Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

The Divide Golf Club


"Great course"

9/15/20: Review by The B-Man

Got my first chance to play the new Diamond Zoysia greens at The Divide, the closest course to my house and one I've been waiting for its return to glory. This is a good start. The new greens are soft and they can't cut em really yet. So they were expectedly slow, but fairly...

Birkdale Golf Club
16500 Birkdale Commons Parkway
Huntersville, NC 28078
(704) 895-8038
www.birkdale.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.31 stars - "Worth playing" (16 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $49, Weekend $59

Practice Area:

The practice area is one of the best in town and includes a 10-acre lighted driving range with both mats and Bermuda grass tees, short-game area and putting green. The facility is open daily during the Spring and Summer seasons until 9pm.

Course photo

Description

Daily fee public course designed by Arnold Palmer and located off the popular Birkdale exit 25 of I-77, north of uptown Charlotte. Located on 200 acres of rolling terrain, carved between tall pines and natural streams, Birkdale is a challenging 7,013 yard, par 72 course made up of Bermuda fairways and Crenshaw bent grass greens, offering a true test of golf skills.

Notes

Birkdale came under new management in April 2014 -- keep that in mind when looking at older reviews. The course offers memberships and they get you reciprocal playing privileges at all the other Pinnacle Golf Properties courses in town -- The Divide, Tradition, Highland Creek, Skybrook, Tega Cay and Waterford.

B-Man's Take

I used to play here once or twice a season, but not as much in recent years as the course recovered from mismanagement. PGP has done a great job getting the course back to playable conditions and better value for your money. The course has many challenging holes with some tough carries over trouble. Many holes have doglegs and a couple of short par 4's are almost drive-able. The par 3 holes are all pretty tough. Watch out for the 569yd par 5 5th hole where your 3rd shot must carry water to reach sucker pins in the front right corner. And good luck on the 436yd par 4 18th hole, which also has a tough carry over water and bunkers to a sloped green. This course has a great layout and would be a favorite of mine if the conditions were consistently good to match the price. It is getting back there finally. So check it out and post a review!

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72701374.1138
Men's (Blue)72648571.2127
Other (White)72605368.9123
Ladies (Green)72517569.7123
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 9/10/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Average"

    Arnie would probably not be real happy with the condition of his course today. I was able to snag a $35 deal with the GolfNow app and got on for a 130p tee time. I got paired with a guy named Clint who had just retired and moved from California to Denver NC. He had played before & we're about the same age so it worked out good. He was able to offer some guidance on how the course plays. I'm sure when this course was first built in 1997 it was considered a premiere course. Not so much today as the years have not been kind. The tee boxes are good, the fairways are good but the greens were in very poor condition. There were bare spots, un-repaired divots and ragged patches. The front nine was much worse than the back. I really didn't care for the layout and design of this course. Way too many green side bunkers and the green design and pin placement made it very difficult at times. The are observing COVID guidelines. The Staff was nice, the Starter was great, the check-in was smooth and easy and the facilities seemed OK. There is a driving range and a small practice putting green area. The carts were clean and in good condition. On one of the holes on the front nine, balls that are hit from the driving range and are off-line come into the fairway which is very frustrating. I doubt I play this course again. I was disappointed since I had heard so many great things about the course when it first opened.

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Birkdale is in very good shape. Greens are doing just fine in the summer heat and rolled with good speed. Lots of ball marks to fix, but most were fresh and not causing permanent pock marks. Tees and fairways were all good. About the only issue I had was with some of the rough just off the fairway and nowhere near out of play. To the right of #8 fairway really penalized me with tall grass and weeds when I was maybe 5 feet off the fairway for my 3rd shot into the par 5. Right of #9 fairway gets you into a net or an area of rough loaded with driving range balls. This hole will likely be altered next year when they take out the driving range to develop that land. Overall, this course is worth playing right now - which is great news for a course I've been down on in recent years due to poor maintenance. $59 after 1:00 on a weekend is a bit pricey compared to other courses in similar or better shape, but not far off market price these days. Arnie's Tavern is open and they have tables outside overlooking the 18th green -- which is a great spot to relax before or after your round.

    Read The Review
  • 6/17/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Birkdale Re-Development Update"

    Saw this a few days ago giving a slight update on Re-Development at Birkdale, confirming that the current driving range and practice area (which is a nice one) will go away. The article notes that development work could begin by year's end.

    "The driving range is right where the expansion project is, so the range, along with its high protective fence, will disappear” said Principal Town Planner David Peete. Peete noted, however, that the owner could build a new driving range in the future, though that’s not currently in the plans."

    Birkdale Moves a Step Closer to a Mulligan

    Read More
  • 8/10/19 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Worth playing"

    Played Birkdale this afternoon. Tees and fairways are in decent shape. Some bunkers are better than others. Greens are showing the stress of the summer heat. Lots of bare spots and bumps that throw your ball offline. Also not a lot of consistency in speed from green to green. The starter told me that the club will close this Fall to re-grass their greens with bermuda. Also, at some point in the future, they are going to build a hotel and shops on the land where the driving range currently sits. This project will also take out the 9th tee and fairway. That hole will be converted to a par 3.

    Read The Review
  • 6/19/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Weekday Senior rate $35, replay $15, Played 36, 80 and 83. Course is in great shape. They had dressed the greens not too long ago but they were putting great and the sandtraps showed issues from some recent heavy rain (ponds, etc. were bloated) but you could tell there is fresh sand in all of them and maintenance was out raking them back into shape. Tee boxes, save #10 that gets little sun, were for the most part great and the fairways, rough and fringes were very good. Well worth playing.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

The Divide Golf Club


"Great course"

9/15/20: Review by The B-Man

Got my first chance to play the new Diamond Zoysia greens at The Divide, the closest course to my house and one I've been waiting for its return to glory. This is a good start. The new greens are soft and they can't cut em really yet. So they were expectedly slow, but fairly...

Latest Forum Post

The Divide closing for greens renovation this month

By The B-Man on 8/5/20

Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round). The work starts next week and the course...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer