Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Lancaster Golf Club
1821 Springs Club Road
Lancaster, SC 29720
(803) 416-4500
www.playlancaster.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.88 stars - "Great course" (4 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $48, Weekend $53

Practice Area:

The practice facility includes a driving range that can accommodate 15 golfers at one time and it includes yardage banners as targets. To the left of the range tee is a chipping area and practice bunker. The practice putting green is located adjacent to the first tee.

Course photo

Description

This course is located in Lancaster, SC, accessible from Charlotte via US 521 or I-77 to Hwy 9. It features Bermuda fairways and MiniVerde Ultradwarf Bermuda greens. The front nine was designed by famed architect Donald Ross and opened in 1939, with Russell Breeden renovating the front nine and architecting the back nine some 25 years later. All the greens are extremely fast, and water hazards come into play on three holes.

Notes

The course offers very affordable membership plans with no initiation fees.

B-Man's Take

This is one of the few area courses I have not yet played, but I have been getting great reviews about it. It can be quite a haul from the northern or eastern parts of town. So I might suggest you make a day trip and play 36, with your 2nd round at Edgewater. The signature hole on this course is the 7th, a 157-yard par-3, requiring a tee shot to an island green surrounded by water.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Back)726538128.072
Men's (Regular)72609969.8124
Senior (Senior)72509764.3109
Ladies (Ladies)72496769.3119
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers photo tour and discount coupons for this course

News & Updates

  • 5/23/20 - Review by skwahder

    "Worth playing"

    Always a fun course. Nice layout. Today, knowing going in, was cart path only. The greens were rolling smooth and fast.

    Read The Review
  • 4/1/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Re: Coronavirus Updates for Charlotte Golf Courses"

    The hits are coming fast and furious now... all Leroy Springs golf courses have shut down effective today. That's Springfield, Fort Mill, Lancaster and Chester Golf Clubs.

    Statement from Leroy Springs:

    "Despite the precautions we have taken, many of our staff positions conduct transactions with the public which have been difficult to isolate. As a result, we have made the difficult decision to suspend operations at all four Springs Golf courses, effective the end of the day today (April 1, 2020). Maintenance operations will continue."

    Read More
  • 8/19/17 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Great course"

    Nice layout. Greens were really nice. Fairways very good. Bunkers were good. Many of the fairways are wide and very open, however the rough if almost non-existent. Any ball that rolled through the rough, either ended up in the woods and lost or ended up on rocky dirt patches. I probably lost 3 or 4 balls that would have been normally played out of the rough. Good course though. Maybe the rough will come back in the fall.

    Read The Review
  • 12/26/15 - Review by Albert So

    "Great course"

    One of my favorite Charlotte area courses. There have been steady frequently heavy showers for the last 10 days or so. I knew the course would be muddy. I played lift/clean/place including from the bunkers. Must be an indication of how much I enjoy playing here. Figure at least two days for the course to dry out. The drive is less than an hour for me. (South Blvd & Scaleybark. Don't take 77 to Hwy 9 unless you're speeding. Hwy 521 is faster.) Fairways are mostly wide. When there are trees there is still usually a shot out. Or, at least, you can find your ball. Greens are some of the best for the money. Bunkers are great (if it hasn't been raining) Speaking of which, I was told that rates will be coming down. Not that I care. I pay $11 as a senior walking during the week. Roy in the clubhouse is great. He'll start you on the back if the front is loaded.

    Read The Review
  • 8/15/15 - Review by dongtrgolfer

    "Great course"

    Played at 11 am, course was fairly empty, in a foursome and no wait. 4 hr round. Greens in good shape but probably the fastest greens I have played in the Charlotte area this year. Some tough pin locations. Tee boxes, fairways, rough all in good shape. Very challenging course with lots of trees. If closer to Charlotte I would play more often. I think the more you play this courses the better you play here. A little on the expensive side if not member, but golfnow has some discounts.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer