Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Edgewater Golf Club
2380 Catawaba Ridge Blvd
Lancaster, SC 29720
(803) 283-9800
www.edgewatergc.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.95 stars - "Great course" (19 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $45, Weekend $54

Practice Area:

The practice facility at Edgewater has 40 tee stations available and 6 target greens to take dead aim at. In addition to working on your full swing you can master your short game at the pitching and chipping area. The short game area has two bunkers, pitching tee, and target green.

Course photo

Description

This young course is tucked away down in Lancaster, SC and opened in September 2008. Edgewater Golf Club is an 18-hole championship golf course carved out of the rolling terrain and majestic pines of the Carolina country. It features A1/A4 Bent grass greens (similar to Augusta National's purely A1 Bent grass greens) and Bermuda fairways, rough, and tees.

Notes

Memberships offered at great prices - ~$100/mo with $16 cart fees required or $2000 annually with cart fees included.

B-Man's Take

Played this course when it first opened and was very impressed. I try to make the trek (an hour plus for me) back here at least once or twice a year. The greens are some of the best bentgrass greens I've played around Charlotte. My favorite hole is the short 429yd par 5 #17 -- my first two rounds I shot eagle-birdie on this hole! My hell hole was the seemingly benign 386-yd par 4 3rd hole. This dogleg right has a tall tree guarding the turn and then a lake that curls around the green -- it bit me twice my first 2 rounds. The staff here is great and you can get the low twilight rate ($30) after 2pm on any day. There are also coolers about every 3 or 4 holes on the course with free water bottles. The course is a bit of a haul from Charlotte, but fairly easy to get to if you come down Hwy 521 to Hwy 9.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Black)72710374.3141
Other (Gold)72657171.4135
Men's (Blue)72610269.2129
Senior (White)72532265.3117
Ladies (Red)72471767.1113
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 5/16/20 - Review by BirdiesandFlies

    "Great course"

    My first review on the site! Edgewater is a great course within the greater Charlotte region. It's over an hour from my house (as it is for most), but I never mind the beautiful drive south through cow pastures and country roads. Once you pull into the Edgewater community, you feel like you are at a true golf destination. Upon parking, one of the staff members immediately brings a cart to your tailgate to load up your clubs. Currently, the clubhouse is closed due to COVID restrictions, however the walk-up window is a very convenient alternative to going inside. In terms of the course itself, the conditions were great! The greens were aerated last month, but they have grown and are rolling nicely. They have A1/A4 Bent grass green that always seem to roll true. The collars around the greens could use some attention which made putts off the green a tad unpredictable. Fairways and majority of the tee boxes were in great shape. The layout is fantastic (front is easier than the back) and Edgewater is a true challenge to your golf game- check it out, it's worth the trip!

    Read The Review
  • 5/4/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Been awhile since I made the trek down to Lancaster to check out Edgewater again. I really enjoy this course but it is over an hour from my house. So this day, I made a 36 hole day of it with the first 18 holes here and the second at Carolina Lakes (just up the road in Indian Land about 30 minutes back towards home). This is a very fun layout, starting with a nearly driveable par 4 opening hole (downhill 300-325 yards). Both myself and my playing partner opened with pretty easy birdies. The par 5's are reachable -- especially the 17th hole -- and there are a couple of other short par 4's (like #9) where you can have just a short pitch shot left for your approach. The course does have teeth though and off the fairway you can get into trouble with trees, brush and creeks. It helps to have a GPS app on your phone to know when to risk it off the tee and when to avoid hazards. The Bentgrass greens are a dying breed in the Charlotte area and they are kept in great shape here. The greens were very quick, even though you could still see punch marks from aeration last month. This course is definitely worth a trip -- maybe do what I did and pair it up with Lancaster, Carolina Lakes or another course on your way back home and play 36!

    Read The Review
  • 7/29/19 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    One of my favorite courses and it didn't disappoint. Greens were in great shape and were very fast. Bunkers and tee boxes were in good shape as well.

    Read The Review
  • 3/9/19 - Review by TheClaw

    "Great course"

    After my last review I was not excited to come to Edgewater but I was signed up to play in a tournament. I had low expectations this time but was actually pleasantly surprised as I noticed a definite improvement over last time. They have done some work on some of the bunkers that were really bad my previous outing. They also have clearly been removing a lot of trees and vegetation to the betterment of the course. The greens were excellent. I take back what I said about not worth the drive from Charlotte, I am not giving up on this course yet and neither should you.

    Read The Review
  • 2/2/19 - Review by TheClaw

    "Below average"

    Was inevitable I guess, but this course is going backwards fast. Greens are still good, everything else is just ok to terrible. The range balls were in terrible condition, half the bunkers are red clay. They are taking out a lot of bunkers as well so what is left are massive holes that look terrible with signs that say "GUR". Some of the "cart path only" signs look like they were created by children. The starter said they use red, white and blue flags to show the pin positions but some of the flags had been stolen so he said it is a mix. They have no other way to tell where the pin is (no pin position map on the cards or anything). I feel bad for the course as it obviously doesn't make enough money from rounds to make ends meet. For those who live in Charlotte this course is no longer worth the drive to play.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer