Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Which Course for High Handicapper   Bill at 4/26/17 11:34pm
Hello. I'm moving to the Charlotte area soon and was wondering if anyone could make a recommendation as to which public course might be a good choice for a high handicap golfer. I would prefer a course that's not too crowded. I don't hit the ball all that well and don't want to hold others up (or embarrass myself too much). Any helpful suggestions would be appreciated.
FYI - Tillery Tradition   BetterThanMost at 4/24/17 3:11pm
For anyone who ventures out to Albemarle to play Tillery Tradition, they are regrassing their greens this summer. The course will close on July 5th as they switch from Crenshaw Bentgrass to MiniVerde Bermudagrass. They anticipate reopening on Labor Day Monday.
Re: Clickit refund   Jackson at 4/19/17 2:26pm
I sent the complaint in SC and I was allowed to play my two rounds now, worked for me. Didn't seem like a scam. At least they are holding them accountable.
Clickit refund   JoeJag at 4/6/17 2:58pm
I got the same email. I asked at the course I played this past weekend about the email. They told me that clickit owes them A LOT of money, is refusing to pay, and is now obviously trying scare and diversion tactics to take away from the real facts. sounds like the new owner is a bit of a scam artist and has done this before
Clickit Refunds   Mike at 3/26/17 11:07am
I got this today from Clickit Golf.


Hi Mike,

You are receiving this notice because we believe you have paid for at least one voucher for golf and were either refused play or a refund since 2012. If you purchased a coupon voucher for golf at Red Bridge Golf Club, Olde Sycamore Golf Club, Monroe Country Club, and or Carolina Lakes Golf Club, and did not redeem your voucher, you may be legally entitled to receive consideration or to at least play. By law, Vouchers qualify as “gift certificates” because you did not choose a Tee Time, and it was for use for a future product or benefit.

NC Law:
N.C. Gen. Stat. §66-67.5
"Gift card" means a record evidencing a promise, made for monetary consideration, by a seller or! issuer that goods or services will be provided to the owner of the record to the value shown in the record.

N.C. Gen. Stat. §116B-53(c)(8)
Any gift certificate or electronic gift card bearing an expiration date and remaining unredeemed or dormant for more than three years after the gift certificate or electronic gift card was sold is deemed abandoned. The amount abandoned is deemed to be 60 percent of the unredeemed portion of the face value of the gift certificate or the electronic gift card.

N.C. Gen. Stat. §116B-54(b)
A gift certificate or electronic gift card is not abandoned property when the gift certificate or electronic gift card: (1) Conspicuously states that the gift certificate or electronic gift card does not expire; (2) Bears no expiration date; or (3) States that a date of expiration printed on the gift certificate or electronic gift card is not applicable ! in North Carolina

Federal Law:
In 2009, Congress passed the Credit Card Accountability Responsibility and Disclosure (CARD) Act, which set consumer protections for gift cards based on many state laws. The law provides that gift cards cannot expire within five years from the date they were activated and generally limits inactivity fee on gift cards except in certain circumstances, such as if there has been no transaction for at least 12 months. The federal law creates a floor for regulation and leaves room for state regulation on redeeming gift cards for cash and unclaimed property provisions.

What this means:
If you purchased a coupon on ClickitGolf.com within the last 5 years, you are entitled to the actual cash value of the voucher, even if it’s expired, per federal law. This also means that you are ONLY entitled to the actual cash value, not any additional discount or “upside”. Since the courses were paid for these vouchers, you may ! have a legal right to collect it back from them from 2012 forward. Clickit Golf, Inc has been attempting to correct this issue on your behalf and get permission for you to play, but we have been refused by these courses.

What you should do:
If you believe that you qualify, you should submit a support ticket to support@clickitgolf.com with your name, email, the date you purchased and the voucher/course that you were unable to redeem. You may qualify even if you were not refused and simply did not use the voucher. We will then contact you with the next steps.


Sincerely,
Clickit Golf Management
5/5 UDACF Carolina Lakes Golf Tournament   jrpavone5 at 3/3/17 11:41am
GOLFERS WANTED!:

May 5th - U Deserve a Chance Charity Golf Tournament @ Carolina Lakes. Check out www.udacf.org for tournament info and sponsorship or email me at www.Joe.Pavone@udacf.org. Proceeds benefit the 501c-3 organization so are tax deductible.

Organization uses proceeds to help families and people with youth athletic costs due to the rising costs. Funds specifically benefit families that are involved in baseball (the future golf ball slicers) of the greater Charlotte area.

PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD to make this the greatest CINCO de Mayo/ Golf Fundraiser in the areas history.
Click it   ILL-INI at 2/28/17 12:18pm
Nah - I use golfnow.com. Much easier process and cheaper in most instances.
clickit golf?   JoeJag at 2/13/17 12:56pm
Has anyone bought golf through clickit lately? First, the website is really cumbersome so its hard to find anything. And now it looks like there are very few courses listed. a guy there helped me out before with my credits, but now nobody responds to emails. Sad really, clickit was such a great and easy place to buy golf rounds.
Lincoln Country Club   NCGolfer at 2/7/17 10:40am
Played Lincoln again Sunday. Greens continue to be some of the best I've played if not the best. Tees and fairways dormant but in good shape for the winter. Not sure about previous poster concerning highways on a few holes. Would have to have a nasty slice to hit it there. All in all a good course, with friendly staff.
Re: Lincoln Country Club   Albert So at 2/3/17 7:05am
Almost blew somebody's windshield out. Check traffic before hitting on 10, 11 and 12.
I hate this golf course. Love playing there, but it kills me. Just cannot figure out the greens. Most places I'm a two-putt or better. Not here. And yeah, they're fast, firm- my preference. One par-3 on the front I swear the ball appeared to roll uphill.
Four doglegs are close to 90-degrees. Fun. Wide open fairways are sprinkled with semi-visible traps, plenty of water. No miss-hits allowed. Every shot has got to count. Most of the collars are a little chewed up. By the way, most greens are slightly elevated so you can forget about a bump and run. Short shots roll off to the side.
Cheap rates. Paid $14 to walk. Which was a challenge. Some pretty steep hills. Worth playing this course just for #18 which has the steepest approach shot of any course in the area. Granted, I was pretty ragged at this point. At 135 yards out I hit a five-wood, thinking "If I hit the club house maybe that'll teach 'em." Pin-high with a steep downhill roll I two-putted for par on a hole I assumed I'd double- or triple-bogey. I hate this course.
Re: Deerbrook   IM4DHERD at 1/31/17 12:08pm
Not lately, but have played it plenty of times in the winter and as always it has been in as good or better shape as anywhere in the area.
Handicaps   IM4DHERD at 1/31/17 9:51am
Since this is a board of public course players, I wonder if anyone uses a USGA Handicap system of some sort to get a card. There are a number out there, but I don't know the cost/benefit of one vs. another.

I have an excel spreadsheet with formulas that does the work for me, that I can it share with anyone interested, but wouldn't mind getting an official index if the price is right. I think there are online options where you can develop a group/club if a "B-Man" group/club might be of interest.
Deerbrook   NCGolfer at 1/1/17 6:59pm
Anyone played Deerbrook lately? Haven't been there in awhile and was wondering about conditions.
Lincoln Country Club   NCGolfer at 1/1/17 2:57pm
Played at Lincoln CC last week. Course is in great shape. Greens are quick and roll true. Good test of golf. Definitely will be back.
Golf in January?   Donmon at 12/28/16 10:27pm
Hi All, I'm going to be in Charlotte early January. Live in MA and hoping that golf will be an option while I'm there. Are courses open, do people play?
Thanks!
Re: Mooresville Golf Course   The B-Man at 12/28/16 9:31pm
I've added this course so you can all now post official reviews!
Christmas day   5putts at 12/18/16 2:09pm
Anyone know of any Charlotte metro area courses open Christmas day?
Re: Clickit Golf - BEWARE & AVOID   The B-Man at 11/8/16 6:29pm
Well this might explain it... <smh> Sad, just sad.

Founder of ClickitGolf.com was arrested on Tuesday on a charge of stealing at least $10,000 from his former firm
Mooresville Golf Course   Albert So at 11/7/16 7:32am

While it’s nice to see an old course renovated, the front is no longer by any stretch a Donald Ross course. Two complaints: The bunker walls are ridiculously steep with grass so long it holds the ball, keeping it from rolling into the bunker and they are too steep to stand on forcing a shot from the sand at a ball above the waist! Second: the course is just too popular. One o’clock on a Thursday afternoon and it’s packed.
Re: Mooresville Golf Club   IM4DHERD at 10/12/16 7:12pm
More info. Not to oversell it, because the more of you who play it, the less the rest of us can, but it is pretty much the first new golf course in some time. Even though a number of the old holes are recognizable slopes have been evened out, trees removed, traps added, etc. Lot's of tall links-type grasses.

5 par 5s, 5 par 3s. 6800 from the blues, 6300 from the whites. Played with a freshman Catawba College golfer and a Sr. HS player who bombed 300 yard drives and hit a 5 wood 260 to a green, and they had a pretty tough time of it. Pretty difficult, my worst score in over a year.

These kids work at the club and say a number of new members (yes, it is now semi-private) are also members at Trump National. I now put this one up with any of my favorites and some of the highest rated courses on this site like Edgewater, Stonebridge, Glen Oaks, Deerbrook, and Red Bridge.
Re: Mooresville Golf Club   IM4DHERD at 10/12/16 9:55am
HAVE TO get this Club listed. Played yesterday. Played it many times in the past (Donald Ross front nine, very challenging back nine) but it closed for renovations for 22 months. Many of the holes are recognizable (#s 1,2,4 and 11-18 except for 13 which has been stretched into a par 5). Really like how the new holes on the front are configured, a stretch gives a Links style look. Best greens I have seen in forever, no doubt. Firm and FAST. Excellent practice area. Tee Boxes and fairways are in better shape than Glen Oaks, and that is saying something if you have ever played there. Probably should be expected after almost two years of work. Excellent work with the sand traps - placement and condition. Thick fluffy sand. Few holes have traps 50-100 yards from the green bu! t from the fairway looks to be greenside, something to get used to. My GPS is no good as this course hasn't been mapped. They need to put together a yardage book. Oh yeah, new carts too.
Duke University Golf Club   Albert So at 10/6/16 6:11am
(Thought I would post this here since Duke is not in the pull-down list of the Reviews section)
Sure it’s a two hour drive from Charlotte to Durham and costs an arm and a leg for non-Duke people, but with all the rave reviews of the Duke University Golf Club, I felt compelled to use a vacation day (a Tuesday) to play a couple rounds. I walked the first round. At 8:45 I was the first golfer out. Extremely heavy dew made things pretty sloppy. (Not their fault, of course). Not for the faint of heart, Duke is a big kids’ course. Fairways are moderately to very wide with a lot of undulating. Plenty of water, creeks and rocks. There is knee-high grass or weeds in almost all the wooded areas, errant shots are as good as gone. A million huge, deep, well-maintained! fairway and greenside bunkers to tack on a few more strokes. The greens are some of the fastest, firmest, true-rolling and most challenging I’ve ever played. The starter’s advice to always hit it to “under the pin” was spot on as putts from pin-high invariably ran WAY past the cup. For walkers, the yardage markings stink. The GPS in the carts updates quickly and easily saved me a good five strokes when I drove the second round. Glad I went. I recommend Duke. Won’t be back. A pretty course, but no wow factor.
Re: Mooresville Golf Club   aepfeiffer at 10/5/16 12:28pm
I haven't got a chance to play there yet, used to play this course a ton back before they shut it down, so looking forward to playing there soon, actually tried to get a tee time for this weekend and its booked up unless you can play after 1pm if you want a 4 some! I looked on GolfNow and seems like almost all early tee times are booked up b/w today 10/5 and next Wed 10/12. Im sure some of the newness is the reason for the bookings, but I heard they sold like 1000 memberships and for anyone that bought a 2017 membership they got the rest of 2016 for free, and they allow members to book 14 days in advance, so Im wondering if some of the early tee times are getting booked up by the influx of members! Just hoping it lives up to the hype, they used to have bent grass that always stayed in good shape%2! C but they installed Tiff Eagle greens, so they should be excellent year round and fast! Is there any way to add Mooresville along with Crowders Mountain to the list of Charlotte area courses for review?
Mooresville Golf Club   The B-Man at 10/3/16 7:57pm
Just saw that Mooresville reopened after a 2 year, $5M+ renovation:

Town-owned Mooresville Golf Club reopening after $10M makeover

Anybody played it yet? Let me know if I should add it. I'm thinking yes.
Re: Clickit Golf - BEWARE & AVOID   JoeJag at 9/30/16 8:00am
I thought the same thing too, until I learned I was calling the previous owner who sold it months ago. I emailed to their support email and got some guy Bob to help me out. He explained the problem, and we got a fair resolution to the credits issue, so I'm fine now.Sounds like these guys were left with a pile of crap from the previous owner. I'll still use them since I play the courses they work with and can get good deals.
Clickit Golf - BEWARE & AVOID   UD_MTD at 9/29/16 2:06pm
Has anyone gotten a response or update from the people at Clickit Golf on the status of the Clickit Cash? Their new website is up and running but when I log in, there is no cash credit there. My regular foursome stands to lose more than $1,000 in this mess. I've emailed and called 10+ times over the last month with no response from them.

I would strongly encourage everyone to boycott this website and pay courses directly. Their deals aren't even good anymore...keep the money in the golf courses not these peoples hands.
Looking for various Charlotte Skins Games   DblEgle16 at 9/19/16 11:18am
B-Man

First of all I enjoy your site.

Could you let me know and post where there is weekly skins game in the Charlotte area. I am familiar with the Golf week tour but really just trying to find different courses and a day of the week where golfers just show up to play skins. I also saw a guy post on GolfWrx site looking for skins game in Charlotte.

Lived all over the country and a format and lot of guys liked is where informally meet up to throw $10 or $20 into the pot . Sometimes they would divide half the pot and play two best balls out of foursome for a team bet against the other teams, in addition to skins. This allowed A,B,C,D to get in as well and guys liked it because the foursome played as a team except for individual! skins.

Anyway would just be happy to learn about some skins games in Charlotte area and would appreciate any B-man readers of your site with info on this as well.


Thanks

Bob
Re: Fall trip   MadMax2013 at 8/29/16 9:48am
Heard thru the grapevine that Glen Oaks was having some problems with their greens. They are usually in great shape but you may want to check on this prior to booking. Cheers!
Re: Information regarding Lincoln Country Club   5putts at 8/29/16 7:40am
Based on the LCC review, played there Sat. AM. The course is in best shape I've seen in 5 yrs. Greens are pristine but slow-ish. Fairways are generally nice but the rough could use a trim and there are some nasty spots if you are wayward off the tee. All-in-all a decent track with some quirky holes that has made some serious strides to come back. Now if they could just level out the cart paths on the front 9...
Fall trip   DrSchteeve at 8/28/16 5:02pm
Look at Glen Oaks. WAYYYY better than Larkin. Skybrook conditions are reportedly terrible right now, even though it is a great layout.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: