Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Carolina Trail   DrSchteeve at 7/19/13 8:25pm
The sad thing is that even if the courses are bought by entities - such as homeowner associations - that will restore them to their former and potential glory, the curent owner may still escape without jail time.
RE: The Carolina Trail   Seran at 7/18/13 11:30pm
The fat lady is warming up her vocals....

Complaints of unpaid wages persist at Carolina Trail golf courses
Golf tomorrow?   tobacco_rd77 at 7/16/13 6:38pm
Anyone want to golf tomorrow? Some greats deals going on midday
Aerial footage of Revolution Park under water   The B-Man at 7/16/13 9:23am
This is amazing video of what Revolution Park looked like after the flooding rains last week:



This aerial footage was shot by the WBTV helicopter last Thursday (7/11/13).
walking   Fred C Dobbs at 7/11/13 7:33pm
Fort Mill is an easy walk.
Re: any courses to walk?   slowmofo at 7/11/13 3:34pm
I have seen people walking at Olde Sycamore and Larkhaven ( which is only worth playing Nov-Feb)
Re: any courses to walk?   slowmofo at 7/11/13 3:34pm
I have seen people walking at Olde Sycamore and Larkhaven ( which is only worth playing Nov-Feb)
any courses to walk?   tobacco_rd77 at 7/10/13 7:20pm
I much rather walk than ride. Are there any courses that allow walkers besides Rocky River that are worth playing?
Carolina Trail   ILL-INI at 7/10/13 12:06pm
I don't feel sorry for anyone that plays the CT anymore. If you're dumb enough to waste your money on these crap tracks, have at it.
Re: RE: The Carolina Trail   HateSlowPlay at 7/9/13 12:19pm
Say there was a restaurant in town, which had terrible food, and lousy service. You could however blame the lousy service on the fact that the restaurant was understaffed, and the few dedicated employees were horribly overworked and underpaid. Would you still support that restaurant so that the employees do not lose their jobs? Most people would answer "no, of course not". That is capitalism my friends. A business is not entitled to your money, it has to earn it. Why not rather support golf courses who are doing their level best, and reward them with your business.
Carolina Trail/Jeff Silverstein   abc123 at 7/9/13 9:25am
If anyone has questions, comments or complaints regarding any of the Carolina Trail courses or it's owner Jeff Silverstein, please contact the corporate office at (760) 289-4362.
RE: The Carolina Trail   Eric M. at 7/8/13 10:00pm
The employees will likely lose their jobs if everyone boycotts the courses. Bummer to hear about how the club is being managed...
The Carolina Trail   Jeremy Green at 7/8/13 8:58pm
Please Please Please do not support these local courses. They have not paid their employees in over a month, but somehow come up with over $64,000 in 2 days to pay these taxes. It has to stop. Please.

http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2013/07/08/4153861/government-investigating-carolina.html
Re: Rocky River tonite   tobacco_rd77 at 7/5/13 11:58am
Thanks for the info
Rocky River tonite   DrSchteeve at 7/5/13 11:47am
Rocky River will be awash with all the rain - it is not the best draining course. Best course in wet conditions in the area is Eagle Chase (yes, it is a hike) - keep in mind I am talking about the fairways and greens; bunkers everywhere are still going to be soggy. In the other direction, Glen Oaks drains well.
Re: Rocky River tonight?   oneputt at 7/5/13 10:25am
I am new to the area as well,live in Palasades, retired and always looking to play golf. Usually play during the week. Can't join you tonight but keep me in mind. Senior playing to a 7.
Rocky River tonight?   tobacco_rd77 at 7/5/13 10:01am
Anyone want to golf at RR tonight? Back in the area and looking for guys to golf with since most of my friends are not golf addicts like I am. I was heading over around 4 or 5.

Thanks
Re: Course for juniors   Doug at 7/4/13 10:11pm
Some courses will let you shoot off the backside early before anyone else makes the turn if you are only playing 9 holes. This will be your best bet to not interrupt high dollar times. I have an 11 year old son that I play with occasionally and we have done this Emerald Lake and The Golf Links. Get there before 8 as most courses start around 6:30am this time of year.
Re: Course for juniors   Wulfpack at 7/4/13 7:56pm
Go to Fort Mill Golf Club. You won't find a better course for walking and it is 10 minutes from you.
Course for Juniors   DrSchteeve at 7/4/13 12:19pm
Just please be aware that a Sunday morning might not be the best time to walk with juniors, unless you are highly attuned to maintaining pace of play.
Course for juniors   Dean at 7/4/13 9:40am
Gents,
Found this site while looking for a place to play with my 13 and 8 year old sons. We'll be visiting family in Charlotte soon and would like to find a course where we can walk 9 on a Sunday morning. We'll be staying on the south side of Charlotte near the Carolina Place shopping center. Any tips appreciated and many thanks!
Re: Birkdale   The B-Man at 7/3/13 2:51pm
Update: Birkdale will supposedly reopen tomorrow on July 4th:

Birkdale Golf Club has paid back taxes

This article includes a lot more detail on the legal and financial problems for the Carolina Trail courses, including a suggestion that the county has considered foreclosing on them -- though Waterford and The Divide are not mentioned.
Trail Courses   Don at 7/3/13 11:50am
Absolutely agree the employees are doing the best they can at these courses. I am amazed people will still work there given the pay issues. I know I would be willing to pay a little more to play these courses IF IRI would put in the money and fix the problems. It is sad because I really like many of these courses layout and have two courses close to me. But I will not even prctice at these places and pass them to practice at Charlotte National.

My playing days at these courses is done until IRI leaves. Closing courses is haed on the employees but maybe that is what is needed to get good management of these courses.
Re: Birkdale   HateSlowPlay at 7/3/13 10:24am
Come on man, let's call a spade a spade. I think everyone on here knows that IRI is the reason the courses have gone to the dogs. Seems like they siphon every dollar they can out of the courses and put next to nothing back into it. DISCOUNTING is not the root cause, it is a symptom of premium courses that have gotten so bad, that even IRI realizes it would be a joke to still try and extort $65 from people to play their run down course. Let's be less worried about hurting people's feelings and more worried about whether the Carolina Trail can survive this IRI cancer plaguing it. I do feel bad for the employees. I am sure they are trying their best with the limited resources they have. But let's not get our tissues out, things always get worse before they get better. I truly hope the Trail does bounce back, IRI gets ! what is coming to it, and lessons are learnt all around.
Birkdale   layitdown at 7/3/13 9:54am
There has never been a Carolina Trail parent company based in Atlanta...The Trail was IRI golf group and they have always been based on the west coast. Skybrook was owned by a company out of Atlanta before it was sold to Jeff Silverstein and IRI in 2007, thus began the decline. The years Skybrook was good was while it was under the ownership of Legacy Golf Management which is still in business operating Legacy Golf Links in the Pinehurst area as well as two executive courses in Atlanta. Birkdale was good when it was in the possession of Johnny Harris. While I am on here I would ask that you point fingers at ownership and not workers. Working in public golf is a labor of love for those who love the game whether it be the guy behind the counter or on the mower. No one gets rich doing it. There are a lot of dedicated employees at all the t! rail courses that are stuck because the economy has ravaged the golf industry. You would be amazed at what these courses go without from a supply side and we all know the documented payroll issues. Calling the places trash and goat tracks belittle the dedication of employees working hard to try and salvage a career in the golf industry. The members of this forum should get out and enjoy as much cheap golf as they can because if 7 public courses are shuttered in the area the cost of a public round in Charlotte increase will increase twofold!
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   Scott76 at 7/3/13 8:33am
So I should probably use my rain check from The Divide sometime soon I guess. Who knows if the other Carolina Trail courses will be next.
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   MaxwellSF at 7/3/13 6:29am
Skybrook, Highland Creek, etc. were in great shape a few years back. It's unrealistic to expect the course to maintain perfect conditions when everyone is looking for a discount. Takes $$$ to operate. The same will happen in a few years to other courses if they continue discounting.
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   Scott Brotherton at 7/2/13 10:38pm
The place has been a dump for a while. Sad they charge $65 for golf on the weekends and $8 for a damn hot dog. The Carolina Trail's parent company in Atlanta went bankrupt. Skybrook and Highland Creek are crap too.
Mooresville Muni   DrSchteeve at 7/2/13 6:31pm
It's a muni. A good muni. One nine is Donald Ross - that's the nine you saw from the road. The other nine is OK. Can be in great shape, always inexpensive, but I wouldn't go out of my way to play it. There are too many good tracks up that way: Verdict Ridge, Glen Oaks, Fox Den: it's not up with those in my opinion.
Re: Birkdale golf course shut down for not paying taxes   HateSlowPlay at 7/2/13 4:25pm
Great, now the course will be in sh*t condition because there will be no-one around to look after it...oh wait...conditions were sh*t anyway


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: