perfect shape.
Re: golf vacation   john n at 6/17/09 11:11am
Depending on you where you plan on staying, skill level, course type I would recommend the following.

Top 5 Southeast Charlotte
Ballantyne Resort
Olde Sycamore
Stonebridge
Springfield
Carolina Lakes

Good Value if you just want golf and dont care about clubhouse,cart drop,on course beverage service etc.

Charlotte National
Emerald Lakes
Regent Park
Charlotte Golf Links
The Divide

I would book online for any of the Carolina Trail courses as you can get 5 rounds for $150 and play there stable of courses.
golf vacation   john at 6/16/09 9:14pm
i was interested in taking the guys to charlotte instead if myrtle this year and have to pick a few courses what would be the best 4 close to charlotte
Edgewater   James at 6/16/09 7:54am
Though I haven't played there yet, I've read good things. I am on their e-mail list, and wanted to put the word out because they have a lot of fun tournaments going on to incentivize people to make the drive. Thought I would spread the word, so sign up if you're interested.
Emerald Lake Golf Club   Nate Vorback at 6/15/09 9:16pm
I played Emerald Lake over the weekend and was not impressed. I have read all the negative reviews on here, but most of them referred to the poor attitude of the staff, so I was hoping that the course conditions would make up for poor service. Nope. Neither was good. Greens are shaggy, bunkers have less sand in them than most childhood sand boxes and the tee boxes are even worse. Skip this track this season.
Tradition   Jin at 6/15/09 11:07am
Heard good things about the tradition so we took advantage of the coupon. Fairways were plush and the greens were fast. Great deal if you can make it out there... but the pace of play was horrible. Our 11:34 tee time was pushed back to 11:50 and we waited on every tee from 1-18. Obviously they are just trying to cram in as many tee times as they can for the business. if you have time to spare it's def worth a shot.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: