Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Warrior Golf Club
890 Lake Wright Rd
China Grove, NC 28023
(704) 856-0871
www.warriorgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.15 stars - "Great course" (13 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $42, Weekend $57

Practice Area:

This course has a great practice area where you can cover all aspects of your game, including grass tees on the driving range, a spacious chipping and bunker practice green, and a large putting green.

Course photo

Description

Warrior Golf Club is located in China Grove about 30 minutes north of Charlotte and conveniently accessible from both I-85 and I-77. Warrior offers a large practice area, five sets of tees, six miles of concrete cart parts, eleven ponds, over forty bunkers, and dual line irrigation. Designed in 1999 by Stan Gentry, Warrior Golf Club was built around the beautiful 52-acre Lake Wright. Warrior is a par-71 with over 6,600 yards of rolling terrain and Bermuda fairways with Champion G12 Ultra Dwarf Bermuda Greens (2018).

Notes

The golf carts now include touch screen GPS.

B-Man's Take

Warrior is a nice course for those north of Charlotte. It's tucked in a little community. So you do get some O.B. spots here and there. Quite a few hazards, too. It's got very few flat holes. Almost every one is rolling hills and sloping fairways. While the tees, fairways and rough can be spotty, the greens are kept in very good shape -- but you may have some long putts cause the greens are all very spacious. There are some good scoring opportunities with most of the par 5's reachable and 3 of the 5 par 3's are medium irons with no trouble in play. My favorite hole is the risk-reward par 5 17th hole. It is reachable in two but only with a good tee shot that avoids running off into a hazard guarding the right side of the fairway. Then you'll have a long-iron approach to a well protected green (by sand and water). It's a definite eagle opportunity! I despise the 7th hole. My issues with this hole start with the tee shot -- which comes from a turf tee box (it's completely shaded by trees so no real grass) that will not hold a normal tee unless you carry a hammer. Then you must carry about 175 yards without a fade or trajectory down the right half of the fairway because it will run into another hazard that's only about 215 yards out. I wish they would just put all the tees on the white grass tee box where everyone can just hit a layup iron (or big hitters could try to drive the green). There are several holes with hazards not visible from the tee so make sure you use the GPS on the carts to judge how much room you have for each shot. This course is a nice change from some of the Charlotte area courses and is worth the extra drive.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Black)71660972.1134
Men's (Blue)71619370.2129
Other (White)71562967.3121
Senior (Gold)71504164.1112
Ladies (Gold)71504169.4126
Junior (Red)71442365.1112
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour for this course.

News & Updates

  • 8/8/21 - Review by oneputt

    "Great course"

    Finally got to play here! Pricey but overall worth the expense. Tees were really beat up. Fairways in spectacular shape. Played the ball down. Greens were moderately fast, especially down grain. The actual cups were horrible! Everyone of them had severe burnt out edges at least on one side. This in itself made me wish I had not been charged such a high green fee. I would guess that cups had not been moved in at least a few days or who ever was cutting cups just didnít do their job. Anyway, the management should have known about the cup situation and reacted. The practice area was fabulous. Plenty of grass and top notch balls. The routing of the course is the strangest Iíve seen in all my years of golfing. I did not ever feel any continuity. Due in large part to the lengthy criss cross travels between holes. Although course directions were adequate it still didnít provide that feeling of a course theme. No doubt about it, there were 18 really good holes of golf.

    Read The Review
  • 10/9/20 - Review by JB

    "Great course"

    This is one time of my favorites. Anytime I can give my driver a break I'm in heaven!!!! This course was in excellent condition and the greens were lightning fast! Well maintained and manicured. Don't be fooled this course will sneak up on you, especially the "back 9" but overall it's a great course and I look forward to my next round there.

    Read The Review
  • 8/27/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Warrior is in fantastic shape. The greens especially were pretty much perfect, rolling fast and true. Tees, fairways and rough were in good shape. A few bunkers had some water but with lift, smooth and place rules for bunkers, it's not really a problem. We got off early (8:16) and had an easy round, pace wise. The course has several picturesque holes (check my @charlottegolfer Instagram for the photos) with Lake Wright bordering the 9th, 15th, 16th, 17th and 18th. Still not a fan of the 7th hole -- I say this every time... the turf mat tee box is difficult to get a tee in the ground on but I was able to do it this time and hit a decent 3 wood off the tee. That still left me a long approach though! Tough hole. 16 is my second least favorite hole because it requires such a long carry off the tee for a par 3 (~175yd from the Blue tees to carry the lake and front bunker). The 17th is a fun par 5 that you can reach in 2 with a good tee shot and the guts to challenge the lake along the right side. I like this course and now it's in as good a shape as I've seen it. It came in at #10 on my list of best public courses in Charlotte and likely deserves to be a few spots higher.

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/20 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    Finally got out to play Warrior this past weekend. First impression was awesome- loved the drive in through the country, and the course seemed pretty open. Driving range was decent, but the grass was pretty inconsistent (I wish people understood how divot patterns on driving ranges work, and why they are good for the turf). Practice green was pretty true to the course, which was slow and really, really grainy. 4 foot putts would slide 8-12 inches on some holes. The rest of the course was good- I liked the layout alot (except for number 7 and the grass tees), and thought it was a really fun round. I dont know if I will make it back anytime soon, however. The first 18 we played (10:40 tee time and teed off after 11) took nearly 4.5 hours compared to just over 3 hours for the second 18. No ranger on the course, no starter on the first tee and no cart girls. On the 16th hole, there were 4 groups waiting on the tee box while one was on the green finishing out. FOUR GROUPS! Its just wild to see it get so backed up and no attempt to fix it. Stinks, because its a fun course otherwise.

    Read The Review
  • 4/4/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Back at Warrior on a day when the course was as packed as I've ever seen one outside of a tournament. I had a 3:20 tee time reserved online and we were not called to the tee box until after 4:00. They had tee times spaced only 8 minutes apart where other local courses have gone to 15 or 20 minute intervals. They had difficulty turning carts around fast enough for the afternoon tee times. That said, the pace of play was good once we started - 4 hours on a packed course is excellent. We did finish 18 in near darkness though. Contrary to the previous review, they were allowing 2 people to a cart - except for seniors. There weren't any extreme precautions I've seen at other courses - clubhouse was open, grill was open (no dining in of course), hole cups were normal. Conditions-wise, I wasn't overly impressed. I've played at two other courses recently (Monroe CC and Lincolnton CC) where the greens were immaculate and quick. Warrior's greens were fine, no issues, but they were not fast - I left putts short all day. And they still aren't very receptive as far as checking up approach shots. The fairways were fine, though conditions just off the fairways were not as good - weeds and thin grass. The tee boxes were very thin and some were more dirt than grass. So overall, conditions were just average. As for the layout, I forgot how much I dislike the front 9 -- especially #7 where they use a turf tee box that you cannot get a tee in, and this for a hole that requires a 175yd carry over a hazard for what is a layup tee shot due to another hazard reachable by a 200+ yard drive that hits right center of fairway. The back 9, really starting with hole #9, gets a lot better but there are still many holes where you can't hit driver or risk getting into trouble. There are several very pretty holes -- #15 and #17 in particular -- where Lake Wright comes into play. #17 is my favorite hole, a risk-reward par 5 that garnered me an eagle putt yesterday (I just missed). This course is a top 10 Charlotte public course with reasonable rates - it just may take some getting used to.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer