Photo of golf ball on the edge of the cupPhoto of 14th hole at Quail Hollow Country Club in Charlotte, NC

Profile Login

Don't have a profile? Create one now!
Course Listings

The NFL Picks Page banner


Message Board

Welcome to the Message Board. Here you can post messages for others to read and respond to. You can chat about your rounds, local course conditions, current golf events, or just about anything. Post a message now or click on the subject of a message to post a reply. You can also subscribe to the RSS feed RSS feed icon to get updates whenever a new message is posted.


arrow Search the Message Board:
Larkin/Stonebridge hole-in-one $$$   IM4DHERD at 9/6/19 6:09pm
Played Larkin today and was told they now have a camera on the par 3 #2 hole. Make a hole in one and get $2500 and a copy of the video! Got home and have an email from Stonebridge (sister course) saying they are starting a hole in one contest on #15...Pay $5 and win $10,000, $10 wins $20,000.
Re: Skybrook to re-open   The B-Man at 8/30/19 11:15am
I'm playing Skybrook tomorrow and will post a review this weekend.
Skybrook to re-open   IM4DHERD at 8/30/19 10:51am
Skybrook re-opening for golf Aug 31,2019. From their website - "We are doing so many things itís hard to list them all. But follow us on social media to find out whatís happening. New Owners, New Mini-Verde Bermuda Greens, Clubhouse Renovations, Cart Path Repairs, Trucks of New Sod and Much More. Click on any of our social media sites or YouTube Videos to see everything that is being done to make Skybrook Golf Club THE premier semi-private club in the market. We canít wait to show you the results at Skybrook Golf Club!"
The Club at Irish Creek   IM4DHERD at 7/31/19 10:27am
The Club at Irish Creek, private place in Kannapolis with a Davis Love III designed back nine, has a member for a day program. Link is on their website. Well worth the effort to sign up and the $45 fee with cart.
Re: The Divide...Really?   The B-Man at 7/14/19 11:25am
That's absurd. I play there once or twice a year just to check conditions. I live 3 minutes away and drive by it several times a week. I'm not sure The Divide was ever a must play even in its heyday. Nevertheless, there's no way it's achieved that (again) yet. It will take a few seasons of dedicated effort just to make it regularly playable in my opinion. Over the last 2 years whenever I've played there the conditions have ranged from goat track to decent at best. While I've seen steady improvement the past few times, it's a slow return to playability not a meteoric rise to must play status. My advice is, play a casual round there when it's convenient and see how it is, but don't plan a serious round expecting it to be great.
The Divide...Really?   IM4DHERD at 7/14/19 11:15am
The Carolina Golf Journal, the newspaper-like publication found at vaious courses, has an article stating The Divide is "Returning to 'must play'status". I always enjoyed the layout, but haven't played it since 2016. Was disappointed then and this was after avoiding it for 6 years prior due to poor conditions. Anyone play out there lately?
Re: Skybrook closing for greens renovation   Kyle Smith at 6/11/19 7:11am
Know several members at Skybrook and this is pretty much my "home course." Change is going to be great for this course. Pinnacle has committed 1.5 million to the renovations over the next few years. Greens are converting and drainage is going to be addressed (thank God).
Skybrook closing for greens renovation   The B-Man at 6/10/19 10:57pm
Another summer, another bent grass course closing to switch over to Bermuda. Got word today that Skybrook Golf Club in Huntersville will be closing next week to switch to a Bermuda Mini-Verde hybrid. While they are closed, they will be addressing other areas including some renovations to the clubhouse. They plan to re-open on Aug 30th.
Ballantyne Golf Course gone   IM4DHERD at 6/10/19 8:57am
To be phased out. Holes 1,2 and driving range to become a "Town Center" area. Holes 3, 4 a park, hole 5 a buffer green area between further development and a neighborhood. Rest to be office space, retail etc.

Ballantyne golf course to transform into new urban center
So...Penalty Areas?   IM4DHERD at 6/8/19 9:35am
Wanting to see if anyone else notices, and/or if any club management reads this page and might comment. Last two rounds (Larkin, Springfield) there hasn't been a red or yellow stake or line anywhere on the course. I've noticed the same elsewhere but cannot remember exactly which courses. Certain areas, even without water, can or need to be marked because they are simply punitive. Without a drop option, it slows down play and adds strokes and distance. This is why there are not longer "Water Hazards" but "Penalty Areas" that the Committee can put anywhere. The Rules allow for relief if an unmarked area meets the definition of a hazard, but it'd be nice to have some indication of the borders and what your options are, red v. yellow.
CGA Membership   IM4DHERD at 5/16/19 9:46am
Just a quick plug for the Carolina Golf Association. The CGA supports amateur golf in the Carolinas. They run the course ratings programs, maintain the handicap system, run tournaments, provide turf and agronomy services to area Clubs, etc.

For those who are not a member of a Club providing one, membership is one way to obtain a USGA handicap. There are others, some free like The Grint app, but a $40/year eClub membership not only supports their efforts to make our game better but provides other benefits as well.

CGA members are eligible to participate in One-Day individual and four-ball tournaments, often on courses we can't otherwise play. Local ones this year are at Northstone, The Club at Irish Creek, the Jones Course at Rock Barn a! nd Red Bridge. Many other desireable courses such as The Olde North State Club, Country Club of Asheville, and Cliffs courses. Also, members get invitations to play other private courses. I just bought two rounds at the Country Club of Salisbury, a classic Donald Ross design, for $40 each. Usually $95 for a guest to play with a member, the only other way to get on the course.
Demo Day at Lincoln CC   The B-Man at 4/22/19 10:14pm
I received a note from Jody Saunders, the GM at Lincoln Country Club, about a Demo Day. Check it out:

I'm the GM at Lincoln CC and thought your readers might be interested in our demo day coming up on Wednesday, May 1 from 3-7 p.m. We will have reps on hand from Bridgestone, Callaway, Cleveland, Ping, & Taylormade. Anyone wishing to be fitted can reserve a time by calling the golf shop at 704-735-1382 ext. 0. Walkups are welcome, but those that reserve a time will be given priority.
Custom Clone Clubs?   Brian at 4/16/19 12:09pm
Does anyone know of a clone club retailer and fitter here in the Charlotte region? Thanks.
Wednesday/Friday menís shootout   Reid at 4/1/19 6:56am
I live in Marvin. Any idea of weekday shootouts (points system)? Closest courses are sun city, Ballantyne, and fort mill... maybe Lancaster. Looking to join a group of men that enjoy friendly shootouts
Top 10 Public Golf Courses in Charlotte   The B-Man at 3/25/19 3:56pm
In case any of you missed it, I wrote this article ranking the top 10 public golf courses in Charlotte (all of which are listed on the site) for Charlotte Agenda. I've already gotten lots of feedback and welcome your comments.
Birkdale Golf Club   BetterThanMost at 2/12/19 7:55pm
This article about possible re-development of Birkdale Golf Club (that includes saving the course) was in today's Charlotte Agenda e-newsletter: Birkdale

I don't think the new ownership understands what brings golfers to a course. Great service, conditions, a fair price and a good layout are what brings repeat business. You can have all of the hotels, shops, restaurants, and whatever else you want, but if the course isn't good, then people won't play it.
Re: area golf leagues   BetterThanMost at 2/7/19 10:38pm
There is a 9 hole Wednesday night league that runs April-October at Ballantyne Resort. There are a few other courses in the area that have dogfights/leagues once a week on various days. You're best bet would be to check out the websites of courses close to you for more info on their particular leagues.
area golf leagues   jaydee at 2/5/19 11:11am
Somewhat new to area, would like to know if there are any golf leagues on the area courses. Also does anyone know of a couples golf league in area.
thanks
Re: Rocky River Golf Club   The B-Man at 1/18/19 8:48pm
Monroe Country Club is doing the exact same thing. Closed till Tuesday morning to prevent winterkill. There are likely many other courses following suit as most area courses have switched to Bermuda greens over the past several years. Judging by the number of courses that have struggled with winterkill and had to close these past few years, I'd say this is a smart precautionary measure.
Re: Rocky River Golf Club   BetterThanMost at 1/18/19 10:25am
That makes sense, but the low temperature tonight is forecasted to be lower than the low temperature on Saturday night, yet they are going to open for a while on Saturday morning.
Re: Rocky River Golf Club   Carl spackler at 1/18/19 7:47am
Bermuda grass greens do not tolerate cold weather well. The high temperatures each day don't matter but the overnight lows are cold enough that they need to cover the greens.
Rocky River Golf Club   BetterThanMost at 1/17/19 4:06pm
Per their Twitter feed, Rocky River is closing at 10:30am on Saturday and will re-open at 9:00am on Tuesday due to impending cold weather. According to what I can see, the high for Saturday is 60į, Sunday is 51į, and Monday is 41į, so you're guess is as good as mine.
Re: Lincoln CC   Tubby at 11/27/18 11:55am
Forgot to mention that bunkers and cart paths need a bit of work but for the price this course is an excellent value.
Lincoln CC   Tubby at 11/27/18 11:14am
Played Lincoln CC last week. Best greens I've putted in a long time anywhere. Fairways were good. Tee boxes ok. Good test of golf and fun to play. Only negative was cart path only.
Re: Highland Creek closing next week   BetterThanMost at 11/19/18 2:21pm
Message on the Highland Creek website says they are re-opening on Friday, 11/23. All greens have been interseeded with A1/A4 bentgrass. I just don't understand closing for two months to put more bentgrass on greens, when every other course in the area is switching to some type of bermuda. They are also touting 'unprecedented re-opening values,' yet their prices are still too high for the course conditions.
Catawba creek   Rob glaz at 11/18/18 7:10pm
Got out to catawba creek the old gastonia municipal read some reviews didnt get my hopes up but i couldnt find anything wrong enjoyed it thoutghly perfect greens fast small fairways and tees good..it reminded me of lancaster and monroe, does anybody know if donald ross had anything to do with the front 9? Alot of his design features on the front 9 greens
One month left to play Larkhaven   The B-Man at 11/4/18 10:06pm
In case you missed this message, here's the final note from Larkhaven Golf Club:

As many of you already know Larkhaven Golf Club has been under contract to sale. The final day of business will be Sunday, December 2nd. We would like to thank everyone who has supported Larkhaven for the past 60 years. It has been a golf course that many of you started playing when you were just a kid and have gone on to make many memories here. Come out and help us celebrate the final few weeks of Larkhaven!

We will be having a sale in the pro shop to help clear out merchandise. Everything will be sold at cost starting today. That is a savings of 25% on all merchandise.

Thank you again for all the support!

>Larkhaven Staff
Highland Creek closing next week   The B-Man at 9/28/18 2:18pm
Highland Creek sent a letter to its members this week that it is closing October 1st in an attempt to fix the greens. However, the letter did not say for certain whether the course will re-open. It simply said, "We will monitor progress and make a determination later in the fall whether reopening the course is a viable option."

I'm not optimistic. Courses usually have a definitive plan to replace their greens (typically with Bermuda) when they reach this age and condition. HC's letter does not say they have the funding or support to replace the greens. So this sure sounds like the end of the line for what was once one of the more prestigious public tracks in Charlotte, in my opinion.
Florence   Deacon Blues at 9/18/18 8:32am
Does anybody know how Charlotte-area golf courses fared during the storm? Any damage that could disrupt or prevent play this weekend?
Re: Lessons   KyleSmith at 9/3/18 4:33pm
Eric at the Golf Studio at Northstone is the best I have seen in the area (limited knowledge on my part though, honestly). Northstone itself is private, but the Golf Studio is open to the public for lessons. Probably not the cheapest, but will be worth it for sure.


Post a Message

Name:

Email:
(optional)

Subject:

Message:


Leave blank: