Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Olde Sycamore Golf Plantation
7500 Olde Sycamore Drive
Charlotte, NC 28227
(704) 573-1000
www.oldesycamoregolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.26 stars - "Worth playing" (21 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $59, Weekend $79

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees, putting green, chipping green with sand bunker.

Course photo

Description

Located in Mint Hill off Hwy 218, this semi-private club is a Tom Jackson design and offers a very challenging layout with strategically placed bunkers, several ponds, and Crenshaw Bent Grass greens.

Notes

Course offers membership deals and is a great place for a golf outing.

B-Man's Take

This used to be one of my favorite courses in the area and I have played it a ton over the years. The Bentgrass greens have started to age and so they tend to suffer a bit during our hot summers here, especially with lazy golfers not fixing ball marks. The rack rates are some of the highest in Charlotte making the course a very low value option compared to other courses. It does have some of the nicest white sand bunkers around town. This course will also test your range, as you'll likely need every club in the bag. There are many holes where you'll want to use something other than driver off the tee. My favorite holes: the two par 5's that bookend the round -- the 517yd birdie-able first hole and the likewise birdie-able 528yd finishing hole. Hell-holes: too many to list, but look out for the two-tiered green on the par 3 fourth and the trouble-laden par 4 10th hole. I suggest finding a member and playing under the guest rate, since this is otherwise a pricey round of golf.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72696573.4142
Men's (Blue)72639870.7132
Other (White)72567367.7117
Ladies (Red)72475668.1120
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Discount Specials - Discount coupons you can print and take to the course to get dollars off your round before you go.
Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 2/28/21 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    This course is unique to me in that it charges a premium rate, but delivers sub par conditions consistently. Most tee boxes were soaking wet, which is understandable, but the tees were located in the wettest spot. Not even an attempt to get them at drier spots. The greens are a shame, as they let the poa overtake them last year and they are incredibly bumpy on over half of them. you can strike it beautifully, but not make man birdies because you can not trust a line. Fairways were wet, but decent. Bunkers were all wet, but not standing water which is nice with the amount of rain we have had. Overall, its a decent course if you live in the area and can get a good deal on golf now, but otherwise, I would stick to Eagle Chase or something else in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 8/30/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Average"

    Avoid for now. Took 45 minutes to get a cart (Tee time was 136, we teed off around 2:15) I know COVID factors in, but no other course seems to have this problem. Greens are in pretty bad shape. #2 might be lost for the year. Other ones were fair at best. Better value out there.

    Read The Review
  • 8/1/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Worth playing"

    Greens slow. Some rough spots from heat etc with bare patches esp on Hole #2. A solid course, but right now not in it's best shape.

    Read The Review
  • 6/20/20 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    This course just never lives up to the price or hype. Greens were soaking wet, soft and slow. Pace was bad even though it was the suggested pace of play. Staff was pissy all day. Just an overrated course in general. Play it if you like, avoid if not.

    Read The Review
  • 5/31/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Course was in good shape, greens especially. A bit slow, but I figure that was due to the rainy soft conditions. Lots of unfixed ball marks. We repaired a bunch on every green. Tees, fairways and bunkers were all very good. Conditions-wise, now's the time to play Olde Sycamore, but find a good deal online. $75 plus another $7 for range balls. Yowser. About $15-$20 more than Eagle Chase and $10 more than Rocky River in similar shape. Pace was slow too with no ranger regulating play on the course. I like the layout and the Bent grass greens are good right now, but this is still a 2-3 rounds a year place for me. Just not enough value or uniqueness to bring me back soon.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer