Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner

Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.

arrow Search the Message Board:
Re: Birkdale   HateSlowPlay at 7/3/13 10:24am
Come on man, let's call a spade a spade. I think everyone on here knows that IRI is the reason the courses have gone to the dogs. Seems like they siphon every dollar they can out of the courses and put next to nothing back into it. DISCOUNTING is not the root cause, it is a symptom of premium courses that have gotten so bad, that even IRI realizes it would be a joke to still try and extort $65 from people to play their run down course. Let's be less worried about hurting people's feelings and more worried about whether the Carolina Trail can survive this IRI cancer plaguing it. I do feel bad for the employees. I am sure they are trying their best with the limited resources they have. But let's not get our tissues out, things always get worse before they get better. I truly hope the Trail does bounce back, IRI gets ! what is coming to it, and lessons are learnt all around.
Birkdale   layitdown at 7/3/13 9:54am
There has never been a Carolina Trail parent company based in Atlanta...The Trail was IRI golf group and they have always been based on the west coast. Skybrook was owned by a company out of Atlanta before it was sold to Jeff Silverstein and IRI in 2007, thus began the decline. The years Skybrook was good was while it was under the ownership of Legacy Golf Management which is still in business operating Legacy Golf Links in the Pinehurst area as well as two executive courses in Atlanta. Birkdale was good when it was in the possession of Johnny Harris. While I am on here I would ask that you point fingers at ownership and not workers. Working in public golf is a labor of love for those who love the game whether it be the guy behind the counter or on the mower. No one gets rich doing it. There are a lot of dedicated employees at all the t! rail courses that are stuck because the economy has ravaged the golf industry. You would be amazed at what these courses go without from a supply side and we all know the documented payroll issues. Calling the places trash and goat tracks belittle the dedication of employees working hard to try and salvage a career in the golf industry. The members of this forum should get out and enjoy as much cheap golf as they can because if 7 public courses are shuttered in the area the cost of a public round in Charlotte increase will increase twofold!
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   Scott76 at 7/3/13 8:33am
So I should probably use my rain check from The Divide sometime soon I guess. Who knows if the other Carolina Trail courses will be next.
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   MaxwellSF at 7/3/13 6:29am
Skybrook, Highland Creek, etc. were in great shape a few years back. It's unrealistic to expect the course to maintain perfect conditions when everyone is looking for a discount. Takes $$$ to operate. The same will happen in a few years to other courses if they continue discounting.
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   Scott Brotherton at 7/2/13 10:38pm
The place has been a dump for a while. Sad they charge $65 for golf on the weekends and $8 for a damn hot dog. The Carolina Trail's parent company in Atlanta went bankrupt. Skybrook and Highland Creek are crap too.
Mooresville Muni   DrSchteeve at 7/2/13 6:31pm
It's a muni. A good muni. One nine is Donald Ross - that's the nine you saw from the road. The other nine is OK. Can be in great shape, always inexpensive, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it. There are too many good tracks up that way: Verdict Ridge, Glen Oaks, Fox Den: it's not up with those in my opinion.
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   HateSlowPlay at 7/2/13 4:25pm
Great, now the course will be in sh*t condition because there will be no-one around to look after it...oh wait...conditions were sh*t anyway
Moorseville Municipal Golf Course   izzyf150 at 7/2/13 4:05pm
Driving back from Fox Den yesterday I decided to try and avoid rush hour traffic by cutting across to I85 from I77 in Moorseville. Also thought it would be neat to get off at the new Moorseville exit they just opened up. It lets you off at Brawley School Road. Anyway my jaw about hit the floor as I drove past Moorseville Municipal Golf Course. I could only see a couple of holes but boy did that course look in top shape. The fairway grass had the nice lines in it from the mower. Looked like a course that the pros would play on. Has anyone played this course? Is there something wrong with this course that you cant see from the road? Otherwise this course should be added to the B-Man list. Definitely looking forward to any information people might have on this course.
Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   HateSlowPlay at 7/2/13 3:47pm
I wouldn't give the Carolina Trail a cent after this:

WSOC TV Report

Charlotte Observer article
Re: Trail Courses   dond1959 at 6/24/13 3:29pm
No trail course is worth $42 any time. I was at Golf Links a few week ends ago and they ran out of carts in the middle of the day. If you plan to play one look for a click it deal when they have specials. They periodically have sales where rounds can be had for $30 or less. They also have a points card for $199.00 that will give you 5 to 7 rounds if you play at their courses regularly. There are some restrictions on the card use (I think after 11 am on week ends).

Re: playing partners   HateSlowPlay at 6/24/13 12:41pm
If I were you I would seriously consider joining the senior amateur golf tour (founded here in Charlotte). The next 3 events (open to anyone) are 6/24 at Rockbarn, 7/24 at Northstone, and 8/5 at Peninsula CC on Lake Norman. They have different flights based on handicap, an optional side skins game, great prizes for the top 4 in each flight, and a season long points race similar to the fedex cup.
Trail Courses   ISlayMySelf at 6/24/13 11:25am
Does anyone know if any of the Carolina Trail courses are worth playing now for $42 on Sat/Sun. I gave up on them last year but may be willing to give them another chance depending on the feed back.
Re: playing partners   izzyf150 at 6/23/13 8:54pm
Bill, I don't know what part of the Charlotte area you live in but I had an idea for you. Out at Charlotte National on Wednesdays they have a handicap league that is open to everyone. It starts around 11a.m. (you might want to call and get an exact time) Cost is greens fees + $10 which goes into prize pot ($5 for points scored, $5 for skins). Bogey = 1 point, par = 2 points, birdie = 4 points. Winner is the person with the most points over his average amount of points he would normally pull. On Fridays they have similar game (minus the skins game) they draw for partners (front 9, back 9, and for the round) might have a different partner for each section. They draw for partners after round is over. Anyway, these are pretty much the same group of guys every week (W! ednesdays and Fridays) and most of them are in your age group. They are friendly easy to get along with guys.
playing partners   oneputt at 6/23/13 2:24pm
I have just left my dear and old playing group behind in Cincinnati and would love to find new folks who love the game. I am 64 yrs young, enjoy walking the course,like to wager,have a 7 handicap and enjoy playing in senior group events. I am retired and can usually play any day,any time and anywhere in the area. If anyone would like to extend to me an invite please give me a call or get back to me.

Bill Riddle
513 240 9224
Ballantyne resort aerating this week   Marc at 6/17/13 10:01am
I called the Ballantyne Resort today and they confirmed that they are aerating and top-dressing their greens this week. I have a weekend tee time so I asked if they would be reducing their rates as a result, and they said yes...wait for it...they are going to knock a whopping $5 off, so it will only be $75 to play. Like ordering a Filet Mignon and they bring you a chuck steak for the same price.
Springfield   Paul at 6/9/13 11:21pm
Anyone played Springfield recently?
I am a teacher, with summer off, and seeing a special of 30 bucks during the week! I have always loved this course, so just seeing how she is faring these days!
Need a 4th??? Looking to play today.   ILL-INI at 6/9/13 8:30am
Anyone looking for an extra guy today?
Anyone need another guy today?   Jason at 6/9/13 8:29am
Looking to pick up a round of golf. Any of you need an extra guy?
Rocky River   HateSlowPlay at 6/7/13 11:06am
Last time I played Rocky River, (2 months ago), the greens were hard yes, but not unplayable. If you are using a pro v1, and know how to compress a golf ball, you will be able to hold every green. Just make sure to factor in some roll out when hitting into the greens and don't chase back flags and you will be fine.
Rocky River   tobacco_rd77 at 6/7/13 10:05am
Going over to RR in a few days. Just wondwring if the green are doing any better?
Fall Golf   Fred C Dodds at 6/6/13 8:22pm
I totally agree with izzyf150. I'm willing to pay an arm, but not a leg to play Ballantyne Golf Course Missed out playing Lancaster last year. Plan on chasing the white ball there this fall. Playing Rocky River on Sept 30th hope the speedway has nothing planned that day across the way.
Re: Fall Golf   izzyf150 at 6/6/13 5:02pm
For the fun of it I thought I would list the golf courses from my own personal point of view. Obviously I could not have played all these courses any time recent, but am ranking some of them from memory. These courses come from the B-Man list only. I DID NOT take into account any personal preferences like course layout, cost, or condition of club house, golf carts, or driving time, etc. My rankings are about course conditions ONLY.

5 Star courses Glen Oaks and Fox Den.

4.5 Star course Edgewater Lancaster, and Tillary Tradition.

4 Star courses Carolina Lakes, Fort Mill, Olde Sycamore, Red Bridge, Rocky River, and Stone Bridge.

3.5 Star courses Charlotte National, Monroe, Springfield%! 2C and Verdict Ridge.

3 Star courses Birkdale, Skybrook, Tega Cay, and Waterford

2.5 Star courses Charles T Myers, Eagle Chase, and The Divide.

Odd ball courses at the moment Emerald Lake has been a 3.5 star course for the longest time but my latest memories of the course is 2.5 stars. Larkhaven is a 2.5 Star course during the hot summer months and a 4 star course during the winter months.

Courses that I have not played yet Crescent, Deer Brook, Revolution Park, Highland Creek, Renaissance, River Oaks, The Tradition, Warrior and Ballantyne. Ballantyne, I suspect is a 5 star course but cost has kept me from playing it.
Re: Loft and Lie Adjustment   mondiablo at 6/4/13 10:38pm
The Golf Shop in Mooresville is my go-to place to have my clubs worked on. Carl is a great guy and very knowledgeable!
Re: Fall Golf   Wulfpack at 6/4/13 9:49pm
My favorites are Olde Sycamore, Stonebridge, Red Bridge, Edgewater, Springfield, Fort Mill, Eagle Chase, Verdict Ridge and Glen Oaks.
Re: Fall Golf   Don at 6/4/13 4:11pm
I love Charlotte National. Love the layout and the people. Greens are always in great shape. Would agree with Red Bridge as a maturing course that has gotten a lot better. Fort Mill is a very nice walkable course. Springfield is nice but I always play poorly there (bring your A game if playing there). Edgewater is a little far but another great layout and greens that are always nice.
Fall Golf   Terry Jackson at 6/2/13 11:02pm
Thanks Dr Schteeve,
I looked up Red Bridge and Verdict Ridge and they may make the Canadian Tour this
Send me an email at so we can meet up in the fall and we can return your hospitality at the Fort Mill Post.
Fall Golf   Terry Jackson at 6/2/13 10:46pm
For years we did the Myrtle Beach thing. About 4 years ago we started staying in the Rock Hill area. We play certain courses every year but like to add a few new ones every year. We play 9-10 rounds during our stay each year. Last year Edgewater was great surprise and even Chester was enjoyable. Being Royal Canadian Legion members we spend a lot of time in the Fort Mill Legion Post 43, so we play Springfield and Fort Mill several times with post members. I have several days open this year for new courses too try. Looking for comments on courses within 50-60 minutes drive from Cherry Rd and I 77.
Fall Golf   DrSchteeve at 6/2/13 8:06pm
Very subjective, but I think you are asking about the wrong courses. I don't know too many who would rank Regent Park (especially with current management), Rocky River (very hard - as in brick-like - greens), and Emerald Lake (still need to switch to Bermuda) among the top courses in Charlotte. For me it is Red Bridge, Verdict Ridge, and Eagle Chase. I know not many would agree with me about Eagle Chase, but they just switched to Bermuda greens and the layout is great. Also Ballantyne. Interested in others favorite 3-4 courses in Charlotte.
Fall Golf   Terry Jackson at 6/2/13 4:31pm
What shape is Regent Park Golf, Fort Mill S.C. in this year. I know they went through a bad stretch of neglect. Thinking of playing it this fall when we come down from Canada. Also, any comments on Rocky River and Emerald Lake Golf courses?
Trail employees not paid again   Don at 5/31/13 6:07pm
WBTV news just reported employees at trail courses have not been paid in weeks. End of report states they just heard one whistleblower employee was paid in the past hour.

On the $12 large bucket, that sounds high compared to most places.

Post a Message





Leave blank: