Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Course Information   Josey at 8/6/11 1:32pm
Thank you, I will check them out.
Re: Course Information   Matt at 8/6/11 11:21am
Great Courses: Springfield, Olde Sycamore, Charlotte National
For the value Charlotte National is #1
Course Information   Josey at 8/5/11 6:20pm
We have a co-worker moving to the Charlotte area. We would like to get him a gift certificate to play golf at one of the courses. Which course would any of you recommend? Thank you, Josey
Rock Barn   CU_Tigerfan at 8/2/11 9:35am
I played at Rock Barn up near Hickory a couple of weeks ago thanks to a big discount on Click-It. This is where they play one of the Champions Tour Events. Having seen it on TV a little bit, I didn't really have great expectations, but I was very pleasantly surprised. It was an absolutely beautiful course in great shape. You really had to think your way around on every shot. It amazes me how low those "old" guys can go on a course like that. Well worth the trip if you can get a discounted price. B-Man: You might want to think about adding this to your list of courses.
Re: Springfield   malamute at 7/24/11 3:00pm
seems they are trying to pass on the cost of the new greens to the customers by increasing the greens fees which are way too high
Springfield   DrSchteeve at 7/23/11 9:42pm
My understanding of new greens is that they take a few years to soften and become receptive. Hopefully that will happen with Springfield. Don't get me wrong - for putting, the greens were great. But for receiving shots, not so much, and the layout of the course is such that you need either receptive greens (nope) or you have to play perfect shot angles into just the right spots on the greens or you are bouncing off into bunkers or rough, especially hard from some of the distances - 9 irons should have a chance, but not hybrids. Again, for the frequent players, this might be fun and challenging, but for someone who doesn't have a lot of experience with the course, quite frustrating. Plus, right now, they are at the high end of the public play cost range.
Re: DrSchteeve, Springfield Walking   Paul at 7/21/11 12:25pm
DrSchteeve,

I have not played there since they redid their greens with this miniverde stuff. I played at Waterford, and their miniverde greens are trampolines. I hit wedges with Nike One Tour balls that my 2 year old could probably rip back they spin so much, and the ball released forward there..it was crazy.
I really hope Springfield's greens are not this hard and bouncy. Makes me realize how much I really enjoy Bent Grass. I guess Tega Cay and Ballantyne went with this grass too. Surely, Ballantyne has them set up differently than Waterford, and hopefully Springfield too, being that they charge 65 bucks on Saturday.
Springfield   DrSchteeve at 7/20/11 8:36pm
Not walking friendly. Actually, just not friendly - greens very nonrecptive with the angles required for many shots. If you play it all the time, you probably could figure out the angles of the fairways and greens, but to play occasionally, very difficult.
Springfield - Walking the course??   Paul at 7/20/11 9:15am
Hello there golf peeps.
Have any of you ever walked Springfield? I see people walking it from time to time, but it definitely seems like it is not the most walking friendly course, but hopefully I am wrong.
Thoughts?
Re: easiest way to get a USGA handicap?   El Supremo at 7/19/11 8:16am
I use My Scorecard.

myscorecard.com
easiest way to get a USGA handicap?   marcjvr at 7/19/11 6:37am
Hi All

I am looking to get an official USGA handicap and was wondering what the easiest/cheapest way to go about it is here in Charlotte?

It has to be an official USGA handicap.

Looks like Ratcliffe golf services offers one with their package but I never play any of their courses.

Interested to hear what other decent options are out there...

Thanks
Anyone need a 4th this weekend? Or want to setup a tee time somewhere?   ILL-INI at 7/12/11 5:38pm
I see a lot of you guys posting reviews, as do I, and I am going to try and get out this weekend for a round. I'm thinking Olde Sycamore, Stonebridge, maybe Charlotte National, etc. Anyone from the site need a 4th this weekend or want to start a 4-some? I might have 1 other guy that wants to play but other than that no one I know is playing this weekend. I would sort of like to play morning if possible to beat as much of the heat as possible but if not I can play anytime. I am anywhere from 79 - 86 so I shouldn't slow you up, hopefully. ;) My name is Jason - shoot me a text if you want to group up or need a 4th. 704-287-8746. Thanks!
Charlotte National   Jamie at 7/11/11 9:17pm
Played for the first time at Charlotte National in over a year on Saturday 7/9/11. Course was in good shape except for the bunkers - some had little to no sand. Greens were recently mini-punched, and unusually slow. They rolled well, but you needed s sledgehammer on uphill putts. As for the clubhouse, still a trailer, so there still really isn't one. After 15 years in business - if the trailer continues to deteriorate, they will be forced to either build a clubhouse or shut down. At some point something has to give. Very strange situation for such a good course.
Which course to play   DrSchteeve at 7/10/11 9:25pm
Verdict Ridge, absolutely. Skybrook, also great. Olde Sycamore, yes. Different level - the "working man's" course, Eagle Chase. Ballantyne - no.
Re: Only one day in Charlotte, Which course is a must play?   sawlog at 7/9/11 8:18am
Although I have not played the course. I have heard great things about Verdict Ridge. This is on my list of places nearby to play.
Re: Re: Only one day in Charlotte, Which course is a must play?   Chad at 7/8/11 7:48pm
Thanks El Sup
Re: Only one day in Charlotte, Which course is a must play?   El Supremo at 7/8/11 7:16pm
Of the three courses you listed, Verdict is the best. Skip Ballantyne. Also consider Springfield and Olde Sycamore.

Only one day in Charlotte, Which course is a must play?   Chad at 7/8/11 6:58pm
Heading to the Charlotte area on Monday July 11. We have enough time for one round of golf. Which course would be the must play in this area? So far, I'm
looking at Ballantyne, Verdict Ridge, and Skybrook. Any suggestions or comments are appreciated.

Thanks,

Chad
olde sycamore   roy at 7/4/11 7:13pm
I had the honor of playing with THE B Man today at Olde Sycamore. Overall the course was in good shape, fairways rolling and the greens were true throughout the round.
Stonebridge July 3   amish at 7/3/11 10:23pm
Very Green, good shape, but ball marks on the green. Above avg shape and played in 4hrs on SAT AM
Highland Creek   DrSchteeve at 6/18/11 6:13pm
I didn't play, but someone I know said that the greens are starting to come back from the "mini-punch" they did in May, and overall conditions not bad. Unraked traps are something Highland Creek has had an issue with for a while (I mean that the overall condition of the bunkers is often suspect, not just that people don't rake the traps after their shots).
Highland Creek   estanwick at 6/15/11 12:42pm
Has anybody played Highland Creek in the last couple weeks?
Emerald Lake review 6/4   Msearch at 6/4/11 2:34pm
Played Emerald Lake this AM and course is in good condition but greens are not as fast as they usually are. That's ok, cause they rolled true, but I do miss them being quick and rolling out like they normally do. We had a threesome and a single celebrity joined us. The B Man himself. I had no clue who he was, and I thought he had gray/white hair until I saw it was "Flair Hair"...He had 3 birdies, and a few chip ins...Nice meeting you B Man, and great playing!
Re: Ballantyne update   outliar at 6/3/11 1:33pm
Smokey Bissell and his in-laws (Johnny / Cam Harris) own half...the most expensive half of Charlotte; and they act like it.

Therefore there is no disruption to play- "cause they said so".
Ballantyne update   The B-Man at 6/2/11 11:21pm
Remember my review from 4 weeks ago and how I was upset that the regular email updates gave no warning about the renovation? Well, it finally came in their latest email, but if you ask me, it's too little too late. And, I don't agree that the renovation causes "no significant disruption in play" or that the temporary 8th hole setup is "very playable". Judge for yourself:

The Golf Club at Ballantyne announces work is underway to redo its 8th hole. Due to the construction of a new office building adjacent to the existing 8th hole green and 2nd hole tee boxes, The Golf Club at Ballantyne is making the following improvements:
  • Relocated and enlarged 8th green
  • New tee boxes on 2nd hole
  • Additiona! l fairway bunkers & extension of existing 8th fairway bunker
  • Additional 8th hole tee box

We look forward to featuring a more approachable 8th hole putting surface with more pin locations and increased playability. The enhancements are due to be completed in late July. Meanwhile, no significant disruption to play is anticipated during the renovations due to the availability of a shortened but very playable 8th hole.
Carolina Lakes   DrSchteeve at 6/2/11 1:11pm
Anybody play recently? Their telephone message on course conditions says that on Memorial Day they were playing the front 9 only, which makes me wonder if something is up.
The golf business   DrSchteeve at 6/1/11 7:18pm
Although there are a few higher end daily fee courses charging premium pricing right now (Verdict Ridge and Olde Sycamore are both $60+ for weekend morning play), it seems like many courses are desperate for cash, with lots of "pay now, play later" deals. Everywhere I have played this year (and I play once or twice a week) has not seemed crowded. Golf stores: not crowded. Seems to me the economy is slamming the golf business right now.
springfield   malamute at 5/31/11 6:55pm
is punching greens this week / running a reduced greens fee special
Waterford   Jamie at 5/30/11 10:17am
Played Waterford yesterday (5/29/11). Course is in pretty good shape, but the greens were unusually slow. Actually they were probably the slowest I have ever seen there. Fairways were pretty good. There were several bunkers with standing water, but the fairways played hard and fast - weird. Overall, I give it a B.
carolina crossing   panthersfann55 at 5/26/11 8:34pm
Decided to make the trip and play Carolina Crossing (between York and Rock Hill) for the $30 play all day special. Course overall in ok shape. Greens very sandy due to heavy top dressing but still puttable, tees and fairways were in good shape not spectacular, bunkers were probably the best i've seen in a while. Not a long course but the pace of play today was terrible. The group that was leading the pack backed us all up (no ranger) 3 guys that had no business playing from the tees they were playing from. No consideration for what they were doing (5 minute wait between each shot). If you only play golf a handful of times a year do yourself and the rest of us a favor and don't play from the tips it's embarassing to watch (especially if you throw your clubs into the water hazard when you can't hit ! it past the ladies tees.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: