Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course
1225 Remount Rd
Charlotte, NC 28208
(704) 333-3949
www.charlottepublicgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4 stars - "Great course" (8 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $22, Weekend $30

Practice Area:

The course has a nice practice area for chipping, putting and a grass tee driving range.

Course photo

Description

This 9-hole public course is only a few minutes from uptown Charlotte and convenient to I-77. It was originally named Revolution Park when it was built in the 1930's as Charlotte's first municipal golf course but was renovated in the summer of 2010. It now sports bermuda greens and a nice pro shop. It also now bears the name of Dr. Charles Sifford, the first African American to earn his PGA Tour playing card.

Notes

Rates shown here are for 9 holes only with cart. The course is managed by Ratcliffe Golf Services and is also home to the First Tee of Charlotte, which promotes core life values and introduces young people from all walks of life to the great game of golf.

B-Man's Take

Similar to all the Ratcliffe owned courses, it offers some of the best, most affordable deals for playing golf in town. It also caters to beginners and prides itself on great customer service. Since the renovation in 2010, the course has been kept in consistently good shape. The inner cluster of holes (2-5) are all side by side -- which gives you a chance even with wayward shots. There are some woods and hazards in play on a few holes. Several of the doglegs can make the course short for long hitters who can cut corners. The greens can be challenging - the small ones are difficult to hit and the large ones have tricky slopes and tiers. The 9th hole is the only par 5 and danger lurks off the tee with woods and a creek in play, then an uphill approach to a perched green where errant shots will bounce out of play. My favorite hole is the short par 4 5th hole -- if you can carry the tall trees on the right side with a high trajectory driver or 3-wood, you can reach it for an eagle try. With a location near uptown and only 9 holes encouraging beginners and newer golfers to play, the course can get crowded on weekday afternoons and evenings.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Men's (Back)70587268.0121
Other (Middle)70549066.4112
Junior (Forward)70452062.497
Ladies (Forward)70452065.6110
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Photo Tour - 9-hole photo tour of the course from GolfHoles.com

News & Updates

  • 6/9/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Last week was Charlie Sifford's birthday (June 2) and it reminded me I hadn't been out here to the course named in his honor in quite some time. Fun to be back. Sifford is a cool little par 35, 9 hole track that also hosts the First Tee of Charlotte -- there was a clinic going on as we teed off. The course is not long at all -- though the par 4 opening hole can almost reach 400 yards from the back tee. The rest of the holes give you options to cut corners -- especially #5 and #8, which are drivable for players who can hit high fades over trees. The two par 3's are not easy either -- #3 has a bunker protecting the right half of the putting surface and #7 is a long downhill shot to a large two tiered green. The closing par 5 requires a carry over a ditch for your tee shot then a careful uphill approach that can't miss left or right. It's an inexpensive, quick 9 hole trip. The course was in lush shape tee to green. The greens were not fast at all but rolled true. So get the speed down and it was fine. I'll be back for another 9 holes again soon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/19 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Worth playing"

    Played Sifford/Revolution in the heat this afternoon. Conditions were fairly good from tee to green. Tee boxes were a touch on the long side, but nothing too bad. Fairways had plenty of grass on them. Green surrounds were in excellent shape. The greens themselves were in great shape but were on the shaggy side. Bunkers were good. Pace of play was fine on a weekday afternoon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/15/18 - Review by Acgolf

    "Worth playing"

    Dr. Sifford is a fun little course. The greens had a lot of bare spots and were pretty slow. They have a number of guys out working on the course which was good to see. Worth the money especially if you are tight on time.

    Read The Review
  • 8/29/17 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    I've been playing the Sifford course just about every week on Tuesdays as part of a small work golf league. Looking at the last review from November, I decided I should post an update. I've gotten accustomed to the course now and really appreciate it for what it is -- a friendly, inexpensive, fun place to play. The course itself is kept in good shape. The bermuda greens are pretty consistent -- they've been kept at normal speeds, maybe even a little on the slow side, but they could easily cut them a little lower and make them lightning quick. So it's a good idea to stroke some putts on the practice green before playing. The course is only 9 holes but offers a good mix of challenges. It plays to beginners as well as seasoned golfers. It can play short, even from the back tees, but makes up for that with doglegs, elevation changes and a few undulating, sloped greens. I managed to shoot even par for 9 holes in my round today. So I definitely think your scores and appreciation for the course will improve as you play it more. The pro shop is very friendly and accommodating -- the beer selection and prices are the best around the local golf courses. And the practice area is extensive, one of the best public facilities for practice and learning in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 11/10/16 - Review by aimtobreak80

    "Great course"

    I finally got around to playing this course on "my dollar" (see 9/22/16 review). The conditions were almost perfect, weather and course, but I don't deal in superlatives, and gave it a "good" condition report. The only, slightly negative aspect was that the greens were very fast and slick,and didn't hold approach shots very well (I assume due to the local drought that is extending beyond 30 days according to the local weather guessers). This is a challenging golf course, especially for us seniors who are losing driving distance. The 9th hole is particularly challenging in that, from the tee, one must carry the ditch some 170 yards away (All three of my group had trouble doing so). It does help that it is a Par 5, so one could lay up on the drive and still have a chance for par. The only other negative is a personal one for me - it is a good distance from my home, and morning traffic is atrocious. The course does make tee times for singles, so that helps - one doesn't have to drive all that distance with a "hope" of getting on.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer