Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Birkdale Golf Club
16500 Birkdale Commons Parkway
Huntersville, NC 28078
(704) 895-8038
www.birkdale.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.18 stars - "Worth playing" (14 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $49, Weekend $59

Practice Area:

The practice area is one of the best in town and includes a 10-acre lighted driving range with both mats and Bermuda grass tees, short-game area and putting green. The facility is open daily during the Spring and Summer seasons until 9pm.

Course photo

Description

Daily fee public course designed by Arnold Palmer and located off the popular Birkdale exit 25 of I-77, north of uptown Charlotte. Located on 200 acres of rolling terrain, carved between tall pines and natural streams, Birkdale is a challenging 7,013 yard, par 72 course made up of Bermuda fairways and Crenshaw bent grass greens, offering a true test of golf skills.

Notes

Birkdale came under new management in April 2014 -- keep that in mind when looking at older reviews. The course offers memberships and they get you reciprocal playing privileges at all the other Pinnacle Golf Properties courses in town -- The Divide, Tradition, Highland Creek, Skybrook, Tega Cay and Waterford.

B-Man's Take

I used to play here once or twice a season, but not as much in recent years as the course recovered from mismanagement. PGP has done a great job getting the course back to playable conditions and better value for your money. The course has many challenging holes with some tough carries over trouble. Many holes have doglegs and a couple of short par 4's are almost drive-able. The par 3 holes are all pretty tough. Watch out for the 569yd par 5 5th hole where your 3rd shot must carry water to reach sucker pins in the front right corner. And good luck on the 436yd par 4 18th hole, which also has a tough carry over water and bunkers to a sloped green. This course has a great layout and would be a favorite of mine if the conditions were consistently good to match the price. It is getting back there finally. So check it out and post a review!

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72701374.1138
Men's (Blue)72648571.2127
Other (White)72605368.9123
Ladies (Green)72517569.7123
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 6/15/21 - Forum Posting by MosherH'ville titled "Birkdale CLOSED until August"

    Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

    Read More
  • 4/15/21 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "3 Courses To Be Renovated This Year"

    Just got some very interesting and exciting news... three Charlotte-area courses will be getting new Bermuda greens this year:

    Harry L. Jones Sr. Course (formerly Renaissance Park)
    Tradition Golf Club
    Birkdale Golf Club

    Exact timing is not set yet but I should be able to confirm dates within a week or two. These will likely be summer to early Fall projects, similar to the renovation of The Divide last year.

    The Harry Jones renovation is one step in a long-range master plan that sounds amazing. I can't share details just yet but what I've heard so far sounds really cool!

    Stay tuned!

    Read More
  • 11/19/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Worth playing"

    Another course I used to play but haven't in over 10 years. I really like the layout , the driving range and the practice area. The staff was very friendly. The fairways were in good shape , the greens were fast but had quite a few ball marks and the bunkers were still dealing with the after effects of hurricane Eta 8 days later. Some were still muddy while others were badly eroded. Will like to see this course with the new greens next year but will hate the idea of losing the driving range and turning #9 into a par 3.

    Read The Review
  • 11/19/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Worth playing"

    Another course I used to play but haven't in over 10 years. I really like the layout , the driving range and the practice area. The staff was very friendly. The fairways were in good shape , the greens were fast but had quite a few ball marks and the bunkers were still dealing with the after effects of hurricane Eta 8 days later. Some were still muddy while others were badly eroded. Will like to see this course with the new greens next year but will hate the idea of losing the driving range and turning #9 into a par 3.

    Read The Review
  • 9/10/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Average"

    Arnie would probably not be real happy with the condition of his course today. I was able to snag a $35 deal with the GolfNow app and got on for a 130p tee time. I got paired with a guy named Clint who had just retired and moved from California to Denver NC. He had played before & we're about the same age so it worked out good. He was able to offer some guidance on how the course plays. I'm sure when this course was first built in 1997 it was considered a premiere course. Not so much today as the years have not been kind. The tee boxes are good, the fairways are good but the greens were in very poor condition. There were bare spots, un-repaired divots and ragged patches. The front nine was much worse than the back. I really didn't care for the layout and design of this course. Way too many green side bunkers and the green design and pin placement made it very difficult at times. The are observing COVID guidelines. The Staff was nice, the Starter was great, the check-in was smooth and easy and the facilities seemed OK. There is a driving range and a small practice putting green area. The carts were clean and in good condition. On one of the holes on the front nine, balls that are hit from the driving range and are off-line come into the fairway which is very frustrating. I doubt I play this course again. I was disappointed since I had heard so many great things about the course when it first opened.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer