Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Springfield Golf Club Update   BetterThanMost at 5/18/18 8:38pm
Got this email from Springfield Golf Club today: "We have experienced severe winter kill on several of our greens due to the past winter. We have closed the golf course until May 26th to address these issues. At that time, the back nine of the course will reopen with two temporary greens. The front nine will remain closed to allow the greens to heal and the new greens to establish.
We greatly appreciate your understanding and patience while we work diligently to restore the course to the standards we all expect."
Mens Golf League Suggestions?   Brett at 5/15/18 9:20am
Hey there, recently moved to the area (just outside of downtown Charlotte) and would like to get involved in a weekly league. I'm a decent player (+15 handicap) , looking for something thats not going to break the bank. Any suggestions for something in the area?
Highland creek   Rob glaz at 5/5/18 8:47pm
So highland creek is still crap? I got the entercom golf pass hoping those courses would be in better shape after the managment change
Re: Highland Creek Conditions?   CHRISTOPHER BUHSE at 4/30/18 1:47pm
Played there on 4/29/18 and it was in such bad shape. Even if the green fees were free, it would not be worth it. It's a shame as its a great layout. Conditions are horrible and don't see them improving without a lot of time and money.
Re: Highland Creek Conditions?   BetterThanMost at 4/22/18 5:22pm
Yeah, it's kind of funny that after all of the hullabaloo over the Jeff Silverstein/CGT debacle, and then the dividing up of the courses amongst different management groups, the six surviving CGT courses have all ended up back under the same umbrella (Pinnacle) again. I've played four of those in the last year, and they've all been meh as far as conditions go. I haven't heard great things about the other two (Skybrook and Birkdale), either. Personally, I'm not optimistic.
Re: Highland Creek Conditions?   MGOBLUE at 4/21/18 6:30am
I just saw where GolfNiners5's posted a review on April 14th. Not looking good at all. There was an article in the Carolina Golf Journal that Highland Creek was now part of Pinnacle Golf Properties along with other former Carolina Trail courses. I hope they can restore this course to it's glory days.
Re: Highland Creek Conditions?   BetterThanMost at 4/19/18 3:59pm
Unless you're getting a really good rate, I wouldn't pay what they are asking to play there on a Saturday.
Highland Creek Conditions?   MGOBLUE at 4/16/18 7:25am
Thinking about playing there this Saturday , April 21. Has anyone played there recently and if so what were the course conditions? Thanks.
Re: Lost 9 hole course near airport   Deacon Blues at 2/10/18 10:18am
I think you're thinking of Greenbriar Hills, which was near the airport off of Old Dowd Road. My dad played there in the 60s and 70s, and my brother and I would tag along sometimes. I don't remember when it closed, but it was no longer around when I moved back here in the late 80s. Hope this helps!
Re: Larkhaven to be no more?   Albert So at 1/31/18 5:29am
Although I rarely play Larkhaven (the indifferent staff), the #1 Par 4 is unlike anything else in the Charlotte area.
Larkhaven to be no more?   BetterThanMost at 1/30/18 9:45am
It looks as if Larkhaven will soon go the way of Eastwood, Crystal Creek, Charlotte Golf Links, and other former courses that are now housing developments:

Charlotte’s oldest public golf course is set to be replaced by a housing development
Re: Tillery Tradition Status   kuehbr at 10/10/17 11:25am
Thanks for the update! One of my favorite area courses and happy to hear that they are putting in the time/money to make that place great again, looking forward to playing it in the upcoming months
Re: Tillery Tradition Status   BetterThanMost at 10/1/17 8:13am
They have reopened the course for play. Here's part of an email the club sent out regarding current conditions:

Golf Course Update!

Anyone that has played since we have opened knows we have had a slow growing season for our new greens and they have not quite fully grown in. To improve this and give our members and guests a better playing experience we will be Sodding in all the areas that have not grown in within the next 2 weeks.
We will also be overseeding all of our tee boxes next week with Rye Grass to give them a good coverage for the fall, winter and spring. New Rakes, cups, flags and flagsticks have been ordered to inhance our facility and we exepct those to be delivered next week.
The ownership and managem!
ent are committed to do everything we can to create a great experience for our membership and we appreciate your patience through this process.

It does look like they do not have a website any longer, although their mobile website is still active, but not current. It also appears as if they aren't on any of the tee time services any longer, either. Published rates are $38 on weekdays and $45 on weekends. Twilight rates are $28.

Also in that area, Badin Golf Club closed suddenly at the end of August. Little to no information is known as to the future of that course.
Tillery Tradition Status   kuehbr at 9/29/17 10:08am
Heard Tillery was putting in new greens this summer, are they open for play yet? I can't seem to find their website either...
Ole Still Golf Club in Hickory, NC   Albert So at 9/26/17 8:30am
Worth the 1 1/3 hour drive from Charlotte. Superb, fast, true greens. Lush fairways. They offer substantial discounts on-line. Downside, small greens, the cart path is extremely rutted, bumpy, falling apart. So is the ground near the path. A LOT of dry, rock-hard clay surfaces.
This is an extremely slopey track. 90% of shots are on a slope. But, I like that kind of thing.
I'll be back.
Re: Zoysia   The B-Man at 8/16/17 5:00pm
Eagle Chase in Marshville.
Zoysia   LukeDuke at 8/16/17 4:53pm
Hi Fellow Golfers,

Hoping to locate a track in the Charlotte area that offers zoysia fairways to prepare for a tourney in a few weeks.

Thank you in advance.
Red Bridge   GinMillDJ at 8/16/17 9:04am
Has anyone played Red Bridge recently? Wondering what kind of shape the greens are in with all the heat we've had. Thanks!
Re: Lost 9 hole course near airport   panthersfann55 at 8/6/17 4:11pm
i found this during a google search

John Sagi

Greg, I've created a golf course website and a golf course coding system that has every known golf course, including past courses and courses that have changed name or merged. It also includes golf associations, unions, clubs, etc. The only way to activate the personal pages are through my personal search engine on my website.

I would be interested in any and all information and images that will help keep Sharon Golf Club MA-0437.

http://golftracer.com/golfclubs/Nc/NC_0437.html

GolfTracer's - Golf Clubs & Code Numbers - Sharon Golf Club - NC-0437


Read more here

Lost 9 hole course near airport   Gid at 8/1/17 9:09pm
I need help from a Charlotte golf old-timer. In around 1980 I played a nine hole course somewhere off Wilkinson Blvd. I can't come up with its name. Do any of you remember it? It was not Sunset Hills, Oak Hills, Pawtucket or Revolution. Can anyone tell me the name of the course I'm thinking of?
PGA Event   Shawn Oberreiter at 7/28/17 10:08pm
Hello,

We are currently contacting clubs in Charlotte who may be interested in earning money for their organization or who have individuals who may want to earn some extra money. We are in need of 100 individuals to help work the PGA event at the Quail Hollow Club on Aug 8- 13th. If you would like additional details, please contact Allysa in our office at 812-491-6171.

Thank you.

HRConnects.
Larkin Golf Club   BetterThanMost at 7/20/17 8:49pm
For anyone who is interested, Larkin's 10th hole will be reopening for play on July 28th. The club has been using only 17 holes for the better part of the last year while houses were built around the 10th hole.
Re: Irish Creek - best kept secret in North Carolina   The B-Man at 7/12/17 10:39pm
I couldn't agree more. I was wow'ed today when I played it with a Verdict Ridge member on a reciprocal. It was a nice day and just made the holes adjacent to the water look stunning -- see the photos on my @charlottegolfer Instagram account. I may add it to the site just because...
Irish Creek - best kept secret in North Carolina   TheClaw at 6/26/17 10:15am
Played in a tournament at Irish Creek yesterday, oh my word, one of the most beautiful golf courses I have ever seen (and I have seen a lot). If this course was closer to Charlotte it would be one of the premier courses in the area. Has some of the best golf holes you will ever play. It is a private country club but they do offer "be a member for a day" and you can play it for $49. Do you yourself a favor and GO AND PLAY THIS COURSE. Best kept secret in all of North Carolina.
Re: Visiting Late June   TheClaw at 5/23/17 12:12pm
Add Carolina Lakes to your list. Right now it is in perfect condition.
Re: Visiting Late June   BetterThanMost at 5/17/17 10:21pm
I would say either Red Bridge or Rocky River based on current conditions. I've heard promising things about Skybrook, as it was in really rough shape last year about this time. New management sounds like they are working on making improvements. Tradition is what it is. Will never be in great shape, but may be in good shape. Don't know much about Glen Oaks.
Visiting Late June   DrSchteeve at 5/10/17 11:03pm
Haven't been back to Charlotte since leaving 3 years ago. Plan to play:

1) Eagle Chase
2) Verdict Ridge
3) Olde Sycamore

After that, possibles include Red Bridge, Skybrook, Rocky River, Tradition, Glen Oaks, Mostly interested in best conditions, since I know all courses very well. Any info or suggestions appreciated.
Re: Rating/Slope   TheClaw at 5/3/17 3:23pm
Generally a par 72 with a rating of 72 means that for a scratch golfer (0 handicap) the course plays to its par.

But if the course is a par 72 but has a rating of 69, it means that if a scratch golfer shoots level par 72, he effectively played 3 over his handicap. As 69 is really "par" for that course because it plays easier than the 72 on the scorecard suggests.

Same as if the par is 72 but the rating is 75, it means the course is 3 shots tougher than the par suggests.

Slope applies to a similar rating for bogey golfers (instead of scratch), read more here:

http://www.leaderboard.com/abcs.htm

So if you like to play "easier courses" choose courses with ratings well below their par. Conve! rsely if you like to play tough courses, choose courses with ratings well above their par.
Rating/Slope   Skools64 at 5/3/17 2:06am
I'm in my Mid 20s and wanted to see if anyone can explain to me what rate and slope means. I never seem to understand it

I play Carolina National a lot and the rating and slope are
69.8 131

Does a rating below 72 mean the course is harder. The higher the slope is the more challenging the course is? I.E. Bunkers Water

My friend told me the average Slope is 121 but in his own opinion he won't play anything below 125. Then when it comes to rating he won't play anything 70 or above.

Are those good bench marks or is he way off?

Thank You for the help.
Re: Which Course for High Handicapper   BetterThanMost at 5/1/17 1:33pm
I think this depends on several factors: What part of Charlotte are you moving to? How far are you willing to drive to play? What part(s) of your game make you a high handicapper? Do you spray the ball or are you not a long hitter? Do you struggle on fast greens, etc. In the SE Charlotte area, I think Charlotte National and Charles T. Myers are probably your best bets, as they tend to have wider fairways. National also has relatively flat greens. In the SW Charlotte area, you would probably want to look at Renaissance Park. In the NW Charlotte area, Sunset Hills is probably your single best bet within the city limits for what you are looking for. Wide fairways and slow greens should be appealing. At 6,028yds from the tips and a slope of 118, it's neither long, nor difficult. T! hey also have a nine hole par 3 'learning course' that is an option as well. If you're inclined to travel a little, there are two courses in Salisbury less than 5 miles apart, McCanless and Corbin Hills, that are less than 6,000 yards from the whites, and carry slope ratings below 120. Neither course has bunkers, either, which is often appealing to higher handicap golfers.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: