Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Kannapolis area golf   Jason at 10/17/13 2:10pm
From Massachusetts and visit family every Thanksgiving and always get a few rounds in. Have played a few courses- Red Bridge, Birkdale, Tradition, Warrior, and Rocky River. Looking for a great course that doesn't have houses surrounding every hole. Is there one in close proximity of Kannapolis? I absolutely love Rocky River and feel it by far the best course that i have played in NC. Hands down best greens and always a challenge from the tips. Any other ideas for our trip down your way in a few weeks. Thanks
Thank you   Terry Jackson at 10/16/13 9:43pm
Thank you...
To all the staff at Rocky River, Fort Mill, Lancaster, Chester, Springfield and Edge Water golf courses for making our golf visit to the Rock Hill and Fort Mill area an enjoyable one.
And most of all, a sincere thank you, to the countless people of North and South Carolina who extended the southern hospitality to us during our golf trip.
See you all again next fall.
Cheers from Canada
golf nov 4   MadMax2013 at 10/16/13 1:25pm
Try Glen Oaks, Lincoln, or Deerbrook. All about 45 minutes or so from airport.
golf nov 4   peter at 10/16/13 8:14am
looking for a budget course not too far from the airport for last round of 5 day golf trip....looking at rennaisance, birkdale, regent park. any suggestions or comments on conditions? thx Peter
Re: Where to play   Wulfpack at 10/3/13 8:59pm
I would definitely go with Verdict Ridge. Glen Oaks is a great course close by. Red Bridge is a beauty as well but a hike from the lake. Fox Den is not in the same class as those three.
rock barn   panthersfann55 at 10/3/13 6:29pm
Check in with rock barn. They closed down this past summer due to what happened in July with all the rain.
Top 5 for conditions   DrSchteeve at 10/3/13 11:28am
1) Verdict Ridge
2) Red Bridge
3) Rocky River
4) Glen Oaks
5) Ballantyne

Rock Barn (north) and Edgewater (south) deserve a mention.
Re: Where to play   2puttagain at 10/3/13 9:39am
I would play Verdict Ridge always in great shape

If you are in Mooresville... Rock Barn is not too far away and they have two courses for your 36 holes on the second day
Where to Play   DrSchteeve at 10/3/13 9:39am
Around Mooresville Verdict Ridge hands down, then Glen Oaks, then Fox Den. Willing to travel to Red Bridge or Rocky River, can't go wrong with either of those.
Re: Westport   2puttagain at 10/3/13 9:38am
Top Three Courses in The Charlotte Metro Area

1) Verdict Ridge (Always in Great Shape) New Bermuda Greens
2) Ballantyne Resort
3) Rocky River or if you don't mind the drive Rock Barn
Westport   DrSchteeve at 10/3/13 9:37am
Westport is an average semi-private course with traditional layout. It just can't compare with Verdict Ridge, Glen Oaks, and Fox Den in the same neighborhood.
Where to play   Scott at 10/2/13 4:01pm
April 2014- Staying on lake in Mooresville. 20 guys. Looking for 2 courses - leaning towards Verdict Ridge for 1 round. Debating between Fox Den, Rocky River and Red Bridge for the other course. Would like to play 36 at this second course. Any suggestions? Never played at the lake before- we normally play in Hilton Head.
Westport   Scott at 10/2/13 2:51pm
Anybody ever played Westport? Is it a decent course? Recommendations for other NICE courses appreciated- would like the top 3 courses based on condition - no cost issues.
Re: Recommendations   MadMax2013 at 9/30/13 8:47pm
Would probably go for Bent greens over Bermuda in the spring. Bermuda definitely has it's advantages but these are most obvious in the hot summer months. Most courses
will punch and top-dress Bent greens in March and they are in excellent shape a few weeks after. Bermuda really doesn't begin growing in this region until sometime in April.
Recommendations   DrSchteeve at 9/30/13 7:08pm
Go for Bermuda greens (Verdict Ridge has them). Red Bridge or Rocky River.
Recommendations   Scott at 9/30/13 4:13pm
Looking for course recommendations for 20 guys in April 2014. Looking for somewhere to play 36 holes on a Friday. Already playing Verdict Ridge - so other recommendations please. Needs to be nice - and somewhere under $90 each.

Thanks!
cleghorn plantation closure   garrett at 9/23/13 11:42pm
Does anyone have any details about Cleghorn plantation? Its one of my favorite courses and its sad to see it out of business this long
Re: Fall Golf   slowmofo at 9/20/13 5:25pm
Dr schteeve its like we are the same person. You think exactly like i do. I played Eagle chase ( wish the greens were a touch faster) and I really liked the course. Though the cart path i decided to use after i broke 7 vertebrae ( joking) is what some might call the fairway. Those are probably the worse cart paths I have ever seen. Match them up with Regent's bridges and I would just never golf again
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 9/20/13 2:19pm
Verdict Ridge won out. Hoping to arrange a tee time next week. They have 7 day ahead booking system.
Cheers
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 9/20/13 11:34am
I'll put the 3 in a hat and pick one....lol
Thanks for your help. If your ever by the Fort Mill post late afternoons were usually there.
Cheers
Fall Golf - Carolina Lakes   DrSchteeve at 9/20/13 10:14am
If you look at the last review, 8/18/13, the greens were already showing wear and tear, which makes me think they will not be in great condition compared with the courses already discussed.
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 9/20/13 9:37am
Hi Dr Schteeve,
We are playing Rocky River, Edge water, Fort Mill, Springfield.
We travel out Lancaster and Chester so we can visit their American Post after there games. I will check with the others to see how far they want to drive for that other game. Question: how is Carolina Lakes?
Cheers
Fall Golf   DrSchteeve at 9/20/13 8:38am
Eagle Chase also has great conditions now, except for the cart paths.
Fall Golf   DrSchteeve at 9/20/13 8:35am
Emerald Lake has the same problem as Olde Sycamore - late summer bent greens that are beat up, at least relative to other courses with Bermuda or Bermuda-like greens that are perfect. If you are gong to spend the time and money to come to Charlotte to play, I would think you would be willing to spend a few extra minutes drive time to play the best courses. In my opinion, Verdict Ridge and Red Bridge are hands-down the best daily fee courses in Charlotte, with Rocky River, Springfield, and Ballantyne not far behind. Courses with bent greens that seem to survive the summer beter than others include Glen Oaks, Fort Mill, and Edgewater.
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 9/19/13 10:46pm
Hello,
Me again,I see Carolina Lakes Golf Club is under 40 minutes from our hotel. Any comments out there regarding the course and it's condition. We are playing in the area at end of the month.
Cheers
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 9/19/13 9:30pm
Dr Schteeve would anyone recommend Emerald Lake Golf Club. It's just under an hour from our hotel.
Cheers
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 9/19/13 9:10pm
Thanks for the heads up, we'll pass on Olde Sycamore. I already booked a tee time for Rocky River this year. I will chose one of the other courses you mentioned. By the way which one of those courses you mentioned would be the closest to I77 and David Lyle Blvd. in Rock hill.
Cheers
Olde Sycamore   DrSchteeve at 9/19/13 8:31am
Please see my recent review. The greens at Olde Sycamore now are late summer bent that are pocked and scarred. Compared with perfect greens at Red Bridge, Eagle Chase, Verdict Ridge, and Rocky River it is hard to recommend Olde Sycamore at this time.
Fall Golf   Fred C Dobbs at 9/18/13 10:29pm
Hello,
We'll down in Rock Hill/Fort Mill area playing some rounds of golf. Should we try Olde Sycamore Plantation while were there?
Re: Charlotte Golf Links & Skybrook   syncgolf at 9/17/13 9:40pm
I played Charlotte Golf Links last week! I thought it was ok! For what we paid for I think it was $20! The greens were very hard and very slow!


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: