Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Highland Creek Golf Club


"Average"

9/11/21: Review by MGOBLUE

Love this layout and we had beautiful weather for early September. My only issue was that the greens had recently be aerated and were incredibly bumpy as expected. No where on their website was this mentioned when my buddy booked our last minute tee time. If this had been...

Edgewater Golf Club
2380 Catawaba Ridge Blvd
Lancaster, SC 29720
(803) 283-9800
www.edgewatergc.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.08 stars - "Great course" (18 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $45, Weekend $54

Practice Area:

The practice facility at Edgewater has 40 tee stations available and 6 target greens to take dead aim at. In addition to working on your full swing you can master your short game at the pitching and chipping area. The short game area has two bunkers, pitching tee, and target green.

Course photo

Description

This young course is tucked away down in Lancaster, SC and opened in September 2008. Edgewater Golf Club is an 18-hole championship golf course carved out of the rolling terrain and majestic pines of the Carolina country. It features A1/A4 Bent grass greens (similar to Augusta National's purely A1 Bent grass greens) and Bermuda fairways, rough, and tees.

Notes

Memberships offered at great prices - ~$100/mo with $16 cart fees required or $2000 annually with cart fees included.

B-Man's Take

Played this course when it first opened and was very impressed. I try to make the trek (an hour plus for me) back here at least once or twice a year. The greens are some of the best bentgrass greens I've played around Charlotte. My favorite hole is the short 429yd par 5 #17 -- my first two rounds I shot eagle-birdie on this hole! My hell hole was the seemingly benign 386-yd par 4 3rd hole. This dogleg right has a tall tree guarding the turn and then a lake that curls around the green -- it bit me twice my first 2 rounds. The staff here is great and you can get the low twilight rate ($30) after 2pm on any day. There are also coolers about every 3 or 4 holes on the course with free water bottles. The course is a bit of a haul from Charlotte, but fairly easy to get to if you come down Hwy 521 to Hwy 9.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Black)72710374.3141
Other (Gold)72657171.4135
Men's (Blue)72610269.2129
Senior (White)72532265.3117
Ladies (Red)72471767.1113
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 8/21/21 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    First time playing here in about a year and again I was not disappointed. Fairways, tee boxes and greens were in great shape. I think the greens are still bent grass and they were kind of soft so had to repair a lot of ball marks. They rolled pretty smooth but were definitely slower than Waterford, the course I play weekly. Staff was friendly as always and they had a ranger out keeping an eye on the pace of play. Definitely a top ten course in the area.

    Read The Review
  • 3/6/21 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    This was another GolfWeek Am Tour tourney round - so the pace was typically slower than normal. Carts were 90 degrees (yay) except for a few holes. Greens were in great shape, fairly quick and true, no issues. Bunkers are full of fluffy sand. The starter actually warned us to watch for balls landing in the bunkers because they were known to bury and disappear. We didn't have any problems, but the fluffy sand is definitely a change from other courses that have more hardpan or dirt than sand. Tees and fairways were thin and not great, but playable. Definitely still in winter shape. With the greens good, though, the conditions were fine and a little better than most. This is still one of my favorite layouts for scoring. The front nine begins and ends with two short par 4s and the par 5 17th can play shorter than the par 4 15th. The par 3's are difficult, however, especially #16 which can play over 200 yards to a perched green with a steep fall off left and bunker short. I didn't have a great day but I enjoyed the challenge and will be back again this season. Reminder: this is a great choice for a 36 hole day because you can hop over to the nearby Donald Ross track, Lancaster Golf Club, for a second 18 holes.

    Read The Review
  • 10/17/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Worth playing"

    Edgewater is one of my favorite course and again I really enjoyed it today. I wasn't aware that they had just aerated the greens 12 days ago and they were still very soft and not very smooth, had to repair alot of ball marks. My neighbor and I teed off at 10:30 we another twosome, great guys, and played the front 9 in ~ 2 hrs. They had only signed up for 9 so we played the back as a twosome and that 9 took 2 hrs and 40 minutes. We had a lot of holes with one group on the green, one in the fairway and two groups on the tee. We never saw the ranger on the back 9. The weather was beautiful so I really shouldn't complain. Again one of my favorite courses , cant wait for the greens to heal.

    Read The Review
  • 9/29/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Edgewater Aerating 10/4-10/5"

    Here's a note from Edgewater about aeration next week:

    We're working hard to keep our course in tip-top shape for you. On October 4th and 5th, the course will be undergoing aeration. Please expect recovery conditions. Check our website for reduced rates during this time!

    Read More
  • 9/5/20 - Review by sd84

    "Great course"

    Made the 90-minute drive down to Edgewater and since a lot of people weren't there, got my round done in 3:10, never ran into anyone in front of us and was never pushed from behind. I was a refreshing from 5-hour rounds recently. As for the course it self, I'm old-school in that the best courses are ones where you can a) walk and b) the next tee is near the green of the hold just completed. I knew going in that wasn't the case here since it is 7.2 miles to get around and very hilly, but it's still a great course. The tees (I played the gold tees - 6571 yards) and the fairways were in great shape. You really have to control your ball off the tee and keep it in play, which I did OK at even though my ball-striking was a bit off. The bent grass greens were definitely stressed out from the heat, with the ones with the fans in poorer condition with patchy grass, ball marks and some kind of plant I couldn't identify on those. Fortunately, they didn't seem to be in my line at any time so I was lucky there. The greens that were more in the open were in much better shape, but all of them rolled well. Also, the black flags on some of the holes were almost impossible to see against the backdrop of trees, I could see the yellow flagstick easier. The other point of contention was difficulty in getting yardages. There are 150 and 100 stakes in the fairways, but knowing how far it was to the corner of doglegs or how far it was to lay up to on par-5's was total guesswork. Also, not knowing how deep a green is made for a little more guessing as well. And it wasn't always easy to find a sprinkler head (they are marked) in some places. Still, it was a very enjoyable round at a great pace for a good price on a challenging course.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Highland Creek Golf Club


"Average"

9/11/21: Review by MGOBLUE

Love this layout and we had beautiful weather for early September. My only issue was that the greens had recently be aerated and were incredibly bumpy as expected. No where on their website was this mentioned when my buddy booked our last minute tee time. If this had been...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer