Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Glen Oaks Golf Club
245 Golf Course Road
Maiden, NC 28650
(828) 428-2775
www.glenoaksgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.25 stars - "Great course" (4 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $37, Weekend $47

Practice Area:

Driving range and putting green

Course photo

Description

Located just off Highway 321 five miles north of Lincolnton and easily accessible from Highway 16, Glen Oaks is a well-established, semi-private course that opened for play in 1967. The Management and Membership take great pride in landscaping, manicuring and maintaining some of the finest fairways, bunkers and greens to be found in the area. The course features a challenging and interesting layout with some severe doglegs and carries over water on 7 holes.

Notes

Claims to have the best junior golf program in the area. It begins in April with an 8-week instruction course and runs thru the summer with matches at Glen Oaks and other courses in the Catawba Valley.

B-Man's Take

I haven't played Glen Oaks yet, but due to regular rave reviews from other players, it's high on my must-play list.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Blue)72626570.7125
Men's (White)72597768.9119
Senior (Gold)72556466.7118
Ladies (Red)70474968.8112
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 8/2/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    A little disappointed in Glen Oaks, but temper that with higher expectations. Probably as in good a shape as most anywhere around, but I can't recall seeming weeds on that course before. Also, the greens were in great shape, but rolled slow for some reason. Didn't look to be shaggy at all, maybe the gravity is different in Lincoln County? Tees traps and fairways all in good shape, except for the afore-mentioned weeds.

    Read The Review
  • 6/8/18 - Review by aepfeiffer

    "Great course"

    Found this course on GolfNow, played there relatively cheap, the guy inside asked how I found out and told him Id found it on golf now, he was like they had just started using them in the last little bit and has helped generate traffic to the course which is good to know. The course itself was in great shape, few greens had some isolated issues but most of them were in great shape, fairways were excellent, definitely a course you will want to play a few times to learn the layout and where to hit the ball, plays quirky in the way the holes are laid out, but ill definitely be visiting again to play!

    Read The Review
  • 10/3/17 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Played today and the course was in great shape,even with the drought.The fairways and tee boxes were good.The traps had good sand and were raked perfectly.The greens were good and a little faster than they appeared.Some of the pin placements were a little tough,such as on the edge of a ridge,but they were having a captains choice tournament after lunch so this probably led to some of the placements.I live in Concord so its about an hour trip up there ,but we love the course so we go monthly.

    Read The Review
  • 7/11/17 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Great course.The fairways are lush and green,the tee boxes are good except for one I noticed on gold tees.The greens were smooth but a little slow.The only issue was that the traps had not been raked.In fairness to the course,they were hit with a severe storm three days before and they lost approx.30 trees,so they were busy with that clean up and I'm sure that put the raking and mowing a little behind.Even with that,there was no problems with the trees around the course,only saw a few twisted sumps and some piles of brush far enough back in the woods that you had to look to see them.

    Read The Review
  • 9/2/14 - Review by oneputt

    "Perfect"

    What a great surprise! Made the 40 minute drive out here and I am glad that I did. The course was in perfect condition. Fairways were mowed and really full of grass. Not a bad lie the entire day. Traps and bunkers were perfect. Full of sand, consistent and raked. Not a single foot print in the sand. Greens were smooth and held shots nicely. There were plenty of ball marks to be repaired. At least three other than mine on every green. This is such an un-necessary issue. If only those playing could be so courteous and fix just their own mark. It would make a huge impact on the overall quality of the golfing experience. Played with two others who new the course. This really helped. I can't wait to take my gang out there soon. Worth the drive and certainly the costs can't be beat!

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer