Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Olde Beau Resort & Golf Club
729 Olde Beau Blvd
Roaring Gap, NC 28668
(336) 363-3333
www.oldebeauresort.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.5 stars - "Great course" (3 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $35, Weekend $45

Practice Area:

Putting and chipping greens.

Course photo

Description

Olde Beau Resort & Golf Club sits atop a mountain on the eastern edge of the Blue Ridge Mountains at an elevation peak of 3200 feet. It is a semi-private club offering golf, lodging accommodations, real estate opportunities and banquet facilities just 15 minutes from the Virginia state line and easily accessed from the Blue Ridge Parkway, Highway 21 or I-77 at the Elkin exit. Since its grand opening in the fall of 1991, this course has been named one of the 'Top 50 Development Courses in the Southeast' by GOLFWEEK magazine. PGA Pro Curtis Strange has said that Olde Beau is 'one of the greatest mountain courses ever built.' The original developer, Billy Satterfield, named Olde Beau in honor of his faithful bulldog friend and constant companion. Olde Beau's design, with traditional flat greens and no 'blind shots' to the green, makes more than 1,500 feet in elevation changes over a par 72 layout that measures 6,710 yards from the tips, 6,237 from the middle and 5,652 from the front tees. The greens are regulation bent grass and the fairways and roughs are a rich blend of bluegrass. The course is forever ablaze with hillsides of wild flowers, mountain laurel and rhododendron. To play Olde Beau is to feel the mountain as well. With the emerald green fairways overlooking an ever changing palette of color on the trees, it seems as though you're playing golf on top of the world!

Notes

Memberships and stay-and-play packages available.

B-Man's Take

This one of a handful of courses on the site I have yet to play. It's on my to-do list, however, as I've gotten more and more great feedback about it. Go play it and post a review!

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72656572.0130
Men's (Blue)72605669.9124
Senior (White)72570668.0122
Other (Green)72499364.7112
Ladies (Red)73430766.2117
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 4/12/20 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Olde Beau is in great shape...They had just aerated and sanded the greens but I can't fault them for that. I didn't see the "aeration alert" on Golfnow when I set up the tee time. Fairways, rough and teeboxes all were all lush and full. Funky, funky course that makes you think through every shot. Well worth the drive.

    Read The Review
  • 4/2/17 - Review by Swingandamiss

    "Great course"

    Great course, and played it the week it opened so still relatively quiet. The course is incredibly challenging, with some great views. THe course has a ton of elevation so expect to walk alot. Some of the holes have experienced some issues, but that's to be expected at the beginning of the season. Course would have gotten 5 stars had they offered a course layout or map on the scorecard, since alot of the holes are blind.

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/16 - Review by Albert So

    "Perfect"

    My favorite North Carolina course. It's about 1 1/2 hours up I-77 from Charlotte near the Blue Ridge Pkwy and spittin' distance from the Eastern Continental Divide. Played there last year. Loved it. Took a day off this year to make the trip and play two rounds (18 hole replay is $25). Spectacular views especially on the back. Up & down or left & right slopes are a near constant. Old Beau is well-thought out and challenging without being gimmicky. At least two holes are right-angle doglegs. One par three demands a shot crowded by trees while another is to a green waaaay way down there surrounded by dense greenery but also includes ball saving embankments. I'm a walker. This course is unwalkable. At two points the incline was so severe the cart wouldn't go up. Twice I found myself sliding backwards! If you can't see what your shot might be headed into drive the cart ahead and look. Several holes have huge areas that lure your shot into a lost ball abyss. On the good side of that I got on a couple of par-5s in three because the fairway slope gave my club another 30-40 yards! Greens are spectacular. Not pretty. Kind of splotchy. But they're fast, soft (on a Monday a maintenance guy was out soaking them down) and run beautifully true. Most of my high score was from reading breaks that weren't there. (Guy in the clubhouse said I was overthinking it.) Heat might take a bit more of a tole through August, it was unusually hot for that elevation. But If I have a complaint it was having to wait for sprinklers to turn out of the way. Guarantee you have never seen any hole on a public course in the Charlotte area similar to #17 at Old Beau. If you're a skier, think double-black diamond steep from about 150 yards out to about 50 yards from the green, which is steeply elevated. To the right, a babbling brook. If you keep it in the middle you will be on in three. What a hoot.

    Read The Review
  • 8/25/14 - Forum Posting by panthersfann55 titled "olde beau"

    took advantage of a clickit deal and head up north to olde beau. holes 1-3 suck you in then bam tough holes lie ahead. blind shots a plenty for first timers not knowing the course but the beauty made me forget my score. best part of the round was when everything went silent and a fighter jet came screaming up the valley and passed 200 yds over our heads and was gone. Bent grass greens tough to read with no ball marks on them only a few fungus spots here and there but never came into play (A). Bunkers were wet due to greenside sprinklers being used at night (B). Fairways lush but not mowed so very little roll after the ball landed (A-). Rough tough as hell close to us open rough (A+). Tees just mowed and in overall great shape (A+). Shot a 95 from the green tees. Overall great value for $40.
    Ta! ke your camera it was a nice clear day.

    Read More
  • 8/25/14 - Review by panthersfann55

    "Great course"

    Tough mountain golf at its best. see message board posting about my round. It took so long as a twosome do to not knowing the course. took a little over an hour and a half to get there. play a replay round if you want to score better. It would have been a perfect score if the fairways were mowed (it caused the ball to get no roll out and plug a lot). Saw no other players besides to another twosome the whole day.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer