Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
CT Myers   phatdba at 5/16/12 10:30am
Has anyone played CT Myers this year? If so, I'd like some feedback; I know the course has gotten mixed reviews on the conditions past year or two.
Renaissance   phatdba at 5/16/12 10:29am
Has anyone played Renaissance this year? If so, I'd like some feedback; I know the course has gotten mixed reviews on the condition recently.
Westport Wrap-Up and Verdict Ridge   Wulfpack at 4/24/12 1:48pm
Hackarama was spot on in regards to Westport Golf Club. I played there this morning (boy was it chilly starting out) and got a round and a half in for $30. I just didnít feel like finishing. You can play all day on Tuesdays for $30. Great deal but the course leaves a lot to be desired. A good place to practice if you are a bit rusty getting back into the swing of things. I wasnít expecting much for the price. There isnít even a driving range, but there is a nice sized putting green. They do have a net you can hit into but I have never really found that practice helpful.

Most of the tee boxes were in bad shape, and I noticed an awful lot of debris on the course, especially on the greens. There have been some heavy winds the past day or two but I didnít notic! e any real cleanup going on. There is also a bunch of bare/rocky spots, and the cart path is extremely narrow at times. Greens were just ok, nothing special. You really have to hit it to get it there, so not really my cup of tea. I also noticed a player wearing jeans on the course. Not sure why that is allowed. Iím a traditionalist and respect proper golf etiquette and attire.

The course is located on the western edge of Lake Norman but there are no real lake views. Itís a bit of a hike up 16 N (Brookshire) from Charlotte. Takes about 40 minutes and change from the center of Charlotte.

I did manage to go visit Verdict Ridge after I finished at Westport. Verdict Ridge is truly magnificent Ė a real gem. Itís straight up 16 N about 3 miles North of Westport. You would not believe the terrain at this course. Just really impressive. Almost as if the course was located in the mountains. Some of the homes on the s! ide of the course are quite impressive. Home prices range from! $300k to well over $1 million. The bar/grille is top notch and the pro shop and staff were incredibly helpful. This course is a must play. I have a feeling this will be my new favorite course (I usually play at Olde Sycamore or Springfield). If you are interested, be sure you get your round in before late June as they are going to shut the course down for a month or so as they are switching the greens to Bermuda. Check the course website (http://www.verdictridge.com/) for a Free Guilty Golfer Card coupon. I canít wait to get out there for a round in a couple of weeks. Iíll be sure to post a review after my round and let you guys know the verdict!
Conditions   DrSchteeve at 4/23/12 9:16pm
Hate to say it, but the economy seems to have really taken a toll on course conditions. Not too long ago - 5 years or so, if memory serves - most public courses would have nice turf and good greens in April. Good bunker conditions were a given. Teeboxes the same. Now it seems that average conditions are thin fairways, plus/minus greens, tee boxes fair to poor, and bunkers are "rake your own". Sad.
Re: Westport Golf Club   Hackarama at 4/22/12 8:52am
I played there yesterday. Course is in decent shape (actually better than I have seen it in a while) but there are minor issues... Tee boxes are probably the worst of it. Greens are a little fuzzy but still puttable and will hold a shot. It's a good layout with some tough holes (#4 is a bear). $30 for all day is a good deal; go for it.

Verdict Ridge is a must play... Fox Den not so much IMO
Westport Golf Club   Wulfpack at 4/21/12 6:42pm
Has anyone had a chance to play Westport Golf Club recently? I'm thinking of going out there as they have an all you can play special for $30 on Tuesdays.

I'm also trying to play fit Verdict Ridge and Fox Den into the golf schedule. Any recent feedback on these courses would also be appreciated. Thanks!
Rocky River Renovation   Ryan Brickley (Rocky River Pro) at 4/18/12 12:10pm
We did not aerify this Spring which has left the bent grass greens in good shape. They are still as good as most public courses in town. I was at Birkdale Tuesday for example, and RRGC is much better than Birkdale.
We will close the front 9 on June 4th, with the back 9 open until June 11th. The renovation will include re-sizing, shaping, and surfacing the greens. We will then be open with temporary greens until the MiniVerde is grown in.
The target date to re-open for play is approximately August 15th.
Thanks
Rocky River   DrSchteeve at 4/17/12 11:21am
I love the phrase "enjoy the bent grass while you can" since the last review for Rocky River (in March, 2012) described the greens as "atrocious".
Rocky River greens renovation starts soon   B-Man at 4/16/12 5:49pm
Saw this note today:

"As many of you know, they will be shutting the course down in a few weeks to re-do all of their greens. So make sure to get out here and enjoy bent grass while you can. Not too much longer and this course will be unplayable until August."

Does anyone have exact dates?
ouch!   ILL-INI at 4/13/12 9:46am
I updated my B-man profile today. I used to pick the 25-34 age bracket. As of Feb 6th I am now apparently in the 35-49 age bracket. Damn you b-man....damn you! I think you should just raise the low number and high number by 1 for each option. For example - I was 25-34, now I would be 26-35. Doesn't that sound so much better? LOL!

The Divide Golf Club   Kent Powers at 4/11/12 9:22pm
This golf course has come a long way since I played it last. I had not played this course in a few years. The tees and fairways are in good shape. The greens are good, but not perfect. There are a few that are a little bumpy, but overall they are good. I have always loved the layout here and it seems as though the course conditions are starting to improve.
Re: Charlotte Golf Links   Keith at 4/11/12 11:30am
Charlotte Golf links greens are good but the course is not in great shape overall. Still a decent play for cheap money.
Charlotte Golf Links   Chad K at 4/10/12 10:08am
How is Charlotte Golf Links looking these days? Planning on playing the weekend of April 20th with a friend from out of town.

thanks,
Re: Re: Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   George at 4/6/12 11:21pm
Thank you for your suggestions!
Re: Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   Billy Baroo at 4/6/12 9:35am
The recently renovated 9-hole course at Sifford/Revolution is a good little beginner's track, and is where the First Tee Charlotte is based.
http://www.charlottepublicgolf.com/revolution-park.php

There is also a great little 9 hole beginner's course at Sunset Hills.
http://www.charlottepublicgolf.com/sunset-hills.php

Both are laid back and beginners are expected.
Re: Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   izzyf150 at 4/3/12 4:32pm
Iím not familiar with all the South Charlotte area golf courses but I thought I could suggest and idea. You might try researching the golf courses by going to their web sites and viewing their score cards. The courses that have the lower numbers in course rating and slope rating are the easier courses.
Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   George at 4/2/12 10:51pm
My 13 y/o son is just beginning and has had 2 group lessons. I want to get him on course experience without being discouraged by a difficult course. Any suggestions? We are in South Charlotte. Thanks!
electric push carts   walkman at 4/1/12 10:06pm
Does anyone have any experience using a motorized push cart? I would be interested in hearing pros/cons of any makes that you or your friends have used. Thanks
Re: Golf trip   terry at 3/26/12 2:32am
fox den is a very nice demanding golf course.you would have fun playing it.it is lil far from where you staying but still nice and cheaper than carolina lakes.
Golf trip   DrSchteeve at 3/25/12 4:40pm
I'm not sure I would have Fox Den as one of Charlotte's 4 best. Red Bridge would be a good alternative, as would Carolina Lakes. I'm not a big fan of Springfield - greens are just too tricked up in my opinion. You might also want to check aeration dates for the courses you plan to play.
Re: Charlotte golf trip plan   Stevenr6 at 3/25/12 8:38am
I would remove Fox Den & Verdict Ridge and replace with Ballantyne and Carolina Lakes. Thet are both in great condition right now and are a lot closer to where you are staying. I would use Clickit.com to purchase yor green fees. All should be under $60.
re: charlotte golf trip   malamute at 3/25/12 6:54am
Ballantyne is a good course but is a bit over priced / consider red bridge / verdict ridge is best course in the area / Carolina lakes is a very good course also
Charlotte golf trip plan   boston4680 at 3/24/12 8:21am
I am planning a golf trip to Charlotte. Here are the courses I have selected:
Thursday - Springfield Golf Club Ė 866-304-GOLF
Friday - Edgewater Golf Club - (803) 283-9800
Saturday - Fox Den Country Club - (704) 872-9990
Sunday - Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club - 704) 489-1206

Let me know if these look like good selections. We are staying at The Ballantyne - is it worth playing, or overpriced? What is the best course in Charlotte that's less than $120?

Also, just wanted to say that this is a great site and has been an awesome resource for trip planning.
Rock Barn   slowmofo at 3/22/12 1:58pm
Rock Barn isn't listed as a course here? I only make the trip up a couple times a year, but I have to say this is my favorite course around the area. Of course verdict ridge/ballentyne/tillery tradition would be a close 2nd
Edgewater/Springfield   TarEHeel7 at 3/21/12 5:43pm
Coming down to Charlotte next week and was wondering if anyone had played these two courses recently (Edgewater especially after the aeration) to comment in the shape they are in
Re: Aeration dates   panthersfann55 at 3/16/12 3:27pm
i'm glad you posted dates and common sense tells you to always ask this time (and sept) of year when you call anyway. i like your reviews because they keep me updated on where to play and where to stay away that week or month.
Visit from UK   DrSchteeve at 3/15/12 9:04pm
Charlotte has only one true resort and resort course - Ballantyne, which is fine as resorts go. If you want to get more local, you can stay downtown at one of many hotels - the Westin and Ritz Carlton are great high end option - and then play at the better high public daily fee courses. These include Verdict Ridge, Olde Sycamore, Carolina Lakes, Edgewater. There are others and you can look at the course reviews on the site for reviews.
Aeration dates   DrSchteeve at 3/14/12 8:07pm
Hmm.... I guess I am the "expert" on aeration dates. Gee, I made a bunch of calls to the various courses, posted the information they provided, and, guess what, someone gave me the wrong information. Bust me for trying to be helpful...
red bridge   panthersfann55 at 3/14/12 3:33pm
pretty good for this time of year. greens were slower then normal, but still rolled true. bunkers were in good shape as well as tee boxes. green grass should be starting anytime now since the warm weather is finally back. i do like the new configuration of not starting on a par 3, but man does the par 4 1st (old sixth hole)a bear playing into the wind up hill. was a nice change of pace but will head back to eagle chase for the year. their greens heal pretty quick if they use small tines.
Visit from UK   bunders at 3/14/12 12:04pm
Myself and a friend are lucky enough to have tickets to the Weds practice day at Augusta this year, and will be travelling via Charlotte from the UK. We'd like to play some golf in Charlotte Thursday 6th April, watch the golf afterwards (do most clubhouses have TVs?) then stay locally. Can anyone recommend a course we will be easily able to get on in/around Charlotte, or even on the way down to Columbia, and where we will be able to hire some clubs?

Any help would be really appreciated.

Many thanks


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: