Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Charlotte National Golf Club
6920 Howey Bottoms Road
Indian Trail, NC 28079
(704) 882-8282
www.charlottenationalgc.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.53 stars - "Worth playing" (15 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $35, Weekend $48

Practice Area:

Great place to practice your short game. The grass tee driving range is so-so, but the putting green is huge and kept just like the course. The chipping green is also mown like a real green and offers about 40-50 yards of fairway to practice from, as well as a large sand bunker. One of my favorite places to practice.

Course photo

Description

Hidden among the farms in Union County, Charlotte National winds through the woods, with no neighborhood homes to intrude on golf. This course opened in 1996 and has a very diverse layout, with the full range of challenges: length, water, elevation, wind, and fast greens. The greens were redone in 2018 with Sunday Ultra Dwarf Bermuda grass and they are now consistently good year-round. In 2014, the course replaced their longtime trailer clubhouse with a modern, spacious clubhouse and full-service grill. The club hosts a very popular annual event called Margaritaville -- sign up early if you'd like to participate.

Notes

This course is very friendly and accommodating to all golfers and groups. Easy to get out as a single and they will often suggest a different starting hole for you so you can fit in with the groups on the course and enjoy a good pace of play. The twilight rates and weekday specials are the best value in Charlotte.

B-Man's Take

Fun course, off the beaten path. Good mix of difficulty throughout the round, but the last 3 holes are brutal. This course is kept in very good shape and the greens always roll true. My favorite hole is #15, a long dogleg left par 5 with a second shot over a creek and a big tree in the middle of the second fairway. I have a few hell holes on this course, including the closing 3 holes, but the one that always seems to get me is the #1 handicap hole, the long par 4 #5, with water on both sides of the fairway. The 18th can play like a short par 5 with water guarding the dogleg left, often leaving a 200+ yard uphill approach to the green. I can count on one hand the number of pars I've made on the closing hole in probably 50 rounds of play here.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Green)72725274.6135
Men's (Blue)72675171.9129
Senior (Gold)72605868.8120
Ladies (Silver)72547571.0120
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

GolfCarolina.com - Course review
GolfHoles.com - Photo tour and course information.

News & Updates

  • 3/6/21 - Review by THE BIG SHOW

    "Worth playing"

    Played Saturday 3/6/2021, we had a 10:12 AM tee time. First time here and drove down from Hickory to play this track. The course was still really wet in most places on front 9, pace of play was not the best, parking lot was packed when we finally finished at almost 3 PM. Greens are decent, but I have played on faster mini-verde greens and these were not that quick. If you've never played it is worth playing but that is the last time we pay $55.00 to play this course in those conditions. Better options at that price point elsewhere. I know $55 on a Saturday morning is cheap for Charlotte golf, just couldn't believe it was still so wet on most of the holes on the front 9 with 5 days of no rain prior. All the staff we encountered was really nice and helpful. They have a great grill for breakfast/lunch sandwiches before or at the turn. May try again in the summer.

    Read The Review
  • 9/22/20 - Review by Taylormade4

    "Great course"

    Nice layout First 16 holes very playable, last 2 holes are the toughest with water on the left. Greens were a little bumpy, but speed was about right.

    Read The Review
  • 5/12/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    This place is like home to me -- maybe because it's near my home (5 min away). Mostly because this is where I go to practice -- it has a practice chipping green cut like a real green with a large greenside bunker to practice your sand game. It has a large putting green and a bag of balls is $6 ($5 if you have one of their annual discount cards). It's also a very friendly and walkable course -- so if halfway through your practice you decide you wanna go practice on the course and play 9, it's very easy to do. The staff is the friendliest around when it comes to squeezing in a single or a walk-up group that just wants to get out and play. I played 18 today as a walk-up single around 1:30 -- $25! Try to beat that anywhere in town for a weekday afternoon with cart. They had me join a twosome that was just teeing off. Had a great time with those two and we made it around the course in less than 4 hrs. The Sunday Ultra Dwarf Bermuda greens are now in their second season and are consistently in great shape. Charlotte National has very large greens so having a smooth consistent surface helps alot for those long putts. The grass type even has its own website (go check out http://www.sundayultradwarf.com/). The rest of the course will probably never be top tier for Charlotte. And that's okay (esp. at these prices). The tee boxes, fairways, rough and rocky ground surrounding the trees and brush off the fairways leave something to be desired. You're also out amongst the farms and backroads of Union County. So the aesthetics are definitely more rural than suburban. You may get some ultralight or propeller planes flying over from Goose Creek Airport nearby (one crashed on the 8th hole several years ago on a day that I played there!). Charlotte National kinda is what it is. So depending on your tastes, it may not fit you, but for me, the golf and the price keep me coming back.

    Read The Review
  • 11/1/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    Tee to green in very good shape. The new greens (well, new to me...about a year old now) are in very good shape as are the areas around them, the fairways (some crabgrass spots) and the tee boxes. The rough is, for the most part, crabgrass and kept short giving the course a wide-open look. They also took out a load of trees as everyone does when putting in the TIF bermuda greens.

    Read The Review
  • 9/23/19 - Review by BRR

    "Great course"

    New greens in great shape.The fairways were hard due to lack of rain. Overall nice course to play.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer