Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Great course"

7/5/20: Review by sd84

I have not played this course in forever, back when there wasn't a clubhouse and they had a trailer. And the green on #1 was on the other side of the pond behind the present location of the green. It may have even been last century. I hadn't gone back because it wasn't in...

Birkdale Golf Club
16500 Birkdale Commons Parkway
Huntersville, NC 28078
(704) 895-8038
www.birkdale.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.32 stars - "Worth playing" (14 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $49, Weekend $59

Practice Area:

Practice area includes a 10-acre lighted driving range with Bermuda grass tees, short-game area and putting green. The facility is open daily during the Spring and Summer seasons until 9pm.

Course photo

Description

Daily fee public course designed by Arnold Palmer and located off the popular Birkdale exit of I-77, north of uptown Charlotte. Located on 200 acres of rolling terrain, carved between tall pines and natural streams, Birkdale is a challenging 7,013 yard, par 72 course made up of Bermuda fairways and Crenshaw bent grass greens, offering a true test of golf skills.

Notes

Birkdale came under new management in April 2014 -- keep that in mind when looking at older reviews. The course offers memberships and is part of the Queen City Passport loyalty program with several other local courses -- The Divide, Tradition, Highland Creek, and Waterford.

B-Man's Take

I used to play here once or twice a season, but not in some time due to the course management issues of the past several years. The course has many challenging holes with some tough carries over trouble. Many holes have doglegs and a couple of short par 4's are almost drive-able. The par 3 holes are all pretty tough. Watch out for the 569yd par 5 5th hole where your 3rd shot must carry water to reach sucker pins in the front right corner. And good luck on the 436yd par 4 18th hole, which also has a tough carry over water and bunkers to a sloped green. This course has a great layout and would be a favorite of mine if the conditions were better and more consistent. If you play here, please post a review. If I hear it has turned around, I'll go play it again.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72701374.1138
Men's (Blue)72648571.2127
Other (White)72605368.9123
Ladies (Green)72517569.7123
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 6/17/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Birkdale Re-Development Update"

    Saw this a few days ago giving a slight update on Re-Development at Birkdale, confirming that the current driving range and practice area (which is a nice one) will go away. The article notes that development work could begin by year's end.

    "The driving range is right where the expansion project is, so the range, along with its high protective fence, will disappear” said Principal Town Planner David Peete. Peete noted, however, that the owner could build a new driving range in the future, though that’s not currently in the plans."

    Birkdale Moves a Step Closer to a Mulligan

    Read More
  • 8/10/19 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Worth playing"

    Played Birkdale this afternoon. Tees and fairways are in decent shape. Some bunkers are better than others. Greens are showing the stress of the summer heat. Lots of bare spots and bumps that throw your ball offline. Also not a lot of consistency in speed from green to green. The starter told me that the club will close this Fall to re-grass their greens with bermuda. Also, at some point in the future, they are going to build a hotel and shops on the land where the driving range currently sits. This project will also take out the 9th tee and fairway. That hole will be converted to a par 3.

    Read The Review
  • 6/19/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Great course"

    Weekday Senior rate $35, replay $15, Played 36, 80 and 83. Course is in great shape. They had dressed the greens not too long ago but they were putting great and the sandtraps showed issues from some recent heavy rain (ponds, etc. were bloated) but you could tell there is fresh sand in all of them and maintenance was out raking them back into shape. Tee boxes, save #10 that gets little sun, were for the most part great and the fairways, rough and fringes were very good. Well worth playing.

    Read The Review
  • 5/5/19 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    First time playing here in years and I was very pleased with the course conditions. Fairways were lush and green , greens were smooth and fast. I only played the front 9 due to weather concerns, lightening in the area. This was always one of my favorite courses in the Charlotte area and I definitely will be back and very soon.

    Read The Review
  • 3/16/19 - Review by brinstone02

    "Great course"

    With it being so early in the season and all the rain the last 2 months we were skeptical of the conditions. The fairways were in great conditions and the greens were faster than normal and rolled very true! The only drawback was if you were unfortunate to get in a bunker. They were hard and soggy from all the rain. All in all we were pleasantly surprised at how great of condition the greens were in.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

River Oaks Golf Club


"Great course"

7/5/20: Review by sd84

I have not played this course in forever, back when there wasn't a clubhouse and they had a trailer. And the green on #1 was on the other side of the pond behind the present location of the green. It may have even been last century. I hadn't gone back because it wasn't in...

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer