Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Courses in Charlotte   Wade at 1/14/13 11:50pm
Courses that are good play in Charlotte are Olde Sycamore and Verdict Ridge. I am sure that there are others but those are 2 of my favs.
Emerald Lake Golf Club   Rob Lodge at 1/13/13 9:38pm
I played Emerald Lake on Saturday and really enjoyed myself. The course was in good shape, with only 2 greens on the back with some minor issues. The rest were great. The real reason to write this is all that went on other than the round of golf. On the first tee, I was handed a brand new metal divot tool and thanked for supporting the course. At the turn, the course had a grill set up and cooked burgers, hot dogs, and brats for all the golfers. They were out there cooking all day. It was just nice to see extra effort put forth and to see and feel actual gratitude for playing. I really enjoyed myself.
Visit to Charlotte   silverback at 1/12/13 8:58pm
I'll be passing through Charlotte on the last Monday in March, with time to play one round. It'll be my first round in 6 months, because I live in the land of ice and snow. I'm a 17 hdcp. I would love your suggestions for where I might play in Charlotte, or on the way to Atlanta. Thanks!
Larkhaven   izzyf150 at 1/8/13 1:34pm
Larkhaven has reseeded with rye grass again this year. Everything is just as green as can be. I tried to play there around 10:30a.m. yesterday (Monday) and turned around and left due to the large line of people still waiting to tee off. Every hole in sight had gofers on it also. If conditions were like they were last year, this is probably the best public course in Charlotte right now. (with the exception of the greens being slow) Don't attempt to go out here without a tee time and make sure you have time to play, that includes the week days.
Lessons/video   DrSchteeve at 12/26/12 6:50pm
I've had great success with Gary Sinquefield up in Mooresville, but I'm wondering if there is a place nearer with a video and/or launch monitor that can be used for practice. I live in the University area.
Re: senior golf leagues   HateSlowPlay at 12/26/12 11:16am
check out:
The Senior Amateur Golf Tour
senior golf leagues   pnac66 at 12/26/12 10:24am
New to area. 10 handicap. Looking for senior golf leagues.
Revolution golf course   Courtney Covington at 12/13/12 12:38pm
I enjoyed a great round of golf at revolution part nice people great course. Definitely one of the best in Charlotte.
Re: Chester Golf Club   lssu889294 at 11/15/12 12:10pm
Thanks for the response. Your site has helped me pick out some great Courses for the annual trip. We try and play two different courses every year on the way through. I wish there were more sites like this for other cities. Thanks for doing what you do!
Re: Chester Golf Club   The B-Man at 11/14/12 12:32pm
Hey everyone -- I'm happy to add Chester to the list. As slowmofo mentioned, I typically don't add courses if I haven't played them but I will make exceptions due to popular demand. If folks want to be able to review and comment on Chester, I can add it.

The "Charlotte area" is indeed a broad one but I try to cover all the courses that are within an hour's drive of the city that are worth playing.
Chester   slowmofo at 11/14/12 12:24pm
Bman reached out to me a while back and told me he doesn't list courses he hasn't played ( correct me if I am wrong Bman). This way he can give an accurate review
Re: Chester Golf Club   izzyf150 at 11/12/12 12:26pm
I think your question about Chester Golf Club can only be answered by the B-Man. As a member of this site I can only speculate as to why the course is not on here. If you look at courses like Fox Den and Tillery Tradition, they appear to be a fair distance outside the Charlotte area yet they are on the list. I am going to assume, and from also having played these courses, that the courses are usually in great condition making them worth mentioning and worth the extra driving to play them. The fact that Chester Golf Club is not on the list (to me) means that there is nothing special about this course. Itís probably just your average golf course. This is just my opinion though. It seems that you are trying to play different courses each time you come through. I would have to agree with Wulfpack that! Red Bridge would be a good choice and also Lancaster. Lancaster was in awesome condition the last time I played it.
Re: Chester Golf Club   Wulfpack at 11/10/12 9:27am
Chester is owned by the same group that runs Springfield, Fort Mill, and Lancaster. I play Springfield and Fort Mill frequently as they are close by for me. I have never played Lancaster or Chester, but have heard from folks on the other two courses that Lancaster is a better track. It seems your list in the south is pretty solid (Edgewater, Springfield). And if you are looking east, I highly suggest you work Red Bridge into the rotation. Not too far from Tillery.
Chester Golf Club   lssu889294 at 11/9/12 8:17am
Just wondering why Chester Golf Club is not one of the courses listed on this site. I organize a golf trip every year to South Carolina and we play a couple rounds in the Charlotte area on the way through. This site has helped me pick some great courses for our group (Verdict Ridge, Springfield, Edgewater, Tega Cay...) and was just wondering if Chester Golf Club is worth playing. We are going to try Tillery Tradition and then would like something on the South side for the next day. Any information would be appreciated regarding Chester Golf Club.
Re: Did the unthinkable last weekend   panthersfann55 at 10/31/12 6:30pm
did a google search and it seems that others have the same issue. either has to do with the weights or where the shaft meets the head. depends on the driver you have from callaway.
Did the unthinkable last weekend   slowmofo at 10/31/12 1:11pm
I have been having a case of the rights, so I went to leatherman's with a coworker to see what I was doing wrong. Fixed them on Friday and hit about 150 balls in a row 300+ and straight. So I was feeling good at Verdict Ridge on Saturday. First ball i teed up, boom the ball goes and so does my driver's head skidding across the cart path into the woods. I run into the proshop ask them if I can borrow a driver. They give me a 2010 cobra zl white demo. 15th hole, ball goes driver head goes into the woods. So i broke 2 drivers in one day, wtf? VR didnt charge me for the driver ( thank god) and callway is going to repair/give me a new driver being that mine is a little over a year old. Anyone ever seen anything like this?
Re: Emerald Lake   Chris Beto at 10/30/12 9:26pm
I played in a Bank of America outing at Emerald Lake last Friday. Yhe course was is above average shape. The greens were overall in great shape, with only a spot or 2 in repair from some crab grass removal. Firm and fast. They had the temp trailer up and running with incredible hot dogs. The overall experience was better than most other courses in the area this summer for me.
Emerald Lake   DrSchteeve at 10/30/12 1:01pm
Anyone play recently? Greens were iffy at the end of September, wondering if they have improved?
Cliffs at High Carolina   DrSchteeve at 10/18/12 11:33am
DOA, I believe.
The Cliffs at High Carolina   Danny at 10/17/12 8:41pm
Does anyone know if this course is opened yet? I called them a few months ago and never got an answer from anyone
Lincoln CC   slowmofo at 10/1/12 1:53pm
Thanks Hackarama, I decided to try out Lincoln CC this weekend. Talked with the owner and he told me the place used to be a lot less manicured. It wasn't in bad shape at all. The greens were full, but they looked a little bumpy. Suprisingly though, the ball rolled pretty good. Its a decent course, in great shape, and the pace of play wasnt shabby at all. The only thing was that it was on the shorter side. Too bad I didn't live closer because membership there is cheap as all heck.
Re: Badin Inn or Piney Point?   panthersfann55 at 9/29/12 7:38pm
I think piney point punched their greens (get emails once a week) would call just to make sure. Nice course medium size greens open fairways not much to think about. #17 is a bear if the wind is in your face.

Badin i think punched in the summer. Donald Ross greens (small). tight fairways #8 go the extra club the green is impossible if you come up short. a sneeze will blow the ball off the green. think #18 at emerald lake but all slope.

Both are a challenge and fun to play but the grill at badin is better by a mile always has good specials.

badin is a short cut from tillery if you google it.
Badin Inn or Piney Point?   Wulfpack at 9/29/12 8:10am
I think I'm going to make the trek out to The Tillery Tradition for the first time. Since it is such a hike I thought I might double up and try either Badin Inn or Piney Point. Can anyone chime in as to which one of those would be preferable? Thanks!
Re: Lincoln CC   Hackarama at 9/28/12 7:44pm
Yes, it's a decent mid tier course with some interesting holes. Check it out
Lincoln CC   slowmofo at 9/28/12 1:59pm
Has anyone ever played this course?
Similar Problems for the owner of Carolina Trail courses in Arizona   BetterThanMost at 9/28/12 9:28am
Tell me if this sounds familiar:

http://www.kvoa.com/news/tucson-golf-resort-in-the-rough/#!prettyPhoto/0/
One man's weeds...   DrSchteeve at 9/28/12 7:49am
...are another man's "greens are OK despite issues". Looking at reviews, especially this time of year when bent greens are often beat up, punched, sanded, etc., there seems to be great variability as to what constitutes "acceptable" conditions. Personally, I want nice smooth grass for putting every time I play (and I am willing to pay for it). Anything else deserves comment - especially as more and more courses switch to Bermuda with nearly perfect greens this time of year (Red Bridge, Springfield, Verdict Ridge, Rocky River, and others). There's probably no objective way to grade or comment on green conditions, so we are probably left with reading the tea (green) leaves when greens are less than perfect.
Emerald Lake Golf Club   Cory Hadley at 9/27/12 10:31pm
Played today. Beyond anything else, it is just nice to get back out to this course. The staff has changed over and for the first time in years, I was greeted with a smile. Course was in good shape. Not perfect, but above average. Great mix of holes out here. Looking forward to the new clubhouse!
Carolina Trail Websites Shut Down!   itsindahole at 9/27/12 3:01pm
I was browsing the Carolina Trail's main wesbite today (www.charlottegolf.com) and tried clicking on the individual course websites. I immediately saw the message "Temporarily not available". I have been getting the same message for all the course sites. Also, when you go on Google and type in the course name, nothing comes up. Is the Carolina Trail closing with the all financial problems they have had recently??? Any additional information would be great!
Re: Course Condition Questions   panthersfann55 at 9/25/12 11:08pm
I worked at wild wing plantation in myrtle beach a few years back. The answers to most of your questions depend on the type of greens. Bent grass takes the longest to heal and more water. It's a cool weather grass and why it's punched in the spring and fall. Burmuda will take the shortest and only done in warm weather because that is when it grows the quickest.

Large holes usually take 3-6 weeks to fully recover while small holes 2-3. All depends on the green type.

Sand depends on how heavy it's laid down. Watering is done nightly and usually gone within a week or so. Depends on the hole size that is punched.

If the ball mark is fixed the correct way a day or 2. If it is left and even a little of it is sticking up the mower will scalp! it and it could be a week or so. At the beach we used long ball mark tools (like a stamper) that fixed the marks before we mowed the greens.

Depending on the grass for the tee box/fairway I learned in the south leave it. Use the sand they give you. some will be treated to grow the grass others will mix seed. don't bother replacing the divot you took because once it's out its dead putting it back only hinders the growth of new grass. Check with the course to see what their policy is if you really want to know. Recovery time is different for different grass types. I would say a week or so. That's why golf courses move the tee markers back or forth every day or are supposed to. If nothing is done 2-3 weeks if fertilizer is put down.

Cleat marks are the biggest culprit in someones line. remember it's a rule that you can fix a ball mark in your line but not a cleat mark. Also someone that may weigh a little ! on the heavy side can effect the line too by putting an imprin! t where you need to putt.

Hope that answers your questions.

Joe





Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: