Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Edgewater   Jamie at 11/30/09 6:57am
I have been trying to play new courses lately, and I had heard some good things about Edgewater in Lancaster. I played Friday (11/27) and was pleased at what I saw. The course is a haul from Charlotte, and is literally in the middle of nowhere, but it's a good layout with very nice greens. It will take some getting used to - I hit what I thought were several good approach shots, only to have 60' for birdie. I three-putted four times from long range; the greens are huge, with some tough contours. And several elevation changes present challenges for club selection. Overall I was happy with the course. The greens rolled very true, and the course design presented some unique holes. It's a course that will take a few rounds to adjust to, but it's a good one.
For Sale: Skybrook voucher for 2   B-Man at 11/25/09 4:24pm
Once again, it looks like I won't be able to use a Clickit voucher before it expires.

I have a voucher for Skybrook that is good for 2 players anytime, any day through the end of the year (12/31). I paid $70 for it ($35 per player).

Make me an offer. I don't want it to go to waste.
Regent Park   James at 11/17/09 7:43pm
For some reason this course had been off my radar for years. I'm not sure why, as I was unbelievably impressed with the conditions and layout during my round on Saturday. I took my dad there who was visiting from Buffalo, and he was blown away, saying it was his favorite of the four we've played here (Stonebridge, Carolina Lakes, & Verdict Ridge were the others). Of note, the course handled the 4" of rain rather well. Though it was cart path only, it wasn't a swamp out there, and the overall conditions were impeccable. We paid 4 for $179 for an 8:40 tee time on Saturday, which I would say is a steal.
Red Bridge   Jamie at 11/16/09 6:57am
I finally played Red Bridge Saturday 11/14. I had heard a lot about the course, so my buddies and I gave it a shot. A lot of comments posted on this board about the course are very accurate. We played from the tips - not advisable unless you are a low handicapper. I'm a 2, and I still shot 83. My brother and others friends are low to mid 80's golfers, and they both shot 92. Local knowledge is critical on this course, and if you have not played it before, you are at a big disadvantage. There are a lot of tight shots to fast, difficult greens, not to mention long forced carries, mainly because we were playing from the blues. There are also several blind shots that can catch you off guard. After 4 inches of rain, the course was very wet, and it likely played over 7000 yards in reality.

Overall a good layout, with an unusual variety of holes. I liked the uniqueness, but admittedly it is very difficult for the reasons I mentioned. There are several par 4's that would play like par 5's in these conditions for shorter hitters. There are also several areas staked as OB that make no sense, making some long par 4's that much more difficult. When I know the course better and it's dry, it will not be too bad, but I will have to bring my A game to shoot my handicap.
Verdict Ridge   Jamie at 11/9/09 4:05pm
I cannot believe I failed to practice what I preached. I posted a note a few months back about always asking about aeration when you call to make a tee time - REGARDLESS of the time of year. I called last week to schedule a tee time at Verdict Ridge. I get there today (11/9) with my brother who came up from Columbia just to play this course I was raving about. I first played Verdict Ridge 10 years ago when they opened and have not been back until today. Usually too expensive for me, and quite a drive. We get to the first tee, and I notice the #1 green looked a little light colored from a distance. I thought hmmmm that's weird, but did not think anything about it. I hit a great tee shot, then hit a wedge to the front section of the green. I get to the green and to my complete shock, they are aerated and sanded, apparently very recently.

I have been mad on the golf course many times, but this was more than just anger, it was extreme disappointment. I have been talking about this course to my brother for years, he finally comes up to play it for the first time, and this is what we get - surprise surprise!! I somehow managed to hole two long birdie putts, but it was mostly luck.

To all the course management or maintenance that frequent BMAN's site - you have got to find some way to warn golfers about adverse or unusual course conditions. When players call to reserve a tee time, could you please update them on things such as aeration or temporary greens? I really don't think that is asking too much. Hint - treat potential customers the same way you would want to be treated if you were calling.
Tega Cay   Jin at 10/29/09 5:03pm
Tega Cay is a place you'll either love or hate... usually hate at first because you have to know where to play the ball (target golf). In either case, they are finally opening back up this Sunday (11/1) after resodding all 18 of their greens. They enlarged most of the greens to their original size and made some changes. I'm sure the grass still needs some time to grow in, but the whole course has been closed down for 2 months so the tee boxes, fairways and bunkers have got to be nice!
Golf Events   Rich at 10/27/09 10:56am
Anyone know of any scramble events in the coming weeks?
Re: Springfield   Jamie at 10/27/09 6:36am
Yep I played Springfield on 10/18. Good course generally, but I have only played there once this year. Once they built the new clubhouse, the rates went up, and have been noncompetitive since then. I went through the same issue with Emerald Lake. I like the course, but I also have a golf budget each month. Olde Sycamore is a great course, but same issue. But, there are few courses along the fringes of the metro area that are great, and have more reasonable rates. Stonebridge in Mineral Springs is one of them. Another one is Fox Den in Troutman.
Springfield   Dan at 10/26/09 12:53pm
I decide to play Springfield this past Saturday and when I am driving to the course, it is raining hard. I get to the course and it is still raining, but decide to wait and see if it clears up. It lets up to a light drizzle, but I am still not sure we are going to play. Here's my issue....I go in and ask the guys in the pro shop if we stick it out and decide to play will they give us a break on the green fee's due to the rain. They say NO....CAN'T DO IT! What kind of logic is that? You can either lower your fee's by 20 dollars (and still make money) or get ZERO!!! How can that math add up?? Not only that, but they were charging 65 dollars for a course that has 1 green non-playable with a temporary pin that is un-playable? Are you kidding me? I mean, it is not like there was a waiting list of golfers, the place was ! empty. I guess I just don't understand the thinking of the area golf courses in this economy? Really DUMB people if you ask me.
Charity Tournament tomorrow (10/23) needs players!   B-Man at 10/22/09 3:28pm
Everyone: I just got a call today saying that this charity tournament is need of players for tomorrow! If you are free and want to help a great cause, give them a call and sign up.

The Chase Gordon Benefit Golf Tournament

will be held on Friday, October 23 with a 1:00pm shotgun start at Lancaster Country Club. The cost is $75 per player and includes tournament play and dinner/dance afterward for player and one guest. There will be prizes for Longest Drive and Closest to the Pin.

Chase is 2 years old and has Neuroblastoma. He is the son of David and Nicole Gordon of Health Springs, SC and is currently undergoing chemo treatments at Levine Children’s Hospital in Charlotte, NC. All proceeds from the tournament will be given to his family to help with his medical treatment and expenses.

To sign up as a player or a sponsor, please contact Jerry McKinney (704-582-1026) or Teresa Clemmer (803-320-0815).
Springfield   Jamie at 10/19/09 6:47am
Played Springfield yesterday afternoon (10/18) for the first time this year. Surprisingly not very crowded. There are just too many other courses in south Charlotte that are as good and are a better deal. Fairways were in good shape. Greens were mostly in good shape, some were a little spotty. #16 had a temporary green, which makes for a visually weird 100-yd tee shot to an unputtable ground surface. Just hit a sand wedge, take two putts and go to 17. A lot more home construction going on there. Overall still a good layout, but their green fees are noncompetitive. Same issue with nearby Regent Park, so they must be competing with each other.
Fox Den   James at 10/18/09 9:38pm
Played for the first time today. Nice course, good layout, and it was in impeccable condition. Better yet, the green fee was $29! We teed off at 12:08, and were done by 4:00. It was pretty chilly today, so the course was pretty deserted, but I wasn't complaining. Certainly worth visiting, but if I had my choice of courses 45 minutes from Charlotte, I would pick Verdict Ridge.
Ri Ra Charity Golf Classic   Greg Ruffino at 10/15/09 3:18pm
Time is running out to get registered for the 2nd Annual RiRa Irish Pub Charity Golf Classic, Wednesday October 21st 2009 at Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation. It is a 1 PM shotgun start scramble and ALL proceeds to benefit the NC Fire Fighters Burned Children Fund. Cost is only $80 per/$320 a foursome and will provide food, prizes and bev all day (the good stuff of course!). For registration and all info please visit www.rira.com and follow the links to the Charlotte page and Charlotte Golf Page. Hope to see you out there, CHEERS!
Westport Golf Club   Scott at 10/8/09 1:47pm
Hey everyone, We are moving into Westport and wanted to know if anyone knew much about the course. Any members on the site your opinion on whether to join would be appreciated. Thanks, Scott
Red Bridge   Doug at 10/7/09 8:09pm
Played Red Bridge on Saturday (10/3). I'm into my second year of occasional golfing, so take my comments with a grain of salt. Nevertheless, I thought this course was far more difficult than it needed to be.

The fairways are narrow, most holes are surrounded by woods on either sides, plenty of elevation make for difficult shots (they don't have hole maps yet either), and there's thick stuff everywhere. The rough right off the fairway is always thick. Greens moved fast and there's no such thing as a straight putt on this course. The course caps off with a par 5 614 yards on the white tees.

I don't mind a challenge, but for an occasional golfer looking to have fun and score well...look elsewhere...or be prepared to lose plenty of balls. I suspect they'll eventually make s!
ome changes, but it's a monster right now.
The Divide   Jin at 10/5/09 8:21am
Played yesterday (10/4) and the greens look like they're about to go bad. At least half have spots that have been colored green with fertilizer or something. They seemed a bit dried out and super fast. Fairways and rough were good though. Rough is nice and thick... lost a ball on one of the par 5's b/c the rough was so dense. Bunkers are 50/50... some are hard with rocks and some are nice and soft. Pace of play was great! Hope something can be done about the greens...
Rocky River 9/20/09   Chuck at 10/4/09 5:44pm
Played here a few weeks ago. Overall, the course was in good condition. The fairways were nice and green, plenty to hit off of. Some of the greens were a little suspect of the trouble they are having out there with the re-sodding and the loss of some of the greens around the edges. Some un-fixed ball marks were not helping much either, but that is due to the laziness of some "golfers". Hopefully, with a lot of hard work and care, they can get the greens back to the caliber they were a few years back. Not really a $49.00 course for a 1:00 Sunday tee time. This course is a good $35-39 rate, not $50.00. Will definately go back, but it will be awhile.
Charles T Myers   Tarheel1 at 10/2/09 9:29pm
I would have to disagree with Don. I played Chucky T's on 9/30 and the course was in terrible condition. Bare spots on every green and most of the bunkers had mounds of mud/clay piled in it. It hadn't rained in days and there were bunkers still with standing water in them. Of course, you do get what you pay for and my $14 round eased the pain of putting across ball mark craters and bare dirt/sand.
Charles T Myers   Don at 10/2/09 7:42am
Played on 9/29. Course in fairly good shape at this point. You get what you pay for. I play here a lot because it is cheap and a fairly easy course that is pretty wide open. Greens had a good amt of sand on them but putts were fairly true and consistent. Most bunkers don't have sand and some have weeds growing out. It seems they may have just run out of money. Would be better to just turn the bunkers they can't keep up into fairway or rough.
Larkhaven   Don at 10/2/09 7:35am
Played on 9/29 and the greens were very inconsistent. Some were cut and some were not. Made for very inconsistent putting from hole to hole. There seems to be two types of grass on the greens.
Eagle Chase   panthersfann55 at 10/2/09 7:21am
Course in great shape. played a $30 play all day deal on Thursday.
Charity Golf Tournament at Red Bridge on Oct. 9th   B-Man at 9/30/09 11:01pm
The 2009 Annual Golf Classic to benefit Birthday Blessings, a charity that supports homeless children, will be held Friday October 9th at Red Bridge.

The cost is $80 per individual or $300 per foursome. There are also sponsorships available.

To get more info or to register for the tourney, visit the Birthday Blessings web site.
Visiting Charlotte   Patrick at 9/29/09 3:43pm
My boss and I will be in Charlotte late Oct. and have a free day to play some golf. What recommendations do you have? Looking to play a decent course without spending a fortune. We are staying in downtown so also need it to be fairly decent commute. Thanks
badin golf club   panthersfann55 at 9/24/09 6:22pm
played badin golf club today. what a nice tough golf course. head pro said they will be replacing the bermuda greens with bent grass by next year which will be a good thing. a few greens that needed work is the only complaint with this course. located a couple miles east of albemarle for $25 a challenge awaits you.
overall rating 1-bad to 5-excellent:
proshop -5
greens - 3
fairways - 5
bunkers - 5
good deal for the price
Divide   Jin at 9/23/09 12:21pm
Played there last week and I forgot to post a review. I agree with John, the greens were great (color was good and they rolled well)! Haven't played there since March when the greens had brown spots. Def will go back for a round soon.

Tega Cay update: not sure if anyone goes out there from this site but they are almost done resodding all 18 greens and are hoping to open back up early November. They are using Mini-verde, a bermuda hybrid which allows them to cut the greens short to allow them to roll fast. Hoping for the best... Also, they are making changes to a few greens to make them wider and more playable than before.
larkhaven   panthersfann55 at 9/22/09 6:08pm
really surprised at what this course has done over the past year. fairways in great shape. greens pretty good (for bermuda). the bunkers had actual sand in them. looks like managment invested to make this course more playable. will be back next week to play again ($26 afternoon rate)
Re: The Divide and Birkdale   John N at 9/22/09 9:47am
Played The Divide on Monday Sept 20th and was pleasantly surprised. The greens are in the best shape they have been in for a while. However alot of the greenside bunkers are still like hardpan. I have avoided this course over the past 6 months but if they can get the bunker issue resolve it will get some of its luster back.
Pickup18.com Golf Tournament this Sunday - 6 spots left   B-Man at 9/21/09 5:42pm
There are still 3 team spots (6 individual) open for the Pickup18.com tournament this Sunday at 11am at RedBridge Golf & Country Club. It's only $79 to play a great new course and compete for the prizes. The prizes are for gross & net so it doesn't matter what handicap you have, you will have an equal chance to win. That means you have a 20% chance to win with a full field (10 teams)! There will also be long drive and closest to the pin contests. If you are a single, Rick can pair you up with another single to form a 2-man team. This is also a great chance to meet other golfers. So come on out and have some fun.

Sign up now!

Charles T. Myers   Jamie at 9/21/09 6:36am
I cannot say this enough - call before you book a tee time when it's aeration season. Many times the pro shop will not mention they have aerated, and this was the case when I "played" at CT Myers this past Saturday. First hole - long drive in fairway, nine iron to the center of the green...surprise, surprise, a lovely punched green. I was pretty mad. The greens were not good at all, for obvious reasons. They likely aerated just a few days before. After nine holes I had reached the end of my patience and left the course. ALWAYS ask about aeration when you call, I don't care if it's in the middle of January.
Charlotte National   J.D. at 9/20/09 11:11pm
For this time of year, greens and fairways are in good shape. As usual, the rough is nasty here. Great value.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: