Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
The Divide   Jin at 10/5/09 8:21am
Played yesterday (10/4) and the greens look like they're about to go bad. At least half have spots that have been colored green with fertilizer or something. They seemed a bit dried out and super fast. Fairways and rough were good though. Rough is nice and thick... lost a ball on one of the par 5's b/c the rough was so dense. Bunkers are 50/50... some are hard with rocks and some are nice and soft. Pace of play was great! Hope something can be done about the greens...
Rocky River 9/20/09   Chuck at 10/4/09 5:44pm
Played here a few weeks ago. Overall, the course was in good condition. The fairways were nice and green, plenty to hit off of. Some of the greens were a little suspect of the trouble they are having out there with the re-sodding and the loss of some of the greens around the edges. Some un-fixed ball marks were not helping much either, but that is due to the laziness of some "golfers". Hopefully, with a lot of hard work and care, they can get the greens back to the caliber they were a few years back. Not really a $49.00 course for a 1:00 Sunday tee time. This course is a good $35-39 rate, not $50.00. Will definately go back, but it will be awhile.
Charles T Myers   Tarheel1 at 10/2/09 9:29pm
I would have to disagree with Don. I played Chucky T's on 9/30 and the course was in terrible condition. Bare spots on every green and most of the bunkers had mounds of mud/clay piled in it. It hadn't rained in days and there were bunkers still with standing water in them. Of course, you do get what you pay for and my $14 round eased the pain of putting across ball mark craters and bare dirt/sand.
Charles T Myers   Don at 10/2/09 7:42am
Played on 9/29. Course in fairly good shape at this point. You get what you pay for. I play here a lot because it is cheap and a fairly easy course that is pretty wide open. Greens had a good amt of sand on them but putts were fairly true and consistent. Most bunkers don't have sand and some have weeds growing out. It seems they may have just run out of money. Would be better to just turn the bunkers they can't keep up into fairway or rough.
Larkhaven   Don at 10/2/09 7:35am
Played on 9/29 and the greens were very inconsistent. Some were cut and some were not. Made for very inconsistent putting from hole to hole. There seems to be two types of grass on the greens.
Eagle Chase   panthersfann55 at 10/2/09 7:21am
Course in great shape. played a $30 play all day deal on Thursday.
Charity Golf Tournament at Red Bridge on Oct. 9th   B-Man at 9/30/09 11:01pm
The 2009 Annual Golf Classic to benefit Birthday Blessings, a charity that supports homeless children, will be held Friday October 9th at Red Bridge.

The cost is $80 per individual or $300 per foursome. There are also sponsorships available.

To get more info or to register for the tourney, visit the Birthday Blessings web site.
Visiting Charlotte   Patrick at 9/29/09 3:43pm
My boss and I will be in Charlotte late Oct. and have a free day to play some golf. What recommendations do you have? Looking to play a decent course without spending a fortune. We are staying in downtown so also need it to be fairly decent commute. Thanks
badin golf club   panthersfann55 at 9/24/09 6:22pm
played badin golf club today. what a nice tough golf course. head pro said they will be replacing the bermuda greens with bent grass by next year which will be a good thing. a few greens that needed work is the only complaint with this course. located a couple miles east of albemarle for $25 a challenge awaits you.
overall rating 1-bad to 5-excellent:
proshop -5
greens - 3
fairways - 5
bunkers - 5
good deal for the price
Divide   Jin at 9/23/09 12:21pm
Played there last week and I forgot to post a review. I agree with John, the greens were great (color was good and they rolled well)! Haven't played there since March when the greens had brown spots. Def will go back for a round soon.

Tega Cay update: not sure if anyone goes out there from this site but they are almost done resodding all 18 greens and are hoping to open back up early November. They are using Mini-verde, a bermuda hybrid which allows them to cut the greens short to allow them to roll fast. Hoping for the best... Also, they are making changes to a few greens to make them wider and more playable than before.
larkhaven   panthersfann55 at 9/22/09 6:08pm
really surprised at what this course has done over the past year. fairways in great shape. greens pretty good (for bermuda). the bunkers had actual sand in them. looks like managment invested to make this course more playable. will be back next week to play again ($26 afternoon rate)
Re: The Divide and Birkdale   John N at 9/22/09 9:47am
Played The Divide on Monday Sept 20th and was pleasantly surprised. The greens are in the best shape they have been in for a while. However alot of the greenside bunkers are still like hardpan. I have avoided this course over the past 6 months but if they can get the bunker issue resolve it will get some of its luster back.
Pickup18.com Golf Tournament this Sunday - 6 spots left   B-Man at 9/21/09 5:42pm
There are still 3 team spots (6 individual) open for the Pickup18.com tournament this Sunday at 11am at RedBridge Golf & Country Club. It's only $79 to play a great new course and compete for the prizes. The prizes are for gross & net so it doesn't matter what handicap you have, you will have an equal chance to win. That means you have a 20% chance to win with a full field (10 teams)! There will also be long drive and closest to the pin contests. If you are a single, Rick can pair you up with another single to form a 2-man team. This is also a great chance to meet other golfers. So come on out and have some fun.

Sign up now!

Charles T. Myers   Jamie at 9/21/09 6:36am
I cannot say this enough - call before you book a tee time when it's aeration season. Many times the pro shop will not mention they have aerated, and this was the case when I "played" at CT Myers this past Saturday. First hole - long drive in fairway, nine iron to the center of the green...surprise, surprise, a lovely punched green. I was pretty mad. The greens were not good at all, for obvious reasons. They likely aerated just a few days before. After nine holes I had reached the end of my patience and left the course. ALWAYS ask about aeration when you call, I don't care if it's in the middle of January.
Charlotte National   J.D. at 9/20/09 11:11pm
For this time of year, greens and fairways are in good shape. As usual, the rough is nasty here. Great value.
2nd Annual Ri Ra Golf Classic - Wed Oct 21, 2009 Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation   Ri Ra Irish Pub at 9/15/09 1:35pm
You are welcomed to join Ri Ra Irish Pub in our second annual Charity Golf Classic. This is your chance to get out and have some fun with Ri Ra while we are busy re-building you a brand new pub due to a fire back in May. We are pleased to be working with and supporting the charity the NC Fire Fighters Burned Childrens Fund. Our event is Wednesday October 21st, 2009 1 PM Shotgun start at beautiful Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation. Only $80 per/$320 a foursome with ALL proceeds to the Charity. Food, beverage (the good stuff of course!) and prizes provided all day. Please don't hesitate to register at www.rira.com (follow links to Charlotte golf site). CHEERS!
Renaissance Park   Jamie at 9/12/09 10:56am
Played Renaissance today. It's in decent shape, about what you would expect. Not great, but OK for the money. Watch out for the cartpaths though. They are really in rough shape; you'll rupture a disc in your back if you go too fast.
Chase Gordon Benefit tournament on 10/23   B-Man at 9/11/09 7:10am
The Chase Gordon Benefit Golf Tournament

will be held on Friday, October 23 with a 1:00pm shotgun start at Lancaster Country Club. The cost is $75 per player and includes tournament play and dinner/dance afterward for player and one guest. There will be prizes for Longest Drive and Closest to the Pin.

Chase is 2 years old and has Neuroblastoma. He is the son of David and Nicole Gordon of Health Springs, SC and is currently undergoing chemo treatments at Levine Children’s Hospital in Charlotte, NC. All proceeds from the tournament will be given to his family to help with his medical treatment and expenses.

To sign up as a player or a sponsor, please contact Jerry McKinney (704-582-1026) or Teresa Clemmer (803-320-0815).

Deadline to sign up is October 16.
Re: Courses near Hickory and Lenoir   Steve at 9/10/09 1:14pm
Verdict Ridge is the best (Denver, NC). Fox Den (Statesville) is another good track.
Courses near Hickory and Lenoir   Ron at 9/9/09 5:14pm
Hi, We are driving down from Boone to Charlotte and we were looking for a good course to play, not too expensive but a something nice. Any suggestions? Thank you.
Best public courses?   Bronson at 9/9/09 1:20pm
I will be visiting Charlotte at the end of the month.

Im looking to play 18 holes at a local course within 30 minutes of the South Park area, under 100-130 bucks.

I am a 3 handicap.

Suggestions?

Thanks.
The Divide and Birkdale   Jin at 9/9/09 11:05am
We're planning on playing both courses next week and was wondering if anyone could provide some insight. Last I heard about Divide was that it was a mess... hoping it got a little better. Thanks!!
Northlake Golf Club-2nd Year Anniversary   Mitzi at 9/8/09 1:59pm
I would like to invite all out this Saturday from 12:00 -5:00 p.m. to see what our membership offers. Our facility offers the best value in Charlotte to work on all aspects of your game. Come see for yourself why the membership is steadily growing and golfers are shaving strokes off their game. Fun, Food, Live Music, Contest.

We have been Featured in Golf Range Times, Golf Business Magazine & Charlotte Observer & The Charlotte Post.
We have the best practice value for Golfers.

Visit us on the website. www.northlakegolf.net

Re: out of towners   Jamie at 9/8/09 6:43am
Out of towners - you've chosen some good ones, but Verdict Ridge is a real challenge to play for your first round. It's one of the toughest tracks in this area. The other three are not quite as difficult, but Ballantyne Resort will give you a real test if the greens are running quick. I would say Verdict Ridge is the most visually appealing, if you're in to that. Enjoy your stay.
out of towners   DIPIPI at 9/7/09 11:13am
first of all - great site. I'm coming into town for the panthers eagles game this weekend with a buddy and we'll be playing a few rounds as well. After reviewing the posts on this site we've decided to play the following courses.

friday pm verdict ridge - wouldn't have even known about this course if i didn't find this site, thanks.

sat am - old sycamore
sat pm - ballantyne resort

sun - football - go birds! (just kidding)

mon am - skybrook

We are both about 15 handicaps and just want to know if you recommend any other courses instead of what we've chosen.

thanks,

bob
Stonebridge   J.D. at 9/5/09 10:42pm
Yep, I played a second round of 18 holes today, but this time at Stonebridge. Great conditions, as usual. Apparently, they're going to aerate right after Labor Day, so get those rounds in while you can!
Re: Red Bridge   Rick at 9/5/09 9:10pm
JD - We are having a tournament there later this month. It's a 2-Man Best Ball Tournament (see B-Man's message below). We still have few spots open if you're interested. You can go to www.pickup18.com to sign up.
Red Bridge   J.D. at 9/5/09 2:44pm
Loved it. The course was extremely fun, very challenging and in fantastic conditions. In time, they'll need some yardage markers and some white/red/yellow stakes, but this is a great course.

One gripe -- there are far too many golfers at this course that have no business playing here...especially not from the more difficult tees. I witnessed at least 4 groups of golfers that could not come close to breaking 100 from the red tees...and they insisted on playing from the black and white. They slowed up play for everybody. Morons.
Northlake   Bob at 9/4/09 10:40pm
As practice facilities go, it's nothing special. The range is slightly uphill out to about 110 yds then there's a dip in it out to about 180 yds where it starts back up hill again. Unless you're on the extreme left side of the range you can't tell how far you've hit it between those two yardages. The tee boxes are uneven and usually bear. The chipping area is OK but the bunkers around it don't have any sand in them and when they did it was hard as a rock. The putting green is worthless, it's not really even a green. The pavilion is nice, the cooler is usually full of water and there's plenty of places to sit. The other members there think nothing of having loud cell phone or other conversations. I probably won't renew my membership unless she starts managing it differently.
Unlimited Range Balls & Practice Time - $400   Mitzi at 9/4/09 5:49am
Northlake Golf Club - Private Practice Facility will be celebrating their 2nd Anniversary - Saturday September 12- 12:00-5:00 p.m. Food, Contest, Prizes, Live Music, Membership Promotions

www.northlakegolf.net


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: