Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Skybrook Golf Club


"Great course"

1/11/21: Review by twodown02

Nice course. Greens were in excellent shape, rolled fast and true. I like all of the elevation changes. Course was a bit wet but not unexpected and not a negative. Pace of play was good. If you don't mind all of elevation changes, would be relatively easy course to walk. I really like the layout.

Edgewater Golf Club
2380 Catawaba Ridge Blvd
Lancaster, SC 29720
(803) 283-9800
www.edgewatergc.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.95 stars - "Great course" (22 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $45, Weekend $54

Practice Area:

The practice facility at Edgewater has 40 tee stations available and 6 target greens to take dead aim at. In addition to working on your full swing you can master your short game at the pitching and chipping area. The short game area has two bunkers, pitching tee, and target green.

Course photo

Description

This young course is tucked away down in Lancaster, SC and opened in September 2008. Edgewater Golf Club is an 18-hole championship golf course carved out of the rolling terrain and majestic pines of the Carolina country. It features A1/A4 Bent grass greens (similar to Augusta National's purely A1 Bent grass greens) and Bermuda fairways, rough, and tees.

Notes

Memberships offered at great prices - ~$100/mo with $16 cart fees required or $2000 annually with cart fees included.

B-Man's Take

Played this course when it first opened and was very impressed. I try to make the trek (an hour plus for me) back here at least once or twice a year. The greens are some of the best bentgrass greens I've played around Charlotte. My favorite hole is the short 429yd par 5 #17 -- my first two rounds I shot eagle-birdie on this hole! My hell hole was the seemingly benign 386-yd par 4 3rd hole. This dogleg right has a tall tree guarding the turn and then a lake that curls around the green -- it bit me twice my first 2 rounds. The staff here is great and you can get the low twilight rate ($30) after 2pm on any day. There are also coolers about every 3 or 4 holes on the course with free water bottles. The course is a bit of a haul from Charlotte, but fairly easy to get to if you come down Hwy 521 to Hwy 9.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Black)72710374.3141
Other (Gold)72657171.4135
Men's (Blue)72610269.2129
Senior (White)72532265.3117
Ladies (Red)72471767.1113
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 10/17/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Worth playing"

    Edgewater is one of my favorite course and again I really enjoyed it today. I wasn't aware that they had just aerated the greens 12 days ago and they were still very soft and not very smooth, had to repair alot of ball marks. My neighbor and I teed off at 10:30 we another twosome, great guys, and played the front 9 in ~ 2 hrs. They had only signed up for 9 so we played the back as a twosome and that 9 took 2 hrs and 40 minutes. We had a lot of holes with one group on the green, one in the fairway and two groups on the tee. We never saw the ranger on the back 9. The weather was beautiful so I really shouldn't complain. Again one of my favorite courses , cant wait for the greens to heal.

    Read The Review
  • 9/29/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Edgewater Aerating 10/4-10/5"

    Here's a note from Edgewater about aeration next week:

    We're working hard to keep our course in tip-top shape for you. On October 4th and 5th, the course will be undergoing aeration. Please expect recovery conditions. Check our website for reduced rates during this time!

    Read More
  • 9/5/20 - Review by sd84

    "Great course"

    Made the 90-minute drive down to Edgewater and since a lot of people weren't there, got my round done in 3:10, never ran into anyone in front of us and was never pushed from behind. I was a refreshing from 5-hour rounds recently. As for the course it self, I'm old-school in that the best courses are ones where you can a) walk and b) the next tee is near the green of the hold just completed. I knew going in that wasn't the case here since it is 7.2 miles to get around and very hilly, but it's still a great course. The tees (I played the gold tees - 6571 yards) and the fairways were in great shape. You really have to control your ball off the tee and keep it in play, which I did OK at even though my ball-striking was a bit off. The bent grass greens were definitely stressed out from the heat, with the ones with the fans in poorer condition with patchy grass, ball marks and some kind of plant I couldn't identify on those. Fortunately, they didn't seem to be in my line at any time so I was lucky there. The greens that were more in the open were in much better shape, but all of them rolled well. Also, the black flags on some of the holes were almost impossible to see against the backdrop of trees, I could see the yellow flagstick easier. The other point of contention was difficulty in getting yardages. There are 150 and 100 stakes in the fairways, but knowing how far it was to the corner of doglegs or how far it was to lay up to on par-5's was total guesswork. Also, not knowing how deep a green is made for a little more guessing as well. And it wasn't always easy to find a sprinkler head (they are marked) in some places. Still, it was a very enjoyable round at a great pace for a good price on a challenging course.

    Read The Review
  • 8/27/20 - Review by RT

    "Great course"

    My first visit. Beautiful course on a spectacular, scenic property. Tee boxes and fairways were in outstanding condition. Bermuda rough was thick and tough. Greens had a few stressed areas but putted smoothly and consistently - problems more cosmetic than substantive. Played Gold markers, and it was tough - 140+ slope with multiple 400+ yard par 4s and 200+ yard par 3s. But it looked too short from the Blue (regular) tees, with a couple holes even requiring lay-up. Big gap of 500+ yards between the markers, so probably will set-up better for me with a hybrid approach next time. Great value.

    Read The Review
  • 7/15/20 - Review by GoBux

    "Great course"

    Great first visit to Edgewater. A bit of a hike to get there but well worth it. Didn't play well but loved the golf course. Great condition. Fair. Good test. The back nne is much harder than the front 42/48. Put it in the fairway and you can score well here. Greens were very soft on the approach shots and a bit speedy but fair. Ready to go back tomorrow. Wish the clubhouse would open.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Skybrook Golf Club


"Great course"

1/11/21: Review by twodown02

Nice course. Greens were in excellent shape, rolled fast and true. I like all of the elevation changes. Course was a bit wet but not unexpected and not a negative. Pace of play was good. If you don't mind all of elevation changes, would be relatively easy course to walk. I really like the layout.

Latest Forum Post

Ballantyne closes today :-(

By The B-Man on 12/31/20

For those that may have missed the news last month, The Golf Club at Ballantyne closes for good today. I really hate to see it go and have no idea how they will manage to find comparable golf for their guests to enjoy while staying the hotel. I will always have a plaque...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer