Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club
7332 Kidville Rd
Denver, NC 28037
(704) 489-1206
www.verdictridge.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.25 stars - "Great course" (12 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $54, Weekend $74

Practice Area:

Driving range, combined putting/chipping green. Range memberships available.

Course photo

Description

Straight from their web site: "Verdict Ridge was designed in the tradition of famous North Carolina golf courses, maintaining the natural layout of the land. But what truly makes Verdict Ridge interesting is that our golf course feel is similar to a cross-state drive through NC. You can actually see different areas of the state represented as your round progresses. The first few holes give the feel of Pinehurst as the area pine trees outline each hole. As you continue to the low-lying areas of the property, you find holes that meander along creeks, streams and natural wetlands, giving a North Carolina coastal feel. Finally, you come to the final four holes that have dramatic elevation changes and spectacular views."

Notes

Verdict Ridge has a large, luxurious clubhouse that would put some private clubs to shame. It includes a popular restaurant called Guilties that has live music and events on the weekends.

B-Man's Take

One of the top courses in the area, though it is quite a haul from Charlotte, up Hwy 16. From my home in Indian Trail, it's a good 50 miles. If it weren't for the drive, I'm sure I'd play here frequently. It is a very unique course with several gorgeous holes. You will find it plays almost like a mountain course, with steep hills and valleys. You're likely to have some sidehill and uneven lies throughout your round. My favorite hole is the 347yd par 4 9th hole -- one of the most beautiful in all of Charlotte. With water all along the right side, it's best to play an iron from the tee off the left slope. Then you have short iron approach into a green guarded by a small creek on the left and the pond on the right -- with a waterfall behind the green offering a nice backdrop. There are several difficult holes that may require a veteran of the course to give you some tips -- the long 461yd par 4 4th hole and the difficult par 5 18th hole with several hazards to navigate. Overall, this is a fun course to play due to the variety and beauty of the holes. Conditions are typically pristine and the Bermuda greens are kept slick and smooth.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Black)72692674.4144
Men's (Blue)72632071.2141
Other (White)72573968.6128
Ladies (Green)72477168.6126
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour for this course.
Facebook Page - Official Facebook page

News & Updates

  • 3/30/21 - Review by dischydo

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were slow compared to what they usually are, but they are letting them grow in I believe. Was not able to play #5, due to bunker repair. Still many holes have bunkers under water and maintenance doesn't seem to be touching them until they re-do them, but the ones that are complete, look great. Aerated fairways. Still waiting for some >70 deg weather at night along with the rest of courses in the area to green everything up. Not bad for this time of year

    Read The Review
  • 10/13/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Introduced a good friend of mine from SC to Verdict Ridge on Tuesday. The course ate him up, despite all my advice (ha). Conditions were good despite the heavy rains over the weekend. It was cart path only but we didn't really encounter any trouble with casual water or muddy lies. Bunkers were okay as the sand had dried out. Tees, fairways and greens are all very lush. The greens were in great shape and rolled quick but not lightning or unfair. It was a beautiful day to play and the trees around the course are changing colors. So the course looks spectacular right now. Check out my Instagram (@charlottegolfer) for pics and vids from my round.

    Read The Review
  • 6/2/20 - Review by RT

    "Great course"

    Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

    Read The Review
  • 5/27/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Top 10 Public Golf Courses in Charlotte"

    I updated my Top 10 list for Charlotte Agenda and the new list was published yesterday. I use a lot of the feedback I see on my site here as well as my own experiences. A few changes since last year has Rock Barn shooting up to #3, Skybrook in at #8, and Red Bridge (conditions) / Stonebridge (Skybrook moving up) falling out. Verdict Ridge is still #1.

    Thanks for the support everyone!

    B-Man Ranks the Top 10 Public Golf Courses in Charlotte for Charlotte Agenda

    Read More
  • 5/3/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Had the privilege of playing Verdict twice last week with the GM Scott Knox. I even got to meet his dad, the owner and developer of Verdict Ridge -- and former Charlotte mayor -- Eddie Knox. Great man and a great course he built! Verdict is still #1 in my annual ranking of the best public courses in the Charlotte area. The layout is very unique for the area and plays like a mountain course. Extremely challenging with risk-reward holes throughout both 9's. There are a number of picturesque holes, including the signature 9th hole with it's waterfall backdrop behind the green. I love playing here. The Bermuda greens are always in great shape. They also have GPS on the carts and a beverage cart stationed at the cross path of holes 6 and 14 so you're guaranteed two chances to grab some drinks during the round. Top notch practice facility and clubhouse/grill (when it reopens). If you haven't played Verdict Ridge before, go play it when you can. Only about 30 minutes north on Hwy 16 from uptown Charlotte.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer