Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Mooresville Golf Club
800 Golf Course Drive
Mooresville, NC 28115
704-663-2539
www.mooresvillegolfclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.08 stars - "Great course" (13 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $43, Weekend $55

Practice Area:

The renovation included upgrades to the now 10-acre practice area with a dual-sided driving range and a short game practice area with a sand bunker. The practice facility is now top-notch and one of the nicest public ones around. The course offers practice memberships.

Course photo

Description

Formerly the Mooresville Municipal Golf Course (and originally a 9 hole Donald Ross design that opened in 1948), the course now known as Mooresville Golf Club completed a $5 million renovation by Kris Spence in 2016. The current course features a new layout with a links style golf experience. The upgrades include: TifEagle bermuda grass greens, 70 bunkers, 5.2 miles of concrete cart paths, a dual-sided driving range and short game practice area.

Notes

Affordable membership options start at $1000 annually. The club features a 17,000+ sq. ft. club house (opening August 2017) complete with restaurant, snack bar & grill, pro shop, outdoor seating and garage facility to house golf carts with top of the line GPS systems. Banquet space will accommodate 150+ to host special events including weddings, meetings, large tournaments and other gatherings.

B-Man's Take

I played the renovated layout for the first time in August 2017. The new bermuda greens are excellent and very challenging, though they are still young and not holding approach shots well. It pays to have some local knowledge and experience of each hole so you know the right targets to shoot for. The course is very walkable and reasonably priced for the quality of conditions and amenities. It features 5 par-5's and par-3's and plenty of scoring opportunities. There are several really unique and fun holes, including the par-4 downhill #4 that leads right into the clubhouse and parking lots -- careful you don't go long! The 9th hole par 4 is another hole that features a dramatic elevation drop then a long, tough approach over a creek to the green that's backdropped by the clubhouse. On the back nine, the long uphill par 4 17th is a brute. Overall this is a challenging course with tricky greens that is kept in great shape.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Blue)72680373.0135
Men's (White)72631670.6130
Other (White/Gold)72597769.0126
Senior (Gold)72565867.6119
Ladies (Red)72489568.8123
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 6/5/21 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Mooresville is in great shape right now as many local courses are hitting their prime conditions. And that goes for everything, tees, fairways, greens, bunkers. There were only a few sporadic issues with some bare, washed out areas around some of the greens (#11, #15, #18) - I suggest playing them as GUR. The greens were typical TifEagle Bermuda Ė fast downhill and slow, breaking more uphill. They gave me fits as I had at least 5 lipouts in 18 holes. The grain grabs the ball as your putts slow down and they break away from the hole. So not my favorite Bermuda greens, but your mileage may vary. The only other thing of note is the clearing / construction work being done around holes 6 and 8. Not sure what is being built there but it will certainly change the aesthetics of those holes 6-8. Right now it's just mounds of orange dirt. For me, the front 9 plays easier than the back, though overall this can be a tough track. The closing 3 hole stretch of 16 (short par 4 but a difficult tee shot), 17 (long par 4 with OB on both sides and a large sloped green) and 18 (long narrow par 5 guarded by OB left, hazard right and fairway bunkers in the layup zone) is one of the more difficult in town. For the money and the amenities (incl. a nice practice area and large clubhouse/restaurant), Mooresville is still one of the nicer places to play around Charlotte.

    Read The Review
  • 11/5/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    Only played here once before the renovations and that was 15+ years ago. The course is in fantastic shape with incredibly fast and smooth greens. I love the layout , the front a little more than the back. The pace of play was ~4 hrs and never had to wait. My only issue was when I called to book last week I mentioned that their website said cart path only during "winter months". I asked when that would be and they replied in a couple of weeks. It was cart path only yesterday. Don't think we had any rain since last Wednesday and if I had known that I would have brought my push cart and walked. Again great layout and conditions, friendly staff , I will be back but I will call ahead to check on cart path only restrictions.

    Read The Review
  • 7/14/20 - Review by RT

    "Great course"

    Mooresville is in superb condition. Tee boxes are some of the best in the area. Fairways were play-the-ball-down condition with excellent lies all day. Greens were firm but receptive and rolled very smoothly with very consistent speed all day. The Bermuda is thriving in the summer heat, and the turf is full, with the rough cut at about a half-stroke penalty height. Fun course. Front and back are very different.

    Read The Review
  • 6/1/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Mooresville comes in at #4 on my recently published Top 10 list for Charlotte and this round validated that ranking. The layout is fun and challenging. The greens are tough but fair and the price is right. Just a well maintained course and great bang for the buck. Today, conditions were very good. Tees and fairways are lush and full with very few issues due to the rain. The greens were not as fast as I've seen them here but they were rolling true. It was still cart path only today but I heard that should change tomorrow. The path restriction meant we couldn't use the GPS on the carts today but it's a nice feature when you can drive to your ball. It's two to a cart now and there were sand bottles on the carts. So some of the restrictions are easing up. This course has a nice practice area for your warm-up. I really like the front nine. It's easily walkable and has two reachable par 5's. The back nine is a little trickier and has three of each par 3, par 4 and par 5s, which is unique for Charlotte. The only issues today were some ground under repair on #1 where the rains have washed out some areas that just have sand right now and also around the green on #11. Those issues were isolated but I found both areas with my approaches and had to take relief. This is a great course and if you have never played it, take a trip up 77 and check it out.

    Read The Review
  • 9/22/19 - Review by wesleyheightshacker

    "Perfect"

    First time playing Mooresville today and I will be back. The course was in fantastic shape - tee boxes, fairways, and greens. Pace of play was right at 4 hours. The front nine is a little more aesthetically appealing to my eye, however the entire course was excellent.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer