Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Where to play?   LaurenfromMA at 10/3/10 10:54am
Thanks for such great info on Charlotte courses! We're visiting for a few days, and will get to play 2 or 3 rounds of golf. "We" are a couple (over 50) - one with about a 12 handicap and a great short game and the other a struggling golfer who appreciates a significant ladies advantage. We're deciding where to stay, and it seems like we probably want to decide "north" (Verdict Ridge, Warrior, Skybrook or ?) or "east" (Old Sycamore, Emerald, Charlotte National, maybe Stonebridge) or possibly "south" (Ballantyne, Waterford, Carolina Lakes...)

Since we're on vacation, value isn't quite as important as a great experience. For us, great means good course conditions and layout, and fun to play on your first outing (not Red Brid! ge). I'm leaning toward the "east" cluster for us but would love input, especially regarding which courses to pick. Stonebridge sounds like it might be worth the drive, and Eagle Chase sounds like more of a challenge than I'm up to.

Thanks for any input on current conditions, now that it's cooler!
Re: Where to play?   tvrepairex at 9/24/10 5:41pm
CJ,If you want great carolina BBQ you need to try Gary's BBQ in China Grove ,NC on hwy 29N. or Lexington BBQ in Lexington ,NC off I-85.Both are north of Charlotte between 35 minutes to an hour.Also,Red Bridge in Locust,N.C. just east of Charlotte or the Warrior in China Grove are two good courses to try.
Re: Where to play?   CJ at 9/24/10 1:21pm
Thanks again for the information, I really appreciate it.

Sorta off topic, but do you have any good restaurant recommendations? I'm not a fine dining guy and I've never been to NC, but everyone tells me I need to eat Carolina bbq. A co-worker of mine said I had to go the The Penguin. Any other recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again for all of your input.
Where to play?   DrSchteeve at 9/23/10 8:14pm
Hate to say, as I was a fan the first time I played, but the conditions now at Cramer Mountain are not good - like many course, it's the greens: bare spots, poa anna (sp?), just not good.
where to play   malamute at 9/23/10 2:11pm
verdict ridge / red bridge / cramer mountain are some of the best courses in area
Re: Where to play?   wnb5th at 9/22/10 10:52pm
Carolina Lakes on 521 is a great golf... the nicest around in my humble opinion and over the past 10 years I have played the crap out of every course within 45 miles... edgewater is also great.
Re: Where to play?   DrSchteeve at 9/22/10 7:45pm
Ballantyne is a decent layout and most consistently offers "resort" conditions in Charlotte. They punched their greens back in July so they should be in good shape. It's all relative, but they are at the highest price point for daily fee courses in Charlotte, usually $75 or so. Especially given the greens issues that most courses have suffered, if the greens are in good shape the premium may be worth it. I would call and specifically ask about greens conditions.
Re: Where to play?   CJ at 9/22/10 6:20pm
Thank you for the suggestions. What are your thoughts on the course at the Ballantyne Resort?

Thanks again.
Fox Den   panthersfann55 at 9/22/10 2:03pm
Course in great shape. Greens healed nicely since they punched them 4 weeks ago. Wish the fairways were mowed on this visit but all in all still a great value.
Re: Where to play?   Dan at 9/14/10 3:52pm
I wouldn't get to excited about playing Cleghorn Plantation.
I was out there the last 2 weekends and each round took well over 5 hrs. The last round was 5 1/2 hrs. and when we voiced our displeasure......the guy working said "if you don't like it, then don't come back, we don't care". Who says something like that to a paying customer? I mean....all you hear about is how the courses aren't making money so the staff at Cleghorn says "don't come back"? Well guess what......I won't go back and neither will the other guys playing with me those times. Plus, they won't get any business from all of our other golf friends. Unbelievable!
Where to play?   DrSchteeve at 9/10/10 7:21am
Verdict Ridge (in Denver, NC, about 35 minutes north from down(up)town Charlotte).

Edgewater (in Lancaster, SC, about 45 minutes south)

A bit farther, Cleghorn Plantation (in Rutherfordton, NC, about 1 1/4 hours west)

Unfortunately, in my opinion, there aren't any "must play" courses closer in. However, if I was going to choose some closer courses, I would put Skybrook, Olde Sycamore, Red Bridge, and Regent Park on the list.
Out-of-state visitor - where to play?   CJ at 9/10/10 1:21am
I'm travelling to Charlotte in early October and am looking for some course recommendations. I'll be staying in downtown Charlotte but don't want to drive more than one hour to play.

What two courses would you recommend I play?

Thank you in advance.
Badin Lake   fran at 9/9/10 11:43am
I don't see Badin Lake Golf course listed here. Excellent course. Has undergone a tremendous amount of renovation in the last 5 years from the previously name Stanly Country Club. It is worth playing.
Re: Red Bridge review   egolfer at 9/8/10 12:59pm
yeah,hole 18 green may be the toughest green in charlotte area except for maybe the 9th at emerald lake.600 yards plus a severe slope to the front of the green makes pin placements tough.
Re: Red Bridge review   DrSchteeve at 9/8/10 10:33am
I agree that some of the pin placements are tough. However, if you practice putting on either of the two practice greens, you should be prepared as there are plenty of slopes and extremely difficult placements on the practice greens. It is difficult when you don't know the course really well, since where you place your ball relative to the pin(s) can make a huge difference in putting difficulty. For the most part, myself included, Red Bridge is a course that you have to play a lot before you really begin to appreciate it, even like it.
Re: Red Bridge review   tvrepairex at 9/7/10 7:06pm
Course is usually in good shape but they have a habit of making some pin placements almost unplayable such as the one at 16 you mentioned and also on the front of number 10 that is on a sever left to right slope.Another one is on the short par three over the lake.The green has a shelf and I've had the pins on the edge of the shelf.If you miss from the side or rear it rolls down the slope 20 feet away and if you are below the shelf and miss short,it will roll back to where you started.
Red Bridge review   t2green2 at 9/7/10 2:59pm
Bit of a hike from North Charlotte but well worth the drive. Overall the course plays firm and fast from tee to green. Bunkers and rough are well maintained. Greens? The greens? Well lemme tell you about those. They were excellent condition. Not as receptive bent which is acceptable and faster than the bernudas i have played on in the past.

My only copmplaints are a couple of holes (3 and 10) do not fit the eye as far as how or where to hit your drive.

The Green on 16. Well maybe not the green, The pin placement on the front is borderline nuts. I saw 2 putts from above and from the side of this pin roll off the fron of the green.

All in all it was a great course and should only get better. BTW we teed off early and were easily done in 4 hours.!
Kudos to Fox Den   Dr. Jones at 9/7/10 9:42am
Greens were recently aerated, but still the course was in really good shape.
Re: Please dont plagirize ???   Mr. Thomas A. Dray at 9/3/10 2:35pm
Thanks. It seemed as though you were taking credit for statements that were not your own.
Re: Please dont plagirize ???   outlier at 9/2/10 6:37pm
REALLY? What are you high? Just to be clear I absolutely googled the definition(s) pricing maker / elasticity. Those particular terms / definitions appear in most if not all managerial economics text books from middle school through PHd.

I don't think I ever insinuated I invented the concepts. I thought it was extremely clear that I used the applicable definitions to answer the question: "if we have too many courses why are the prices so high?"

MY original thought was that those terms help answer and add credibility to MY thesis....we pay more for public golf because the market is dominated by near 2 near monopoly.
tradition and skybrook   egolfer at 9/2/10 5:06pm
anyone played tradition or skybrook lately?just wanted to know what kind of shape they are in and if they are aerating greens.
Re: course conditions.   egolfer at 9/2/10 4:30pm
yes i played cabarrus cc last week. their greens are ok, kinda like the warrior.
Re: course conditions.   TurfHealer at 9/2/10 3:05pm
I just wanted to chime in on a recent post about course conditions posted by turfguy. I agree with your post except the reference to Quail. Quail does have a big budget, HOWEVER they stress the bent at the worst time of the year, May. While other superintendents have the luxury of late April/May aerifications and subsequent root drive time in April and May; Quail tears their root zone down mowing and rolling the greens in preparation and during the PGA event. Those three weeks are the best time stimulate root mass, and they are busy tearing it down. If you don't drive roots in May, and it gets hot early, like this year, then you probably are going to have trouble.
Turfguy, I too am in the turf side of the golf industry. This summer has been tough, but in many ways I think it has shined some light on the short-comings of years of skimping on solid aerification and topdressing programs. These high volume courses in the Charlotte area are masters at short-cutting or skipping aerifications and topdressings all together. I agree with your post, but I think Quail is a unfair reference that I have seen mentioned in the Charlotte Observer as well. It unfairly deflects responsibility from other courses, by pointing out that "even guys with big budgets" are having problems. When in my opinion Quail isn't giving a fair shot because of the timing of their event, and subsequent agronomic practices being timed around the event, not the grass....anyone played Cabarrus CC in the last couple weeks??
Tradition   malamute at 9/1/10 7:38pm
Can any one give an update on conditions at the Tradition?
thx
Re: Prices   The B-Man at 8/31/10 1:13pm
Regarding the posts about prices and walking, I think there are still good values around, especially for walking. A few courses that I would consider walking to get a reduced rate:

Monroe CC
Charlotte National
Stonebridge
Fort Mill

Borderline / Restricted walking policies:

Charlotte Golf Links
Olde Sycamore
Emerald Lake

Walkable but already a bargain and conditions not always great:

Larkhaven
Charles T Myers

Courses I would never walk:

Regent Park
The Divide
Renaissance Park
Skybrook
Carolina Lakes
Red Bridge
2017 PGA Championship at Quail Hollow   The B-Man at 8/31/10 12:53pm
Today's announcement means that the Carolinas will host 3 men's major championships over the next 7 years (2012 PGA at Kiawah and 2014 US Open at Pinehurst). Here are some links about today's announcement:
Re: Prices   Golfmage at 8/30/10 5:28pm
That's what I'm talking about. I use to walk Torrey Pines for a twilight rate of $6. In pro golf, greed rules. Part of the problem with golf in Charlotte is the NASCAR mentality, and the inbred desire that thinks if it's expensive, then it must be good. We're so far from the game's original intent, I won't start.
Please dont plagirize   Carmen San Diego at 8/30/10 12:14pm
Regarding price elasticity.

http://www.cu.edu.tr/insanlar/nerk/Dersler/ECON203Pof/Lecture%20notes/Chap011.doc
Prices   Mr. Thomas A. Dray at 8/30/10 12:10pm
Imagine if more courses were walkable. Example instead of the $55 green fee with cart on the weekend, to walk your fee would be $35. Too few quality walkable courses has everyone paying more for golf than they should in my opinion.

You simply cant walk places like Highland, Skybrook, Birkdale.
CT Myers   Jamie at 8/30/10 6:55am
Played yesterday (8/29), course is nothing to brag about. Very slow play, left after 9 holes because I could not be there 5.5 hours. A few greens were OK, but most were starting to get pretty bad. Very bumpy and chewed up for the most part. Overall the course is usually average, but nowadays it's not even that. You may want to give the course time to improve, so maybe try it in a few months.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: