Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Deer Brook Golf Club
201 Deerbrook Drive
Shelby, NC 28150
(704) 482-4653
www.golfdeerbrook.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.42 stars - "Great course" (6 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $32, Weekend $44

Practice Area:

Full practice area with driving range and putting green

Course photo

Description

Golf at Deer Brook provides you with a country atmosphere, set among the rolling landscape and natural seclusion of northern Cleveland County. Deer Brook is located in Shelby, NC about an hour's drive due west of Charlotte via I-85 and US 74. The club prides itself on having no "gimmicks" on its natural layout and serving all levels of golfers from amateur to pro.

B-Man's Take

I have yet to play Deer Brook but have heard good things that tell me it's worth the trip. I hope to play it soon and post my own review.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72695074.1139
Men's (White)72642671.2132
Other (Black)72582568.2126
Senior (Green)72503464.6110
Ladies (Green)72503469.5123
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 4/27/20 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Deer Brook is a real gem. Some maintenance work going on this Monday (aerating some fairways and teeboxes) but overall a great experience. This one is well worth the drive from CLT. The only thing that I do not like, and this is one of my huge pet peeves, is marking of hazards and areas which should be, and now can, be marked "penalty areas" to speed up play and so players can know what their options are.

    Read The Review
  • 6/30/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Always a pleasure to play Deer Brook. Always in excellent condition, particularly this time of year. They had sodded a large section of the par 5 fairway, but it doesn't seem an area reachable by driver nor likely for a lay-up. Some issues with unattended ball marks on the greens, but those are player's faults, not the course's. Fairways, teeboxes, greens all in great shape. Wasn't in a trap, but they looked just fine. Greens were a bit faster than those I've played anywhere else around Charlotte this year.

    Read The Review
  • 10/15/18 - Review by BRR

    "Perfect"

    Iíve played twice this year, once in May (shot in upper 80ís) and the 2nd in Oct. (a 77 this time). Both times the course was in great shape. Green fee for seniors is $27.

    Read The Review
  • 6/29/18 - Review by Shankapotomous

    "Great course"

    Overall this course was in great shape. For those of you that haven't given Deer Brook a chance you should find the time to make the drive. Greens were in very good shape given the rough winter and the time of year for aeration. They aerated the first week of June so they have recovered very well with no signs at all of any punch marks. Fairways were in very good shape, and bunkers were well maintained. There really wasn't anything at all to complain about the day that I was playing, short of it being slow play. That isn't the courses fault though, just happened to be how it went, but still finished in the standard 4 1/2 hours. Overall given the many other courses I have played around the area recently, Deer Brook ranks near the very top for course quality, layout, and condition.

    Read The Review
  • 10/17/16 - Review by BRR

    "Great course"

    First time at this course. The course was in great condition - fairways - very good, greens - good, VERY soft, a little slow, lots of undulations/breaks. I had trouble reading the greens accurately so there were more than normal 3 putts. I played the black tees about 5800+ yds. Some of the par 4's the 2nd shots were a little long for me (71 yrs old - drives about 200, 3-wood about 175). ProShop attendant was very helpful. I was by myself so he started me on the back 9. It was great, didn't catch anyone for the whole 18 holes. 3.5 hours, sometimes hitting 2 balls. Since I live an hour away I probably won't be able to get back very often but this course is definitely one of my favorites in the Charlotte area. BTW the GolfPad gps app worked fine. I understand a few of the holes had been changed. The correct website is golfdeerbrook.com. If you do a search it will bring up deerbrookgolf.net which is the old site before the renovation.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer