Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 7/28/13 7:43pm
Hi,
We come down from Ontario each year the last week of Sept/Oct for 9 rounds of golf. You'd like Edge Water, Springfield and Fort Mill. All three are enjoyable to play.
Note: You can't beat the southern hospitality that the Charlotte area people extend to you when you visit. We gave up on the hectic "take you money and run" golf you find on the Myrtle Beach strip and stay in the Rock hill area.
Cheers
canadian pantherfanz   peter at 7/28/13 3:32pm
bringing 12 buddies on our annual visit 1st week of nov...am booked at ballantyne...and have 2 more open slots...prefer south of city near accomodations. looking at tega, carolina lakes, springfield and fort mill. any of these way better...especially considering time of year? love this site.....12th year....cheers Peter
Re: waterford   Divide employee at 7/28/13 11:51am
LOL
Re: waterford   Waterford Employee at 7/28/13 6:42am
uh - yes......
waterford   peter iversen at 7/27/13 12:49pm
is waterford suffering the same fate as other trail courses?
Re: Thirsty? Beware of Regent Park   Don at 7/26/13 8:13pm
Played Regent Park today and coolers back on the course. Must have heard you.
Fundraiser golf tournent   Clifford Blanquicet Jr. at 7/25/13 6:25pm
I am hosting a fundraiser golf tournament this Saturday, July 27 at eagle chase golf club at 2pm. The cost is $75 a player that includes golf, cart, range balls and lunch at 1pm. The format is 4 man superball and there are prizes for the winners!

I am a professional golfer trying to raise money for q school and if you want to play please call either eagle chase or me at 919-356-3453 ASAP. Thank you!
Cleghorn   DrSchteeve at 7/23/13 4:14pm
Cleghorn was a great track, but it is closed.
Re: On the way to Asheville   IM4DHERD at 7/23/13 2:10pm
Haven't played there, but Cleghorn gets good reviews. I will personally vouch for Deer Brook in Shelby.
Re: Thirsty? Beware of Regent Park   slowmofo at 7/23/13 10:52am
I on the other hand do not care about the coolers. As I will just bring twice as much beer and not buy anything at the pro shop then. More beer = more fun
Re: Thirsty? Beware of Regent Park   ILL-INI at 7/23/13 10:21am
I asked one of the Rangers while I was playing there why they didn't have any water coolers and he told me they were having theft issues with people taking the coolers. Really? Someone is coming out in the middle of the day, walking through the course, and carrying away a 50 gallon jug cooler? Like the Italian Job? I doubt it. I just don't think they want to pay anyone to fill up the coolers and take them out, bring them back in at night. What is it with these courses that have stopped going the extra mile for their clients? My theory...they want you buying all their powerades/water in the pro-shop. Has nothing to do with the coolers getting stolen. Just another trick to rid you of a few more of your dollars.
Thirsty? Beware of Regent Park   Jamie at 7/23/13 7:43am
One of my favorite courses is Regent Park, I play there at least once a month, sometimes twice, always fairly early on Saturdays. For some weird reason they have stopped providing water coolers on the course now that we are in the hottest period of the year. The last five times or more I have been out on Saturday morningss, no drinking water anywhere. Plenty of stands for drinking water coolers, just no coolers. Also never anyone selling refreshments, I'm not sure why they have a refreshment stand in the fist place. Bizarre to say the least. Make sure you bring your own cooler or stock up at the clubhouse before you start play. Just an FYI.
On the way to Asheville   DrSchteeve at 7/22/13 11:00am
Deer Creek, in Shelby, NC, off route 74 always gets good reviews. North of Asheville Reems Creek is a fun tract.
Re: Asheville Route Recommendations?   panthersfann55 at 7/21/13 9:53pm
lake lure has 2 very different mountain golf courses. apple valley and bald mountain. played them some years ago but were very challenging.
Asheville Route Recommendations?   Sean at 7/21/13 7:21pm
I'm going to be heading up to Asheville on the 8th and was thinking about trying to play a round someplace along the way.

Most of the routes there (74 or 40) are about the same distance. Anything out in the middle of nowhere I might consider checking out?
Carolina Trail   DrSchteeve at 7/19/13 8:25pm
The sad thing is that even if the courses are bought by entities - such as homeowner associations - that will restore them to their former and potential glory, the curent owner may still escape without jail time.
RE: The Carolina Trail   Seran at 7/18/13 11:30pm
The fat lady is warming up her vocals....

Complaints of unpaid wages persist at Carolina Trail golf courses
Golf tomorrow?   tobacco_rd77 at 7/16/13 6:38pm
Anyone want to golf tomorrow? Some greats deals going on midday
Aerial footage of Revolution Park under water   The B-Man at 7/16/13 9:23am
This is amazing video of what Revolution Park looked like after the flooding rains last week:



This aerial footage was shot by the WBTV helicopter last Thursday (7/11/13).
walking   Fred C Dobbs at 7/11/13 7:33pm
Fort Mill is an easy walk.
Re: any courses to walk?   slowmofo at 7/11/13 3:34pm
I have seen people walking at Olde Sycamore and Larkhaven ( which is only worth playing Nov-Feb)
Re: any courses to walk?   slowmofo at 7/11/13 3:34pm
I have seen people walking at Olde Sycamore and Larkhaven ( which is only worth playing Nov-Feb)
any courses to walk?   tobacco_rd77 at 7/10/13 7:20pm
I much rather walk than ride. Are there any courses that allow walkers besides Rocky River that are worth playing?
Carolina Trail   ILL-INI at 7/10/13 12:06pm
I don't feel sorry for anyone that plays the CT anymore. If you're dumb enough to waste your money on these crap tracks, have at it.
Re: RE: The Carolina Trail   HateSlowPlay at 7/9/13 12:19pm
Say there was a restaurant in town, which had terrible food, and lousy service. You could however blame the lousy service on the fact that the restaurant was understaffed, and the few dedicated employees were horribly overworked and underpaid. Would you still support that restaurant so that the employees do not lose their jobs? Most people would answer "no, of course not". That is capitalism my friends. A business is not entitled to your money, it has to earn it. Why not rather support golf courses who are doing their level best, and reward them with your business.
Carolina Trail/Jeff Silverstein   abc123 at 7/9/13 9:25am
If anyone has questions, comments or complaints regarding any of the Carolina Trail courses or it's owner Jeff Silverstein, please contact the corporate office at (760) 289-4362.
RE: The Carolina Trail   Eric M. at 7/8/13 10:00pm
The employees will likely lose their jobs if everyone boycotts the courses. Bummer to hear about how the club is being managed...
The Carolina Trail   Jeremy Green at 7/8/13 8:58pm
Please Please Please do not support these local courses. They have not paid their employees in over a month, but somehow come up with over $64,000 in 2 days to pay these taxes. It has to stop. Please.

http://www.charlotteobserver.com/2013/07/08/4153861/government-investigating-carolina.html
Re: Rocky River tonite   tobacco_rd77 at 7/5/13 11:58am
Thanks for the info
Rocky River tonite   DrSchteeve at 7/5/13 11:47am
Rocky River will be awash with all the rain - it is not the best draining course. Best course in wet conditions in the area is Eagle Chase (yes, it is a hike) - keep in mind I am talking about the fairways and greens; bunkers everywhere are still going to be soggy. In the other direction, Glen Oaks drains well.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: