Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Stonebridge   J.D. at 4/10/10 9:27pm
Greens are in very good shape for this time of year. Fairways are also good...and will be great soon.
Jim O. Hacker Golf Tournament Benefitting Charlotte Volunteers In Medicine Clinic   Brenda Underwood at 4/10/10 5:43pm
The Jim O. Hacker Memorial Golf Tournament Benefitting Charlotte Volunteers in Medicine Clinic. This event is an fundraiser for the clinic, all proceeds will benefit the clinic ability to continue to help the uninsured patients recieve primary health care in Mecklengburg County. For more information contact: Shadawn Stokes or Brenda Underwood at 704-350-1300 or check our website: www.cvimnc.org and click on tournament link.
Re: April Golf   B-Man at 4/8/10 5:05pm
I would like to hear more opinions. Recently I've heard several bad reviews of Rocky River and my last trip (granted it was 9 mos ago) to Highland Creek was disappointing.

EA -- have you played either course recently?
Re: April Golf   EA at 4/8/10 5:01pm
Highland Creek is better than Tradition, in my opinion - and in the same area and price range. Much less crowded, in better shape, nicer course, etc. I would switch your Tradition to Highland Creek or Rocky River. Skybrook, HCGC, and Rocky River are all nicer than Tradition.
eagle chase   panthersfann55 at 4/8/10 2:57pm
eagle chase is in good shape now. greens in good shape, but they will punch greens april 26-27. bunkers need a little work though.
Fox Den Country Club   Charles Pauller at 4/8/10 10:48am
Played Fox Den on Wednesday (04/07/10) for the first time. I live in Charlotte and never made it up there before. I enjoyed it very much. The course was in good shape and the layout is incredible. I paid $24 as a senior, but I am not sure what the regular rate is. I will be back. It is a great change of pace from the courses in Charlotte. Well worth the 35 minute drive.
eagle chase   panthersfann55 at 4/3/10 3:02pm
give eagle chase 1 more week and they should be good to go. they punched holes a few weeks ago and laid fertilizer on the greens thursday when we played. the fairways are starting to come in nice.
Re: April Golf   B-Man at 3/31/10 9:44pm
Thanks for the note, Jim. Yeah, give Skybrook a call and see what they can do. It's definitely worth playing and probably my favorite of the courses you mentioned. I have to pass along the recommendation I get very often -- though I haven't played it yet -- and that's Verdict Ridge. I hear it's beautiful, kept in great shape and very challenging.

Good luck.
April Golf   Jim at 3/31/10 12:12pm
A friend and I are coming down to Charlotte from Ohio April 15-17. We plan to play Birkdale twice and The Tradition and Skybrook once each. I experimented using the Carolina Trails to get tee times 7 days in advance. All the courses seem accessible except Skybrook. Is it better to call that course instead? If we can't get on Skybrook, can you recommend any other courses? We're staying at the Country Inn and Suites near the airport and would prefer to play west through northeast of Charlotte.

Great site, by the way.
Course conditons   Kevin at 3/26/10 11:12pm
I'm bringing a group of 8 golfers down to the Charlotte area from Canada in mid-April to kick off our golf season. handicaps in the group range anywhere from about 7-20+. At this point we're planning on playing Westport, The Warrior, Fox Den, Verdict Ridge, Skybrook, Olde Sycamore, Meadowlands (near Winston Salem) and Tanglewood's Championship course. Any feed back on what the conditions on those are like (and likely to be in mid-April) would be apreciated? We've played several of the courses last year (Westport, O-S, Meadowlands and Tanglewood will be new to us so I'm especially intersted in comments on those). Thanks
Charlotte National   TP at 3/25/10 7:02am
Just wanted to post that Charlotte National has aereated their greens. Looks like it had just been done. If you call ahead Vic and Robby will let you know how they are filling in. Lots of sand on them right now.
Carolina Trail Courses 'Recapitalization'?   B-Man at 3/22/10 3:22pm
Got this press release today:

THE IRI GOLF GROUP ANNOUNCES RECAPITALIZATION OF EIGHT PROPERTIES

I.R.I. Golf Group Chairman, Jeff Silverstein, announced today the restructure and recapitalization of eight properties. The properties include seven in North and South Carolina and one in Texas. The North and South Carolina properties include: Birkdale Golf Club, Charlotte Golf Links, Divide Golf Club, Highland Creek Golf Club, Skybrook Golf Club, Tradition Golf Club and Waterford Golf Club. The Golf Club at Twin Creeks in Allen, Texas, a suburb of Dallas, was also included in the recapitalization.

The restructure entailed the raising of new equity and a modification of its debt agreement with Textron Financial. Silverstein said, 'We are very pleased to stabilize this group of clubs and the company is rolling out a number of new programs to improve the customer experience.'

In what was described as the most difficult environment he has experienced in his 30 year career Silverstein said, 'I.R.I. is now positioned to operate in a more stable environment and is confident that the company will be able to use its current platform for growth in the future.'



This can only help the courses, right?

New to Charlotte   Don at 3/21/10 8:11pm
I'm looking for suggestions for my new "home" course. Especially interested in a Saturday morning regularly scheduled game based on handicaps and/or Stableford or modified Stableford. Any suggestions appreciated.
piney point & badin golf club   panthersfann55 at 3/20/10 4:04pm
b-man if you haven't tried either of these courses i would recommend. badin is on the other side albemarle and piney point is at the south end of lake tillery. i live in matthews and used to play charlotte national a lot. but since they are starting to get overcrowded and have consistant SLOW PLAY (infamous fivesomes)i choose to make the hour drive to play these courses along with eagle chase. they both have websites. badin has bermuda greens (2 were in need of some help but the pin placements made them playable) and we are playing piney point thurs (greens were fast last time so i'm looking for the same). clubhouse staff are great at both. rates are reasonable ($25-$30), layouts are challenging, and if you get on the e-mail list they will send you discount coupons. just giving some new ch! oices for you to enjoy.
Re: Aeration - Surprise Surprise!   B-Man at 3/13/10 9:42am
Thanks for the note, Jamie. I sent your note on to TJ Congleton, head pro at Emerald Lake, and he sent me the reply below. I also went out last Sunday and played the front 9 with TJ. I found the greens to be in very good shape, considering the recent aeration. I think the staff there did a great job making them very playable so soon after aeration. The greens were fairly quick, the sand did not alter putts significantly and the holes were completely filled. So I understand they weren't perfect, but the conditions were not bad, especially considering the reduced weekend price.

As for your suggestion that I send out questionnaires for local course managers to respond with aeration and condition updates, that's a GREAT idea. I have a few friendly contacts with several courses, but I could use any help my readers can provide as far as introducing me (virtually by email is fine) to local course managers that you know. I can definitely send out regular emails or letters to get maintenance schedules or special condition updates. Thanks for the suggestion.

Here's TJ's note about Jamie's experience (note that I withheld the name of the other course):





We have just hired a new Assistant that came over from [another local course]. I just talked with him about this, and he said that he was instructed at [the other local course] to NOT TELL anyone when they were punching. I have told him about our policy of telling everyone when they call that we have punched (even before we did punch) but, he might have let one slip. I take full responsibility for this. I may have been outside, or not in the shop. If I had been inside, I would have stopped him on the phone, and made sure he did actually tell them that we had punched. I have talked with him about this as soon as your email came through.

It is a fine line when it comes to telling people about aerifying greens, but we do feel that it is very important to be upfront and honest with people so that we do not encounter issues like this one. I know how it would feel (I have been in that position before) to get to a course, pay your money, and go to the first green to find they are punched. It is not fun, so coming from this stance, I know that it is very important to tell everyone that you have and be honest with them from the start.

If you want to test it, give us a call, and make a tee time. I guarantee that who ever picks up the phone to make your time will give you our typical breakdown of what’s going on... “We did punch Monday and Tuesday, using a small pencil tine, which is the reason for the reduced rate, but I assure you that the greens are in fine shape, they have been cut, top-dressed, and are rolling fine.”
Governors Run ??   Tricky at 3/13/10 1:21am
curious to see if anyone has played it?? My arch-rival keeps bragging about it...in Lamar S.C.
Aeration   Biggie at 3/9/10 11:04am
There is a section on Click it Golf entitled Course News that lists some information about aerations...
Aeration - Surprise Surprise!   Jamie at 3/7/10 12:51pm
Let us rejoice folks! I was once again hit between the eyes by another aeration surprise. This time it was Emerald Lake. I called on 3/2 to make a tee time - the price was $45. I get there Saturday and the price was $35. I asked why the difference, and you can guess the reason - they just aerated 3/1. They told me one thing over the phone, and another when I got there. Needless to say the greens did not putt well, very bumpy and sanded over. My playing partner asked them why they did not inform us of the aeration, which was unusually early this year. His answer was, and I am not joking - "we have been told to not inform people about it; if they specifically ask we will not lie and will tell them, but we never voluntarily reveal that type of information." What is the best word to describe this? ! How about ridiculous.

I was thinking that it might be a good idea to assist BMAN by suggesting an addition to this site - a short questionnaire or course conditions request to be sent to each course quarterly. Hopefully the superintendents would respond with updates on course conditions and aeration schedules. Hey it's just a thought. Opinion BMAN? Thanks.
course conditions/good choices?   early_teetime at 3/3/10 2:01pm
While enroute to Myrtle Beach a buddy and I are going to play a Charlotte area course on the way down, and another on the way back. I'm looking at Regent Park (have played there once and liked it) and wondered what kind of shape it's in. I'm thinking on the way back that we'll do Red Bridge. I know it's fairly new, but looks nice (at least in the pictures). Just wondered what current conditions are like (we'll be there March 26th) and if it's a good choices. We're about a 6 and 8 handicap respectively and just want scenic but challenging course. Would you recommend Red Bridge or should we look at something else?
Re: Group Trip   Hossnfeffer at 3/2/10 11:56pm
Thanks for the tip on Fort Mill, we are now looking at Springfield. Regent Park is aerating when we are going to be there.
golf   jeffo53 at 2/25/10 11:25am
I will be in Charlotte around the second week of April. We would like to play two rounds of golf before going on to Santee. Any suggestions of what golf courses to play
Re: Local Golf Leagues   @golfmage at 2/16/10 11:12am
Kyle, be ready to lay out some cash. There are several local Charlotte amateur "tours" offering buy-in games, points, and prizes and not requiring more than an hour or two of travel time. The leading sites are PickUp18.com, CharlotteGolfTour.com, and AmateurGolfTour.net. I've played all three, but I'm keeping my opinion to myself as to the quality of play, the level of service, how they are run, handicapping, and overall type of players. Let's just say they are different leagues, and one may be better than another in terms of what you are looking for in a golf game. Have at it and good luck.
Current conditions   Jeff at 2/13/10 3:43pm
Hi, I'm going to be in Southport area for 4 days 2/15 thru 2/18, are the courses in shape or snow covered. will i be able to get in a couple rounds.
Local Golf Leagues   Kyle J at 2/10/10 9:55pm
Does anyone know of an open golf league? I'm not ready to join a course, but would love to play regularly in a semi-competitive manner. Thanks
Re: Group Trip   Geof at 1/29/10 10:54am
if you are driving down after round, u can also consider Regent Park & Springfield...both off I-77 near the state line/Fort Mill area....Regent has a couple of tricked up greens but is overall a good track..Springfield is a GREAT but fair test overall....also down in Rock Hill there is Waterford..it was designed by Hale Irwin...it's a couple of minutes off I-77 in SC at exit 79 (kinda behind the Mall)...I think if you play Fort Mill CC you'll do better $$$ wise, and the front nine is great shape and a vintage Donald Ross design, but i'm afraid the back nine may disappoint a bit...
Re: Group Trip   panthersfann55 at 1/26/10 7:57pm
pretty neat course not too hard not too easy. they redid all 18 greens last year or the year before. make sure to ask about airifying. a lot of courses around town do it twice a year.
Re: Group Trip   Hossnfeffer at 1/24/10 11:41pm
After looking at some others, I was thinking of Fort Mill Golf Club, as sort of equivalent to Tanglewood.

Any thoughts on this place?
Group Trip   Hossnfeffer at 1/24/10 8:48pm
Big group trip to Hilton Head in the late March. 12 guys, handicaps probably average 15 or so - with some single digits lots of teens and maybe one or two guys with 22+.

Planning a stop-over play day in the Charlotte area and looking for a place to play 18 or 36 holes before going on down to Hilton Head. Our criteria:
Fair play - not too easy, not too hard (it will be early spring and many of us will maybe have hit a few balls at most). Just something nice.

Fair price - we used to play Tanglewood in Winston-Salem every spring. It was fun and was about $45 bucks on a Thursday I think. So something similar I suppose.

Easy to get to. We dont want to search all day for a course or a decent place to stay. Plus when we are done,! we are gonna finish the drive down to Hilton Head.

I have been doing a bit of reading and at first I thought about trying Tega Cay because of the 27 holes, but it sounds as tho it is no fun for first timers. I played ballentine once, and the course was ok, but not for the price.

Any ideas?
Re: upcoming golf trip   panthersfann55 at 1/10/10 4:35pm
- charlotte national is reasonable priced and a good golf course for all levels.
- monroe golf club (redid their front 9 greens last year). fun course to play.
- larkhaven overseeds but always call ahead for green info (very inconsistant).

Re: upcoming golf trip   TP at 1/8/10 7:02am
A little unknown gem that alot of people don't know about is White Plains in Pageland. Not overly long, very well kept and manicured and excellent greens. Kind of out of the way but very much worth the drive.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: