Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Verdict Ridge   Chuck at 9/3/09 9:12pm
Played Verdict Ridge for the first time today. Enjoyed the layout, fairways and greens were both in great shape. It's about an hour drive from the house but will add this one to list and play again.

Clickitgolf had a coupon for $ 39 bucks.
Green Oaks   panthersfann55 at 9/3/09 7:37pm
One course I don't see on here is Green Oaks off of 601 south of Concord. If you are a beginner or want to practice your game without being pushed this place is great. $20 ($16 for seniors) is a great deal during the week. I've played a lot of courses on the list and I would have to say the money is in the greens. Right now I hate to say they roll more true and quick than some of the courses I've played here. Yes you may say it's a dog track (very simple design with very short rough) but we all can't fork out $40-$50 for greens fees (even with clickit). I shoot low 80's so I'm not a hacker, but for some reason when you spend more money the "golfer etiquette" is out the window ie.. slow play, fivesomes, non repaired ball marks and so on. So when reading some of the recent past comments I agree with B-Man. This is an info site for us golfers to use. I've played Emerald Lake several times and never had any issues with the staff. Very pleasant and great to deal with.
Re: Emerald Lake   B-Man at 9/3/09 6:41pm
Dan - if you send me a direct message or feedback and include your email address, I'd be happy to get your message back to the management at Emerald Lake so they can address it.

I am getting a little frustrated by the anonymous postings (with no email address) because I can't ask for more details. I'm paying more attention to these because it seems there are situations where the postings come from disgruntled former employees and are bogus. That's not what my site is all about.

Everyone - Please include as many specifics in your reviews as you can. And if you don't want your email address posted (but you want to include it so I can reply directly), just say so in your! message.

Emerald Lake   Dan at 9/3/09 6:24pm
I think Steve's message about Emerald Lake was right on the mark.......I only golfed there once for a 9 hole "dog fight" and will never go back. That place is in need of some serious help. The people there are absolutely terrible!!!! Before you slam me...I have nothing to gain from this since I just moved down here from Michigan 5 months ago. In fact, I think most of the local courses are highly overrated and OVER PRICED! I would sure like to meet the people who come on this site and post "great" things about the courses on your list. I am an avid golfer who plays to a 6 handicap and have played alot of the courses you mention and I would only give 3 or 4 of them a rating "nice" rating. It is almost like the course personal down here take what they have for granted.......
Re: Emerald Lake Golf Club   B-Man at 9/2/09 12:18pm
I have an update regarding this review based on a conversation with the GM at Emerald Lake. While I'm going to leave it posted until I can confirm 100%, please consider it a "suspicious" review -- meaning potentially bogus.

Stephen Boyles -- if you are out there, please contact me directly to resolve.
Re: Emerald Lake Golf Club   B-Man at 9/1/09 10:14pm
I guess I don't pay that much attention to pro shop guys taking my money or starters taking my greens fee slip, because I've never seen attitudes or behavior that would keep me from going back to play a nice course. Slow play, high prices, bad conditions -- now those things will keep me away for sure.

By the way, I'm happy to forward on any feedback or comments anyone has for course managers or pros. I have contacts at several courses now and most of them want to hear feedback and criticisms. If you include your email address, I'll let you know what I hear back in response.
Emerald Lake Golf Club   Stephen Boyles at 9/1/09 9:14pm
Played last week and forgot to post my review. This is my third time playing this golf course this year and I will officially never go back. The sad thing is it has nothing to do with the course itself. The course was in decent shape, nothing bad, but not as good as some others in the area. The problem is the staff. "Rude" does not even begin to cover it. I paid in the Pro Shop and was handled by a smug, cocky pro. I was "greeted" at the first tee by a grumpy man who clearly hated his job. The day ended with the General Manager telling me that "amateur golfers" are all hacks that should all play Top Flights and knock off clubs. I just don't get it. Beeman, I know that you said you were treated much differently, but I think that Emerald Lake might have known you were coming and rolled out the red carpet for you. It's just a shame. Good track, horrible customer service.
Re: Rocky River   Mike at 9/1/09 12:37am
I play Rocky River every couple weeks and the last time was 8/25... it was in good shape with the exception of a few greens having some problems. Usually the greens at RR roll as good as pretty much anything in the area, except maybe the Warrior. Other courses I have played this time of year have also had problems with greens as well, so I'm really not that surprised. Hopefully they will start growing back in before fall and should start rolling well again well before the end of the year.
2-Man Best Ball Tourney 9/27 at Red Bridge   B-Man at 8/31/09 7:49pm
Rick Scherer, from PickUp18.com, is organizing a 2-Man Best Ball Tournament on Sunday, September 27th at 11am. The site is Red Bridge Golf & Country Club. Rick says "For anyone that hasn't played the course yet, it is awesome! I think everyone will enjoy the layout of this championship course. The course is new, but in fantastic shape."

The cost is $79 per person which includes lunch. The prizes are:

1st place Gross - $300 (team)
1st place Net - $250 (team)
Long Drive - $100
Closest to pin - $100

With Gross and Net Prizes, every handicap will have a chance to win! You can sign up for the tournament as a single player (You'll be teamed with another single of similar handicap) or as a team. Also, all prizes will be paid on Visa/American Express gift cards that can be used ANYWHERE! The gross winners will not be eligible for the net prize. There are only 10 team spots (20 players) for this first tournament. You can sign up for the tournament and pay the entry fee online here:

http://pickup18.com/#/tournament/4535378188

This is first come, first serve and you will not be registered until payment for at least one player on the team has been received.

Let me know if you plan to play. I will be competing and I'd like to meet some of you who enjoy the site and provide regular updates.
Re: Golf trip weekend of 9/11   B-Man at 8/26/09 9:17pm
You didn't exactly pick the cream of the crop, Tim. There are plenty of good discounts offered on Clickitgolf.com (some of which you can purchase through my site). If you force me to rank these courses, I'd go:

1. The Tradition
2. The Divide
3. Charlotte Golf Links
4. Renaissance Park

I would rank Regent Park ahead of those 4. The conditions can of course change the order, depending on time of year. I've only played Golf Links recently.

I would still suggest you look at other courses and use a Clickit deal.
Golf trip weekend of 9/11   Tim at 8/26/09 9:08pm
Can anyone rank the following courses... I'm going to be in town on business and wanted to get two rounds in and ezlinks.com has discounts on the following courses:

Charlotte Golf Links
The Divide
Renaisannce Park
The Tradition

Plus, I heard good things about Regent Park. How would you rank this as well. Thanks for your help!

Tim
Last Call for Birkdale voucher   B-Man at 8/26/09 8:43pm
I've gotten rid of the Golf Links voucher but still have the Birkdale one. It's good for 2 people any day / any time through Monday. I leave Friday for a weekend trip out of town. So let me know ASAP if you are interested in it. Make me an offer!
Re: Weekday play   Rick at 8/25/09 10:20pm
Larry, I just started a new site with other golfers like you looking to find others to play golf. It's www.pickup18.com and it's free to join and use. We have a lot daily spots open to play and will be doing tournaments soon. Check it out.
Re: Rocky River   B-Man at 8/25/09 2:48pm
I spoke to the director of golf and PGA pro out at Rocky River. He acknowledged that they have 3 problem greens right now (#4, #10 and #16) with bad spots and will be re-sodding them soon. He expects they will be back in shape by mid-September. The problems started with flooding last year that required re-sodding and the new sod contained nematode worms that damaged the roots.

I'm interested to read other opinions on the current state of the course. The pro felt that the other 15 greens were very good and rolling well and he said they've kept the pins on the other 3 holes away from the bad spots. So it should still play fine.

I haven't been out to Rocky River in a while but I enjoy the layout and would like to get out there again. Let me know if you've played recently.
Weekday play   Larry at 8/25/09 1:09pm
Hey fellas, with school back in session now, I'm looking around to play during the week in the early morning. I usually have one weekday sometimes 2 or 3 available to get out and get a round in before 2pm. If anyone is looking to play during the week or has room for one more, give me a shot out by email. I live closest to Stonebridge and like playing there and also play Emerald Lakes too. Usually anything decent with a clickit coupon works for me!
Thanks.
Olde Sycamore   James at 8/23/09 7:49pm
Another great round at Olde Sycamore. I don't play there nearly enough as the condition of the course was immaculate as usual, much better than any of the Carolina Trail courses. It's a terrific layout and well worth $54 (with coupon) on weekends.
Re: Rocky River   panthersfann55 at 8/23/09 6:42pm
i've played this course twice in 2 years and always hear great layout bad greens. i think that when the hotel/conference center bought the course that's when it went really downhill. too expensive for what you get.
Verdict Ridge   Sean at 8/23/09 3:50pm
Verdict just punched the greens on Monday (8/16). The staff was kind enough to significantly reduce their rates during this time (~50% off). Tough to putt on aerated greens, but harder to pass up this layout for half price!
Rocky River   Sean at 8/23/09 3:48pm
Played Rocky River this morning (8/23) for the first time. The layout is pretty interesting and there are some great holes. However, the greens are really struggling. Many areas of dead grass and a few holes even have large (5x5 roughly) areas of dirt/mud. Probably a great course ... just not right now.
Re: Vouchers for Birkdale and CGL for sale   B-Man at 8/20/09 12:15pm
OK, I'm getting desperate to sell these vouchers since they expire 8/31. Make me an offer, please!
Emerald Lake   ruthless422 at 8/19/09 6:20pm
Played SAT/SUN and course was in excellent shape...greens in good shape, bunkers, etc...deal $140 for 4 people as well, can't beat it....nice practice facility, friendly staff.
Putts for Paws Tournament - Oct. 11th   B-Man at 8/19/09 8:14am
North Mecklenburg Animal Rescue's

Putts for Paws

October 11th 2009 9 am start
Highland Creek Golf Course

$100 per player includes morning refreshments and dinner after play.
100% of proceeds support North Mecklenburg Animal Rescue

Prizes and 50/50 Raffle
Hole sponsorship - $200
Memorial Hole Sponsorship for pets who have passed on - $25

Contact Lisa Baker (704) 2812046 or lhb1960@yahoo.com
www.northmecklenburganimal! rescue.org
Re: Recommend Course in Charlotte??   3putt at 8/18/09 5:57pm
Tough to say without knowing your situation. A lot depends on your schedule. Travel time? Skill level? Customer's skill level? And I assume you want to play something a bit more upscale as you are entertaining?

Highland Creek- I have yet to be disappointed at this course. Always an enjoyable round. Can be quite penal for a higher handicap. Forced carries, narrow driving areas, etc. Beautiful course and a great layout.

Skybrook- This place, for lack of a better word, oozes class. lol. I do not consider this course to be as tough as Highland Creek. Very playable. I think it gets a much more difficult reputation because it can be visually intimidating.

Verdict Ridge- worth the drive out to the sticks. Great track. Mountain golf, right in t! he Charlotte area. Still mixes in some holes along marshy areas for variety. Wonderful piece of land for a golf course. Lots of elevation change. Some very dramatic holes. Greens can seem a bit tricked up, but a lot of that is the terrain. Smart play is rewarded more often than not. As Dirty Harry says "A man's got to know his limitations".
Re: Vouchers for Birkdale and CGL for sale   B-Man at 8/17/09 9:08pm
These are still available and you can make an offer. They are good deals as is and better than current Clickit rates. I can't use 'em and they expire 8/31. Email me.
Recommend Course in Charlotte??   dave at 8/17/09 9:04pm
coming to charlotte on business Thursday and need a good place to take a customer. any suggestions?
Stonebridge   nicky helms at 8/17/09 8:48pm
played Stonebridge 8/16 the greens are beat up and no one repairs ball marks...why? too crowded due to the V I P card
So with the bad greens and pace of play will probably skip it for a while...
Red Bridge   nicky helms at 8/17/09 8:42pm
played 2 weeks ago for the first time..loved it.Shot 77 with a lost ball on #2 and was sort of pleased with the round.Most definitely will be back.....
Highland Creek review   B-Man at 8/16/09 10:58am
Received this update from James:

"Played Highland Creek yesterday, and echo everything B-man stated a few weeks back. On the positive side, the course was in immaculate shape, and the wasp problem had been solved. The greens ran very smooth (much more so than Birkdale), and the traps were well-maintained.

HOWEVER, the pin placements were ridiculous. There was one hole in particular, #6 I believe, where three of the four in our group hit the green with short chips and rolled back off the green. Not only does that reduce the fun factor, but it slows down play. We're not out there to play a tournament... Additionally, the GPS was to the center of the green. Why even have it?"

He also added this comment:

F>"B-man, I wonder if there is a way to share this blog with course supers or head pros so they can get the real story. I think it could be a powerful tool to improve the golfing experience around Charlotte."

If anyone of you here are friendly with course supers or pros, send them my way. I have talked to a few and sent some of the feedback posted here in the past, but it's not a regular thing. I would love to get them more involved in the discussion here.
Vouchers for Birkdale and CGL for sale   B-Man at 8/11/09 8:40pm
Hey everyone, I have some of those summer golf sale vouchers from Clickit for Birkdale and Charlotte Golf Links. They're good anytime, any day through 8/31, but with my schedule, I'm afraid I won't be able to use them. The vouchers were the original $29 (CGL) and $39 (Birkdale) deals. That's $8 and $5 off the current Clickit deals. Both vouchers are for a twosome -- so $58 and $78 total.

Just looking to sell them for face value so they don't go to waste. Email me through the Feedback form if you are interested.
J.D.   Stonebridge at 8/11/09 2:05pm
Played on Sunday and the course is in fairly good shape for this time of year. Greens were a little shaggy and they were watering them during the day....but decent shape. Play was painfully slow, however, with no Ranger in sight.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: