Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Tillery Tradition Country Club
214 Tradition Drive
Mt Gilead, NC 27306
(877) 472-7212
thetillerytraditioncountryclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.5 stars - "Worth playing" (5 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $37, Weekend $45

Practice Area:

The practice area is generous and includes a driving range, chipping area and putting green.

Course photo

Description

This lakeside course is situated about halfway between Charlotte and Pinehurst, making it a nice stop on your way to/from your golf vacations or a quick day trip. You can easily find the course off Hwy 24/27 after you pass through Albemarle. The scenic layout is situated on Lake Tillery and runs through dense hardwood forests on the halcyonic western edge of the Uwharrie Mountains. The course covers over 540 acres. The course has drawn a good deal of praise and was named one of the three "Best New Courses" in 2002 by North Carolina Magazine.

Notes

Memberships now offered. One of the better values in the area with low rack rates combined with a great layout.

B-Man's Take

Finally made the trip to play this course in July 2015. It is indeed a scenic layout with hilly terrain similar to a mountain course. The greens are bent-grass and several have challenging slopes and tiers. There are quite a few long par 4 holes here, especially the 3 hole stretch of #13-15. I did like the two par 5's on the back, #10 and #18 -- both give good players chances to get home in two with long drives. The greens had several issues with bare spots when I played in mid-summer. Check recent reviews or ask the pro shop before you play to make sure they are in good shape. This course can be a fun challenge and is worth playing if the conditions are right.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Black)72693073.6132
Men's (Blue)72638070.3125
Senior (White)72569867.0117
Junior (Red)71466866.4114
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 4/17/20 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Nothing's perfect, but Tillery Tradition is in great shape. Beautiful course giving a Mountain-like experience. Fairways were fantastic and unlike many places, the rough was full and lush. More like a second cut and not punitive. Easier to point out what is wrong than what is right...Of course the traps are not in pristine shape as, just like everywhere else, they are being a bit ignored since the rakes have been pulled off the course. Full of sand, but they haven't been groomed since what looks like the last big rain. I recall one teebox being a bit bare. The greens are fast and true, but most have some sort of weed on them which didn't alter any putts. I imagine they will spray for those soon. This is going to become more than a once a year course even though it is 1:15 from me.

    Read The Review
  • 10/18/17 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Great course"

    Played this course early morning, first time on the new greens. The greens themselves were very good,smooth,medium speed.There were some areas on a few greens that had been sodded at the edges near the fringes.These did not affect our play and I had heard about these in advance through their emails.Fairways were great and the tee boxes for the most part very good.The rough seemed a little thicker than in the past ,but not as bad as some other area courses. The traps on the other hand had not been raked and this had usually been a strength of the course.Maybe because we were out before they got a chance to do them? Overall very good course but they have raised their rates somewhat,thirty five dollars for senior rate in the weekdays.I love the course,but can do better price wise and closer than a 45 min.drive.

    Read The Review
  • 10/1/17 - Forum Posting by BetterThanMost titled "Re: Tillery Tradition Status"

    They have reopened the course for play. Here's part of an email the club sent out regarding current conditions:

    Golf Course Update!

    Anyone that has played since we have opened knows we have had a slow growing season for our new greens and they have not quite fully grown in. To improve this and give our members and guests a better playing experience we will be Sodding in all the areas that have not grown in within the next 2 weeks.
    We will also be overseeding all of our tee boxes next week with Rye Grass to give them a good coverage for the fall, winter and spring. New Rakes, cups, flags and flagsticks have been ordered to inhance our facility and we exepct those to be delivered next week.
    The ownership and managem!
    ent are committed to do everything we can to create a great experience for our membership and we appreciate your patience through this process.

    It does look like they do not have a website any longer, although their mobile website is still active, but not current. It also appears as if they aren't on any of the tee time services any longer, either. Published rates are $38 on weekdays and $45 on weekends. Twilight rates are $28.

    Also in that area, Badin Golf Club closed suddenly at the end of August. Little to no information is known as to the future of that course.

    Read More
  • 4/24/17 - Forum Posting by BetterThanMost titled "FYI - Tillery Tradition"

    For anyone who ventures out to Albemarle to play Tillery Tradition, they are regrassing their greens this summer. The course will close on July 5th as they switch from Crenshaw Bentgrass to MiniVerde Bermudagrass. They anticipate reopening on Labor Day Monday.

    Read More
  • 7/29/16 - Review by tvrepairex

    "Average"

    Let me start by saying this is one of my favorite courses to play.Being a senior ,the course is challenging but not too long.The fairways were really good with no bare spots and good grass,maybe not "lush" but very good.The traps were raked with plenty of sand ,I know because I found enough of them.The tees were grass covered, but maybe a little too long in places and the rough was fair,thick but not too deep that you lose balls. The bad part were the greens.They always seem to have issues here.They repaired some of them this spring and they grew in well,but now they have major issues again.Lots of large bare areas and sporatic small areas.They just can't keep these bent grass greens alive down there is the heat we are having. The course is trying to up their memberships so they can be a more "upscale" course-higher fees- but it "ain't gonna happen"until they switch greens to champion bermuda or mini verde. The new management that was brought in has a tough job ahead.They want more income,but can't get more players with the greens issues and also the location.If they raise rates,they will lose some of the players they have now.I drive from Concord,because I like the layout and the rates are reasonable for the quality,excepting bad greens,but with a rate increase ,I will not be returning as often.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer