Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Poa Annua***   kstevenson at 8/2/12 7:38am
I wish all of us golfers would just simply state the conditions of the course rather than try to act like we are experts in the turfgrass field. I see all too many times people make comments that couldnt be more false. Recently there have been two posts about courses greens being overtaken by "Poa Annua", this seems very unlikely considering it is a winter season grass. Sure we all know carolina trail courses are garbage, but I highly doubt it has poa annua. Lets leave the turf diagnostics up to the experts who work their a**es off to keep our courses looking great
Re: carolina trail   The B-Man at 7/31/12 8:00pm
And here's one I missed along the same lines about Birkdale 2 weeks ago:

Employees Seek Help After Delayed Pay Days, Bounced Checks Become The Norm
carolina trail   panthersfann55 at 7/31/12 7:46pm
Article on Highland Creek on wsoctv.com today (7/31)
Ballantyne Resort   estanwick at 7/17/12 8:15am
FYI, Ballantyne Resort is running a special till the end of July. $40 for Sunday thru Thursday play. (after 3pm I believe).

I played this past Sunday and they had a record amount of people on the course according to a few staff members. Needless to say, it was a 5+ hour round.

Course in good shape. Greens were in good shape as well.
Staff was excellent. Only downfall...speed of play. Brutal.
Re: Carolina Trail - Christmas in July sale   Wulfpack at 7/13/12 3:09pm
For $130, I'd rather play 2 rounds at a course that is worth it than 7 at at Carolina Trail course. That pretty much tells you what I think of the Carolina Trail. They are obviously hurting pretty bad.
Carolina Trail - Christmas in July sale   The B-Man at 7/13/12 1:32pm
This gave me a laugh today. Such bogus advertising but I guess it's typical for all courses doing pre-packaged rounds:

"$129: For a limited time exclusively from the Carolina Trail, purchase the Gift of Golf in July. Offer good for 1 ROUND OF GOLF at each *Carolina Trail golf course including cart fee. Valid ANYTIME Monday-Friday. Valid AFTER 11AM on Saturday-Sunday. Not valid when holiday rates in effect. Rounds expire October 31, 2012. Must purchase online. Total value at $450."

It's that last line -- total value for 7 rounds of golf = $450??? That's $64 and change per round. The current rack rates for Weekend mornings at the Divide are $57 and the fine print even says only after 11am on weekends -! - so how much will you use it under the weekend rack rate? Fridays it's $47 -- again if you play in the morning. On top of that, really, if you are going to play a Carolina Trail, are you ever paying rack rate? You better be getting a Clickit coupon -- which right now for the Divide is $37 for a Friday round, $52 on the weekend. Birkdale and Skybrook are higher, of course, but this deal is only for 1 round at each course. Even if you assume you will play on the weekend (after 11) at each course, I don't see how you get to a $450 total. And if you factor in when you will actually play and what the rate will be then, I don't see how you get to more than $300 total value if you use all 7 rounds.


Looking for Local Tournament   tntplayer at 7/10/12 7:40pm
I am looking for a local 2-man tournament that I can play with my father. Does anyone have any ideas?
Charity Golf Tournament @ Red Bridge 8/14/2012   Jon at 7/9/12 11:02am
If anyone would like to play or can help in anyway possible I am doing a golf tournament for a friend of mine whose son just got diagnosed with Duchenne muscular dystrophy. We will have lunch provided and prizes including cash prize for par 3 closest to pin. We still need more prizes and players so if you can play or donate anything towards the cause it would be greatly appreciated. You can see more info here: https://sites.google.com/site/talendmd/fundraising/2012golf about the little boy and tourney or you can reach me at 704-918-5661 or jcharpo@gmail.com. Thanks
Re: Fire Destroys Emerald Lake Clubhouse   The B-Man at 7/6/12 8:06pm
They indeed reopened for play this afternoon. I went out and played 18. Course is still in fine shape. They will have a limited set of carts (15-20) until mid-next week when they should also have a new trailer clubhouse.

The pro said it will likely take a year to rebuild the clubhouse. He also mentioned that while there's still no official cause for the fire, they said that it started on the roof. So those fireworks theories will live on.

I posted a couple of pics on my Twitter account here:

https://twitter.com/charlottegolfer

It was definitely weird driving up #9, but it ! was also good to be back out there.
Re: River Oaks in Statesville   Wulfpack at 7/6/12 12:02pm
Thanks! Hope to get out there soon and will post a review.
Re: Fire Destroys Emerald Lake Clubhouse   Wulfpack at 7/6/12 12:01pm
Thanks for keeping us updated. What a crazy story. Hope to get out there soon as I love this course.
Re: Fire Destroys Emerald Lake Clubhouse   The B-Man at 7/6/12 11:53am
I talked to the pro today and he reiterated plans to re-open as soon as possible, hopefully by tomorrow (Saturday). They lost all but about 20 carts -- those were in a maintenance shed. Until the backup fleet arrives, they may be running at reduced capacity. They should have a trailer clubhouse up and running within a week. Due to the extensive damage, chances for determining the cause of the fire appear to be low.

I plan to call again later today and will try to get out to the course as soon as they re-open.
River Oaks in Statesville   The B-Man at 7/6/12 10:24am
I just added this course to the site so you can post your own reviews:

River Oaks Golf Club
Re: Fire Destroys Emerald Lake Clubhouse   The B-Man at 7/5/12 1:59pm
Got up there during my lunch break. The poor clubhouse is indeed totaled -- most extensively in the dining area, but also enough to take out the top floor above the pro shop. I spoke with one of the staff and the owners are optimistic about re-opening next week with a temporary clubhouse. They will have to replace nearly their entire fleet of carts, though, as they were consumed in the fire. Still no word on cause, though it seems suspicious that it started in the middle of the night after so many in the neighborhood were shooting off some big fireworks. I'll keep the site updated as I get more information.
Re: Fire Destroys Emerald Lake Clubhouse   The B-Man at 7/5/12 9:40am
Wow. I played 18 there yesterday afternoon and finished up about 5:00. I have 4 weeks left on my membership (before they go totally public). Was planning to use it up over the next few weeks since my family will be out of town. I'll see if I can get up there today and talk to anybody.
Fire Destroys Emerald Lake Clubhouse   Wulfpack at 7/5/12 7:40am
A fire destroyed Emerald Lake's clubhouse. There is no word if the course will open for play. Read more here:

Fire destroys Union golf course clubhouse
Re: Glen Oaks, Maiden NC   The B-Man at 7/3/12 8:44pm
OK, ask me enough times... I've added Glen Oaks to the site. You can now post your formal reviews here:

Glen Oaks Golf Club

Also, if someone wants to take a stab at a nice paragraph description of the course, since I've never played it, I'll consider updating the course page.
Re: Glen Oaks, Maiden NC   IM4DHERD at 7/3/12 11:48am
Glen Oaks is incredible...Manicured, no houses on the course, just on a tee box or two, easy to get to (16 to 150 to Maiden) and closer to Charlotte than Rock Barn or River Oaks, about 10 mins (?) further than Fox Den.

Looking to give River Oaks another shot soon...That was Buffalo Shoals National then something else before River Oaks. Great layout, but have been there when it was nothing but hard clay and sandy greens. I understand that the current ownership is doing good things up there.
Re: Glen Oaks, Maiden NC   Wulfpack at 7/3/12 8:00am
I've heard about Glen Oaks as well from several folks and have always heard good things about it. Would like to try it out sometime if the weather will improve. I don't play much in the summer as I can't take the heat. The other course I have been hearing about is River Oaks in Statesville. It is on the list as well.
Glen Oaks, Maiden NC   IM4DHERD at 7/2/12 7:32pm
Can't post a review since it is not included in the listing, but everyone should know about Glen Oaks in Maiden, just north of Lincolnton. About 15 minutes further than Verdict Ridge and I rate it over VR in regards to conditions an even layout. A very lush, well established course with lots of water and very well tended traps. A number of holes with a little bit of funky to them, as has VR. Best greens and fairways I have seen in the greater Charlotte area and this has been the case every time I have been there. Greens were a little slow today, but with temps in the 100s, I would rather see a little slow than a little dead.
Verdict Ridge   DrSchteeve at 6/22/12 4:08pm
This is the last weekend to play before they make their switch to Bermuda. They have the bent shaved and brown, as fast as any greens I have ever played. On Sunday they will be playing super-hard pins. So for those of you that always say "I'd like to play greens the way the pro's do", this would be your chance.

I only got to play 3 holes due to rain, but it was punishing fun.
Re: Re: Tee It Forward   Don at 6/19/12 3:48pm
Agree, some people want a 3 hour round or they are a twosome behind lots of three and foursomes. A round between 4 and 4.5 hours is completely reasonable. It is when it gets to 5 hours or 5.5 hours and you are waiting on every shot when the frustration increases for me. Play ready golf and from the appropriate tees and everyone will have a more enjoyable outing.
Re: Tee It Forward   weedwhacker3 at 6/19/12 9:28am
This idea wouldn't work. Renaissance has it on there card and I still see hackers teeing from the back tees. You know where you should play and so do they but they choose not to. What gets me is nobody sits behind you and makes fun of you because you are teeing from the front tees but they sure as heck sit behind you and make fun of you for hacking left and right and short over and over from the back tees.

However some of you guys are too intent on playing way too fast. I played Saturday and we were a little slow at times but ended up playing Waterford in 4 hours 15 minutes with a foursome and some waiting and were actually hit into by the guys behind us. Seriously. If you want a 3 hour round on the weekends maybe you need to hit the lottery and buy a golf course.
Tee It Forward   Don at 6/17/12 6:22pm
I have been back playing golf for the past 4 years. One thing I have noticed after being away for over 20 years is the length of courses has increased dramatically. With that too many golfers are playing the wrong tees. I have seen guys playing the tips or the second set of tees that have no business playing that length from the tee.

My group typically play anywhere from 6,000 to 6400 tees. Given our handicaps that is the appropriate tee. We have a chance to get to the green with a reasonable iron shot. Sometimes these are the second set of tees and sometimes it is the third set. There is no need for macho and frustration by playing the wrong tees. There is also no need for 5 hour rounds. By playing the wrongs tees people are getting frustrated and slowing everyone down.

My solution is s! imple. Instead of calling tees men's, members, tips, seniors, or ladies the clubs should have the tees designated by handicap. If your a zero to five handicap go from the longest tees. If you are six to ten, the second set of tees. Ten to fifteen, third set of tee. Over fifteen, fourth set. This may not work for every golf course but maybe losing the stigma of senior tees or ladies tees would help some of the guys that are hopelessly lost or new to the game really enjoy their round. And as they improve, they can actually tee it forward. It also keeps people moving on the course and allows us playing the correct tee not wait for every shot as others hit their 5th shot to the green ona 425 yard par 4.

Just my thoughts on the one thing that turns a great day of golf to a frustrating experience for everyone.
Re: Re: Summer Golf Membership   oladipo_for_mayor at 6/12/12 8:00pm
Definitely looking for a walking course, which it sounds like Fort Mill is. Also, only the website they mention a 5-day membership, which I've never heard of but fits my schedule perfectly. Thanks for the great info.
Re: Summer Golf Membership   Wulfpack at 6/11/12 8:19pm
I would definitely check into Fort Mill Golf Club and Springfield Golf Club. I love both of these courses as they are very well maintained, and Springfield is quite a challenging layout, though I prefer Fort Mill's Donald Ross' layout (at least on the front 9). The other thing I really like about Fort Mill is they don't mind walkers, meaning you pay no cart fee, and get great exercise. Great practice areas as well. They are eached owned by the same parent company. You can join just one of the courses or choose both for a little more per month. No initiation fee, just pay by the month. A single membership is $120 and a dual membership $145. I believe you also get reduced rates at nearby Lancaster and Chester golf courses as well, so you can really mix it up this summer. Check out ! the details at http://www.leroysprings.com. Hope this helps. Hit 'em well!
Summer Golf Membership   oladipo_for_mayor at 6/11/12 5:18pm
With all the joys that come with the teaching occupation, obviously the greatest benefit is having all summer off to play golf. Are there any courses that offer summer memberships or courses that you can pay by the month without the initiation fee? Would love to have a year round membership but there is very little golfing from Sept. to May. A preemptive thanks for all the information.
Re: Awesome Article on Changing Greens in the Carolinas   slowmofo at 6/11/12 1:19pm
I agree Paul. Each place is different. I really am into Bermuda now though. Its unfortunate with Ballantyne. I have heard a rumor that they will be turning this course into a 12 hole executive course. It sucks, I really liked this course. Maybe if they lowered their rates a tad, they would have more people playing it.
Re: Awesome Article on Changing Greens in the Carolinas   Paul at 6/9/12 5:07pm
yo, slomofo,
that is a perfect example...That is where I wonder if Ballentyne and Springfield have a different type of mini verde, or different soil underneath, or just maintain it differently, etc....
I played Gastonia this morning, and the ball just releases on everything regardless...But, like you, I have played springfield, and been able to stop the ball how I need to...
I have not played ballentyne in a long, long time...
I am def not a grass expert..or a golf one for that matter...just curious as the difference between the different courses when all the clubs say they have the same grass now.
word
Re: Awesome Article on Changing Greens in the Carolinas   slowmofo at 6/8/12 4:37pm
I have to disagree. With faster greens ( like ballentyne) I have to worry about spinning it too much! Sometimes I wonder if I am going to spin it off the green. Of course for me it changes the way I chip and putt drastically though


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: