Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Carolina Lakes Golf Club
23012 Kingfisher Drive
Indian Land, SC 29707
(803) 547-9688
www.carolinalakesgc.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4 stars - "Great course" (21 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $55, Weekend $69

Practice Area:

Grass tee driving range and practice area, including a large putting green.

Course photo

Description

This is a younger course (2007) south of the Ballantyne area off Hwy 521 and just across the NC-SC border. It runs through a retirement community and offers discounts for residents. With natural streams and several ponds, the course is a challenging but fair championship golf course designed by Golf Course Architect Tim Freeland. It features Bermuda fairways and G2 Bent Grass greens. Five sets of tees allow golfers of all ages and abilities to enjoy the championship layout at Carolina Lakes. The course also includes a sixth or family tee which turns the layout into a par 55 course, with 17 par 3's and one par 4, sort of a course inside a course.

Notes

The course offers regular memberships and annual pre-paid green fees and cart fees that can significantly reduce the cost the more rounds you buy.

B-Man's Take

I play this course about once or twice a season. It is truly a gem and lives up to its billing (and price). I would definitely describe the layout as "well-bunkered." Every hole features strategically placed traps and they affect your shot choices. There aren't too many surprises, even for first-time players. Pretty straightforward. The course includes some reachable par 5's and nearly driveable par 4's. I especially liked the 297-yd (from the Whites) par 4 11th hole and the 313-yd par 4 15th hole. Lots of risk and reward opportunities. I found the par 5 6th hole to be pretty difficult, with a creek at the end of the fairway affecting your tee shot, then uphill approaches with plenty of bunkers. Overall, this course is a great treat if you can afford it -- one of the nicest, well-kept courses in the area.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Black)72714074.1142
Other (Blue)72674572.0139
Men's (White)72632169.8131
Senior (Gold)72581167.5126
Ladies (Red)72522069.1116
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 2/27/21 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Based on other recent reviews, I'd say Carolina Lakes is in good shape, given the extremely wet weather of the past 2 months. Greens were in good shape, rolling quick and true with a few exceptions. On some greens that had a few bumpy spots, the pins were placed far enough away that I didn't experience or witness any bad rolls. The tees and fairways were not as good, with some poa annua affecting several holes. I was playing in a tournament (which explains the 5+ hour round) and we were playing lift-clean-place. So those poa annua spots didn't affect play. Bunkers (and there are a million on this course) were in good shape, with no standing water. The layout here is a still a favorite of mine, with tons of risk/reward holes and large, sloped greens that test your approach shot accuracy and your putting. This course will be in my annual Top 10 list once again.

    Read The Review
  • 1/3/21 - Review by TheClaw

    "Below average"

    Normally I love Carolina Lakes but yesterday left a bad taste in my mouth. Course was water logged and fairways were littered with massive divots. Tee boxes were inconsistent. Some were green and long, some brown and muddy. Greens were just ok. No starter out there and range was closed. But they still charged full price even through the condition of the course was pretty terrible. What ever happened to Winter rates to reflect the conditions. Not great value at all. I recommend staying away until spring unless you want to drop $70 to play in below average conditions

    Read The Review
  • 12/12/20 - Review by mweezy

    "Great course"

    Carolina Lakes is one of if not my favorite public course in the Charlotte area. I find it to be a very visually appealing course, and I usually play pretty well here. Practice area is average and the people in the clubhouse aren't particularly friendly, but it doesn't bother me. As other reviews have mentioned, lots of bunkers (every single hole), but particularly on #1, 2, 9, and 11 where some might consider them excessive. All four par 3's have water in play, but none are overly long. Fairways are wide and fair, but if you miss them you're going to be in the woods more often than not. Houses come into play on a few holes, but aren't a big issue. Six other holes also have water, ranging from small creeks across the fairways to lakes along the majority of the hole (par 5 #6th). Rough is not particularly penal in my opinion, usually cut fairly low. Definitely lots of fun risk/reward holes where you can go for birdies or lay up and play for par. Greens vary widely in size and slope. A number of the large ones have two or even three tiers that can be quite difficult.

    Read The Review
  • 10/12/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Average"

    Wow, this is such a long course, just a shade over 7,000 yards from the white tees! Really surprised at the length of this course since this is in a Del Web 55+ community. They do have green tees which are closer but almost near the red ladies tees. I played on a Monday and it had rained on Sat & Sun so the course was still a bit soggy. Because of this I almost had the course to myself. There were just a few other golfers who started on the front and they started me on the back so I have no one in front or behind me. Overall the course is in great condition, the fairways, greens and tee boxes are in good shape. It seems there are always those few who refuse to repair their divot marks on the greens. It's such a shame since it ruins the putt line of all who follow. It was cart path only because of the rain and it's such a long course so it made my round almost a 4 1/2 hour extravaganza. The staff is great, the gas carts run well and are in great shape. They let you take the carts into the parking lot to get your clubs. They have several bathrooms scattered throughout the course. It winds through the large neighborhood and would be extremely difficult to walk. It's scenically beautiful and I saw several deer, rabbits, red tail hawks and squirrels as I motored along the cart path. There are a few holes that are severe doglegs which create a blind shot. There is some water and quite a few fairway bunkers and green side bunkers. There is a lot of elevation change so you get some great vistas but the challenge that goes with it.

    Read The Review
  • 7/26/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were slow and tons of ball marks, but that is sort of expected this time of year with bentgrass. Several bunkers were washed out due to rain, and they look in need of major work. I love this course, but just felt a little steep for what you got. It will be back on my favorites come fall.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer