Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
correction on some Aeration Dates   Jim Goldstein at 3/14/12 9:56am
Contrary to the "Expert" on aeration dates Fox Den has a Aeration date set for 3/18 after 3pm-3/19 and will reopen on 3/20 at 12pm. Make sure you call the courses for the correct dates.
cramer mtn country club   malamute at 3/11/12 8:30am
played on 3/8 for $22 course opened to public about 2 years ago to generate revenue - what they are doing with it i have no idea - the putting green is horrible, greens on course are so so, fairways are good, but tee boxes are iffy - shame because this is a challenging course that plays longer than yardage on card
Emerald Lake   DrSchteeve at 3/8/12 7:22pm
Most courses will say their greens are "OK, just a few sandy spots" after 2 weeks from aeration date, but full recovery to nice rolling greens after a full (large hole) aeration is usually 3-4 weeks - i.e., understandably, the course staff members perceive their greens as better than they usually are.
How is Emerald Lake ?   Taylan at 3/7/12 11:17am
I plan to play at Emerald Lake tomorrow but I am a little concerned about their greens which were aerated on 2/26. Does anyone know the green conditions as of today? Thx!
Aeration Dates   DrSchteeve at 3/4/12 3:29pm
Birkdale 5/29
Eagle Chase 3/5
Stonebridge 3/12
Springfield June
Tradition 3/5
Verdict Ridge going to Bermuda in June, no aeration
Rocky River going to Bermuda in June, no aeration
Warrior May
Olde Sycamore 3/12
Red Bridge no time soon
Highland Creek 3/19
Emerald Lake 2/26
EdgeWater 3/12
Fox Den April
Charlotte National 2/26
Waterford June
Carolina Lakes 3/19
Skybrook   DrSchteeve at 3/1/12 7:57pm
Awesome layout. Forgiving fairways. Always plays slow - just something about the course. Not sure about conditions.
Skybrook   ISlayMySelf at 3/1/12 4:58pm
Playing Skybrook for the first time this weekend. What should I expect and do you have any advice?
Looking for a 4th?   Jason at 2/26/12 10:15am
I want to play today - if by chance you need a 4th let me know. Jason - 704-287-8746

South Charlotte courses preferred. Thanks
Anyone need an exta player tomorrow (2/25)   HateSlowPlay at 2/24/12 9:55am
Hi All, I am looking to play tomorrow. Anyone on here have a spot available? My etiquette is good and I play ready golf.
Re: Eagle Chase??   PT at 2/23/12 12:20pm
That is good to hear....thanks.
Re: Eagle Chase??   The B-Man at 2/22/12 8:38am
I received a quick reply from Wally Moore, the general manager, and he simply said "We are not closing."
Eagle Chase??   PT at 2/22/12 6:46am
I have heard an unconfirmed rumor that Eagle Chase will be closing. I hope this isn't true as it would be a total shame to see this happen. Does anyone know if this is a truth or not?
Courses with good pace   DrSchteeve at 2/11/12 12:32pm
Eagle Chase. Verdict Ridge. Edgewater.
Courses with good pace of play?   HateSlowPlay at 2/8/12 10:27am
What courses around here consistently have a good pace of play?

I'm not talking about the quieter courses where you can sneak around in under 4 hours IF it is not busy; but courses that actively enforce a good pace of play with strict marshals, reasonable spacing of tee times, etc.

Courses where 4 hour rounds are the norm and not the exception, even on busy days? Or am I searching for the mythical unicorn...

Re: The Divide   Richard Newkirk at 2/7/12 10:28pm
I played out there today with a group of 10. This was my first time so I cannot comment on the greens in the past but they were ok today for the most part. There were a few greens that were a little bumpy, but not bad. I paid $29 on Click It so I did not think it was overpriced. I dont really have a review but I wanted to put my 2 cents in. It wasnt the best course I had played in Charlotte but it wasnt nearly the worst either.
The Divide   ISlayMySelf at 2/6/12 7:04pm
Don't understand why they can't maintain a nice course when they are on the Carolina Trail.
Re: The Divide   izzyf150 at 2/2/12 8:55pm
Course is usually junk and overpriced. When you see a good post about this course I suspect it is an employee trying to sucker some rounds of golf. Go to Emerald Lake, Old Sycamore or Charlotte National, they are in the same area and in better condition and better priced. I wouldnt chance it.
The Divide   ISlayMySelf at 2/2/12 1:37pm
Has anyone played there recently? I'm curious how the greens are looking. They were beat up and patchy the last time I played it.
Re: Ballantyne green fees   The B-Man at 2/1/12 7:19pm
phatdba: Gotcha. The problem is that the official name of the course is "The Golf Club at Ballantyne" now. It's no longer referred to as Ballantyne Resort. So look for that next time you want to post a review.
Re: Ballantyne green fees   phatdba at 2/1/12 7:16pm
I have a profile, but the courses is a list of values and does not include Ballantyne Resort, and I couldn't figure out how to enter it.
Cabarrus Country Club   DrSchteeve at 2/1/12 5:44pm
Played on the Clickit "Member for a Day" rate of $47. A bit pricey for midweek, even with good green conditions. But what you want at a country club, we got: a 3 1/2 hour round even on a warm February afternoon. The layout is good, nice mix of holes.
Re: Ballantyne green fees   The B-Man at 1/24/12 10:43pm
phatdba: You need to create a profile first, then you can post reviews for any course. Here's the link:

Create a Profile
Re: Ballantyne green fees   phatdba at 1/24/12 10:29pm
Ballantyne Resort is one of the most expensive public courses in the Charlotte, and rarely gives good discounts.

However, and this is unprecedented, on clickitgolf.com, 2 for $70 Mon-Thu or 2 for $110 Sat-Sun, rounds must be played this month so there is only one week left.

If you work in the Ballantyne Corporate park you can get 20-25% percent off everything, still pricey. It is a nice course but not that nice.

Once in a while they offer a weekday twilight rate of under $40.

They have just started showing up on clickitgolf and so I am hopeful that we will see more deals soon. I work and live near it so I would love to see that.

There is no place on this site to review this course, but I played today! (01/24/12) at 1 pm right when the sun came out, the course was wet, busy, slow (4.5 hr), but only $35. I love the layout, the tees were green and the greens firm. Their greens are usually fast, tough and true, but today not so much, but not bad for the season.
Best weekend groups   DrSchteeve at 1/20/12 11:33am
Most courses have both weekday and weekend groups. In terms of competitiveness, there's probably not that much difference - most courses are going to have their mix of scratch to 20 handicaps. You are more likely to find that the comfort zone relates more to things like age, jobs, single vs. family, etc., and these things will vary from course to course. You should identify the price range you are comfortable with and then play several courses to see where you like to play and where you feel that you fit in.
Best weekend groups   PML at 1/17/12 9:23am
I am moving to Charlotte in the summer and would like to join a weekend golf group. Do some public courses have weekend groups, or is it best to join a club? Which are most active and competitive? Any suggestions would be appreciated.

With Thanks
Re: Mississippi Dreams   panthersfann55 at 1/6/12 3:17pm
Having been a past employee at Wild Wing Plantation in Myrtle Beach (way back when they had 4 courses), weekend rounds were 6 hrs. Biggest reason was the 10 minute intervals instead of 15. This would back up the 1st tee even before the day started. All had to do with the round count for the day. "Snowbirds" killed it for the locals which is why I play all my golf during the week. I can't bring myself to pay more for a round of golf on the weekend for the same product I play during the week. At some courses it's a difference of $20 or more. I say find a place that treats you right, gives a good value and enjoy your day.
Re: Mississippi Dreams   izzyf150 at 1/5/12 11:34pm
I hate talking about things on message boards sometimes because occasionally the message doesnít quite get read the way you meant it. I certainly never meant to say that Iím out there to take my time and enjoy the day not caring about holding people up. What I was meaning was on a slow day when Iím waiting to hit my next shot because the group in front of me is not clear, I take the time to talk, enjoy the scenery, take a few practice swings, etc. I donít let the slow play get to my head. We all know how much of a mental game golf is anyway. Go to the course expecting it. All groups should always try to keep up with the group ahead of them but bad holes happen. When the course is crowded, there will be plenty of groups having a bad hole. Thatís how things get jammed up most of the time. T! he last thing I want is some nagging marshal messing with my mental game. I know that most people work during the week but if you want a quick game of golf, golf during the week. I think itís a little much to expect a 4hr 10 min round on a weekend like the starting post suggested. Expect about a 5hr round as a norm.
Mississippi Dreams   Dr Schteeve at 1/5/12 9:15pm
There are simply 2 camps: 1) Play ready golf, no excuses for spending too much time, we're not pro's and our livelihood doesn't depend on our results, we love golf but we would rather spend 4-5 hours playing than 5-6 hours playing, we don't like waiting, and waiting, and waiting to hit a shot 2) We are here to enjoy ourselves, we love the camaraderie, what's the hurry, my ball got lost so I need to look for it

So we should have 2 types of courses, or 2 types of play even if on different days. Fast Play: 4-4 1/2 hour max, enforced, sorry if you don't like it, but get out of the way. And Slow Play: the round may take 5 hours, don't sweat it, quit trying to push the pace.
Re: Mississippi dream course   izzyf150 at 1/3/12 5:16pm
I have mixed feelings about this post. I know that if there is a group out on the course that is clearly not keeping up that I would have to agree with what people are saying here. But sometimes you just have a bad hole though and when the course is crowded, bad holes will be more common. You have a bad hole and make a few extra strokes, try to make the time up on the next hole. When itís crowded and I knock one off in the woods, I give a quick look for my ball if I donít see it the first time through I take a drop and go on. This stuff can have an accordion effect on the course and make it seem like there is a slow group ahead of you. It can also make it look like one group is lagging a little when it wasnít their fault. I know it would upset me if the marshal stopped to tell me to keep u! p when itís not my fault. Stuff like that is enough for me not to come back to that course, ever. If your marshal is on top of things I guess this wonít be a problem but at the same time I donít want to have the marshal drive down my cart path every other hole. Part of the problem is that there are not a couple of golf courses in town any more. There are plenty of golf courses to choose from. If one place makes you mad you can ban the place and not miss it one bit. I think golf courses are afraid of this. I know on the Golf Channel every so often they talk about the lack of new golfers playing the game. They talk about ways of making the game easier to attract more people into the sport. I donít figure a marshal telling a group of newer golfers to hurry up is going to help. Many people also work and donít have time to golf during the week so golfing during the week is not a possibility. I guess the bottom line is Iím afraid of the micro managing marshal (an! d you know there will be some) out on the course that is fee! ling like heís not doing his job if heís not rushing people. Itís not good for golf and especially not good for that course. If you are a person on a strict schedule I guess this problem is upsetting. I guess I have a different feeling about all of this. If Iím golfing on a weekend, I know itís going to be slow. I go to the course expecting it. I canít think of to many places that I would rather be than on the course. If the round takes 5 hours instead of 4 it was just longer I spent doing something that I enjoy. I am in no hurry to get it over with, I golfing, what could be better? I take the time to enjoy the scenery, talk to the people Iím golfing with, think about my shot, and take a few more practice swings. To me itís just a part of weekend golfing. Iím not trying to start a fight or anything, just an opinion from the other side of the coin.
Re: Mississippi dream course   panthersfann55 at 12/30/11 4:25pm
if golf courses took away the tips and moved the other 3 boxes up rounds would be a lot shorter. many times i see the "weekender" out there with their buddies playing from the wrong tee box. spending half the day looking for their ball is frustrating. we adopted a rule of automatic 2 putt on the first green vs taking a mulligan and hitting a second shot off the tee. think about it where do most of the strokes add up (100 yds in). this was a suggestion in golf digest last year but we as a group have adopted it 3 years ago. i used to play the middle (whites) until my driver went crazy, so i tee off with a 3 iron from the gold tees hit it down the middle and make the round more enjoyable. if everyone would do this the 5 hr rounds would slowly disappear.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: