Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: mountain golf   ISlayMySelf at 6/8/12 1:28pm
I have played a couple in the area. Sugar Mountain has a fun course. Its only a par 64 but the course is well maintained and always a good time as long as you can hit em straight. It also has some great views. Newland also has a nice course called Mountain Glen. This is a par 72 with good elevation changes and some really nice looking holes. I visit Banner Elk on a regular basis and haven't found a lot of public courses that don't require having to drive down the mountain to play. If you find anymore let me know.
mountain golf   jaxndn at 6/7/12 3:28pm
This fall I am Planning a trip for my league to play some mountain golf. Which courses do you reccomend? Currently I am looking at staying over night at either Bryson or Linville and play the nearby courses. Any suggestion is welcome.
Re: Awesome Article on Changing Greens in the Carolinas   Paul at 6/7/12 12:12pm
That was a good article...it seems for sure like every course is going to these greens, or a version of it. Is bermuda the same as the "mini verde" that ballantyne, springfield, waterford, etc. have all gone to?

The greens all LOOK incredible. They roll great and are ususally fast. And I completely understand why the courses are doing this.

That being the case, I sure miss Bent Grass. I donít know how often any of you play Gastonia Municipal (Catawba Creek now), but they switched the greens last year, and the new greens are always perfect, hard, fast...completely changes the course. Same with Waterford.

The only downside of this grass (and sure, it could be user error I suppose) is the ball just does not grab. Is this better than a million ball marks on a bent grass? Sure, but it also changes the way you play.

Example: a Nike One ball spins a ton...i mean, a ton. My three year old could probably rip that ball back...

On bent grass, that ball could land, rip back and roll off the front. On the mini verde, a clicked wedge, the ball still releases forward. So typically, you have to play for roll on shots when you should be able to stick it by the flag.

Maybe this does not make sense. The odd thing is, Springfield, and maybe they just know how to do it better, the balls do grab more.

So, is that a slightly different grass, or just maintained the same grass differently? I don't know. I am not against the changes, but man, I wish bent grass was able to survive, because I love it.
Re: Awesome Article on Changing Greens in the Carolinas   The B-Man at 6/6/12 10:12am
I especially liked this quote:

Bud Welch, head pro at Springfield Golf Club in Fort Mill, S.C., oversaw the change from bent grass to Bermuda two years ago. Nearby Waterford Golf Club and Fort Mill Golf Club have made the same change, as did the Golf Club at Ballantyne. In the past, Welch said, play would drop noticeably when the condition of the greens declined, almost as if someone had posted it on Facebook.

Yeah, Facebook or B-Man's Guide to Golf in Charlotte!
Awesome Article on Changing Greens in the Carolinas   Wulfpack at 6/5/12 9:18pm
Check out this great article on the changing greens landscape in the Carolinas.

http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2012/06/05/3294152/golf-courses-changing-greens-to.html
Skybook   DrSchteeve at 6/5/12 7:29pm
Just punched, large holes and sand. Probably 2-3 weeks for complete healing would be my guess.
Verdict Ridge & Rocky River   DrSchteeve at 6/4/12 2:50pm
Rocky River has started green replacement with Bermuda; they will have 9 holes available for about 10 days, then temporary greens only until reopening approximately August 15. Verdict Ridge will start replacement June 25, limited temporary greens then available until reopening approximately September 1.
Fort Mill aeration - reduced rates   The B-Man at 5/30/12 8:07pm
Got the note today that Fort Mill just aerated their greens and offering reduced rates for the next 2 weeks - $29 during the week and $39 on the weekends.
Old Suckamore   slowmofo at 5/30/12 3:38pm
I hated old suckamore. I showed up by myself ( which I normally do) and asked the 3 some behind me if they would like to play, they declined so I was ok with that. I started with a nice drive and then thats when I saw something a little fishy. On the green a whole group of kids and their parents. Apparently there was a tournament for little kids going on. I had to wait about 40 minutes in between each shot. I caught up to the group and they saw I was by myself, they wouldn't let me play through which I can understand. So after the kids would finish up on the green the greenskeepr would stop me and start watering the greens while I was on my second shot. It took me 7 hrs to play this course, solo. The course itself isn't even really that great. It was kept up okay, but there is nothing visually satisfying about thi! s course. Luckily I only paid $20 and should have listened to my friend when he told me not to play there. What a dissapointment.
Olde Sycamore   DrSchteeve at 5/25/12 8:31pm
My trials and tribulations with Olde Sycamore continue. Showed up for my twosome tee time at 1:18, noticed as I drove up that a mower was in the middle of the 1st fairway with lots of mown grass everywhere. Then I notice the parking lot is full, and, yep, you guessed it, an outing. So I ask at the pro shop what is happening with the outing, and I'm told: "They are a 1:00 shotgun from holes 1-6, so it won't be any problem for you. !?! - No problem?!? A twosome teeing off 2 holes behind an outing?!? It get's better: mistakenly, I decide we will go ahead and try to play, so I hand over my card and mention I am a senior, and I'm told "That will be $49". I point out that the website lists the Friday senior rate at $39, and I'm told "this is a h! oliday weekend, so holiday rates apply". On Friday?!? Going out behind an outing?!? So I call Charlotte National, get a 1:40 tee time, and pay $29 to play in perfect conditions and a 4 hour round. Olde Sycamore just doesn't make it easy to want to play there.
Re: Renaissance   weedwhacker3 at 5/22/12 8:11pm
New here but I have played it twice in a week. Not bad. I would descibe green speed as medium. Can be aggresive without flying past the whole but not really slow. Roll pretty true. Greens a little hard so not going to be fixing very many ball marks. As for the course it's in okay condition but I am not terribly picky. Called last Sunday morning at 730 A.M. and got a 4 out at 9 A.M. because it was wide open. Could have teed off earlier so apparently not very busy.
CT Myers   phatdba at 5/16/12 10:30am
Has anyone played CT Myers this year? If so, I'd like some feedback; I know the course has gotten mixed reviews on the conditions past year or two.
Renaissance   phatdba at 5/16/12 10:29am
Has anyone played Renaissance this year? If so, I'd like some feedback; I know the course has gotten mixed reviews on the condition recently.
Westport Wrap-Up and Verdict Ridge   Wulfpack at 4/24/12 1:48pm
Hackarama was spot on in regards to Westport Golf Club. I played there this morning (boy was it chilly starting out) and got a round and a half in for $30. I just didnít feel like finishing. You can play all day on Tuesdays for $30. Great deal but the course leaves a lot to be desired. A good place to practice if you are a bit rusty getting back into the swing of things. I wasnít expecting much for the price. There isnít even a driving range, but there is a nice sized putting green. They do have a net you can hit into but I have never really found that practice helpful.

Most of the tee boxes were in bad shape, and I noticed an awful lot of debris on the course, especially on the greens. There have been some heavy winds the past day or two but I didnít notic! e any real cleanup going on. There is also a bunch of bare/rocky spots, and the cart path is extremely narrow at times. Greens were just ok, nothing special. You really have to hit it to get it there, so not really my cup of tea. I also noticed a player wearing jeans on the course. Not sure why that is allowed. Iím a traditionalist and respect proper golf etiquette and attire.

The course is located on the western edge of Lake Norman but there are no real lake views. Itís a bit of a hike up 16 N (Brookshire) from Charlotte. Takes about 40 minutes and change from the center of Charlotte.

I did manage to go visit Verdict Ridge after I finished at Westport. Verdict Ridge is truly magnificent Ė a real gem. Itís straight up 16 N about 3 miles North of Westport. You would not believe the terrain at this course. Just really impressive. Almost as if the course was located in the mountains. Some of the homes on the s! ide of the course are quite impressive. Home prices range from! $300k to well over $1 million. The bar/grille is top notch and the pro shop and staff were incredibly helpful. This course is a must play. I have a feeling this will be my new favorite course (I usually play at Olde Sycamore or Springfield). If you are interested, be sure you get your round in before late June as they are going to shut the course down for a month or so as they are switching the greens to Bermuda. Check the course website (http://www.verdictridge.com/) for a Free Guilty Golfer Card coupon. I canít wait to get out there for a round in a couple of weeks. Iíll be sure to post a review after my round and let you guys know the verdict!
Conditions   DrSchteeve at 4/23/12 9:16pm
Hate to say it, but the economy seems to have really taken a toll on course conditions. Not too long ago - 5 years or so, if memory serves - most public courses would have nice turf and good greens in April. Good bunker conditions were a given. Teeboxes the same. Now it seems that average conditions are thin fairways, plus/minus greens, tee boxes fair to poor, and bunkers are "rake your own". Sad.
Re: Westport Golf Club   Hackarama at 4/22/12 8:52am
I played there yesterday. Course is in decent shape (actually better than I have seen it in a while) but there are minor issues... Tee boxes are probably the worst of it. Greens are a little fuzzy but still puttable and will hold a shot. It's a good layout with some tough holes (#4 is a bear). $30 for all day is a good deal; go for it.

Verdict Ridge is a must play... Fox Den not so much IMO
Westport Golf Club   Wulfpack at 4/21/12 6:42pm
Has anyone had a chance to play Westport Golf Club recently? I'm thinking of going out there as they have an all you can play special for $30 on Tuesdays.

I'm also trying to play fit Verdict Ridge and Fox Den into the golf schedule. Any recent feedback on these courses would also be appreciated. Thanks!
Rocky River Renovation   Ryan Brickley (Rocky River Pro) at 4/18/12 12:10pm
We did not aerify this Spring which has left the bent grass greens in good shape. They are still as good as most public courses in town. I was at Birkdale Tuesday for example, and RRGC is much better than Birkdale.
We will close the front 9 on June 4th, with the back 9 open until June 11th. The renovation will include re-sizing, shaping, and surfacing the greens. We will then be open with temporary greens until the MiniVerde is grown in.
The target date to re-open for play is approximately August 15th.
Thanks
Rocky River   DrSchteeve at 4/17/12 11:21am
I love the phrase "enjoy the bent grass while you can" since the last review for Rocky River (in March, 2012) described the greens as "atrocious".
Rocky River greens renovation starts soon   B-Man at 4/16/12 5:49pm
Saw this note today:

"As many of you know, they will be shutting the course down in a few weeks to re-do all of their greens. So make sure to get out here and enjoy bent grass while you can. Not too much longer and this course will be unplayable until August."

Does anyone have exact dates?
ouch!   ILL-INI at 4/13/12 9:46am
I updated my B-man profile today. I used to pick the 25-34 age bracket. As of Feb 6th I am now apparently in the 35-49 age bracket. Damn you b-man....damn you! I think you should just raise the low number and high number by 1 for each option. For example - I was 25-34, now I would be 26-35. Doesn't that sound so much better? LOL!

The Divide Golf Club   Kent Powers at 4/11/12 9:22pm
This golf course has come a long way since I played it last. I had not played this course in a few years. The tees and fairways are in good shape. The greens are good, but not perfect. There are a few that are a little bumpy, but overall they are good. I have always loved the layout here and it seems as though the course conditions are starting to improve.
Re: Charlotte Golf Links   Keith at 4/11/12 11:30am
Charlotte Golf links greens are good but the course is not in great shape overall. Still a decent play for cheap money.
Charlotte Golf Links   Chad K at 4/10/12 10:08am
How is Charlotte Golf Links looking these days? Planning on playing the weekend of April 20th with a friend from out of town.

thanks,
Re: Re: Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   George at 4/6/12 11:21pm
Thank you for your suggestions!
Re: Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   Billy Baroo at 4/6/12 9:35am
The recently renovated 9-hole course at Sifford/Revolution is a good little beginner's track, and is where the First Tee Charlotte is based.
http://www.charlottepublicgolf.com/revolution-park.php

There is also a great little 9 hole beginner's course at Sunset Hills.
http://www.charlottepublicgolf.com/sunset-hills.php

Both are laid back and beginners are expected.
Re: Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   izzyf150 at 4/3/12 4:32pm
Iím not familiar with all the South Charlotte area golf courses but I thought I could suggest and idea. You might try researching the golf courses by going to their web sites and viewing their score cards. The courses that have the lower numbers in course rating and slope rating are the easier courses.
Youth Beginner Course Suggestions   George at 4/2/12 10:51pm
My 13 y/o son is just beginning and has had 2 group lessons. I want to get him on course experience without being discouraged by a difficult course. Any suggestions? We are in South Charlotte. Thanks!
electric push carts   walkman at 4/1/12 10:06pm
Does anyone have any experience using a motorized push cart? I would be interested in hearing pros/cons of any makes that you or your friends have used. Thanks
Re: Golf trip   terry at 3/26/12 2:32am
fox den is a very nice demanding golf course.you would have fun playing it.it is lil far from where you staying but still nice and cheaper than carolina lakes.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: