Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Monroe Country Club
1680 Pageland Hwy
Monroe, NC 28112
(704) 282-4661
www.monroecountryclubgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.86 stars - "Great course" (14 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $42, Weekend $49

Practice Area:

Putting green that allows chipping. There is a driving range supposedly, but I've never seen it. It's apparently a good drive from the clubhouse.

Course photo

Description

This older public course is about 30 miles (45 minutes) from uptown Charlotte. The front 9 was the creation of Scottish-born Donald Ross and opened to the public in 1936. The back 9, designed by Tom Jackson, was completed in 1982. All 18 greens were redone in 2007-2008 and are now all Champion Bermuda.

Notes

The course now has its own official website with online tee times available. Memberships available for less than $100 per month. Covers green fees. $10 annual handicap fee. Rack rates are no longer a bargain but the twilight rates are excellent.

B-Man's Take

This course is very reasonably priced and easily walkable. The layout features a good mix of easy and tough holes. Just outside of downtown Monroe, you'll find a laid back atmosphere and rounds played at a good pace, though the locals traffic keeps it pretty busy. The staff keeps it in pretty good shape year round. I especially love the par 5's. They're all usually reachable in 2 from the white tees and give up many birdies. The par 3's on the other hand can be quite a challenge. Hole #2 has a severely sloped green, #9 is a good 3-iron, #11 goes over a pond and #16 can play longer than #9 since it's uphill. I find the back 9 easier than the front. You should be able to score well if you can adjust to the greens. They are usually fast and have always been tricky for me to read. One word of caution that if you are not local or a frequent visitor to the club, you may not get a very welcome feeling. This course definitely caters to regulars.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Blue)72674472.6132
Men's (White)72627670.7126
Other (Gold)72579867.9123
Ladies (Red)72480768.2117
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Jacobi Golf - Teaching Site for Nick Jacobi, PGA Master Instructor

News & Updates

  • 10/11/21 - Review by GinMillDJ

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were in very good shape except for 17. Fairways were in great shape. Some of the tee boxes could use a little TLC. If you have not played here before, the front 9 is a real treat as it was designed by Donald Ross - turtle back greens and fairly tight fairways. Worth the trip

    Read The Review
  • 4/7/21 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Back at Monroe where the greens are still just about perfect. They are quick and tricky, but not crazy fast as I've seen 'em before here. They are the best part of the course. The rest of the conditions were not that impressive for April. Fairways were just okay, fairly thin. Rough was erratic -- in some places it was bare and thin, in others it was overgrown with weeds. The lies around the greens, sometimes just 5 or 10 yards off, were sometimes not good. For the price and with near perfect greens, Monroe is always worth playing. I'm wondering how it will fare this year, with PGA Master Pro Nick Jacobi having left for Stonebridge. I'm sure I'll be back this summer.

    Read The Review
  • 8/16/20 - Review by BirdiesandFlies

    "Great course"

    Monroe Country Club is in very good shape. This was my second time playing and I was not disappointed. The greens had some patches of weeds on them, but they must constantly roll them out as it did not impact putts whatsoever. They were quick and held approach shots nicely. Tee boxes and fairways were in great shape. The rough has not been mowed recently and was very punishing. The only downside of Monroe is that the driving range is a solid 5-7 minute cart ride from the pro shop- plan accordingly for your tee time. Overall, a great round and a very fun course to play. My round ended with a 110 wedge in for eagle!

    Read The Review
  • 7/12/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Monroe CC is in great shape. Greens were punched on 6/30 but you wouldn't know it. They were rolling fast and true. Price was good as usual and pace was fine. All surfaces were in good shape. Not a single issue to report. Go check it out.

    Read The Review
  • 4/2/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    This review may be ever so slightly biased by the 2020 best 78 I shot, but the facts are that the greens were perfect. The Champion Bermuda grass is in great shape right now, rolling quick (but not crazy fast) and true. Tees, fairways and bunkers are all quickly getting into top season form. For the conditions and the price, this course can hardly be beat. I got my tee time online and called the pro shop when I arrived since it was closed -- paid thru a card slot in the door and off I went. There was a starter regulating groups and pace of play. The putting green and driving range (which I still have never actually seen) were both closed, but no big deal. They were using foam fillers in all of the cup holes to make it easier to retrieve your ball without touching the flagstick. This works pretty well, but some putts that obviously would have fallen in will sometimes dive in and pop out. You count those as good but make sure you have common sense playing partners. Personally, I like the courses that have turned the cups upside down the best (e.g. Springfield before it closed), but at least they haven't raised the cups (ala Ballantyne for one). This course is fairly easy once you get to know it. All of the par 5's are reachable -- #12 especially -- but several of the par 4's and almost all of the par 3's are challenging and can even out those birdie holes. I shot my career best score of 73 here a couple of years ago. The course added a short game practice area between holes 1 and 3. Looks like you can hit 100 yard shots and in. Nice addition to help PGA Master Instructor Nick Jacobi give lessons. While the course does lack some amenities of other top courses around Charlotte, the golf itself is top notch and very inexpensive. This one may well show up in my Top 10 list.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer