Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Badin Inn or Piney Point?   panthersfann55 at 9/29/12 7:38pm
I think piney point punched their greens (get emails once a week) would call just to make sure. Nice course medium size greens open fairways not much to think about. #17 is a bear if the wind is in your face.

Badin i think punched in the summer. Donald Ross greens (small). tight fairways #8 go the extra club the green is impossible if you come up short. a sneeze will blow the ball off the green. think #18 at emerald lake but all slope.

Both are a challenge and fun to play but the grill at badin is better by a mile always has good specials.

badin is a short cut from tillery if you google it.
Badin Inn or Piney Point?   Wulfpack at 9/29/12 8:10am
I think I'm going to make the trek out to The Tillery Tradition for the first time. Since it is such a hike I thought I might double up and try either Badin Inn or Piney Point. Can anyone chime in as to which one of those would be preferable? Thanks!
Re: Lincoln CC   Hackarama at 9/28/12 7:44pm
Yes, it's a decent mid tier course with some interesting holes. Check it out
Lincoln CC   slowmofo at 9/28/12 1:59pm
Has anyone ever played this course?
Similar Problems for the owner of Carolina Trail courses in Arizona   BetterThanMost at 9/28/12 9:28am
Tell me if this sounds familiar:

http://www.kvoa.com/news/tucson-golf-resort-in-the-rough/#!prettyPhoto/0/
One man's weeds...   DrSchteeve at 9/28/12 7:49am
...are another man's "greens are OK despite issues". Looking at reviews, especially this time of year when bent greens are often beat up, punched, sanded, etc., there seems to be great variability as to what constitutes "acceptable" conditions. Personally, I want nice smooth grass for putting every time I play (and I am willing to pay for it). Anything else deserves comment - especially as more and more courses switch to Bermuda with nearly perfect greens this time of year (Red Bridge, Springfield, Verdict Ridge, Rocky River, and others). There's probably no objective way to grade or comment on green conditions, so we are probably left with reading the tea (green) leaves when greens are less than perfect.
Emerald Lake Golf Club   Cory Hadley at 9/27/12 10:31pm
Played today. Beyond anything else, it is just nice to get back out to this course. The staff has changed over and for the first time in years, I was greeted with a smile. Course was in good shape. Not perfect, but above average. Great mix of holes out here. Looking forward to the new clubhouse!
Carolina Trail Websites Shut Down!   itsindahole at 9/27/12 3:01pm
I was browsing the Carolina Trail's main wesbite today (www.charlottegolf.com) and tried clicking on the individual course websites. I immediately saw the message "Temporarily not available". I have been getting the same message for all the course sites. Also, when you go on Google and type in the course name, nothing comes up. Is the Carolina Trail closing with the all financial problems they have had recently??? Any additional information would be great!
Re: Course Condition Questions   panthersfann55 at 9/25/12 11:08pm
I worked at wild wing plantation in myrtle beach a few years back. The answers to most of your questions depend on the type of greens. Bent grass takes the longest to heal and more water. It's a cool weather grass and why it's punched in the spring and fall. Burmuda will take the shortest and only done in warm weather because that is when it grows the quickest.

Large holes usually take 3-6 weeks to fully recover while small holes 2-3. All depends on the green type.

Sand depends on how heavy it's laid down. Watering is done nightly and usually gone within a week or so. Depends on the hole size that is punched.

If the ball mark is fixed the correct way a day or 2. If it is left and even a little of it is sticking up the mower will scalp! it and it could be a week or so. At the beach we used long ball mark tools (like a stamper) that fixed the marks before we mowed the greens.

Depending on the grass for the tee box/fairway I learned in the south leave it. Use the sand they give you. some will be treated to grow the grass others will mix seed. don't bother replacing the divot you took because once it's out its dead putting it back only hinders the growth of new grass. Check with the course to see what their policy is if you really want to know. Recovery time is different for different grass types. I would say a week or so. That's why golf courses move the tee markers back or forth every day or are supposed to. If nothing is done 2-3 weeks if fertilizer is put down.

Cleat marks are the biggest culprit in someones line. remember it's a rule that you can fix a ball mark in your line but not a cleat mark. Also someone that may weigh a little ! on the heavy side can effect the line too by putting an imprin! t where you need to putt.

Hope that answers your questions.

Joe



Course Condition Questions   izzyf150 at 9/25/12 2:05pm
On this web site we rate course condition and warn each other about bad conditions so that we can avoid a course for awhile if need be. I have some questions for anyone that might know, that could help me understand how long to avoid a course. Let’s just assume normal weather conditions for the circumstances.

How long does it take a green that has been punched with large holes to fully recover?

How long does it take a green that has been punched with small holes to fully recover?

How long does it take a green to fully absorb a layer of sand that has been put down?

How long does it take a green to fully recover from a ball mark?

How long does it take a fairway or tee box divot to fu! lly recover if you replace the divot?

How long does it take a fairway or tee box divot to fully recover if you fill it with sand?

How long does it take a fairway or tee box divot to fully recover if nothing is done?

I know that it is golf etiquette to not walk on a person’s putting line. What is the reasoning behind this? I mean if you think about it, doesn’t the foursome ahead of you pretty much trample down the green for you just prior to you hitting your shot up on. Is it just to avoid an accusation of foul play, that someone might intentionally try to ruff up a person’s line?
CAROLINA TRAIL DIDN'T PAY ME!!!!!   DISGRUNTLED EX-EMPLOYEE at 9/17/12 10:48am
I worked at a Carolina Trail course & was hired in the middle of their "financial crisis" & was not disclosed prior to my employment that I would NOT be getting paid for my services. A month after asking about paychecks & constantly getting the runaround I turned in a notice & told them I would not return until I was being paid. No one called me, emailed me or even cared to let me know what was going on. Here it is almost a month later I'm having to call them (STILL NO PAYCHECKS) and since I filed a complaint with the Department of Labor they have pretty much given me their asses to kiss. They need to be shut down immediately. DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY TO PLAY AT SUCH A HORRIBLE BUSINESS!!!!!!!
Revolution Park added   The B-Man at 9/16/12 10:50pm
I had the pleasure of meeting Del Ratcliffe last week. Ratcliffe Golf Services runs several courses around town, including Charles T Myers and Renaissance Park that are listed on the site. I've now added the Dr. Charles L. Sifford Course at Revolution Park. This 9-hole course was renovated in 2010 and looks in great shape (I took a tour but haven't played it yet). Look forward to hearing comments and reviews on it from you guys.
Re: Cleghorn   sawlog at 9/16/12 7:28am
I thought they had their financial problems straightened out. That is a bummer, because one of my friends loves that course and has been trying to get me to play it for years.
Cleghorn   Tom at 9/14/12 10:32am
Had a 10:00 tee time at Cleghorn this week and when we got there, they were closed. Supposedly closed on Friday (9/7/12). Very disappointed as this is one of my favorite courses. We drive from Charleston, Pawley’s and Columbia to play for the views and the great golf.

Bummed out! Was told they may reopen in a couple of weeks but don't know anything for sure.

Just wanted folks to know that if they have a tee time there, they may want to call and double check first.
Still time to Play Piper Glen 9/24   Amish at 9/8/12 3:11pm
Charity Tournament at Piper Glen - 9/24 The B-Man at 8/23/12 10:38pm
This tournament will give you a chance to play a great, private track in the area and support a good cause.

Divots & Dogs 2nd Annual Charity Golf Classic

When:

Monday, September 24th, 2012
12:00 pm Registration
1:00 pm Shotgun Start
*Box lunch provided

Where:

TPC Piper Glen
4300 Piper Glen Drive
Charlotte, NC 28277

Includes:

Range, short game facility, greens fees, cart, box lunch & course refres! hments, cocktail reception, and dinner

Format:
4 Person Scramble

prizes:

1st, 2nd, and 3rd place teams.

skill prizes:

Longest drive (men & women) and closest to the pin on two holes. Hole in One Grand Prize for any lucky dog with good fortune on their side! (You'll have to see the prize to believe it!)

silent auction

Throughout reception and dinner players will be invited to bid on unique items offered in our silent auction. Winners will be announced following awards ceremony.

Click the link above to register and to get more information about sponsorship.
The Divide   ISlayMySelf at 9/6/12 9:26am
Has anyone played the Divide recently? I have a free weekday voucher for them but haven't played there in about 2 years. Please let me know if it is worth playing for free now or if I should wait on conditions to improve.

Thanks
NFL Pickem Pool   The B-Man at 9/4/12 7:00pm
Hey folks - in addition to running this awesome golf web site, I also run a free NFL pickem pool site that hosts over 10,000 players and 1,000 pools each season. I've set up a free pool for friendly competition for us local hackers. See if you can beat me in picking the games each week:

Charlotte Caddyshack Pool on The NFL Picks Page
Re: Rock Barn   sawlog at 9/3/12 6:50pm
I went today and played Rock Barn Jones today. The course is in good shape but I was underwhelmed. I play some during the week at Deer Brook in Shelby, quite frankly the quality of Rock Barn is no better than Deer Brook. The only difference is the reputation of Rock Barn because of the Champions tour that plays there.

I was lucky to be playing with someone who was familiar with the course witch helped but, I am not a fan of CPO when I am not familiar with the course.

Overall it was a treat but if I did not live 30 minutes away it would be a disapointment.
Re: Course Ranking - just for fun   Wulfpack at 8/26/12 8:47pm
I will give it a go. Note I have not played Carolina Lakes or Rocky River so cannot comment on those.

1. Olde Sycamore
2. Stonebridge
3. Springfield
4. Red Bridge
5. Edgewater
6. Verdict Ridge
7. Glen Oaks
8. Fort Mill
9. Emerald Lake
10. Eagle Chase
Course Ranking - just for fun   DrSchteeve at 8/26/12 6:55pm
In my foursome, we took a poll and this is what we ended up with for our 10 favorite courses. Assume good conditions and no clubhouse issues.
1) Verdict Ridge
2) Eagle Chase - tie
2) Edgewater - tie
4) Glen Oaks
5) Olde Sycamore
6) Emerald Lake
7) Red Bridge
8) Charlotte National
9) Carolina Lakes
10) Rocky River
Charity Tournament at Piper Glen - 9/24   The B-Man at 8/23/12 10:38pm
This tournament will give you a chance to play a great, private track in the area and support a good cause.

Divots & Dogs 2nd Annual Charity Golf Classic

When:

Monday, September 24th, 2012
12:00 pm Registration
1:00 pm Shotgun Start
*Box lunch provided

Where:

TPC Piper Glen
4300 Piper Glen Drive
Charlotte, NC 28277

Includes:

Range, short game facility, greens fees, cart, box lunch & course refres! hments, cocktail reception, and dinner

Format:

4 Person Scramble

prizes:

1st, 2nd, and 3rd place teams.

skill prizes:

Longest drive (men & women) and closest to the pin on two holes. Hole in One Grand Prize for any lucky dog with good fortune on their side! (You'll have to see the prize to believe it!)

silent auction

Throughout reception and dinner players will be invited to bid on unique items offered in our silent auction. Winners will be announced following awards ceremony.

Click the link above to register and to get more information about sponsorship.
Re: Carolina Trail   izzyf150 at 8/23/12 12:01pm
These courses just need new managment who will hire people who have the funds and knowledge to maintain golf courses. They might have the people already and its just an issue of funds. Who knows. I know this, it would be a shame for these courses to close completely. I think Waterford, Skybrook, Birkdale, and the Divide are great courses as far as the lay out is concerned. They just need to be fixed.
Re: Carolina Trail   Wulfpack at 8/21/12 4:00pm
I stopped playing any of the Trail courses a few years back after several horrible experiences. Golf is meant to be fun. Plenty of other options out there. A family member of mine works at one of the courses, and the reports of them not paying their employees are true. I won't ever be going back.
Carolina Trail   ILL-INI at 8/21/12 3:37pm
Wow - i just read that story that Panther fan posted. I can't say I am surprised by it to be honest. If they run their books the same way they run their courses it was a matter of time they ran into some trouble. I've personally boycotted any and all Carolina Trail courses from my list of "to plays" and I encourage all of my fellow golfers to do the same. There are way too many nice courses out there in Charlotte to play rather than give the hooligans any more of our money.
Rocky River   slowmofo at 8/21/12 3:05pm
B man, I was there and will be posting a review shortly
Re: South Charlotte courses   ISlayMySelf at 8/21/12 1:35pm
Thanks for the 2 responses. I just can't support the Carolina Trail and look forward to crossing the recommended courses off my "to play" list.
South Charlotte courses   DrSchteeve at 8/20/12 4:47pm
A bit farther than the 30 minute drive I would add Eagle Chase (spring/early summer condtions), Red Bridge (great right now), Edgewater, even Verdict Ridge - it's not that far if you just head up 485 and then 16.

Regent Park is a good layout but hasn't gotten good reviews lately (including mine). Also tends to be a bit pricey for the conditions.
Re: South Charlotte Options   Wulfpack at 8/20/12 4:12pm
I like Olde Sycamore, Emerald Lake, Charlotte National, Stonebridge, Springfield, and Fort Mill Golf Club. Can usually find good deals on Clickit for most of these.
South Charlotte Options   ISlayMySelf at 8/20/12 3:18pm
Besides the Carolina Trail courses, what are some good courses with reasonable prices within a 30 minute drive from the South Park area?
Highland Creek Conditions   John at 8/20/12 12:39pm
I played in a tournament there on Saturday morning 8/18. The greens (especially on the front 9) had large amounts of crabgrass. Instead of the weeds being pulled, they were simply mowed over. The greens improved on the back 9.
As stated in a previous review, the liners are showing in some bunkers. Even if they are not showing, the amount of sand is very minimal.
The third issue is the lack of carts. There were no carts available as of 10:30 in the morning. The one employee at the cart barn and 2 small chidren were taxing players back and forth from the driving range.
On the positive end, the fairways are still in good shape as they usually are.
It all appears to add up to confirming all the discussion about the financial problems on the Trail courses.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: