Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. I’ve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Chester Golf Club
770 Old Richburg Road
Chester, SC 29706
(803) 581-5733
www.playchester.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.88 stars - "Great course" (4 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $48, Weekend $53

Practice Area:

Practice facilities include a driving range, two practice putting greens and a practice bunker.

Course photo

Description

The Chester Golf Club is located in rural Chester County 6 miles west of I-77 off of exit 62, only minutes from Charlotte or Columbia. The course, which opened in 1971, was designed by Russell Breeden, and is known to many as a “hidden gem.” The TifEagle Ultradwarf Bermuda greens offer a smooth, but testing putting surface. The tree lined 419 Bermuda grass fairways further insure that golfers of all skill levels will have a challenging but fun round of golf. The signature hole, number 12, is a par 5 that requires two shots over water. The course is surrounded by forest land and an abundance of wildlife.

B-Man's Take

I haven't played here yet so the description is straight from the course website. This course is one of a foursome of courses owned by Leroy Springs & Co -- Springfield, Fort Mill and Lancaster being the other 3. It is a nice set of courses usually kept in good shape.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Championship)72681172.2131
Men's (Mens Regular)72627369.7124
Senior (Seniors)72541166.9114
Ladies (Ladies)72526971.2126
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 7/31/21 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    First time here in a couple of months and again was not disappointed. I really like the layout and the course conditions were good-great. Free bottled water in the pro shop and also in a cooler on the course which came in handy in very hot and humid conditions. Will definitely be back.

    Read The Review
  • 2/25/21 - Review by netswimer

    "Below average"

    Due to the amount of rain lately, the course could best be described as soggy. First hole was extremely wet to the point of being almost unplayable. Greens were browned out and had not been dyed. Tee boxes were mostly sand with sparce grass. Course played longer than distances on the score card due to the wet conditions. I'll try it again when we have a week of dry weather.

    Read The Review
  • 11/21/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    Played here Saturday in a 2 man scramble event and the course was in very good shape. Greens were smooth and fast , fairways were plush, tee boxes and bunkers in good shape. The weather was perfect and I really like this layout just wish I had played better, oh well.

    Read The Review
  • 4/1/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Re: Coronavirus Updates for Charlotte Golf Courses"

    The hits are coming fast and furious now... all Leroy Springs golf courses have shut down effective today. That's Springfield, Fort Mill, Lancaster and Chester Golf Clubs.

    Statement from Leroy Springs:

    "Despite the precautions we have taken, many of our staff positions conduct transactions with the public which have been difficult to isolate. As a result, we have made the difficult decision to suspend operations at all four Springs Golf courses, effective the end of the day today (April 1, 2020). Maintenance operations will continue."

    Read More
  • 5/27/18 - Review by syncgolf

    "Perfect"

    Course was in great shape. I love the new greens they roll true and fast. Fun course with generous fairways. Best value for your money only 33 min from my house Played in 4 hours on a Sunday. will be back again soon!

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. I’ve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer