Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Course Ranking - just for fun   DrSchteeve at 8/26/12 6:55pm
In my foursome, we took a poll and this is what we ended up with for our 10 favorite courses. Assume good conditions and no clubhouse issues.
1) Verdict Ridge
2) Eagle Chase - tie
2) Edgewater - tie
4) Glen Oaks
5) Olde Sycamore
6) Emerald Lake
7) Red Bridge
8) Charlotte National
9) Carolina Lakes
10) Rocky River
Charity Tournament at Piper Glen - 9/24   The B-Man at 8/23/12 10:38pm
This tournament will give you a chance to play a great, private track in the area and support a good cause.

Divots & Dogs 2nd Annual Charity Golf Classic

When:

Monday, September 24th, 2012
12:00 pm Registration
1:00 pm Shotgun Start
*Box lunch provided

Where:

TPC Piper Glen
4300 Piper Glen Drive
Charlotte, NC 28277

Includes:

Range, short game facility, greens fees, cart, box lunch & course refres! hments, cocktail reception, and dinner

Format:

4 Person Scramble

prizes:

1st, 2nd, and 3rd place teams.

skill prizes:

Longest drive (men & women) and closest to the pin on two holes. Hole in One Grand Prize for any lucky dog with good fortune on their side! (You'll have to see the prize to believe it!)

silent auction

Throughout reception and dinner players will be invited to bid on unique items offered in our silent auction. Winners will be announced following awards ceremony.

Click the link above to register and to get more information about sponsorship.
Re: Carolina Trail   izzyf150 at 8/23/12 12:01pm
These courses just need new managment who will hire people who have the funds and knowledge to maintain golf courses. They might have the people already and its just an issue of funds. Who knows. I know this, it would be a shame for these courses to close completely. I think Waterford, Skybrook, Birkdale, and the Divide are great courses as far as the lay out is concerned. They just need to be fixed.
Re: Carolina Trail   Wulfpack at 8/21/12 4:00pm
I stopped playing any of the Trail courses a few years back after several horrible experiences. Golf is meant to be fun. Plenty of other options out there. A family member of mine works at one of the courses, and the reports of them not paying their employees are true. I won't ever be going back.
Carolina Trail   ILL-INI at 8/21/12 3:37pm
Wow - i just read that story that Panther fan posted. I can't say I am surprised by it to be honest. If they run their books the same way they run their courses it was a matter of time they ran into some trouble. I've personally boycotted any and all Carolina Trail courses from my list of "to plays" and I encourage all of my fellow golfers to do the same. There are way too many nice courses out there in Charlotte to play rather than give the hooligans any more of our money.
Rocky River   slowmofo at 8/21/12 3:05pm
B man, I was there and will be posting a review shortly
Re: South Charlotte courses   ISlayMySelf at 8/21/12 1:35pm
Thanks for the 2 responses. I just can't support the Carolina Trail and look forward to crossing the recommended courses off my "to play" list.
South Charlotte courses   DrSchteeve at 8/20/12 4:47pm
A bit farther than the 30 minute drive I would add Eagle Chase (spring/early summer condtions), Red Bridge (great right now), Edgewater, even Verdict Ridge - it's not that far if you just head up 485 and then 16.

Regent Park is a good layout but hasn't gotten good reviews lately (including mine). Also tends to be a bit pricey for the conditions.
Re: South Charlotte Options   Wulfpack at 8/20/12 4:12pm
I like Olde Sycamore, Emerald Lake, Charlotte National, Stonebridge, Springfield, and Fort Mill Golf Club. Can usually find good deals on Clickit for most of these.
South Charlotte Options   ISlayMySelf at 8/20/12 3:18pm
Besides the Carolina Trail courses, what are some good courses with reasonable prices within a 30 minute drive from the South Park area?
Highland Creek Conditions   John at 8/20/12 12:39pm
I played in a tournament there on Saturday morning 8/18. The greens (especially on the front 9) had large amounts of crabgrass. Instead of the weeds being pulled, they were simply mowed over. The greens improved on the back 9.
As stated in a previous review, the liners are showing in some bunkers. Even if they are not showing, the amount of sand is very minimal.
The third issue is the lack of carts. There were no carts available as of 10:30 in the morning. The one employee at the cart barn and 2 small chidren were taxing players back and forth from the driving range.
On the positive end, the fairways are still in good shape as they usually are.
It all appears to add up to confirming all the discussion about the financial problems on the Trail courses.
Rocky River's new greens   The B-Man at 8/19/12 9:57pm
Got a text from a friend who played Rocky River today on their new bermuda greens and he gave them 2 thumbs up. Let me know if anyone else gets out there and can post a full review.
story from wsoctv.com   panthersfann55 at 8/18/12 8:26pm
Dept. of Labor opens investigation into some golf courses

There are new developments in a Nine Investigates report, in which employees at local golf courses said they had not been paid for several weeks. Eyewitness News has learned the Department of Labor has opened an investigation into some of the courses. The department could not confirm specifics of the investigation, but did acknowledge that courses were being investigated. Since May, Nine Investigates has detailed complaints by employees at some of the seven courses in the Charlotte area run by the Carolina Trail.

We also have new information about one of those courses, The Tradition Golf Club, which is located on Prosperity Church Road and owned by Mecklenburg County. The Parks and Rec Department said after seeing previous stories by Channel 9 detailing alleged financial problems at the course and complaints by citizens, they inspected the course and found violations.

"It's severe in the eyes of the golfer, it is severe in the eyes of the county as well," said James Alsop.

One of the main problems: a fungus growing on a couple of the greens that was expected to get worse.

"With the severe heat and mid-afternoon thunderstorms and humid conditions, it does cause the fungus to multiply quickly," Alsop said.

Alsop also said he sent a letter to Jeff Silverstein, whose company runs the course. He said since then the fungus, and most of the other problems noted, have been fixed.

Silverstein is the head of the seven golf courses in the Charlotte area run by the Carolina Trail. Earlier this month, after employees at several of the courses told us their paychecks were weeks late, he assured us they had been paid. Several employees then emailed Channel 9 saying that was not the case, including one woman who agreed to speak with us if we didn't show her face and altered her voice.

"No one is being paid. It's against the law and there's got to be justice somewhere for these people," she said.

Some employees said they did get paychecks, but they bounced. Others said they were told if they talked to the media, they'd be fired.

We called and emailed Jeff Silverstein on Friday but did not hear back from him by news time.
Re: Rock Barn   The B-Man at 8/18/12 3:50pm
Thanks for the recommendation. I've never played there and their web site did not have scorecard information. If someone has a scorecard scan and can send it to me along with the usual sections I list for each course, I can add it.

If I've never played a course, it's hard for me to add it to the site if the course doesn't have good info on their web site.
Rock Barn   Hackarama at 8/18/12 3:48pm
B-Man, you should add these to the list. Both sides are great tracks and a 'should play' for the area.
Re: Deer Brook - Shelby   IM4DHERD at 8/16/12 9:55pm
Addendum: These were (or seemed to be) the fastest greens I've played in a while. Fast is a good quality in good greens. These were not punitive, but if like me you shoot to be a foot long rather than a foot short, you will wind up as often as not 6-8 feet past. I lost 8-10 strokes to putting...Can "blame" myself for 3-4 of those and the rest to the greens being faster than I am used to.
Rocky River and Verdict Ridge Set To Open With New Greens   Wulfpack at 8/16/12 8:31pm
Check out the Charlotte Observer post below. Rocky River opens on the 20th with special rates and Verdict Ridge follows on the 25th. Good stuff.

http://green-side.blogspot.com/2012/08/rocky-river-verdict-ridge-open-with-new.html
Deer Brook - Shelby   IM4DHERD at 8/16/12 6:22pm
Have to shout out to Deer Brook in Shelby. Play there once a quarter or so and have never been disappointed. Played this afternoon (18 holes - 2 hours) on a Golfnow.com $22 deal. I put these fairways, teeboxes and greens right up there with Glen Oaks as the best in the area. Looks like they have recently re-done their sand traps as well. All full and fluffy.

A bit further out, but consider that it is not much further for someone in, say, Ballantyne than Red Bridge is for someone in Gastonia.
Emerald Lake   DrSchteeve at 8/16/12 3:03pm
Played about 2 weeks ago - greens definitely were starting to go. Lots of ballmarks, quite a bit of invasive grasses on the greens. Other conditions were pretty good, however (fairways, tees, bunkers).
Emerald Lake   ISlayMySelf at 8/16/12 1:51pm
Thinking of playing Emerald Lake this weekend. I have played it a few times before but never in late summer. Does anyone have an update on the current conditions?
Thanks.
Re: Pinetuck   Hackarama at 8/15/12 10:04pm
Goat Ranch...
Pinetuck   slowmofo at 8/15/12 2:22pm
Has anyone played this course in Rock Hill? I always see deals and its cheap online at like $25 online.
Play Carolina Lakes Sat Aug 18 $35!   phatdba at 8/13/12 7:31pm
I am looking for up to 3 people to play with me at Carolina Lakes this Sat Aug 18. I have a players club which for August gets me and up to 3 guests for $35 any day any time! It is a great deal for a very good course. I played there last Sat but the guys I usually play with have other commitments this Sat. Any takers? I am flexible on tee time but would like to go out 7-9 a.m. or so.
New Greens at The Links   Calvin Roth at 8/10/12 10:54pm
I played today at The Golf Links. The course re-opened today after being closed for only 1 month. For brand new greens, they look really good. They were slow today, but that is expected with brand new greens. The rest of the course was in great shape. No one has played on the course in a month and it looked great. I cant believe I read a negative post on here about the new greens. They just opened! Ballantyne kept their new bermuda greens rolling at 7.5 for months after they opened. I love the ignorance of the Charlotte Golfer.
Course Conditions   DrSchteeve at 8/10/12 11:38am
Not sure where I went wrong with my comments. No slight intended at the folks who work at the courses. Although I agree that in many cases (IRI) the course owners are the problem, I also think the overall state of the economy has made it difficult for courses to put up the money needed to keep course conditions where we would all like to see them. I am happy to pay more for good conditions, and did give my due to courses that have maintained good conditions despite the economy.
DrSchtupid   phore! at 8/9/12 1:19pm
Let's sub in "wrong grass" for poa annua and DrSchtupid in for DrSchteeve...the doc has played golf a long long time and he may have gotten a wee bit daft...maybe too much time in the sun?...maybe he's gone batty from hearing the squeak of his tight wallet when he prys it open to get out his $35 bucks to play the Augusta National conditions which are rightfully his by God!!...why beat up the guys that work on golf courses when it's the owners you should take your concerns to?...oh yeah that's right....those are the guys which keep Schteeve's cost per round down in the basement!!
Poa annua   DrSchteeve at 8/8/12 6:30pm
Poa annua?!? I called it poa anna! And yes, I was wrong. Please replace all my "poa anna" comments with "wrong grass" or "bad grass". As for those hardworking greens keepers, where are they? The state of public golf is sad, there just aren't enough courses with real course superintendents who are paying attention to the overall course conditions. Let's give credit to the courses that seem to be really trying and/or willing or able to spend the money. The top of that list for me is Glen Oaks, Verdict Ridge, Red Bridge.
Re: Ballantyne   The B-Man at 8/5/12 6:06pm
It's there under its formal name, "The Golf Club at Ballantyne."
Ballantyne   Hackarama at 8/5/12 6:00pm
WOW... Great shape tee to green, $80 but worth every cent.

Wondering why it isn't available to in the review list?
Lancaster Golf Course   bakes1121 at 8/3/12 2:19pm
Has anyone played Lancaster Golf Course since they reopend from moving to miniverde greens?


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: