Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Last Call for Birkdale voucher   B-Man at 8/26/09 8:43pm
I've gotten rid of the Golf Links voucher but still have the Birkdale one. It's good for 2 people any day / any time through Monday. I leave Friday for a weekend trip out of town. So let me know ASAP if you are interested in it. Make me an offer!
Re: Weekday play   Rick at 8/25/09 10:20pm
Larry, I just started a new site with other golfers like you looking to find others to play golf. It's www.pickup18.com and it's free to join and use. We have a lot daily spots open to play and will be doing tournaments soon. Check it out.
Re: Rocky River   B-Man at 8/25/09 2:48pm
I spoke to the director of golf and PGA pro out at Rocky River. He acknowledged that they have 3 problem greens right now (#4, #10 and #16) with bad spots and will be re-sodding them soon. He expects they will be back in shape by mid-September. The problems started with flooding last year that required re-sodding and the new sod contained nematode worms that damaged the roots.

I'm interested to read other opinions on the current state of the course. The pro felt that the other 15 greens were very good and rolling well and he said they've kept the pins on the other 3 holes away from the bad spots. So it should still play fine.

I haven't been out to Rocky River in a while but I enjoy the layout and would like to get out there again. Let me know if you've played recently.
Weekday play   Larry at 8/25/09 1:09pm
Hey fellas, with school back in session now, I'm looking around to play during the week in the early morning. I usually have one weekday sometimes 2 or 3 available to get out and get a round in before 2pm. If anyone is looking to play during the week or has room for one more, give me a shot out by email. I live closest to Stonebridge and like playing there and also play Emerald Lakes too. Usually anything decent with a clickit coupon works for me!
Thanks.
Olde Sycamore   James at 8/23/09 7:49pm
Another great round at Olde Sycamore. I don't play there nearly enough as the condition of the course was immaculate as usual, much better than any of the Carolina Trail courses. It's a terrific layout and well worth $54 (with coupon) on weekends.
Re: Rocky River   panthersfann55 at 8/23/09 6:42pm
i've played this course twice in 2 years and always hear great layout bad greens. i think that when the hotel/conference center bought the course that's when it went really downhill. too expensive for what you get.
Verdict Ridge   Sean at 8/23/09 3:50pm
Verdict just punched the greens on Monday (8/16). The staff was kind enough to significantly reduce their rates during this time (~50% off). Tough to putt on aerated greens, but harder to pass up this layout for half price!
Rocky River   Sean at 8/23/09 3:48pm
Played Rocky River this morning (8/23) for the first time. The layout is pretty interesting and there are some great holes. However, the greens are really struggling. Many areas of dead grass and a few holes even have large (5x5 roughly) areas of dirt/mud. Probably a great course ... just not right now.
Re: Vouchers for Birkdale and CGL for sale   B-Man at 8/20/09 12:15pm
OK, I'm getting desperate to sell these vouchers since they expire 8/31. Make me an offer, please!
Emerald Lake   ruthless422 at 8/19/09 6:20pm
Played SAT/SUN and course was in excellent shape...greens in good shape, bunkers, etc...deal $140 for 4 people as well, can't beat it....nice practice facility, friendly staff.
Putts for Paws Tournament - Oct. 11th   B-Man at 8/19/09 8:14am
North Mecklenburg Animal Rescue's

Putts for Paws

October 11th 2009 9 am start
Highland Creek Golf Course

$100 per player includes morning refreshments and dinner after play.
100% of proceeds support North Mecklenburg Animal Rescue

Prizes and 50/50 Raffle
Hole sponsorship - $200
Memorial Hole Sponsorship for pets who have passed on - $25

Contact Lisa Baker (704) 2812046 or lhb1960@yahoo.com
www.northmecklenburganimal! rescue.org
Re: Recommend Course in Charlotte??   3putt at 8/18/09 5:57pm
Tough to say without knowing your situation. A lot depends on your schedule. Travel time? Skill level? Customer's skill level? And I assume you want to play something a bit more upscale as you are entertaining?

Highland Creek- I have yet to be disappointed at this course. Always an enjoyable round. Can be quite penal for a higher handicap. Forced carries, narrow driving areas, etc. Beautiful course and a great layout.

Skybrook- This place, for lack of a better word, oozes class. lol. I do not consider this course to be as tough as Highland Creek. Very playable. I think it gets a much more difficult reputation because it can be visually intimidating.

Verdict Ridge- worth the drive out to the sticks. Great track. Mountain golf, right in t! he Charlotte area. Still mixes in some holes along marshy areas for variety. Wonderful piece of land for a golf course. Lots of elevation change. Some very dramatic holes. Greens can seem a bit tricked up, but a lot of that is the terrain. Smart play is rewarded more often than not. As Dirty Harry says "A man's got to know his limitations".
Re: Vouchers for Birkdale and CGL for sale   B-Man at 8/17/09 9:08pm
These are still available and you can make an offer. They are good deals as is and better than current Clickit rates. I can't use 'em and they expire 8/31. Email me.
Recommend Course in Charlotte??   dave at 8/17/09 9:04pm
coming to charlotte on business Thursday and need a good place to take a customer. any suggestions?
Stonebridge   nicky helms at 8/17/09 8:48pm
played Stonebridge 8/16 the greens are beat up and no one repairs ball marks...why? too crowded due to the V I P card
So with the bad greens and pace of play will probably skip it for a while...
Red Bridge   nicky helms at 8/17/09 8:42pm
played 2 weeks ago for the first time..loved it.Shot 77 with a lost ball on #2 and was sort of pleased with the round.Most definitely will be back.....
Highland Creek review   B-Man at 8/16/09 10:58am
Received this update from James:

"Played Highland Creek yesterday, and echo everything B-man stated a few weeks back. On the positive side, the course was in immaculate shape, and the wasp problem had been solved. The greens ran very smooth (much more so than Birkdale), and the traps were well-maintained.

HOWEVER, the pin placements were ridiculous. There was one hole in particular, #6 I believe, where three of the four in our group hit the green with short chips and rolled back off the green. Not only does that reduce the fun factor, but it slows down play. We're not out there to play a tournament... Additionally, the GPS was to the center of the green. Why even have it?"

He also added this comment:

F>"B-man, I wonder if there is a way to share this blog with course supers or head pros so they can get the real story. I think it could be a powerful tool to improve the golfing experience around Charlotte."

If anyone of you here are friendly with course supers or pros, send them my way. I have talked to a few and sent some of the feedback posted here in the past, but it's not a regular thing. I would love to get them more involved in the discussion here.
Vouchers for Birkdale and CGL for sale   B-Man at 8/11/09 8:40pm
Hey everyone, I have some of those summer golf sale vouchers from Clickit for Birkdale and Charlotte Golf Links. They're good anytime, any day through 8/31, but with my schedule, I'm afraid I won't be able to use them. The vouchers were the original $29 (CGL) and $39 (Birkdale) deals. That's $8 and $5 off the current Clickit deals. Both vouchers are for a twosome -- so $58 and $78 total.

Just looking to sell them for face value so they don't go to waste. Email me through the Feedback form if you are interested.
J.D.   Stonebridge at 8/11/09 2:05pm
Played on Sunday and the course is in fairly good shape for this time of year. Greens were a little shaggy and they were watering them during the day....but decent shape. Play was painfully slow, however, with no Ranger in sight.
Re: Red Bridge   J.C. at 8/11/09 1:39pm
I just played Red Bridge last week and I found that it was a hard course maybe unbearable by the lack of markers and even markers that I think were just way off in terms of yardage. I love a challenge and not being a scratch golfer means most courses offer me that, but to not have a reasonable marker set up or when you do to have the incorrect measurement is ridiculous. I would love someone to GPS map this course just to see how off their yardages are so until they get GPS I will not be back
Re: Ashveville Area   Biggie at 8/11/09 10:37am
I played a course in Weaverville (oustide of Asheville) called Reems Creek. It was pretty with lots of views of the surrounding mountains, a lot of elevation changes (duh) and kinda short with an emphasis on target golf rather than grip it and rip it golf. While there I heard good things about a Mt. Mitchell Golf Course somewhere near Burnsville which I intend to try next time.
Red Bridge   Steven at 8/10/09 1:38pm
I would have to say that this is one of the best new courses. I played the back tees and the carry on some of the par 4's play much farther than the yardage (I think they need someone to re-measure the course). I'm looking for some more people to play golf with. Any good sites out there? I saw a new site today and thinking about joining...pickup18.com...anyone join it yet?
Ashveville Area   Ron at 8/10/09 9:02am
Does anyone have any suggestions for good affordable Asheville area courses? We are new to the area. Thank You.
Tradition   James at 8/9/09 7:02pm
Played The Tradition today. Can't argue with the price, but I have to say that I got what I payed for. Somehow, the course was super saturated even though there hasn't been any notable rain lately. Therefore, the greens were in TERRIBLE shape, and every putt bounced and wobbled it's way to the hole. Additionally, several bunkers were flooded and obviously haven't been maintained in a long while. The rest of the course was in fair shape, but I also suffered the fate of several mud balls, even with a driver in hand.

Overall, I love the layout at Tradition, and wish they would put a bit of money into the course. It's a much better layout than Birkdale, Divide, or Charlotte Golf Links for sure.
Re: Rocky River Golf Club   Jamie at 8/6/09 6:37am
I'll have to get back out there some time. I probably haven't played Rocky River in six or seven years. Great layout, but I got so sick of the crazy pin positions I started playing elsewhere. It's a shame to have such big greens and not want to use them.
Rocky River Golf Club   Lee F. at 8/4/09 9:50pm
Headed out to Rocky River Golf Club for the first time today. Wasn't extremely impressed with the course. Looks like it has some wear and tear, which is completely understandable for it being August right now.

The greens were consistent but had a lot of ball marks. The tee boxes were in bad condition. Fairways were fine and the rough was very thick. I hate being in the rough to begin with, and this course's rough made it that much harder.

I would say this is a "good" course. Not great, but not bad. Definitely a course to check out. It's right next to Lowe's Motor Speedway.
Red Bridge   Stephen at 8/4/09 1:56pm
I read some reviews on Redbridge and I have to agree. I am a scratch player and enjoyed certain aspects of the course. I play with a buddy who is a 4 handicap and 53 years old. There were multiple par 4's where the carry over trouble off the tee was 215 to 230 yards and he only barely made it a few times, others not so lucky. I like the 5 par 5's and 5 par 3's but the last hole is downright silly. I hit Driver, 6 iron, 8 iron, but my buddy hit driver, 3 wood, 2 hybrid (into the gulch) and wedge on. The greens are beautiful and it's nice to play a different surface than the traditional bent grass that's everywhere here.

So good luck and the 6700 yards from the black tees is misleading. It plays more like 7000 yards.
Springfield   J.D. at 8/3/09 8:54pm
Sadly, the greens at Springfield have degraded to the point where the course isn't worth the money. A shame, because all other parts of the course are fantastic.

Those damn, enormous bees have ruined at least 3 greens and about 8-9 others are in just general bad shape.
Charlotte Golf Rates and Play   Jamie at 8/3/09 3:21pm
I'm curious as to whether the BMAN or anyone else has seen any data on the relationship between volume of play and green fees at local courses. Many local courses like the Carolina Trail courses have cut rates this year and have offered summer discounts. Others like Springfield and Regent Park have not. Still others like Ballantyne Resort still charge noncompetitive prices and/or require you donate an arm or leg to play.

I'm just wondering what the effect of offering discounts or charging noncompetitive rates has had on volume of play, and whether these higher priced courses are getting what they bargained for.
Regent Park Golf Club   Lee F. at 8/2/09 9:30pm
I hit up Regent Park Golf Club for the first time ever today (8/2) and came away with a need to play it again. The layout is spectacular and the condition is even better. Could be one of the best maintained courses within 20 miles of downtown.

The course must drain well because we've gotten a good amount of rain this week and I couldn't even see many wet spots at all. Fairways, for the most part, are forgiving and the thick rough presents a challenge. The greens played well and the fringe is very well defined. In fact, the fringe helped save some of my approach shots from rolling off the green.

I paid $40 for twilight, which I'm not bragging about. Wish it could be a bit more affordable to play at Regent Park, but it's definitely worth the money.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: