Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Springfield Golf Club
990 Springfield Parkway
Fort Mill, SC 29716
866-304-GOLF
www.playspringfield.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.07 stars - "Great course" (7 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $55, Weekend $75

Practice Area:

Wide open driving range with grass tees, large putting green.

Course photo

Description

The 6,906-yard par 72 Clyde Johnston-designed layout is located on a heavily wooded and hilly site just over the South Carolina border in Fort Mill. The course features 4 holes that flank Sugar Creek, affording players spectacular views and includes 13 holes that play across and along perennial streams that feed into the Catawba River. Each hole offers 5 tees for different skill levels. The greens were converted to MiniVerde Ultradwarf in 2010.

Notes

This course is part of the Leroy Springs & Co. collection of upstate SC golf courses near Charlotte -- including Fort Mill, Lancaster and Chester Golf Clubs as well.

B-Man's Take

I've only played this course a couple of times, but I need to get out here more often. It is a well-kept course with lots of challenge and several unique holes. Pretty straightforward layout, with elevation changes and rolling hills the most common features. Look for twilight times and discounts to keep it affordable as the rack rates are some of the highest in town. My favorite hole is #10, a short but picturesque par-4 with a lake on the left side and an elevated green guarded by 3 large bunkers. There are a handful of devilish holes, including the #1 handicap 428yd 7th hole. This long par 4 will give you a long approach to an elevated green guarded by a creek in front.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Silver)72690673.8145
Other (Blue)72650672.0139
Men's (White)72615572.0132
Senior (Gold)72566268.3126
Ladies (Red)72483468.8129
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 4/1/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Re: Coronavirus Updates for Charlotte Golf Courses"

    The hits are coming fast and furious now... all Leroy Springs golf courses have shut down effective today. That's Springfield, Fort Mill, Lancaster and Chester Golf Clubs.

    Statement from Leroy Springs:

    "Despite the precautions we have taken, many of our staff positions conduct transactions with the public which have been difficult to isolate. As a result, we have made the difficult decision to suspend operations at all four Springs Golf courses, effective the end of the day today (April 1, 2020). Maintenance operations will continue."

    Read More
  • 3/27/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    My first time back at Springfield in a while. I'm doing some scouting before updating my Charlotte Agenda Top 10 article in a few weeks. A quick COVID-19 update - I was able to pay over the phone so I just had to verbally check in at the pro shop, no touch required. The cups have all been turned upside down which makes them shallower and easier to pick out your ball without touching the flagstick. I was paired up with another group but allowed to have my own cart. There were no bunker rakes. As for the course itself, it was cart path only - though there were only a few spots on the whole course that were still wet. The greens were solid not spectacular -- quick, but not super smooth. It felt like the grain took over on shorter putts. Still good, but just not super nice like they will hopefully be soon. The fairways on the front 9 were a bit sparse with lots of poa annua patches. Oddly, the back 9 fairways were much greener and lush. The layout does feature some blind shots so hopefully you have a GPS or a veteran playing partner. Some of the tee shots are target golf plays rather than grip and rip. Lots of elevation changes and dropoffs. The course meanders through a very wooded neighborhood and there are a few small ponds and streams that come into play. Overall, it's a good test of golf.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    Some might rate it average, but am giving them credit for the work being done. Issues - Most tee boxes have little if any grass. On one, we teed up just outside the designated teeing area, just to have some grass. They are, for the most part, well sanded so they are definitely working on them. The rough is fairly thin and had been aerated maybe not so recently. Again, they are aware of it, working on it and ask they you drive the carts in the fairways not the rough. Fairways and greens are in excellent shape, no complaints whatsoever. I guess they re-did the greens since the last time I played. They used to be so crazy fast that if your approach was above the hole you were screwed. Rolling very true now. Great practice area. One thing, and this is becoming a pet peeve of mine - Not a single red or yellow stake or line anywhere on the course.

    Read The Review
  • 10/13/18 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Perfect"

    Last played here in April, front 9 only, and thought the front was in pretty good shape. They closed the course for almost 2 mos to replace the greens and all I can say is that it they did a fantastic job. Fairways were lush and if there were any dead spots I didn't see them. The greens were immaculate and rolled great. I was only in one bunker but it had plenty of the white stuff in it. The tee boxes would be the only area not up to the same standard as the rest of the course.

    Read The Review
  • 5/18/18 - Forum Posting by BetterThanMost titled "Springfield Golf Club Update"

    Got this email from Springfield Golf Club today: "We have experienced severe winter kill on several of our greens due to the past winter. We have closed the golf course until May 26th to address these issues. At that time, the back nine of the course will reopen with two temporary greens. The front nine will remain closed to allow the greens to heal and the new greens to establish.
    We greatly appreciate your understanding and patience while we work diligently to restore the course to the standards we all expect."

    Read More


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer