Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
fall trip   peter iversen at 8/24/16 9:13pm
We have been invited as members for a day to irish creek and northstone. also playing rocky river. have played jones 5 or 6 times.....never jackson......is it a nice track?
like verdict ridge.....played 3 or 4 times....played red bridge once....a bit far this trip.
thought we might try skybrook....mixed reviews.....how is it?

love this site btw......nothing like this in nova scotia

ps....if anyone wants help with directions, lodging etc for cabot links or cliffs, im your guy
Rock Barn Jones Course is now private   IM4DHERD at 8/22/16 2:42pm
FYI - The Jones Course at Rock Barn is private to members only. The Tom Jackson Course, one of the best in the area, is still open for the rest of us.
Re: fall visit   BetterThanMost at 8/20/16 9:17pm
I'm not sure what is already on your itinerary, but you may want to check out Verdict Ridge, Rocky River, and River Oaks in addition to Larkin. Also, the renovated Mooresville Golf Course will be open by that time as well.
Re: fall visit   Jim at 8/20/16 8:38pm
Red Bridge is awesome! Great Golf shop and merchandise too.
fall visit   peter at 8/18/16 6:47pm
i am bringing 12 or so fellow nova scotians to the charlotte area for our 14th consecutive canadian pantherfanz golf and football holiday. we have one more course to fill....mon oct31 preferably in the am. we are staying on lake norman in mooresville.....dont mind driving a bit (45 min MAX each way) and are leaning toward larkin....good reviews/price/location. any other strong suggestions....thanks
Information regarding Lincoln Country Club   HittOD at 8/4/16 1:10pm
This is a review of Lincoln Country Club (LCC), in Lincolnton, NC. LCC is not available as selection on the "Post a Review" section of BMan's website. I'll try not to be too biased, as I am a member of this club. LCC had trouble over the years with maintaining bent greens in the summer, partly due to financial difficulties. LCC was bought by a local business man a few years ago, and my guess is that close to 2 million dollars has been infused into the club. This includes a new swimming pool, clubhouse upgrades, new maintainence equipment, enlarged parking areas, and the golf course itself.
The club was closed from mid May 2016 to the first part of July 2016 for a greens renovation project. The greens were re-sodded with Diamond Zoysia! grass, and the contours of some of the greens were upgraded to provide for more possible pin placements. This is the same type grass as that of the greens of Eagle Chase in Marshville, NC. All greens were enlarged some. These greens are very nice and are coming into their own. Their speed should increase throughout the coming months.
The fairways are full, with well defined rough. Most tee boxes are in very good shape, with a few needing some work. I dare say that the golf course is in the best shape that I have ever seen. I have lived on this course since 2001. LCC provides a good variety of holes not necessarily favoring a drawer or fader of the golf ball.
I suspect that most people reading this review are in the Charlotte area, but I would recommend checking out Lincoln Country Club if you get a chance. The food service is excellent, and many locals are choosing LCC for lunch and dinner.
Re: Instruction   Swifty at 8/3/16 9:20pm
I have taken lessons at Leatherman, with Chris, and really enjoyed it. The price is on par with other top end places like Dana Rader's School at Ballantyne, and both are great.
Re: Click it golf   Jeff at 8/2/16 3:24pm
I have been going back and forth with them for nearly 2 months. I messaged them on Facebook numerous times and initially I would get a response with something to the effect of "We are going through an audit and it will be a few more days" I got this at least 3 times. Then the responses stopped for the past month. I then responded to someone on a thread on the facebook page who was having a similar issue and the thread was deleted.

The person who was having an issue responded to me and said they reactivated his balance. I then posted a message on their page detailing all of this and it was deleted later in the day. They are not responding to anything. Then later that day I received this email:

Update on ClickGolf.com Credits



As you may be aware, Clickitgolf.com was recently acquired out of pre-foreclosure. After the close of the transaction, certain liabilities were discovered that were not disclosed, including “Clickit Cash” balances. This was obviously a surprise to us, and we are working diligently to work this out.

On some accounts, there has been fraudulent activity and usage that was against he terms of use and service. This activity includes but is not limited to:
· Using Credits to purchase discounted gift certificates
· Using Credits to purchase credits
· Using credits to get further discounts and coupons
· Improper extension of 12 months expiration dates.

The laws are very clear on who is responsible for these balances, and the acquirer is NOT legally required to absorb these balances. It is our intentio! n to allow Clickit Golf members to realize actual cash value t! hat has been put into the system, but also credit back any fraudulent or improper usage of the system.

As a courtesy, over the next few months, we will allow users that have used the system honestly to use credits for rounds purchased (not coupons or special offers as the terms of service outlines). However, Clickit Cash credits will not be unlocked until this audit is complete, which could unfortunately take several more months. There will be no refunds, as the acquirer did not realize the cash put into the system in the first place.

The Eight Round Promo codes will be permitted to be used next week.

The Acquirer, Clickit Golf, Inc and the new management team, are as upset about this as you may be, and we are working to recover the cash balances on your behalf so you can use them. We appreciate your patience and apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.
%3! Cbr /> Best regards,

David Moore
President
Clickit Golf, Inc
Re: Click it golf   The B-Man at 7/31/16 4:07pm
I contacted Chris Quinn at Clickit and he said this was a temporary problem as they upgrade their website checkout process. He's going to give me a further update this week, but I believe your gift certificates are safe.
Click it golf   NormInChar at 7/29/16 7:21pm
Did anyone else get screwed over by Click it golf ? Looks like they were sold and now they are not honoring credits on gift certificates and click it cash. Looks like I'm out 200 bucks from a gift certificate I received during the holidays. I really loved the site but may have to look else where when looking to book tee times just out of principle. Anyone else have suggestions on where to pick up best pricing on Charlotte area golf courses ?
Pace of Play at Emerald Lake   ccharles at 7/22/16 11:59am
Got this email from Emerald Lake today:

"To further enhance your experience while playing Emerald Lake Golf Club, we are now launching Operation P.O.P. (Pace Of Play). With this new program, we are committed to getting you around our golf course as quickly as possible. We understand that people do not have 5 hours to spend on a golf course nowadays, so Emerald Lake has paired up with the Carolina Golf Association to institute a 4 hour and 12 minute pace of play. Along with this new operation, we have also added the following measures to help "speed up play":
-We are cutting the rough half an inch to make it easier to find your ball.
-We are bringing food out more frequently to the course to cut down on your turn time.
-We hav! e hired rangers at problem areas to help spot errant golf shots."

I think this is great and much needed at Emerald Lake. My last several rounds there have been excruciatingly long.
Instruction   Longiron84 at 5/22/16 1:42am
Has any taken a lesson at leatherman golf or the Charlotte impact performance center?
Re: Seniors golf   oneputt at 4/10/16 8:14am
I dont know if you have gotten the info you were looking for but I would strongly recommend that you look into Fort Mill golf club. They have a regular Tuesday and Thursday senior event. I play on Thursday and enjoy the golf and the companionship. Format for Thursday is a stroke game,net. They also pay out skins. Tuesday's format changes but is usually some form of a scramble. If you are looking for a game get in touch with me. I am 67, play to a 6.4 index and pretty much play all over.

Bill Riddle
billriddle4183@gmail.com
Gastonia/85 South from CLT   jscum13 at 3/23/16 10:23am
what's the best courses out in Gastonia off 85 South to play? Heading past that direction for the weekend, want to fit a round in. I'm a degenerate...I know.
Re: Seniors golf   TheClaw at 3/7/16 1:49pm
I would highly recommend trying out this

http://www.senioramateurgolftour.net/
Seniors golf   Doug McDade at 3/6/16 10:00am
Looking for golf during the week. Shoot 82/92. Just turned 60. Preferably south of Charlotte and in SC. 704-287-3062.
Course Recommendations   Brian at 3/3/16 12:07pm
Looking to meet a friend between here and Winston Salem. Any recommendations? How is Irish Creek? Played Warrior a few years ago. Not sure what the latest is on it.

Thanks,
Brian
Re: looking for indoor golf   slowmofo at 1/15/16 11:51am
Not open yet, but this place is awesome

http://www.charlotteobserver.com/news/business/biz-columns-blogs/development/article40313238.html

Christmas golf   Mike at 12/24/15 10:42am
Any courses open? I know there's a shotgun start somewhere. But like an idiot I deleted that email.
looking for indoor golf   dyork at 12/21/15 4:06pm
Does anyone know of any indoor golf facilities with simulators in the area? Doesn't have to be anything official, could be a bar with a sim or an all out training facility.

Thanks in advance
Regent Park   Nate at 12/20/15 8:48pm
Regent Park hasn't been officially sold so they are still running as normal. Which yes, means the course is in eh shape.
Regent Park   dongtrgolfer at 11/16/15 4:04pm
Regent Park to close early next year. Played last week and could tell the maintenance just not occurring.
Re: Charlotte Golf   dirishoh at 10/13/15 7:31pm
thanks for the recommendations...once I decide you are more then welcome
Re: Charlotte Golf   dyork at 10/13/15 4:51pm
Hey, I just moved down here myself from Philly a few months ago...

I've played Renaissance Park Golf Course which isn't too far from where you're staying. Its no Glen Mills, but it has some very unique holes and a lot of potential, just that ownership doesn't seem to give a damn about maxing out its potential. This would be a good budget-friendly option.

Further south I've played Tega Cay, in South Carolina. Great course all around, easy front 9, challenging back 9. Course is always in great condition... problem is, its not exactly a quick cab ride away... but worth considering and probably best bang for your buck.

I haven't played the golf club at Ballantyne yet, but hear great things about it. The head pro there has been on the golf ch! annel a couple times. This is pricier, and again, a bit of a distance if you're travelling by Uber, but if you're looking for a luxury experience I would recommend it. Might even join you if I was invited ;-) (being my birthday weekend and all).

There's a little 9 hole course near your hotel on South Blvd... can't say I've heard much about it, or played there... but its 9 holes and owned by the city so, play at your own risk.

Hope this helps. Go Eagles!
Charlotte Golf   dirishoh at 10/13/15 12:20pm
16 Phila. Eagle fans and golfers coming to Charlotte weekend of 10/23. Need recommendation on 2-3 must play courses while staying in Charlotte. Group handicaps range from 12- 25. Probably using Uber to get to and from courses so not too far from hotel on S. Tyron Street in Charlotte. Advice and recommendation greatly appreciated.
Re: Best area for a golf trip?   dongtrgolfer at 10/9/15 10:47am
I would stay south in SC. Course choices are in order of my preference: Edgewater, Springfield, Tega Cay, Fort Mill, and Lancaster.
Best area for a golf trip?   Mohan at 10/7/15 7:56pm
Hey what's up. I'm coming down to Charlotte with a few friends for a three day trip and we're trying to figure out the right area to stay. Looks like we can go north, east, and southwest (into SC). Any recommendations? We're looking for some fairly nice courses - nothing luxurious, we all shoot in the 80s and 90s.

Thanks for the help!
Re: Water resistant golf courses?   tvrepairex at 10/3/15 11:07am
Eagle Chase near Marshville drains really well.Very Rare to have a cartpath only day.
Re: Water resistant golf courses?   oneputt at 10/2/15 8:15am
Fort Mill is a course that drains well. Traps are also draining well.
Water resistant golf courses?   HateSlowPlay at 10/1/15 3:56pm
With all the rain around, I would like to know which courses around here drain relatively well? Just in case the sun peeks out long enough to fool me into playing.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: