Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Skybrook Golf Club


"Great course"

1/11/21: Review by twodown02

Nice course. Greens were in excellent shape, rolled fast and true. I like all of the elevation changes. Course was a bit wet but not unexpected and not a negative. Pace of play was good. If you don't mind all of elevation changes, would be relatively easy course to walk. I really like the layout.

Dr. Charles L. Sifford Golf Course
1225 Remount Rd
Charlotte, NC 28208
(704) 333-3949
www.charlottepublicgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.1 stars - "Great course" (10 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $22, Weekend $30

Practice Area:

The course has a nice practice area for chipping, putting and a grass tee driving range.

Course photo

Description

This 9-hole public course is only a few minutes from uptown Charlotte and convenient to I-77. It was originally named Revolution Park when it was built in the 1930's as Charlotte's first municipal golf course but was renovated in the summer of 2010. It now sports bermuda greens and a nice pro shop. It also now bears the name of Dr. Charles Sifford, the first African American to earn his PGA Tour playing card.

Notes

Rates shown here are for 9 holes only with cart. The course is managed by Ratcliffe Golf Services and is also home to the First Tee of Charlotte, which promotes core life values and introduces young people from all walks of life to the great game of golf.

B-Man's Take

Similar to all the Ratcliffe owned courses, it offers some of the best, most affordable deals for playing golf in town. It also caters to beginners and prides itself on great customer service. Since the renovation in 2010, the course has been kept in consistently good shape. The inner cluster of holes (2-5) are all side by side -- which gives you a chance even with wayward shots. There are some woods and hazards in play on a few holes. Several of the doglegs can make the course short for long hitters who can cut corners. The greens can be challenging - the small ones are difficult to hit and the large ones have tricky slopes and tiers. The 9th hole is the only par 5 and danger lurks off the tee with woods and a creek in play, then an uphill approach to a perched green where errant shots will bounce out of play. My favorite hole is the short par 4 5th hole -- if you can carry the tall trees on the right side with a high trajectory driver or 3-wood, you can reach it for an eagle try. With a location near uptown and only 9 holes encouraging beginners and newer golfers to play, the course can get crowded on weekday afternoons and evenings.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Men's (Back)70587268.0121
Other (Middle)70549066.4112
Junior (Forward)70452062.497
Ladies (Forward)70452065.6110
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Photo Tour - 9-hole photo tour of the course from GolfHoles.com

News & Updates

  • 10/2/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Great course"

    The last time I played this course was 22 years ago in a Father & Son Tournament. It's changed quite a lot since then and fortunately for the better. The greens, tee boxes and fairways are all in great condition. I got paired up with Bob & Haydon who had played before so I got some good guidance on the blind shots. Overall this is an exceptional Municipal Golf Course that has easy access off I-77. Ona sunny October Friday, we were able to go 9 holes in right at 2 hours. Just a perfect day for golf. I especially like hole #8 which is a dog leg right that plays about 300 yards. I was able to get on in two and had an eagle putt. The fairways are open and there is very little water and most holes are straight forward with just a couple of holes that are blind shots. I will definitely be playing this course again, at $23 bucks riding @ Sr rate, it's hard to beat. The carts are in fair shape and I understand the clubhouse was been newly rebuilt. There is nice driving range, practice putt area and chipping area as well. This is the home of the First Tee in the Charlotte area.

    Read The Review
  • 8/19/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Sifford is in spectacular shape. Greens were rolling well, faster than I am used to here. They've really got them where they want them, in terms of maintenance and conditioning. The rest of the course was very lush. The course gets all levels of play -- so it can be slow when it's packed, as it was today. You'll need to be patient on those days. Just played one loop of the 9 holes and had to skip #9 due to an appointment. I used to play here every week during the summer in a work league, but that was postponed due to COVID-19. So I took the chance to get out while I was uptown today. Just a reminder, this course has an excellent practice facility too.

    Read The Review
  • 6/9/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Last week was Charlie Sifford's birthday (June 2) and it reminded me I hadn't been out here to the course named in his honor in quite some time. Fun to be back. Sifford is a cool little par 35, 9 hole track that also hosts the First Tee of Charlotte -- there was a clinic going on as we teed off. The course is not long at all -- though the par 4 opening hole can almost reach 400 yards from the back tee. The rest of the holes give you options to cut corners -- especially #5 and #8, which are drivable for players who can hit high fades over trees. The two par 3's are not easy either -- #3 has a bunker protecting the right half of the putting surface and #7 is a long downhill shot to a large two tiered green. The closing par 5 requires a carry over a ditch for your tee shot then a careful uphill approach that can't miss left or right. It's an inexpensive, quick 9 hole trip. The course was in lush shape tee to green. The greens were not fast at all but rolled true. So get the speed down and it was fine. I'll be back for another 9 holes again soon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/30/19 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Worth playing"

    Played Sifford/Revolution in the heat this afternoon. Conditions were fairly good from tee to green. Tee boxes were a touch on the long side, but nothing too bad. Fairways had plenty of grass on them. Green surrounds were in excellent shape. The greens themselves were in great shape but were on the shaggy side. Bunkers were good. Pace of play was fine on a weekday afternoon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/15/18 - Review by Acgolf

    "Worth playing"

    Dr. Sifford is a fun little course. The greens had a lot of bare spots and were pretty slow. They have a number of guys out working on the course which was good to see. Worth the money especially if you are tight on time.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Skybrook Golf Club


"Great course"

1/11/21: Review by twodown02

Nice course. Greens were in excellent shape, rolled fast and true. I like all of the elevation changes. Course was a bit wet but not unexpected and not a negative. Pace of play was good. If you don't mind all of elevation changes, would be relatively easy course to walk. I really like the layout.

Latest Forum Post

Ballantyne closes today :-(

By The B-Man on 12/31/20

For those that may have missed the news last month, The Golf Club at Ballantyne closes for good today. I really hate to see it go and have no idea how they will manage to find comparable golf for their guests to enjoy while staying the hotel. I will always have a plaque...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer