Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Loft and Lie Adjustment   mondiablo at 6/4/13 10:38pm
The Golf Shop in Mooresville is my go-to place to have my clubs worked on. Carl is a great guy and very knowledgeable!
Re: Fall Golf   Wulfpack at 6/4/13 9:49pm
My favorites are Olde Sycamore, Stonebridge, Red Bridge, Edgewater, Springfield, Fort Mill, Eagle Chase, Verdict Ridge and Glen Oaks.
Re: Fall Golf   Don at 6/4/13 4:11pm
I love Charlotte National. Love the layout and the people. Greens are always in great shape. Would agree with Red Bridge as a maturing course that has gotten a lot better. Fort Mill is a very nice walkable course. Springfield is nice but I always play poorly there (bring your A game if playing there). Edgewater is a little far but another great layout and greens that are always nice.
Fall Golf   Terry Jackson at 6/2/13 11:02pm
Thanks Dr Schteeve,
I looked up Red Bridge and Verdict Ridge and they may make the Canadian Tour this fall....lol
Send me an email at darkshadows@rogers.com so we can meet up in the fall and we can return your hospitality at the Fort Mill Post.
Fall Golf   Terry Jackson at 6/2/13 10:46pm
For years we did the Myrtle Beach thing. About 4 years ago we started staying in the Rock Hill area. We play certain courses every year but like to add a few new ones every year. We play 9-10 rounds during our stay each year. Last year Edgewater was great surprise and even Chester was enjoyable. Being Royal Canadian Legion members we spend a lot of time in the Fort Mill Legion Post 43, so we play Springfield and Fort Mill several times with post members. I have several days open this year for new courses too try. Looking for comments on courses within 50-60 minutes drive from Cherry Rd and I 77.
Fall Golf   DrSchteeve at 6/2/13 8:06pm
Very subjective, but I think you are asking about the wrong courses. I don't know too many who would rank Regent Park (especially with current management), Rocky River (very hard - as in brick-like - greens), and Emerald Lake (still need to switch to Bermuda) among the top courses in Charlotte. For me it is Red Bridge, Verdict Ridge, and Eagle Chase. I know not many would agree with me about Eagle Chase, but they just switched to Bermuda greens and the layout is great. Also Ballantyne. Interested in others favorite 3-4 courses in Charlotte.
Fall Golf   Terry Jackson at 6/2/13 4:31pm
What shape is Regent Park Golf, Fort Mill S.C. in this year. I know they went through a bad stretch of neglect. Thinking of playing it this fall when we come down from Canada. Also, any comments on Rocky River and Emerald Lake Golf courses?
Cheers
Trail employees not paid again   Don at 5/31/13 6:07pm
WBTV news just reported employees at trail courses have not been paid in weeks. End of report states they just heard one whistleblower employee was paid in the past hour.

On the $12 large bucket, that sounds high compared to most places.
$14 bucket of balls?   IM4DHERD at 5/31/13 7:56am
Over the years, I've usually purchased the least expensive Carolina Trail package to get the birthday round, one round at each course and range balls. Not fond of the way they manage their courses, but it hasn't been a bad deal. Went to Birkdale yesterday to hit a few and had to pay out of pocket for a bucket (large) for the first time in a while. $14? Is this anywhere near normal? Sticker shock for me, but maybe this is the norm...On the bright side, and as reported elsewhere, they have removed the mats and are hitting off grass. Some new balls in the bucket, but they are the "reduced range" type which make one feel weak until he realizes they are made to only go so far.
Loft and Lie Adjustment   Bob at 5/30/13 5:41pm
Can anyone recommend a good place to have the loft and lie of my irons checked?
Re: Lessons   izzyf150 at 5/29/13 11:24pm
I have never paid for lessons but I did receive a Tom Watsons Lesson of a Lifetime video for Christmas a couple of years ago. This video I think is awesome, but I will admit it is the only golf instruction video I have ever watched, so I don't have any thing to compare it to. I've been playing golf for 25 years or so. I had always shot in the low 100's. My driver always had a bad slice. After a couple of years of watching this video, my driver is pretty straight and Im getting at least 230yds off the box. Now Im a low 90's golfer and I feel like Im close to breaking into the 80's more regularly. When you got 20 years of bad habits built up, they don't go away over night. I just keep adding a piece to the puzzle when Im ready for a new piece. Anyway I just wanted to suggest this video to you. The bes! t thing about a video is - once you buy it, its yours. You can keep going back to it over and over. Unlike golf lessons that you pay for and hope you remember everything that was taught to you 6 months later. Practice DOES NOT make perfect. Perfect practice make perfect.
Re: Lessons   Don at 5/29/13 12:02pm
I think a good pro can look at your swing and simplify your thoughts and give you some practice drills to help. But for me, I need to practice better. That means working on the short game more than pounding balls in frustration.

I started playing again a few year back and went to Scott Fossum at Charlotte Golf Links. He was able to lead me through some rough times on the courses and kept trying various approaches to get it to "click" for me. I was a mid 90's golfer at best when I started and just broke 80 recently due a lot to his instuction over the past few years. Good Luck!
Re: Lessons   HateSlowPlay at 5/29/13 10:13am
My experience with lessons is what you put in is what you get out. There is no silver bullet in golf. If you have been doing something wrong for a long time, and it has become a habit, a lesson with a pro will help show you how to fix it, but it very rarely changes you over night. You need to go and practice diligently to ingrain whatever your pro has shown you. Too many people go to lessons expecting to find the secret. Unfortunately the secret is practicing the correct moves, even if it feels terrible at the start. I highly recommend taking lessons, after all the top pros in the world all have coaches. But go in with realistic expectations, and expect to get out what you put in.
Lessons   slowmofo at 5/28/13 5:25pm
My game went from terrible to good and back to terrible again. I think i have put too many band aids on my swing and now they are making it bad. Anyone ever take any lessons? How did they help you? Any recommendations?
Re: Deer Brook   4Putts at 5/24/13 8:14pm
Now we just need Rock Barn added :)
Carolina Trail Lifetime Membership   lostinclt at 5/24/13 6:47pm
Thanks for the feedback guys! I appreciate the honesty. There's not much love for IRI or CT and that is obviously for a reason. I'm a frugal guy who doesn't have the luxury to play golf and when I do it's on the less desirable courses, so I thought this might be an inexpensive (in the long run) way to get back into it but it sounds like these courses may just be a long walk spoiled.
Re: Deer Brook   The B-Man at 5/24/13 2:27pm
Ask and you shall receive:

Deer Brook Golf Club

Review away!
Re: Carolina Trail Lifetime Membership   Wulfpack at 5/24/13 5:16am
I wouldn't dump any kind of money into a Trail membership. They are already in very poor financial condition. What makes you think they are going to be around for the long haul? Plenty of other great options out there, just search this site, visit courses, and even look at some of the privates. If I had an extra $12k laying around, I could think of many more ways to spend it on golf related costs. Just my $.02.
Re: Carolina Trail Lifetime Membership   izzyf150 at 5/24/13 1:17am
Make no mistake about it, you will be paying 12k to golf on courses pretty low on the totem pole when in comes to quality of Charlotte golf courses.(and that's a fact) You are gambling that one day things might get better. Looking at it today, it looks like a bad idea (and that's what others are screaming at you). I really can't tell you what to do. I know that there are people in this world that earn a nice pay check, 12k might not bother you as much as it would me. All I can do is repeat myself, your gambling on the future of these courses because today its not worth being stuck playing these courses.
Re: Carolina Trail Lifetime Membership   Paul at 5/23/13 10:07pm
At this point, Carolina trail has to know how they are viewed, right???
Every review I read is the same negative feedback. It is amazing. I have only lived here 6 years, yet in that time these courses have turned to crap. I was actually just on Waterfords website as my bro and I got an ezlink time for Saturday. They still claim to have bent grass greens on the site.
It is sad, but what seems to be even more sad is they still seem to operate as if they think they were Quail Hollow.
Re: Carolina Trail Lifetime Membership   DrSchteeve at 5/23/13 9:26pm
Why would you pay for spotty range conditions and spotty course conditions when there are so many great Charlotte public course options? You would have to pay me a lot more than 12k to play Carolina Trail courses. I live next to 3 (Highland Creek, Skybrook, Tradition) and I never play them - just too many other great public course options in Charlotte.
Re: Carolina Trail Lifetime membership   lostinclt at 5/23/13 7:57pm
Thanks for the feedback izzf150. To get a better picture of what I'm looking at--The deal is basically $12k total for a family lifetime membership with the carolina trail... includes cart, unlimited golf range balls, no annual fee and it can be transferred later if I decided to sell.
Re: Deer Brook   slowmofo at 5/23/13 1:19pm
Awesome, I am playing there ( for the first time), Fox Den ( for the first time), and Emerald Lake this weekend. Unfortunately no one knows hwo good/bad Emerald lake is due to what seems like someone working there is posting the reviews of this course. I mean three usernames only reviewing Emerald Lake?
Re: Carolina Trail Lifetime membership   izzyf150 at 5/23/13 12:51pm
Looking at those courses today, I think most people would say you were crazy. Who knows though, 5 or 10 years down the road and someone takes over the courses and gets them back into shape, it could make you out to be a genius. Its a gamble for sure.
Carolina Trail membership   DrSchteeve at 5/23/13 9:01am
Just take a look at recent reviews for each of the courses. That should tell you all you need to know.
Eagle Chase   DrSchteeve at 5/23/13 9:00am
Full course open this weekend. May be a few weeks for conditions to ripen...
Carolina Trail Lifetime membership   LostinClt at 5/23/13 6:01am
I'm considering picking up a legacy lifetime family golf membership with CT at about 1/3 price. It's relatively cheap, but I've read some pretty bad reviews on IRI and the CT. I'm new to Charlotte and not that familiar with the courses. Thoughts?
Eagle Chase   PT3040 at 5/22/13 10:21pm
Any word on whether Eagle Chase has finished redoing the greens and opened all 18 holes?
Deer Brook   IM4DHERD at 5/22/13 11:18am
I'd like to nominate Deer Brook Golf Club to be included in the course listings. A great layout, always in great shape, full clubhouse and very affordable. I'd put it in my top 5 if it were in the listing.
Re: Public Tournaments   The B-Man at 5/21/13 12:08am
Try the Carolina Golf Journal. Towards the back of every issue, it lists the upcoming charity golf tournaments in the area that are open to the public.

If you're looking for competitive individual tournaments, try one of the local golf leagues (several are listed on the Links page.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: